DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of newly found reference Katrib being used in the current rejection. See the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 2008/0091778 to Ivashin (“Ivashin”) in view of US PG Pub 2022/0191572 to Katrib (“Katrib”).
Regarding claim 1, “An information processing apparatus” reads on the method for providing partial layout synchronization in a live teleconferencing system (abstract, ¶0003) disclosed by Ivashin and represented in Fig. 3.
As to “comprising: circuitry configured to display a preset menu to preset a distribution image to be transmitted from the information processing apparatus to a reception terminal before live streaming application is executed, the distribution image including a first region in which the live streaming application is to be streamed and a second region in which other information is to be displayed” Ivashin discloses (¶0009) that a conference client application enters a presenter participant mode and accepts a layout modification from a local user, e.g., by manipulating user-interface elements of the conference client; the layout modification alters a selection or arrangement of conference components in a user interface; (¶0011) the method receives a representation of a layout for the user interface and constructs the user interface in a display area from the representation; (¶0030) while identified as the presenter participant, he or she may easily control the selection and layout of conference components of the teleconference as presented to other meeting members; (¶0036) conference application interface for presenting video, shared documents, and other information to the conference participant; conference application interface includes a plurality of components 152-156, each covering a rectangular region of conference application interface as represented in Fig. 3.
As to “provide a first interface of the preset menu to preset transmission data for transmitting the first region to the reception terminal in response to a transmission data selection by a user of the information processing apparatus, provide a second interface of the preset menu to preset display data for the second region in response to a display data selection by the user of the information processing apparatus, provide a third interface of the preset menu to preset a layout for the first region and the second region in the distribution image in response to a layout selection by the user” Ivashin discloses (¶0036-¶0037, ¶0043) that the conference application interface includes a plurality of components, each having a rectangular region of conference application interface as represented in Fig. 3; a video display area is divided to present a plurality of cells as represented in Fig. 3; a display area divided into four cells A, B, C, and D where each cell is assigned to a selected component as shown in Fig. 4; layout selection buttons 173 includes an application sharing layout button, a document sharing button, and a video button, to place the main focus on a shared application, a document, or the video, respectively as represented in Fig. 7A.
As to “generate the distribution image based on an input via the first, second and third interfaces of the preset menu, execute the live streaming application” Ivashin discloses (¶0053, ¶0057) that upon presenter selecting/clicking a button from the layout selection buttons in control bar, the system executes/forwards the command to all of the participants as represented in Figs. 3 and 7A.
As to “control transmission of data for displaying the distribution image to the reception terminal during execution of the live streaming application” Ivashin discloses (¶0057) that the first participant transmits a CmdSetView command 208 along with parameters viewId, viewStyle, and viewLayout to server automatically when designated as a presenter. This command defines a new layout according to the presenter's layout by providing a viewLayout string as described above with reference to FIGS. 4-6. Server receives this command and stores the parameters, then transmits the CmdSetView command 210 to all non-presenter participants, such as second participant 104n, so that the non-presenter participants can synchronize their layouts to the layout selected by first participant 104p.
Ivashin meets all the limitations of the claim except “wherein a view of a viewer screen displaying the distribution image at the reception terminal is different from a view of a distributor screen of the live streaming application at the information processing apparatus, and display a monitoring screen for displaying the distribution image during execution of the live streaming application at the information processing apparatus, separately from the distributor screen, to check the view of the viewer screen during the execution of the live streaming application.” However, Katrib discloses (¶0140, ¶0142, ¶0150) that the device displays edited version and the unedited version of the livestream simultaneously on the split screen of the device where the edited version of the stream provided to the users is different from the unedited version of the stream as represented in Fig. 7; (¶0133) the device receives and displays the edited content on the split screen, giving their users the opportunity to see what the end results look. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ivashin’s system by displaying multiple views of the distributor screen and viewer screen displaying the distribution image at the reception terminal as taught by Katrib in order to give the user opportunity to see what the unedited and edited end results may look simultaneously on the split screen (Katrib - ¶0133).
Regarding claim 2, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the circuitry is configured to control transmission of an image for the first region having different aspect ratios, resolutions, or frame rates, from that of the view of the distributor screen of the application on the information processing apparatus during the execution of the live streaming application” Ivashin discloses (¶0043) that the start presenting button is provided to allow the local participant to request presenter participant status; layout selection buttons allows the local user to select a predefined layout with a single mouse click; (¶0054) the presenter participant modifies their workspace in a multitude of ways aside from making selections of pre-defined layouts; the presenter participant can open and close components, swap components, relocate or resize components, etc.; (¶0037) a video display area may be divided to present a plurality of cells where the display area divided into four cells A, B, C, and D. Each cell may be assigned to a selected component. In one embodiment, the layout of the cells is determined based on recursively dividing a resizable application window region of the screen; the system accommodates variable window sizes and screen resolutions which may vary from one conference client to another.
Regarding claim 3, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to: display an image having an aspect ratio that is displayed in an entire region of a two-screen display of the information processing apparatus during execution of the live streaming application, and wherein the circuitry is configured to control transmission of an image for the first region having an aspect ratio that is displayed on a one-screen display” Ivashin discloses (¶0054) that the largest cell deemed to contain the primary component where the user selects to provide a full screen view of one of the components; (¶0059) the user may make substantial changes to the user interface configuration or style, e.g., by changing from a windowed mode to a full screen mode, perhaps having a picture-in-picture for a selected component, and these changes may or may not be considered "significant" depending upon the implementation. In one embodiment, user interface style changes are not communicated to the server, even if the primary component is substantially modified as a result. The predefined ordering of predefined views may be used to determine which component is presented using the full screen size when entering full screen mode and which component is placed picture-in-picture. For example, the video component may be designated as the secondary component in all of the non-video predefined views, so that it will appear in the picture-in-picture window in the full screen mode, regardless of how large the video is relative to other components in the view in the normal windowed mode.
Regarding claim 4, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a memory configured to store information set by the user for the distribution image” Ivashin discloses (¶0053) that whenever the presenter participant clicks a layout selection buttons 173 (FIG. 7A) in control bar 170 (FIG. 3, 7A-7C), a CmdSetView is sent to server 102 (FIG. 1). Server 102 stores the most recent copy of that command in persistent storage 106.
Regarding claim 5, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third interface of the preset menu is to preset a vertical layout and a horizontal layout for the distribution image in response to a vertical layout selection and a horizontal layout selection by the user” Ivashin discloses (¶0038, ¶0043, claim 23) that the layout is defined by recording, for each division, the orientation of the division, i.e., either vertical or horizontal as represented in Figs. 4-5.
Regarding claim 8, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the circuitry is configured to provide the third interface of the preset menu to display a plurality of different layouts for a user to select” Ivashin discloses (¶0037-¶0038) that the video display area is divided into plurality of cells where the user selects/adjusts the size of the layout as represented in Figs. 4-5; (¶0053, ¶0057) the presenter selects a pre-defined layouts.
Regarding claim 9, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to process, by the preset menu, at least one of text in the first region, the second region, and a background in the first region” Ivashin discloses (¶0027) that the content received from participants and the presenter are processed and distributed; (¶0053) the viewLayout string for the predefined views is sent to simplify processing.
Regarding claim 10, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to edit, by the preset menu, text in the second region” Ivashin discloses (¶0036, ¶0051) that the preset window includes a chat window for sending instant messages to other participants as represented in Fig. 3 (element 166).
Regarding claim 11, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry configured to edit, by the preset menu, a thumbnail of the distribution image, and wherein the circuitry is configured to generate and control transmission of the thumbnail of the distribution image according to an input by the user” Ivashin discloses (¶0043, claim 7) that the layout selection button includes a custom layout selection buttons to provide access to one or more user-defined layouts; (¶0049) When the presenter participant changes the meeting view, e.g., by selecting a predefined layout or custom-defined layout view, this command is passed from the presenter participant to the conference server, and then to the other participant. In addition, the conference server saves the field values and sends the command to newly arriving participants if there is an active presenter-participant.
Regarding claim 12, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the circuitry is configured to edit at least one of text in the second region, the first region, and a background of the second region in the thumbnail” Ivashin discloses (¶0043, claim 7) that the layout selection button includes a custom layout selection buttons to provide access to one or more user-defined layouts; (¶0049) When the presenter participant changes the meeting view, e.g., by selecting a predefined layout or custom-defined layout view, this command is passed from the presenter participant to the conference server, and then to the other participant. In addition, the conference server saves the field values and sends the command to newly arriving participants if there is an active presenter-participant.
Regarding claim 15, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to control to switch from displaying the distributor screen of the live streaming application on the information processing apparatus during execution of the live streaming application to displaying the monitoring screen of the distribution image in accordance with a view selection by the user” Ivashin discloses (¶0030) that defining or changing a local user interface layout, propagating a layout selection or partial layout change, and operating associated user interface presenter controls.
Regarding claim 17, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to display a setting menu during transmission of the distribution image for executing setting of the transmission data, store setting information corresponding to a user operation on the setting menu, and change setting of transmission data according to setting information stored and control transmission of a changed distribution image based on changed transmission data” Ivashin discloses (¶0030) that defining or changing a local user interface layout, propagating a layout selection or partial layout change, and operating associated user interface presenter controls.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, “The information processing apparatus according to The information processing apparatus according to wherein the circuitry is configured to display the distributor screen on one of the two- screen display of the information processing apparatus, and display the monitoring screen for displaying the distribution image on another one of the two-screen display of the information processing apparatus, during execution of the live streaming application” Katrib discloses (¶0140, ¶0142, ¶0150) that the device displays edited version and the unedited version of the livestream simultaneously on the split screen of the device where the edited version of the stream provided to the users is different from the unedited version of the stream as represented in Fig. 7; (¶0133) the device receives and displays the edited content on the split screen, giving their users the opportunity to see what the end results look.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivashin in view of Katrib as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US Patent 10,070,051 to Tudor (“Tudor”).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Ivashin and Katrib meets all the limitations of the claim except “The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the third interface of the preset menu is configured to display a plurality of different vertical layouts for the user to select and a plurality of different horizontal layouts for the user to select.” However, Tudor discloses (11:26-30) that the user is presented with a preference selection screen, presenting the possible options for video capture orientation to the user; the user is able to select between a portrait orientation and a landscape orientation for video capture as represented in Fig. 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ivashin and Katrib’s systems by displaying options to select from portrait/vertical and landscape/horizontal as taught by Tudor in order to allow user to decide whether they would prefer to capture a video or still image in a vertical (portrait) or horizontal (landscape) orientation for each discrete video (Tudor – 2:15-17).
Regarding claim 7, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the circuitry is configured to: generate and control transmission of the distribution image having the horizontal layout on condition that the information processing apparatus is horizontally oriented, and generate and control transmission of the distribution image having the vertical layout on condition that the information processing apparatus is vertically oriented” Tudor discloses (11:52-64; 14:51-64) that the user’s desired orientation is stored where the content is provided in horizontal or vertical orientation depending on the desired orientation.
Claims 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivashin in view of Katrib as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of US PG Pub 2015/0281296 to Takaichi (“Takaichi”).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Ivashin and Katrib meets all the limitations of the claim except “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to adjust audio data for the transmission data, and the circuitry is configured to adjust a volume of a sound source constituting audio data included in the transmission data.” However, Takaichi discloses (¶0085, claim 13) that when the information processing apparatus generates content, it indicates choices regarding whether or not microphone sound is to be included in the distribution of the content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ivashin and Katrib’s systems by adjusting volume of the sound source constituting audio data included in the transmission data as taught by Takaichi in order to control what type of information/content user want to share with different users on a network (Takaichi - ¶0002).
Regarding claim 14, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the circuitry is configured to generate and control transmission of audio data obtained by adjusting a volume of each sound source according to an input bye the user with the distribution image to the reception terminal” Takaichi discloses (¶0085, claim 13) that when the information processing apparatus generates content, it indicates choices regarding whether or not microphone sound is to be included in the distribution of the content.
Regarding claim 18, “The information processing apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the circuitry is configured to adjust a volume of a sound source constituting audio data included in the transmission data, and the circuitry is configured to generate and control transmission of audio data in which a volume of each sound source is changed according to a volume of a sound source changed according to a user operation on the setting menu” Takaichi discloses (¶0085, claim 13) that when the information processing apparatus generates content, it indicates choices regarding whether or not microphone sound is to be included in the distribution of the content.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PINKAL R CHOKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425