DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23, 29-36, and 60 are pending, claims 6-11, 14, 16-19, 22, 24-28, and 37-59 have been cancelled, and claims 1-5, 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23, 29-36, and 60 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous claim objections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23, 29-36, and 60 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 29, change “annular body” to “the annular body”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging device” in claims 1 and 60; “remote computing device” in claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 60, the limitation “a third imaging device” is unclear with respect to “a first imaging device” recited in claim 1. It is unclear how many imaging devices there are (i.e., the second imaging device is not recited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 15, 30, 36, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duval (US 2022/0338812).
Regarding claim 1, Duval discloses a medical diagnostic device (10 and 52, figures 1), comprising: a. an annular body (see 30 and 50, figure 1c) having a proximal end (proximal end of 30 and 50, figure 1c), a distal end (see distal end of 30 and 50, figure 1c), a hollow interior (sheath 50 pass through sleeve 30 [0020]) and a central longitudinal axis (see central longitudinal axis of 10 and 52, figure 1c), the distal end is configured to be inserted into a bodily orifice of a subject (insertion of…into a subject [0019]); b. a base (operation portion [0021]) connected to the proximal end of the annular body (proximal portion of…[0021]) adapted to be held by a hand of the subject (operation portion [0021] | interpreted it as a grip portion/handle) and said base comprising a hollow interior (optical fiber…operation portion [0021] | interpreted the operation portion to have a hollow space/interior to fit the optical fiber/electrical wiring); c. a first imaging device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a CCD or CMOS | sheath 50 has a camera 56, figure 1c) positioned in said hollow interior of the annular body (see location of 56 with respect to 30, figure 1c), wherein the first imaging device is configured to obtain one or more images of an internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject (image and/or video capture features [0021]); d. a resilient member (prongs 14 and base 18, figures 1) positioned in said hollow interior of said annular body (see location of 14 and 18 with respect to 30, figure 1b); said resilient member comprising: i. a support (base 18, figure 1c | prongs may be attached to a base 18 [0017]); and ii. at least two longitudinal elements (see 14, figure 1c), each longitudinal element connected at one end to said support (prongs 14 may be attached to and arranged around base 18 [0017]); said resilient member configured to be moved between a non-protruded state and a protruded state (see figures 1a-c), wherein movement between said non-protruded state and said protruded state causes said at least two longitudinal elements to at least partially protrude from said distal end of said annular body (see figure 1b-c); wherein, in the protruded state, said at least two longitudinal elements are configured to recoil away from said central longitudinal axis (see figure 1c) and to push walls of said bodily orifice away from each other, thereby widening a field of view of said first imaging device (prongs…extending radially away from a central longitudinal axis [0019] | the prong may push the wall of the orifice away from each other); wherein said first imaging device is configured to be movable within the hollow interior of the annular body in one or more of a longitudinal direction (figures 1c-d), tilted with respect to said central longitudinal axis of said annular body, rotated about the central longitudinal axis in a plane parallel to the axis (sheath 50 may be moved…rotationally relative to the detection device [0023]), and rotated about the central longitudinal axis in a plane perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of annular body.
Regarding claim 2, Duval further discloses controls on the base adapted to be manipulated by hand to actuate the first imaging device (slidable…moved longitudinally and/or rotationally [0023] | broadly interpreted “controls” to be the operation portion that can be used/gripped to move the sheath 50/imaging device).
Regarding claim 15, Duval further discloses a longitudinal channel (60, figure 1a) within the annular body and extending between the proximal end and the distal end of the annular body (passes from a proximal end to distal tip [0022]), wherein the longitudinal channel is configured to receive a tool or a tool within an envelope (working channel 60…medical tools [0022]).
Regarding claim 30, Duval further discloses the first imaging device is further adapted to: scan and obtain images of the internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject in at least three planes of motion (steering a distal portion [0021]; Duval | rotationally…[0023] | interpreted the first imaging device to be able to rotate L/R, U/D, and clockwise/counterclockwise) according to a predetermined pattern (broadly interpreted as pre-planned by a user | [0021] and [0023]).
Regarding claim 36, Duval further discloses the first imaging device further comprises an integrated light source (sheath 50 has a light source 58, figure 1; Duval | interpreted the first imaging device to be an endoscope 50/52 with the camera 56 and the light source 58).
Regarding claim 60, Duval further discloses at least one of an ultrasound probe or a third imaging device (working channel 60…tools [0022] | the tool can be an ultrasound probe or imaging device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ho (US 2013/0123577).
Regarding claim 3, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding controls on the base adapted to be manipulated by a remote controller to actuate the first imaging device.
Ho teaches an elongated member (100, figure 1) with a distal tip (106, figure 1). The distal tip has a transducer (108, figure 2) disposed within the distal housing portion (104, figure 1). The transducer is mounted on a platform (110, figure 3) that is configured to rotate about an axis defined by a pivot pin (112, figure 3) extending through a portion of the platform ([0068]). An interface arm (116, figure 3) extends proximally from the platform and interfaces with an actuator (118, figure 3) to facilitate oscillation of the transducer ([0069]). The actuator is driven by a drive shaft to a motor or other driving device positioned adjacent a proximal portion of the elongated member ([0069]). A controller (322, figure 20) may include any number and type of electronic components and/or circuitry for performing the field-of-view control techniques ([0101]). Further, components of the controller may be remote from one another and may communicate through wires and/or wireless protocols ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device with the controller (322, figure 20), a platform (110, figure 3), a pivot pin (112, figure 3), an interface arm (116, figure 3), an actuator (118, figure 3), and a motor ([0069]) as taught by Ho. Doing so would provide oscillation of the camera/imager of the first imaging device ([0069]) and remote field of view control ([0101]). The modified device would have controls on the base (motor…a proximal portion of the elongated member [0069]; Ho) adapted to be manipulated by a remote controller (components of the controller may be remote…[0101]) to actuate the first imaging device (field-of-view control techniques [0101]).
Regarding claim 12, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding a motor in said base and wherein the first imaging device is connected to said motor in the base configured to move the first imaging device.
Ho teaches an elongated member (100, figure 1) with a distal tip (106, figure 1). The distal tip has a transducer (108, figure 2) disposed within the distal housing portion (104, figure 1). The transducer is mounted on a platform (110, figure 3) that is configured to rotate about an axis defined by a pivot pin (112, figure 3) extending through a portion of the platform ([0068]). An interface arm (116, figure 3) extends proximally from the platform and interfaces with an actuator (118, figure 3) to facilitate oscillation of the transducer ([0069]). The actuator is driven by a drive shaft to a motor or other driving device positioned adjacent a proximal portion of the elongated member ([0069]). A controller (322, figure 20) may include any number and type of electronic components and/or circuitry for performing the field-of-view control techniques ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device with the controller (322, figure 20), a platform (110, figure 3), a pivot pin (112, figure 3), an interface arm (116, figure 3), an actuator (118, figure 3), and a motor ([0069]) as taught by Ho. Doing so would provide oscillation of the first imaging device ([0069]). The modified device would have a motor in said base (motor…adjacent a proximal portion of the elongated member [0069]; Ho) and wherein the first imaging device is connected to said motor in the base configured to move the first imaging device (arm 116 extends proximally and interfaces with an actuator 118…motor [0069] | see figure 3).
Regarding claim 32, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding a processor; and a communication unit comprising at least one of a wireless and a non-wireless communication interface; wherein the processor and communication unit are insertable in the base.
Ho teaches an elongated member (100, figure 1) with a distal tip (106, figure 1). The distal tip has a transducer (108, figure 2) disposed within the distal housing portion (104, figure 1). The transducer is mounted on a platform (110, figure 3) that is configured to rotate about an axis defined by a pivot pin (112, figure 3) extending through a portion of the platform ([0068]). An interface arm (116, figure 3) extends proximally from the platform and interfaces with an actuator (118, figure 3) to facilitate oscillation of the transducer ([0069]). The actuator is driven by a drive shaft to a motor or other driving device positioned adjacent a proximal portion of the elongated member ([0069]). A controller (322, figure 20) may include any number and type of electronic components and/or circuitry for performing the field-of-view control techniques ([0101]). Further, components of the controller may be remote from one another and may communicate through wires and/or wireless protocols ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device with the controller (322, figure 20), a platform (110, figure 3), a pivot pin (112, figure 3), an interface arm (116, figure 3), an actuator (118, figure 3), and a motor ([0069]) as taught by Ho. Doing so would provide oscillation of the first imaging device ([0069]) and remote field of view control ([0101]). The modified device would have a processor (322, figure 20; Ho); and a communication unit comprising at least one of a wireless and a non-wireless communication interface (remote…wireless protocols [0101]); wherein the processor and communication unit are insertable in the base (interpreted the modified controller to be a part of the base).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simchony (US 2015/0359416).
Regarding claim 4, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding a first inflatable member connected to the annular body; the first inflatable member is configured to expand at least a portion of the bodily orifice of the subject; a first conduit connected to the first inflatable member and adapted to inflate the first inflatable member; wherein the first inflatable member is an annular member surrounding the annular body.
Simchony teaches a device (100, figure 1) with a flexible tube (10, figure 1), spaced apart elements (12, figure 1), and steering wires (14, figure 1). The device has an image capturing device (13, figure 4) on its tip ([0056]). The device has balloons (302 and 304, figure 6) mounted on the tube. There are channels configured for supplying water and inflating at least one inflatable device ([0056]). A suction channel (76, figures 7) may vent fluid to the outside, where the vent tube may pass through the inflatable balloon ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Duval with a balloon (304, figure 6) and fluid channel ([0056]) as taught by Simchony. Doing so would provide an inflatable member that maintains contact with the body lumen to assist in distal advancement ([0055]). The modified device would have a first inflatable member (304, figure 6; Simchony) connected to the annular body; the first inflatable member is configured to expand at least a portion of the bodily orifice of the subject (form a pressure seal with a wall of the lumen…[0054]); a first conduit connected to the first inflatable member and adapted to inflate the first inflatable member (channel…supplying water [0056]); wherein the first inflatable member is an annular member surrounding the annular body (304, figure 6).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zubarik (US 2022/0248939).
Regarding claim 5, Duval and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 4. They are silent regarding controls, operable from the base, configured to perform one or more of: a. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member at different speeds; b. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member according to the size and anatomy of the bodily orifice.
Zubarik teaches a balloon catheter (200, figure 2) with a balloon (202, figure 2). A computing device (650a, figure 6a) can calculate a flow speed for the fluid as part of inflating the balloon, where this calculation may be performed based on balloon size and/or a size of the stricture of the esophagus ([0114]). Dilation of the balloon may occur manually through a button or automatically with the computing device ([0097]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device with a button ([0097]) on the base and a computing device (650a, figure 6a). Doing so would provide a manual control to activate inflation ([0097]) and control a flow speed for the fluid as part of inflating the balloon ([0114]). The modified device would have controls (button [0097]; Zubarik), operable from the base (the modified button would be on the base), configured to perform one or more of: a. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member at different speeds (flow speed…[0114]); b. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member according to the size and anatomy of the bodily orifice (…size of the stricture…[0114]).
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Palmer (US 2018/0289925) and Zubarik (US 2022/0248939).
Regarding claim 23, Duval and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 4. They are silent regarding a DC power supply comprising at least one of a battery, electric bus power supply interface and induction power supply interface; a pump connected to the first conduit and to a second conduit; and sensors configured to control operation of the pump; wherein the DC power supply, the pump and the sensors are insertable into the hollow interior of the base.
Palmer teaches a catheter (10, figures 10-12) whether the power control system can be a battery box that is connected to the catheter (figure 10), inside a handle of the catheter (figure 11), inside a power supply that is separate from the catheter (figure 12), or a combination of these ([0156]). The electrical power that is supplied can include direct current DC or alternating current AC ([0156]). Direct current is provided in a battery operated device, while AC power is drawn from a wall outlet ([0157]).
Zubarik teaches a balloon catheter (200, figure 2) with a balloon (202, figure 2). A computing device (650a, figure 6a) can calculate a flow speed for the fluid as part of inflating the balloon, where this calculation may be performed based on balloon size and/or a size of the stricture of the esophagus ([0114]). The system includes a pump (figure 3) that is fluidly coupled to the balloon catheter with tubing ([0072]). Further, Zubarik teaches sensors for measuring fluid flow ([0084]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Duval and Simchony to have a battery that is in the base/handle (figure 11) as taught by Palmer. Doing so would provide a cordless device (see figure 11). It would have been obvious to modify the device with a pump (figure 3), tubing ([0072]), and a sensor in the base ([0084]) as taught by Zubarik. Doing so would provide a pump to dilate the balloon ([0072]) and measure fluid flow ([0084]). The modified device would have a DC power supply (direct current…battery operated device [0157]; Palmer) comprising at least one of a battery (handle…with battery, figure 11), electric bus power supply interface and induction power supply interface; a pump (figure 3; [0072]; Zubarik) connected to the first conduit (channel…supplying water [0056]; Simchony) and to a second conduit (tubing from the pump [0072]; Zubarik); and sensors ([0084]; Zubarik) configured to control operation of the pump (measuring fluid flow…[0084]); wherein the DC power supply (see figure 11; Palmer), the pump and the sensors are insertable into the hollow interior of the base (see pump, figure 3; Zubarik | the modified device would have a sensor in the base to measure the fluid flow [0084]; Zubarik).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ayagh (US 2022/0218319).
Regarding claim 13, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding a swabbing member fitting within the interior of the annular body, being fully accommodated within the interior of the annular body and configured to protrude from and withdraw into the distal end of the annular body, the swabbing member comprising: a support; and a swab connected to the support; wherein the swabbing member is operable from the base to push the support of the swabbing member to cause the swab of the swabbing member to protrude from the distal end of the annular body.
Ayagh teaches a swab brush (126, figure 4) that is inserted into a cervical area via a protective guide (102, figure 4). The swab has a handle at one end and a brush or head affixed at another end ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to use a swab (124 and126, figure 4) as taught by Ayagh. Doing so would provide the ability to obtain a sample to detect certain viruses/bacteria ([0029]). The modified device would have a swabbing member (126, figure 4; Ayagh) fitting within the interior of the annular body (60, figure 1a; Duval), being fully accommodated within the interior of the annular body (see 60, figure 1a; Duval) and configured to protrude from and withdraw into the distal end of the annular body (inserted into the target area…[0057]; Ayagh), the swabbing member comprising: a support (see 126 and length of 124, figure 4; Ayagh); and a swab (see distal end of 124, figure 4) connected to the support; wherein the swabbing member is operable from the base to push the support of the swabbing member to cause the swab of the swabbing member to protrude from the distal end of the annular body (slidably positioned…insertion…[0065]; Ayagh).
Claim(s) 20 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bennett (US 2011/0190580).
Regarding claim 20, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding one or more sensors disposed on an exterior surface of the annular body, the one or more sensors configured to measure a set of parameters of the internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject comprising at least one of temperature, impedance, pH and pressure.
Bennett teaches an intravaginal monitoring device (105, figure 1 | 511, figure 5) with a cap or head (513, figure 5) and stem (515, figure 5). The cap and stem can include one or more of camera and illumination system, sensors, user interfaces, etc. ([0116]). The sensors include temperature sensors, pressure sensor, PH sensor, and other sensor systems that assist in determining other gynecological conditions ([0116]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have sensors ([0116]) on the exterior surface of the annular body as taught by Bennett. Doing so would provide information that can assist in determining conditions ([0116]). The modified device would have one or more sensors disposed on an exterior surface of the annular body (stem 515…sensors [0116]; Bennett), the one or more sensors configured to measure a set of parameters of the internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject comprising at least one of temperature, impedance, pH and pressure (temperature, pressure, PH sensor…[0116]).
Regarding claim 31, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding the first imaging device is further adapted to obtain images of a predefined set of anatomical features, comprising at least a panoramic pelvic view, a vulvar-vestibular panoramic view, a vagina panoramic view, a posterior fornix view, and an anterior fornix view.
Bennett teaches an intravaginal monitoring device (105, figure 1 | 511, figure 5) with a cap or head (513, figure 5) and stem (515, figure 5). The device further has live video use for guidance of the device into place and proper orientation for imaging desired anatomy ([0117]). The device can be placed and oriented to observed the female reproductive system (vaginal channel…[0115]). Live video or images can be collected ([0127]) and stored in a database ([0131])
It would have been obvious to modify the device to be used to monitor the female reproductive system as taught by Bennett ([0115]). Doing so would provide historical data on a female reproductive system (see figure 5 and [0145]). The modified device would have the first imaging device is further adapted to obtain images of a predefined set of anatomical features, comprising at least a panoramic pelvic view, a vulvar-vestibular panoramic view, a vagina panoramic view, a posterior fornix view, and an anterior fornix view (vaginal channel…[0115]; Bennett).
Claim(s) 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) and Ho (US 2013/0123577) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Bennett (US 2011/0190580).
Regarding claim 33, Duval and Ho disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 32. They are silent regarding the processor is configured to: control a process of the first imaging device obtaining images of a predefined set of anatomical features; generate status data relating to the process of the first imaging device obtaining images of the predefined set of anatomical features; generate and update a personalized profile of the subject from the images; and communicate the status data and the personalized profile to a remote computing device using the communication unit.
Bennett teaches an intravaginal monitoring device (105, figure 1 | 511, figure 5) with a cap or head (513, figure 5) and stem (515, figure 5). The device further has live video use for guidance of the device into place and proper orientation for imaging desired anatomy ([0117]). The device can be placed and oriented to observed the female reproductive system (vaginal channel…[0115]). Live video or images can be collected ([0127]) and stored in a database ([0131]), where the images can be shows in a time lapse sequence ([0127]). Status information may be generated using an analysis of the image data collected (claim 1). Information can be provided in a profile of the patient ([0164]).
It would have been obvious to modify the processor to obtain images of the female reproductive system (see figure 5), collecting and storing video/images ([0127] and [0131]), and generating status information (claim 1) as taught by Bennett. Doing so would provide historical female health condition information that can be accessed from a profile of a patient ([0164]). The modified device would have the processor is configured to: control a process of the first imaging device obtaining images of a predefined set of anatomical features (see figure 5; Bennett); generate status data relating to the process of the first imaging device obtaining images of the predefined set of anatomical features (claim 1); generate and update a personalized profile of the subject from the images (profile of the female…[0164]); and communicate the status data and the personalized profile to a remote computing device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a tablet, smartphone, computer | see figure 20) using the communication unit.
Regarding claim 34, Bennett further teaches the status data comprises at least an indication of successfully obtaining images of one anatomical feature from the predefined set of anatomical features (show…images [0127]) and an indication of successfully obtaining images of all anatomical features from the predefined set of anatomical features (show...images in a time lapse sequence [0127]; Bennett).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Biro (US 2021/0220594).
Regarding claim 21, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding said annular body is comprised of two or more interconnected annular segments, each having a proximal end, a distal end, a hollow interior and a central longitudinal axis; wherein in each pair of a first adjacent annular segment and a second adjacent annular segment, the second adjacent annular segment is rotatably connected at its proximal end to the distal end of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair such that the central longitudinal axis of the second adjacent annular segment is displaceable with respect to the central longitudinal axis of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair; and wherein the first imaging device may be insertable into interiors of said annular segments.
Biro teaches a bendable end section (11, figure 1) with segments (7-10, figure 1). The segments have joints (33, figure 6) between them, where there is increased mobility towards the tip (12, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Duval with joints (33, figure 6) in between them as taught by Biro. Doing so would provide increased mobility towards the tip of the device ([0117]). The modified device would have said annular body is comprised of two or more interconnected annular segments (see 7-10, figure 1; Biro), each having a proximal end (see proximal end of 7-10, figure 1), a distal end (see distal end of 7-10, figure 1), a hollow interior (see figure 5 | interpreted the segments 7-10 is hollow to hold the components shown in figure 5) and a central longitudinal axis (see longitudinal axis of 2, figure 1); wherein in each pair of a first adjacent annular segment and a second adjacent annular segment (see 7-10, figure 1), the second adjacent annular segment is rotatably connected at its proximal end to the distal end of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair (see figure 6) such that the central longitudinal axis of the second adjacent annular segment is displaceable with respect to the central longitudinal axis of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair; and wherein the first imaging device may be insertable into interiors of said annular segments (see figure 6).
Claim(s) 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ramanujam (US 2019/0150725).
Regarding claim 29, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding the first imaging device is adapted to be rotatable in at least three planes of motion (steering a distal portion [0021]; Duval | rotationally…[0023] | interpreted the first imaging device to be able to rotate L/R, U/D, and clockwise/counterclockwise). Duval is silent regarding to provide a field of view ranging from 5mm to 30 cm.
Ramanujam teaches a colposcope (100, figure 1) with a slider (110, figure 1). The slider can be moved to control the field of view FOV ([0056]). The FOV can range from 5 mm to 34 mm ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have a range of field of view from 5 mm to 34 mm as taught by Ramanujam ([0056]). Doing so would provide an FOV that can be varied ([0056]). The modified device would have a field of view ranging from 5mm to 30 cm (see 5 mm to 34 mm [0056]).
Claim(s) 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duval (US 2022/0338812) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inglis (US 2021/0137350).
Regarding claim 35, Duval discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Duval is silent regarding at least one of an accelerometer and a gyroscope to measure orientation and location of the first imaging device within the bodily orifice of the subject.
Inglis teaches the use of a gyroscope and accelerometer to locate the endoscope distal tip and track and presence and degree of forward/backward movement of the distal tip ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have a gyroscope and accelerometer next to the first imaging device as taught by Inglis ([0051]). Doing so would provide the location of the first imaging device and track the movement of the first imaging device ([0051]). The modified device would at least one of an accelerometer and a gyroscope (gyroscope/accelerometer [0051]; Inglis) to measure orientation and location (position data…track movement [0051]) of the first imaging device within the bodily orifice of the subject.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
October 29, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795