DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being disclosed by MCKENNA et al. (US 20110045910 A1) (MCKENNA).
Regarding Claim 1, MCKENNA discloses An information processing device comprising:
circuitry configured to control sending distribution content, provided by a distributor, to a plurality of user terminals;
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
select a first group, from among a plurality of groups to each of which two or more users belong, the first group being one group or two or more groups; and being designated as a group having right to bidirectional communication with the distributor;
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
control a connection to enable bidirectional communication between the users belonging to the first group and the distributor, wherein the circuitry is further configured to newly reselect the first group based on a predetermined condition.
[0032] End user devices can be grouped by region, locale, or geography as sub-populations in the various regions 160-162 served by the wireless communication network. In aggregate, all of the sub-populations form the "population" of end users.
Regarding Claim 2, MCKENNA discloses An information processing device comprising:
circuitry configured to send distribution content, provided by a distributor, to a plurality of user terminals,
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
select a first group, from among a plurality of groups to each of which two or more users belong, the first group being one group or two or more groups:
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
and being designated as a group having right to bidirectional communication with the distributor;
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
control a connection to enable bidirectional communication between the users belonging to the first group and the distributor, wherein
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
the circuitry is further configured to generate a virtual space in which user objects corresponding to users belonging to a same group are disposed, and
[0028] the feedback (“user objects”) is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
the circuitry is further configured to control sending, to a distributor terminal used by the distributor, information on the user objects corresponding to the users belonging to the first group.
[0028] Thus, content is received from a content source, typically as a sequence of frames of data, which are transmitted to the end user devices which are selected to concurrently receive the sequence of frames of data. As ones of these selected end user devices transmit feedback to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118, the feedback is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
Regarding Claim 3, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry controls sending the distribution content to user terminals used by the users, the distribution content including information on a distributor object corresponding to the distributor and disposed in the virtual space.
[0028] Thus, content is received from a content source, typically as a sequence of frames of data, which are transmitted to the end user devices which are selected to concurrently receive the sequence of frames of data. As ones of these selected end user devices transmit feedback to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118, the feedback is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
Regarding Claim 4, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the information on the user objects is updated based on motion information input to the user terminal, and
the circuitry controls receiving the information on the user objects that has been updated.
[0028] the feedback (“user objects”) is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
Regarding Claim 5, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuitry controls sending, to a distributor terminal used by the distributor, image information, audio information, or text information sent from the users belonging to the first group.
[0011] The Gaming System With End User Feedback aggregates the reverse path feedback from the end user devices and then processes this feedback data in context with the streamed forward path content generated by the gaming site. For example, if the application is a multi-player game, the Gaming System With End User Feedback receives the end user's reverse path feedback data which defines how their avatar or in-game virtual person should react or behave at a given point within the game.
Regarding Claim 6, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry selects a second group from among a plurality of groups not selected as the first group by the circuitry, the second group being one group or two or more groups, and
[0032] End user devices can be grouped by region, locale, or geography as sub-populations in the various regions 160-162 served by the wireless communication network. In aggregate, all of the sub-populations form the "population" of end users.
the circuitry controls a connection such that communication among users belonging to the second group is conveyed to the distributor.
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
Regarding Claim 8, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 1,
wherein the predetermined condition is whether a group has been selected by the distributor, and
the circuitry selects a group selected by the distributor as a new first group.
[0032] End user devices can be grouped by region, locale, or geography as sub-populations in the various regions 160-162 served by the wireless communication network. In aggregate, all of the sub-populations form the "population" of end users.
Regarding Claim 9, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 1,
whereingroups based on the communication among users belonging to the same group, and
the predetermined condition is a condition pertaining to the excitement level or the contribution level calculated by the circuitry.
[0009] for a gaming site to a plurality of end users can be dynamically modified as a result of end user interaction or feedback, wherein each end user has a private bidirectional link to the gaming site to enter their moves, optionally receive private data from the gaming site to enable the end user's device to display private data that is hidden from the other players, and to communicate privately with another member or members of a sub-group.
Regarding Claim 10, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 1,
wherein a total number of the first groups selected by the circuitry is a predetermined number.
[0027] for a common source of content 102 can be used to provide source content 103 that is transmitted via an unidirectional forward path 155 to the end user devices located in the various regions 160-162,
Regarding Claim 11, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 9,
wherein a total number of the first groups selected by the circuitry is determined based on a calculation result from the circuitry.
[0027] for a common source of content 102 can be used to provide source content 103 that is transmitted via an unidirectional forward path 155 to the end user devices located in the various regions 160-162,
Regarding Claim 12, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 3,
wherein when the first group is selected by the circuitry, the circuitry generates a specific virtual space in which the distributor object and the user objects corresponding to the users belonging to the first group are disposed.
[0028] the feedback (“user objects”) is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
Regarding Claim 13, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 3
wherein the circuitry determines a location, in the virtual space, at which each of the user objects corresponding to the users belonging to the first group selected by the circuitry are disposed, from among a plurality of types of locations having different experience values pertaining to communication with the distributor.
[0028] the feedback (“different experience”) is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
Regarding Claim 14, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 13,
Wherein the circuitry calculates an excitement level or a contribution level of each user belonging to the same group based on details of the communication among the users belonging to the same group, and
circuitry determines the location based on the excitement level or the contribution level of each user calculated by the circuitry.
[0009] for a gaming site to a plurality of end users can be dynamically modified as a result of end user interaction or feedback, wherein each end user has a private bidirectional link to the gaming site to enter their moves, optionally receive private data from the gaming site to enable the end user's device to display private data that is hidden from the other players, and to communicate privately with another member or members of a sub-group.
Regarding Claim 15, MCKENNA discloses The information processing device according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry determines a method of communication with the distributor for each of the users belonging to the first group selected by the circuitry, from among a plurality of types of methods each having a different experience value for the communication with the distributor.
[0028] the feedback (“different experience”) is collected by the Virtual Feedback Aggregator 130 and then used by the Content Integrator 140 to modify the content in the next (or presently) received frame from the content source to create end user modified content for transmission to the selected end user devices.
Regarding Claim 16, MCKENNA discloses An information processing device comprising:
circuitry configured to send distribution content, provided by a distributor. to a plurality of user terminals;
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
select a first group, from among a plurality of groups to each of which two or more users belong, the first group being one group or two or more groups; and being designated as a group having right to bidirectional communication with the distributor;
FIG.1, FIG. 3 and [0027]-[0029] for The content first is delivered to the Gaming System With End User Feedback 118 where it is processed and then distributed to the selected groups of end user devices in each of the regions 160-162 and to individual end user devices 163. See also Fig. 3 for the network 300 comprises a wireless multicast network using an unidirectional high bandwidth forward path 351 to transmit content to selected groups of end users (such as end user 340) as well as bidirectional links 352 which connect the end user devices 340 with a content distribution site 321.
control a connection to enable bidirectional communication between the users belonging to the first group and the distributor, wherein
the circuitry is further configured to control receiving, from each of the user terminals, information on the group to which the user using the user terminal belongs.
[0032] End user devices can be grouped by region, locale, or geography as sub-populations in the various regions 160-162 served by the wireless communication network. In aggregate, all of the sub-populations form the "population" of end users.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIRA MONSHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422