DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final action in response to response to election/restriction filed on 08/20/2026. Claims 1-6, 10 are elected.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of specie II in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner respectfully disagree with Applicant’s grouping of claims and believes only claims 1-11 are directed to elected invention.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected because “the learning device comprising:” includes an additional paragraph break. The limitation appears to be the ending of preamble and therefore should be grouped with other parts of preamble.
Examiner would also recommend rewriting “configured to learn a condition of an air conditioning apparatus in which refrigerant circulates, wherein operation data of the air conditioning apparatus includes a first data group and a second data group that does not contain a same data element as a data element of the first data group” to “for learning contain a same data element as a data element of the first data group” so that it’s clear the limitation is part of intended operating environment.
Alternatively, if Applicant intends to positively recite the above limitation, please move the limitation to the body of claim.
All dependent claims are objected over dependency.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: various “unit” in claims 1-11
Examiner recommends incorporating CPU such that the CPU encompass all these units if Applicant does NOT intend to invoke 112(f) for these limitations. The CPU would provide sufficient structure to carry out the entire function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimi (US 20220268503) in view of Meng (US 20200334538)
As per claim 1, Yoshimi discloses a learning device configured to learn a condition of an air conditioning apparatus in which refrigerant circulates, wherein operation data of the air conditioning apparatus includes a first data group and a second data group that does not contain a same data element as a data element of the first data group, the learning device comprising:
a first calculation unit configured to calculate a first feature amount from the first data group of the air conditioning apparatus during a learning period (0245, first operation data used by inferring unit to infer corrected refrigerant amount range); and
a learning unit configured to generate a first inference model that infers a first normal range of the first feature amount from the second data group by performing
Yoshimi does not explicitly disclose using supervised learning technique but Meng teaches applying supervised learning to teacher data labeled with ground truth as method of learning (0005 regarding supervised learning involving labeling dataset with truth label. See 0020 that training data labeled with ground truth to train a model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to apply Meng’s supervised learning with Yoshimi’s inference unit for the purpose of producing a model that’s useful to predict outcome.
As per claim 2, Yoshima further discloses the learning device according to claim 1, wherein
the operation data includes a third data group different from the first data group and a fourth data group that does not contain a same data element as a data element of the third data group (0280-0282 where model are generated for normal condition as well as a model for leaking condition. See 0245 regarding data collection),
the first calculation unit is configured to calculate a second feature amount from the third data group during the learning period (0280-0282 where model are generated for normal condition as well as a model for leaking condition. See 0245 regarding data collection. Examiner notes an amount when leaking is different from an amount when normal condition), and
the learning unit is configured to generate a second inference model that infers a second normal range of the second feature amount from the fourth data group by
Regarding supervised learning, please see claim 1 and the rationale to combine would persist.
As per claim 7, Yoshimi further discloses a monitoring device for an air conditioning apparatus, the monitoring device using the first inference model generated by the learning device according to claim 1, the first inference model being trained, the monitoring device comprising:
a second calculation unit configured to calculate the first feature amount from the first data group among the operation data of the air conditioning apparatus during a monitoring period (0274-0275 correction model generated from result being fed back);
an inference unit configured to output, using the first inference model trained, the first normal range from the second data group among the operating data of the air conditioning apparatus during the monitoring period (0274-0275 correction made to increase correct answer rate); and
a determination unit configured to determine whether or not the condition of the air conditioning apparatus is normal by comparing the first feature amount calculated by the second calculation unit with the first normal range inferred by the inference unit (0274-0275 detection of leak from normal operation).
As per claim 8, Yoshimi further discloses the monitoring device according to claim 7, wherein
the air conditioning apparatus includes a refrigerant circuit in which the refrigerant circulates (0112, main refrigerant circuit),
the refrigerant circuit includes a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, and an evaporator (0284, compressor 202, condenser 201-1, expansion valve 204, evaporator 1404), and
the first feature amount is a degree of supercooling of the refrigerant at an outlet of the condenser (0033-0034 degree of superheating. Examiner notes a degree of superheat would also be 1 degree of supercooling).
As per claim 9, Yoshimi further discloses The monitoring device according to claim 8, wherein
the first data group includes a pressure of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor and a temperature of the refrigerant at the outlet of the condenser (Fig. 5, operation data from pressure sensor), and
the second data group at least includes a temperature of an air conditioning target space and an operation frequency of the compressor (Fig. 5, operation data from temperature sensor. See also 0267-0268 regarding frequency).
As per claim 11, Yoshima further discloses an air conditioning system comprising:
the monitoring device according to claim 7 (see claim 7 above); and
the air conditioning apparatus (Fig. 6, Air Conditioning system 100).
Conclusion
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628