DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23, 29-36, and 60 are pending, claims 6-11, 14, 16-19, 22, 24-28, and 37-59 have been cancelled, and claims 1-5, 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23, 29-36, and 60 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, on line 7, change “hand of the subject” to “a hand of the subject”.
Regarding claim 1, on line 13, change “central longitudinal axis” to “a central longitudinal axis”.
Regarding claim 1, on line 14, change “axis and rotated” to “axis, and rotated”.
Regarding claim 21, on line 11, change “annular” to “the annular”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging device” in claims 1 and 60; “remote computing device” in claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 15, 30, 32, 36, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454), in view of Simchony (US 2015/0359416).
Regarding claim 1, Veit discloses a medical diagnostic device (see figure 1), comprising: an annular body (104, figure 1); a base (control device 2100, figures 21a) connected to the proximal end of the annular body (to/from remote controller, figure 1) adapted to be held by hand of the subject and comprising a hollow interior (see 2100, figures 21c-d); a first imaging device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a CCD or CMOS | 110, figure 1; image sensor [0068]), wherein the first imaging device is configured to obtain one or more images of an internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject (imaging of the target object space…; [0050]); wherein said first imaging device is configured to be movable in one or more of a longitudinal direction, tilted with respect to central longitudinal axis of annular body (see figure 1), rotated about the central longitudinal axis in a plane parallel to the axis and rotated about the central longitudinal axis in a plane perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of annular body (camera head rotate clockwise…counterclockwise [0083]). Veit is silent regarding the annular body having a proximal end, a distal end and a hollow interior, the distal end is configured to be inserted into a bodily orifice of a subject; a first inflatable member connected to the annular body, the first inflatable member is configured to expand at least a portion of the bodily orifice of the subject; the first imaging device positioned in said hollow interior of the annular body; wherein said first imaging device is configured to be movable within the hollow interior of the annular body.
Simchony teaches a device (100, figure 1) with a flexible tube (10, figure 1), spaced apart elements (12, figure 1), and steering wires (14, figure 1). The device has an image capturing device (13, figure 4) on its tip ([0056]). The device has balloons (302 and 304, figure 6) mounted on the tube. There are channels configured for supplying water and inflating at least one inflatable device ([0056]). A suction channel (76, figures 7) may vent fluid to the outside, where the vent tube may pass through the inflatable balloon ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Veit with the flexible tube (10, figure 4), spaced-apart elements (12, figure 4), channels (figure 7), and ballons (302 and/or 304, figure 6) as taught by Simchony. Doing so would provide a steerable tube ([0038]) and an inflatable member that maintains contact with the body lumen to assist in distal advancement ([0055]). The modified device would have the annular body (10, figure 4; Simchony) having a proximal end (near s’, figure 4), a distal end (see distal end of 200, figure 3) and a hollow interior (see figure 1), the distal end is configured to be inserted into a bodily orifice of a subject (within a body lumen…[0037]); a first inflatable member (304, figure 6) connected to the annular body, the first inflatable member is configured to expand at least a portion of the bodily orifice of the subject (inflated…direct contact with the wall of the body lumen [0055]); the first imaging device positioned in said hollow interior of the annular body (see 13, figure 4 | part of 13 would be inside of the distal end of 10-12, figure 4); wherein said first imaging device is configured to be movable within the hollow interior of the annular body (camera head rotate clockwise…counterclockwise [0083]; Veit).
Regarding claim 2, Veit further discloses controls on the base adapted to be manipulated by hand to actuate the first imaging device (2104, figures 21; Veit).
Regarding claim 3, Veit further discloses controls on the base adapted to be manipulated by a remote controller (remote controller 1200, figure 12; Veit) to actuate the first imaging device.
Regarding claim 4, Simchony further teaches a first conduit connected (channel…supplying water [0056]; Simchony) to the first inflatable member and adapted to inflate the first inflatable member; wherein the first inflatable member is an annular member surrounding the annular body (304, figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Veit further discloses a motor (motor…[0076]) in said base (in a hand-held unit [0076]) and wherein the first imaging device is connected to said motor in the base configured to move the first imaging device (effectuate the rotation of the camera…[0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Simchony further teaches a longitudinal channel (flexible tube encloses…channels…[0023]; Simchony) within the annular body and extending between the proximal end and the distal end of the annular body (lumen…tool [0023]), wherein the longitudinal channel is configured to receive a tool or a tool within an envelope (tool…[0023]).
Regarding claim 30, Veit further discloses the first imaging device is further adapted to: scan and obtain images of the internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject (capture images [0069]) in at least three planes of motion (see altitude, figure 1 | clockwise rotation…chosen reference axis and/or plane [0083]; reference axis can be x, y, and z axis, figure 1; Veit) according to a predetermined pattern (broadly interpreted as pre-planned by a user | see figures 9; +/- 90 degree range [0127]).
Regarding claim 32, Veit further discloses a processor (controller device 2100…tracking user behavior and monitoring use…[0101]; Veit | a proximal portion…processor [0138]; interpreted the processor can also be in the housing/base); and a communication unit comprising at least one of a wireless and a non-wireless communication interface (controller 2110…via a USB cable [0101]); wherein the processor and communication unit are insertable in the base (handpiece controller 2110, figures 21; [0101]).
Regarding claim 36, Veit further discloses the first imaging device further comprises an integrated light source (light emitting diodes…mounted around the lens 114 [0068]; figure 1 of Veit).
Regarding claim 60, Simchony further teaches at least one of an ultrasound probe or a third imaging device (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a CCD or CMOS | lumen for passage…tool, tool can be an optical device [0023]; imaging camera chip at the distal tip [0005]) .
Claim(s) 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Zubarik (US 2022/0248939).
Regarding claim 5, Veit and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding controls, operable from the base, configured to perform one or more of: a. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member at different speeds; b. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member according to the size and anatomy of the bodily orifice.
Zubarik teaches a balloon catheter (200, figure 2) with a balloon (202, figure 2). A computing device (650a, figure 6a) can calculate a flow speed for the fluid as part of inflating the balloon, where this calculation may be performed based on balloon size and/or a size of the stricture of the esophagus ([0114]). Dilation of the balloon may occur manually through a button or automatically with the computing device ([0097]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device would a button ([0097]) on the base and a computing device (650a, figure 6a). Doing so would provide a manual control to activate inflation ([0097]) and control a flow speed for the fluid as part of inflating the balloon ([0114]). The modified device would have controls (button [0097]; Zubarik), operable from the base (the modified button would be on the base), configured to perform one or more of: a. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member at different speeds (flow speed…[0114]); b. inflate and deflate the first inflatable member according to the size and anatomy of the bodily orifice (…size of the stricture…[0114]).
Regarding claim 23, Viet further discloses a DC power supply comprising at least one of a battery, electric bus power supply interface (electrically conducting member…[0012]; DC/stepper motor [0076]; Viet | interpreted there to be an electrical bus power supply to provide power to various electrical components) and induction power supply interface. Veit and Simchony are silent regarding a pump connected to the first conduit and to a second conduit; and sensors configured to control operation of the pump; wherein the DC power supply, the pump and the sensors are insertable into the hollow interior of the base.
Zubarik teaches a balloon catheter (200, figure 2) with a balloon (202, figure 2). A computing device (650a, figure 6a) can calculate a flow speed for the fluid as part of inflating the balloon, where this calculation may be performed based on balloon size and/or a size of the stricture of the esophagus ([0114]). The system includes a pump (figure 3) that is fluidly coupled to the balloon catheter with tubing ([0072]). Further, Zubarik teaches sensors for measuring fluid flow ([0084]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Veit and Simchony with a pump (figure 3), tubing ([0072]), and a sensor in the base ([0084]) as taught by Zubarik. Doing so would provide a pump to dilate the balloon ([0072]) and measure fluid flow ([0084]). The modified device would have a pump (figure 3; [0072]; Zubarik) connected to the first conduit (channel…supplying water [0056]; Simchony) and to a second conduit (tubing from the pump [0072]; Zubarik); and sensors ([0084]; Zubarik) configured to control operation of the pump (measuring fluid flow…[0084]); wherein the DC power supply, the pump and the sensors are insertable into the hollow interior of the base (electrically conducting member…[0012]; DC/stepper motor [0076]; Viet; interpreted there to be an electrical bus power supply to provide power to various electrical components in the base | see pump, figure 3; Zubarik | the modified device would have a sensor in the base to measure the fluid flow [0084]; Zubarik).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ayagh (US 2022/0218319).
Regarding claim 13, Veit and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding a swabbing member fitting within the interior of the annular body, being fully accommodated within the interior of the annular body and configured to protrude from and withdraw into the distal end of the annular body, the swabbing member comprising: a support; and a swab connected to the support; wherein the swabbing member is operable from the base to push the support of the swabbing member to cause the swab of the swabbing member to protrude from the distal end of the annular body.
Ayagh teaches a swab brush (126, figure 4) that is inserted into a cervical area via a protective guide (102, figure 4). The swab has a handle at one end and a brush or head affixed at another end ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to use a swab (124 and126, figure 4) as taught by Ayagh. Doing so would provide the ability to obtain a sample to detect certain viruses/bacteria ([0029]). The modified device would have a swabbing member (126, figure 4; Ayagh) fitting within the interior of the annular body (lumen…tool [0023]; Shimchony), being fully accommodated within the interior of the annular body (flexible tube encloses…channels…[0023]; Simchony) and configured to protrude from and withdraw into the distal end of the annular body (inserted into the target area…[0057]; Ayagh), the swabbing member comprising: a support (see 126 and length of 124, figure 4; Ayagh); and a swab (see distal end of 124, figure 4) connected to the support; wherein the swabbing member is operable from the base to push the support of the swabbing member to cause the swab of the swabbing member to protrude from the distal end of the annular body (slidably positioned…insertion…[0065]).
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Biro (US 2021/0220594).
Regarding claim 21, Simchony further teaches said annular body is comprised of two or more interconnected annular segments (12, figure 14; Simchony), each having a proximal end (see proximal end of each 12, figure 14), a distal end (distal end of each 12, figure 4), a hollow interior (see interior of 12, figure 4) and a central longitudinal axis (see 12, figure 4); and wherein the first imaging device may be insertable (functional language) into interiors of annular segments (see 13, figure 4 | flexible tube encloses…electrical cables…[0023]). Veit and Simchony are silent regarding wherein in each pair of a first adjacent annular segment and a second adjacent annular segment, the second adjacent annular segment is rotatably connected at its proximal end to the distal end of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair such that the central longitudinal axis of the second adjacent annular segment is displaceable with respect to the central longitudinal axis of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair.
Biro teaches a bendable end section (11, figure 1) with segments (7-10, figure 1). The segments have joints (33, figure 6) between them, where there is increased mobility towards the tip (12, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to modify the segments of Veit and Simchony with joints (33, figure 6) in between them as taught by Biro. Doing so would provide increased mobility towards the tip of the device ([0117]). The modified device would have wherein in each pair of a first adjacent annular segment and a second adjacent annular segment (see segments 7-10, figure 1; Biro), the second adjacent annular segment is rotatably connected at its proximal end to the distal end of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair (see figure 6) such that the central longitudinal axis of the second adjacent annular segment is displaceable with respect to the central longitudinal axis of the first adjacent annular segment of the respective pair (see figure 6).
Claim(s) 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramanujam (US 2019/0150725).
Regarding claim 29, Veit further discloses the first imaging device is adapted to be rotatable in at least three planes of motion (see altitude, figure 1 | clockwise rotation…chosen reference axis and/or plane [0083]; reference axis can be x, y, and z axis, figure 1; Veit). Viet further discloses the FOV is substantially 180 degree while keeping the special resolution of imaging of about 50 µm, however, the angle of view may be varied according to the needs of an application ([0133]). Veit and Simchony is silent regarding a field of view ranging from 5mm to 30 cm.
Ramanujam teaches a colposcope (100, figure 1) with a slider (110, figure 1). The slider can be moved to control the field of view FOV ([0056]). The FOV can range from 5 mm and 3 µm to 34 mm and 22 µm ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have a range of field of view from 5 mm to 34 mm as taught by Ramanujam ([0056]). Doing so would provide an FOV that can be varied ([0056]). The modified device would have a field of view ranging from 5mm to 30 cm (see 5 mm to 34 mm [0056]; Ramanujam | angle of view may be varied [0133] of Veit).
Claim(s) 20, 31, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claims 1 and 32 above, and further in view of Bennett (US 2011/0190580)
Regarding claim 20, Veit and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding one or more sensors disposed on an exterior surface of the annular body, the one or more sensors configured to measure a set of parameters of the internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject comprising at least one of temperature, impedance, pH and pressure.
Bennett teaches an intravaginal monitoring device (105, figure 1 | 511, figure 5) with a cap or head (513, figure 5) and stem (515, figure 5). The cap and stem can include one or more of camera and illumination system, sensors, user interfaces, etc. ([0116]). The sensors include temperature sensors, pressure sensor, PH sensor, and other sensor systems that assist in determining other gynecological conditions ([0116]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have sensors ([0116]) on the exterior surface of the annular body as taught by Bennett. Doing so would provide information that can assist in determining conditions ([0116]). The modified device would have one or more sensors disposed on an exterior surface of the annular body (stem 515…sensors [0116]; Bennett), the one or more sensors configured to measure a set of parameters of the internal environment of the bodily orifice of the subject comprising at least one of temperature, impedance, pH and pressure (temperature, pressure, PH sensor…[0116]).
Regarding claim 31, Veit and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding the first imaging device is further adapted to obtain images of a predefined set of anatomical features, comprising at least a panoramic pelvic view, a vulvar-vestibular panoramic view, a vagina panoramic view, a posterior fornix view, and an anterior fornix view.
Bennett teaches an intravaginal monitoring device (105, figure 1 | 511, figure 5) with a cap or head (513, figure 5) and stem (515, figure 5). The device further has live video use for guidance of the device into place and proper orientation for imaging desired anatomy ([0117]). The device can be placed and oriented to observed the female reproductive system (vaginal channel…[0115]). Live video or images can be collected ([0127]) and stored in a database ([0131])
It would have been obvious to modify the device to be used to monitor the female reproductive system as taught by Bennett ([0115]). Doing so would provide historical data on a female reproductive system (see figure 5 and [0145]). The modified device would have the first imaging device is further adapted to obtain images of a predefined set of anatomical features, comprising at least a panoramic pelvic view, a vulvar-vestibular panoramic view, a vagina panoramic view, a posterior fornix view, and an anterior fornix view (figure 5 | observed…vulva…interior orifice…[0115]; Bennett).
Regarding claim 33, Veit and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 32. They are silent regarding the processor is configured to: control a process of the first imaging device obtaining images of a predefined set of anatomical features; generate status data relating to the process of the first imaging device obtaining images of the predefined set of anatomical features; generate and update a personalized profile of the subject from the images; and communicate the status data and the personalized profile to a remote computing device using the communication unit.
Bennett teaches an intravaginal monitoring device (105, figure 1 | 511, figure 5) with a cap or head (513, figure 5) and stem (515, figure 5). The device further has live video use for guidance of the device into place and proper orientation for imaging desired anatomy ([0117]). The device can be placed and oriented to observed the female reproductive system (vaginal channel…[0115]). Live video or images can be collected ([0127]) and stored in a database ([0131]), where the images can be shown in a time lapse sequence ([0127]). Status information may be generated using an analysis of the image data collected (claim 1). Information can be provided in a profile of the patient ([0164]).
It would have been obvious to modify the processor to obtain images of the female reproductive system (see figure 5), collecting and storing video/images ([0127] and [0131]), and generating status information (claim 1) as taught by Bennett. Doing so would provide historical female health condition information that can be accessed from a profile of a patient ([0164]). The modified device would have the processor is configured to: control a process of the first imaging device obtaining images of a predefined set of anatomical features (see figure 5; Bennett); generate status data relating to the process of the first imaging device obtaining images of the predefined set of anatomical features (claim 1); generate and update a personalized profile of the subject from the images (profile of the female…[0164]); and communicate the status data and the personalized profile to a remote computing device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a tablet, smartphone, computer | see figure 20) using the communication unit.
Regarding claim 34, Bennett further teaches the status data comprises at least an indication of successfully obtaining images of one anatomical feature from the predefined set of anatomical features (show…images [0127]) and an indication of successfully obtaining images of all anatomical features from the predefined set of anatomical features (show...images in a time lapse sequence [0127]; Bennett).
Claim(s) 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veit (US 2022/0334454) and Simchony (US 2015/0359416) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inglis (US 2021/0137350).
Regarding claim 35, Veit and Simchony disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding at least one of an accelerometer and a gyroscope to measure orientation and location of the first imaging device within the bodily orifice of the subject.
Inglis teaches the use of a gyroscope and accelerometer to locate the endoscope distal tip and track and presence and degree of forward/backward movement of the distal tip ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device to have a gyroscope and accelerometer next to the first imaging device as taught by Inglis ([0051]). Doing so would provide the location of the first imaging device and track the movement of the first imaging device ([0051]). The modified device would at least one of an accelerometer and a gyroscope (gyroscope/accelerometer [0051]; Inglis) to measure orientation and location (position data…track movement [0051]) of the first imaging device within the bodily orifice of the subject.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ho (US 2013/0123577) for a similar imaging device; Vail (US 2014/0088364) for imaging the female reproductive system.
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
May 14, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795