DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 16 June 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51, 79-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US 2021/0317326 A1) in view of Kim (US 2015/0275056 A1).
With respect to claim 51: Doherty teaches “a light emitting array (throughout reference) comprising a plurality (see Fig. 1a) of mini-LEDs or micro- LEDs (2), each mini-LED or micro-LED enclosed in a banked structure (4) or a well structure, the banked structure or well structure configured to contain an ink composition (6+7) deposited within the bank structure or the well structure (see Fig. 1a), the ink composition including a phosphor material (6) including a Mn4+ doped phosphor of formula I Ax[MFy]:Mn4+ (paragraph 43) and at least one binder material or solvent (7), wherein the Mn4+ doped phosphor has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 15 microns (paragraph 49), and, where A is Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, or a combination thereof (paragraphs 43-45); M is Si, Ge, Sn, Ti, Zr, Al, Ga, In, Sc, Y, La, Nb, Ta, Bi, Gd, or a combination thereof (paragraphs 43-45); x is the absolute value of the charge of the [MFy] ion (paragraphs 43-45); and y is 5, 6 or 7 (paragraphs 43-45)”.
Doherty does not specifically teach “wherein the ink composition has a viscosity from about 10,000 cP to about 30,000 cP”.
However, Kim teaches “wherein the ink composition has a viscosity from about 10,000 cP to about 30,000 cP (paragraph 48)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting array of Doherty by using an ink composition with a viscosity within the range taught by Kim in order to reduce optical loss and maximize the light transmittance rate due to the stable dispersion of the phosphor (Kim paragraph 48).
With respect to claim 79: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure has an aspect ratio of at least 0.1 (paragraphs 109, 111; the height of the banked structure ranges from 1-100 microns (paragraph 111) and the width ranges from 5-300 microns (paragraph 109). Accordingly, the aspect ratio ranges from 0.003 (1/300) to 20 (100/5). Using the narrower preferred ranges in paragraphs 109 and 111, the height ranges from 10-30 microns and the width ranges from 20-50 microns, giving an aspect ratio range of 0.2 (10/50) to 1.5 (30/20))”.
With respect to claim 80: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure has an aspect ratio in a range of approximately 0.1 to 10 (paragraphs 109, 111; the height of the banked structure ranges from 1-100 microns (paragraph 111) and the width ranges from 5-300 microns (paragraph 109). Accordingly, the aspect ratio ranges from 0.003 (1/300) to 20 (100/5). Using the narrower preferred ranges in paragraphs 109 and 111, the height ranges from 10-30 microns and the width ranges from 20-50 microns, giving an aspect ratio range of 0.2 (10/50) to 1.5 (30/20))”.
With respect to claim 81: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure has an aspect ratio in a range of approximately 0.5 to 5 (paragraphs 109, 111; the height of the banked structure ranges from 1-100 microns (paragraph 111) and the width ranges from 5-300 microns (paragraph 109). Accordingly, the aspect ratio ranges from 0.003 (1/300) to 20 (100/5). Using the narrower preferred ranges in paragraphs 109 and 111, the height ranges from 10-30 microns and the width ranges from 20-50 microns, giving an aspect ratio range of 0.2 (10/50) to 1.5 (30/20))”.
With respect to claim 82: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure has an aspect ratio in a range of approximately 0.1 to 3 (paragraphs 109, 111; the height of the banked structure ranges from 1-100 microns (paragraph 111) and the width ranges from 5-300 microns (paragraph 109). Accordingly, the aspect ratio ranges from 0.003 (1/300) to 20 (100/5). Using the narrower preferred ranges in paragraphs 109 and 111, the height ranges from 10-30 microns and the width ranges from 20-50 microns, giving an aspect ratio range of 0.2 (10/50) to 1.5 (30/20))”.
With respect to claim 83: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure has an aspect ratio in a range of approximately 0.1 to 1 (paragraphs 109, 111; the height of the banked structure ranges from 1-100 microns (paragraph 111) and the width ranges from 5-300 microns (paragraph 109). Accordingly, the aspect ratio ranges from 0.003 (1/300) to 20 (100/5). Using the narrower preferred ranges in paragraphs 109 and 111, the height ranges from 10-30 microns and the width ranges from 20-50 microns, giving an aspect ratio range of 0.2 (10/50) to 1.5 (30/20))”.
With respect to claim 84: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure has an aspect ratio in a range of approximately 0.1 to 0.5 (paragraphs 109, 111; the height of the banked structure ranges from 1-100 microns (paragraph 111) and the width ranges from 5-300 microns (paragraph 109). Accordingly, the aspect ratio ranges from 0.003 (1/300) to 20 (100/5). Using the narrower preferred ranges in paragraphs 109 and 111, the height ranges from 10-30 microns and the width ranges from 20-50 microns, giving an aspect ratio range of 0.2 (10/50) to 1.5 (30/20))”.
With respect to claim 85: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure is filled with an optically active material (paragraph 28)”.
With respect to claim 86: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 85 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the optically active material includes a down-conversion material (paragraphs 30, 47)”.
With respect to claim 87: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 86 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the down-conversion material is a phosphor material (paragraph 28)”.
With respect to claim 88: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty foes not specifically teach “wherein the banked structure or well structure is configured to be filled using contact stencil printing system”.
However, Kim teaches “wherein the banked structure or well structure is configured to be filled using contact stencil printing system (paragraphs 2-3)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting array of Doherty by configuring the well structure to be filled with a contact stencil printing (aka screen printing) system as taught by Kim due to the art recognized utility and increasing demand of the contact stencil printing method for the purpose of depositing a fluorescent ink onto an LED (Kim paragraphs 2-3).
With respect to claim 89: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein each mini-LED or micro-LED is enclosed in a respective banked structure and each banked structure comprises continuous walls around the respective mini-LED or micro-LED (see Fig. 1b)”.
With respect to claim 90: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “the light emitting array of claim 89 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein each banked structure comprises four walls (see Fig. 1b) formed on a planar structure (3)”.
With respect to claim 91: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “The light emitting array of claim 89 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the continuous walls form a closed square (see Fig. 1b)”.
With respect to claim 92: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “the light emitting array of claim 89 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein the continuous walls form a closed rectangle”.
With respect to claim 93: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “the light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty further teaches “wherein each mini-LED or micro-LED is enclosed in a respective well structure (see Fig. 1a) and each well structure comprises walls formed with a layer that sits atop a planar structure (see Fig. 1a)”.
Claims 94, 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty in view of Kim as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Sakariya et al. (US 2014/0159043 A1).
With respect to claim 94: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “the light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty does not specifically teach “wherein the banked structure or well structure is formed via printing using a contact stencil printing system or snap-off stencil printing system”.
However, Sakariya teaches “wherein the banked structure (126) or well structure is formed via printing using a contact stencil printing system (paragraph 41) or snap-off stencil printing system”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting array of Doherty by using the contact stencil printing system to make the banked structure as taught by Sakariya due to the art recognized suitability of that method for the purpose of making the banks in an LED array (Sakariya paragraph 41).
With respect to claim 97: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “the light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty does not specifically teach “wherein each banked structure or well structure comprises walls comprised of a translucent material”.
However, Sakariya teaches “wherein each banked structure or well structure comprises walls (126) comprised of a translucent material (paragraph 41)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting array of Doherty by using translucent bank materials as taught by Sakariya due to the art recognized equivalence of translucent materials compared to opaque and transparent materials for the purpose of forming the banks of an LED array (Sakariya paragraph 41).
Claims 95-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty in view of Kim as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of Kamura et al. (US 2016/0372528 A1).
With respect to claim 95: Doherty in view of Kim teaches “the light emitting array of claim 51 (see above)”.
Doherty does not specifically teach “wherein each banked structure or well structure comprises walls comprised of a reflective material”.
However, Kamura teaches “wherein each banked structure or well structure (13) comprises walls (10) comprised of a reflective material (paragraph 147)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting array of Doherty by using the reflective walls taught by Kamura in order to obtain an excellent effect of suppressing the light transmission between adjacent LEDs (Kamura paragraph 181).
With respect to claim 96: Doherty in view of Kim and Kamura teaches “the light emitting array of claim 95 (see above)”.
Doherty does not specifically teach “wherein the reflective material is a white surface which reflects all visible light wavelengths”.
However, Kamura teaches “wherein the reflective material is a white surface which reflects all visible light wavelengths (paragraph 181)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the light emitting array of Doherty by using the reflective walls taught by Kamura in order to obtain an excellent effect of suppressing the light transmission between adjacent LEDs (Kamura paragraph 181).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh et al. (US 20170309796 A1), which teaches an LED package and manufacturing method thereof.
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875