Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “29” has been used to designate both the rotor member ([0050]; FIG. 6) and the end sections of the intermediate element ([0056]; FIGS. 7A, 8B-8C). The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference characters mentioned in the description: “34” and “34′” ([0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “the winding element” in the final wherein clause lacks antecedent basis, the claim having introduced only “a first winding element.” For purposes of examination, “the winding element” is interpreted as the first winding element. Claims 2-15 are rejected for inheriting this deficiency through their dependence from claim 1 (MPEP § 2173.05(g)); claims 2 and 3 additionally repeat the recitation “the winding element.”
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “the end face of the winding element” lacks antecedent basis, no end face having been previously introduced. Claims 4 and 5 inherit this deficiency.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “in the inserted condition” lacks antecedent basis; claim 1 recites the hollow connecting member and the first end section only as being “axially insertable” into each other. For purposes of examination, “the inserted condition” is interpreted as the condition in which the hollow connecting member and the end section are axially inserted into each other. Claim 5 inherits this deficiency.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “the length of the first straight portion” lacks antecedent basis, no length having been previously introduced.
Regarding claim 9, the recitation that the difference between the thermal expansion coefficients “is smaller than 10-%” is indefinite because no baseline for the recited percentage is set forth; it cannot be determined whether the difference is to be smaller than 10% of one of the recited coefficients or of some other quantity. The specification does not clarify the metes and bounds: [0015] and [0044] describe the difference as smaller than 10% “of the friction coefficient” of the materials, but a thermal expansion coefficient (units of 1/K) cannot be meaningfully expressed as a percentage of a dimensionless friction coefficient. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring that the difference between the two thermal expansion coefficients be smaller than 10% of the larger of the two coefficients.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation “the second end section of the second winding element” lacks proper antecedent basis, because claim 1 establishes “a second end section” as belonging to the second straight portion of the first winding element. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the end section of the second straight portion of the second winding element, consistent with the recitation that the second winding element “has the same structure as the first winding element.” Claim 11 inherits this deficiency.
Regarding claim 13, the recitation “distributed over the circumference” lacks antecedent basis, no circumference having been previously introduced. Further, the recitation “wherein at least two of the plurality of conductors are configured with a hollow conductor and a hollow connecting member” is indefinite because it cannot be determined whether “a hollow conductor” and “a hollow connecting member” refer to the first winding element formed “as a hollow conductor” and to “a hollow connecting member” of claim 1, or introduce additional elements, and because it is unclear whether the conductor of claim 1 is itself one of “the plurality of conductors.” For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring that at least two of the plurality of conductors are each configured as the conductor of claim 1, i.e., with a hollow winding element and a hollow connecting member as recited in claim 1. Claims 14 and 15 inherit these deficiencies.
Regarding claim 15, the recitation “the hollow connecting members” (plural) “of the plurality of conductors” lacks antecedent basis, claim 13 having introduced only “a hollow connecting member.” For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the hollow connecting members of the at least two conductors of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWEINERT(US2021/0091619A1) in view of TOKYO SHIBAURA(JPS55-25756U, citing the English machine translation of record).
Regarding claim 1, Schweinert teaches a conductor to be inserted into a slot of an electrical machine(FIG. 2: winding pieces 1 received in grooves 7 of stator 8; [0025]),
comprising: a first winding element made of an electrically conductive material([0028]: winding piece 1 produced from copper)
as a hollow conductor with a channel through which a coolant can flow([0027]: penetrating channel 9 through which a coolant can be led),
wherein the first winding element is integrally formed having a first straight portion, a reverse portion and a second straight portion parallel to the first straight portion([0026], FIG. 1: one-piece hairpin having limbs 2 joined by curved transition region 3; FIG. 2: limbs received in axially extending grooves 7 so as to run parallel to one another),
wherein the first straight portion has a first end section and the second straight portion has a second end section([0026]: each limb 2 having a free end portion 5 of round profile),
and a hollow connecting member([0017], FIG. 2: tubular connection element 6),
wherein the hollow connecting member and the first end section of the winding element are axially insertable into each other to form an axially overlapping fluidic connection([0017]: connection elements dimensioned to be attached onto the round end portions 5; [0029], FIG. 2: end portions 5 hydraulically connected to one another via the tubular connection elements 6, the end portions and connection elements axially overlapping in the attached condition).
Schweinert does not explicitly teach the hollow connecting member being made of electrically conductive material such that the axially overlapping connection is an electrical and fluidic connection;
However, Tokyo Shibaura teaches a liquid-cooled winding of a rotating electric machine in which hollow connection members joining hollow winding conductors are electrically conductive and serve simultaneously as the current path and the coolant flow path(translation [0002]: supply/drain boxes provided for conducting current and passing the cooling liquid through the winding conductor; connection conductor 6 and boxes 3-5 assembled by axial insertion such that both the electrical connection and the fluid connection are satisfied; FIGS. 3-4: U-shaped hollow connection conductor 6 having its ends axially inserted into round bores of the supply/drain boxes 4, 5; see also translation [0002] and FIG. 2, describing short connection pipes doubling as a fluid flow path and an electric flow path with good cooling performance).
Tokyo Shibaura is analogous art, being directed to the same field of connections for liquid-cooled hollow-conductor windings of electric machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the tubular connection elements of Schweinert of electrically conductive material, as taught by Tokyo Shibaura, such that the axially overlapping connection formed between the connection element and the end section of the winding element is an electrical and fluidic connection.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order that the coil current is conducted through the same members that conduct the coolant, providing a directly cooled current path and rendering separate electrical joints between the winding pieces unnecessary(Tokyo Shibaura, translation [0002]: connection pipes serving as both fluid flow path and current path exhibit good cooling performance). The proposed combination is no more than the use of a known dual-function connection technique according to its established function to yield the predictable result of a combined electrical and fluidic plug connection, and one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success(KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007)).
Regarding claim 8/1, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura teaches the conductor of claim 1.
Schweinert further teaches at least one of the hollow connecting member and the winding element is produced from copper, aluminum, stainless steel or an alloy comprising at least one of copper, aluminum and stainless steel([0014]: winding piece produced from copper, aluminum or an alloy of one of said materials; [0028]: winding piece 1 produced, for example, from copper). This limitation is recited in the alternative and is satisfied by the winding element being produced from copper.
Claims 3-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWEINERT(US 2021/0091619 A1) in view of TOKYO SHIBAURA(JP S55-25756 U) and further in view of NAGANO(JP S57-80146 U, citing the English machine translation of record).
Regarding claim 3/1, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura teaches the conductor of claim 1.
Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura does not explicitly teach at least one of the first end section and the second end section has a connecting bore extending from the end face of the winding element to a stop face and having a greater cross section than the channel.
However, Nagano teaches the joining of hollow conductors of a liquid-cooled winding of a rotating electric machine(translation [0002]: hollow conduction bands 1 having hollow hole 2 for cooling liquid), wherein the end face of each conductor is provided with a connecting bore extending from the joining face to a stop bottom and having a greater cross section than the hollow hole(FIGS. 1-3: counterbore/spot facing 5 formed in the end face of the conductor 1 about the hollow hole 2), and wherein a tubular inner ring 4 is axially inserted into the connecting bores of both abutting conductors so as to bridge the joint while continuing the coolant path therethrough(FIGS. 1-5; translation [0002]), the completed joint providing electrical connection and excellent liquid tightness(translation [0002]).
Nagano is analogous art, being directed to the same field of joints between hollow conductors of liquid-cooled electric machine windings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the end sections of the winding elements of the Schweinert/Tokyo Shibaura conductor with connecting bores extending from the end face to a stop face and having a greater cross section than the channel, and to receive the hollow connecting member in such bores, as taught by Nagano, in order to obtain a reliable, liquid-tight, electrically connected joint in which the coolant path continues through the connection without flow-restricting steps(Nagano, translation [0002]: joint irregularities producing steps undesirably increase the resistance to the flow of cooling water; the inserted-ring arrangement provides electrical connection and excellent liquid tightness)(KSR, 550 U.S. at 416).
Regarding claim 4/3, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura and Nagano teaches the conductor of claim 3.
Nagano further teaches the hollow connecting member axially abuts the stop face of the winding element in the inserted condition(FIGS. 1, 3: the inner ring 4 is seated within the counterbore 5 against the bottom thereof in the assembled joint).
One would be motivated to seat the connecting member axially against the stop face in order to center and locate the member relative to the hollow holes of the joined conductors(Nagano, translation [0002]: the ring arrangement facilitates centering with the center hole; FIGS. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 5/4, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura and Nagano teaches the conductor of claim 4.
Nagano further teaches the hollow connecting member has an outer diameter that is greater than an inner diameter of the channel of the winding element(FIGS. 2, 4: the inner ring 4 is received in the counterbore radially outward of the hollow hole 2, the outer diameter of the ring thereby exceeding the diameter of the hollow hole).
One would be motivated to size the outer diameter of the connecting member greater than the inner diameter of the channel so that the member seats in the connecting bores surrounding the channel and is retained and centered about the coolant path(Nagano, FIGS. 1-4; translation [0002]).
Regarding claim 6/1, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura teaches the conductor of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach the hollow connecting member has a smallest inner diameter which is greater than 0.9 times a smallest inner diameter of the channel of the winding element.
However, Nagano teaches that, in joints between hollow conductors of liquid-cooled windings, irregularities producing steps in the coolant path at the joint undesirably increase the resistance to the flow of the cooling water and are to be avoided(translation [0002]), and shows the flow passage of the inner ring 4 continuing the hollow hole 2 through the joint(FIGS. 3-5).
Nagano is analogous art, being directed to the same field of joints between hollow conductors of liquid-cooled electric machine windings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hollow connecting member of the Schweinert/Tokyo Shibaura conductor with a smallest inner diameter substantially corresponding to — and thus greater than 0.9 times — the smallest inner diameter of the channel, in order to avoid flow-restricting steps in the coolant path at the connection, as taught by Nagano(translation [0002])(KSR, 550 U.S. at 416).
Regarding claim 10/1, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura teaches the conductor of claim 1.
Schweinert further teaches a second winding element is provided that has the same structure as the first winding element(FIG. 2, [0012], [0016], [0025]: the winding comprises several identical hairpin winding pieces 1),
wherein the first winding element and the second winding element are connected with each other via the hollow connecting member(FIG. 2, [0029]: each U-shaped tubular connection element 6 connects the round end portion 5 of one winding piece with the round end portion 5 of an adjacent winding piece; as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the second end section of the second winding element is the end section of its second straight portion).
The combination of Schweinert and Tokyo Shibaura does not explicitly teach the hollow connecting member which on one side is axially inserted into the first end section of the first winding element and on the other side is axially inserted into the second end section of the second winding element.
However, Nagano teaches a hollow connecting member which on one side is axially inserted into the end section of a first hollow conductor and on the other side is axially inserted into the end section of a second hollow conductor(FIGS. 1, 3: tubular inner ring 4 received in the counterbores 5 formed in the end faces of both abutting conduction bands 1 so as to bridge the joint), the joint providing electrical connection and excellent liquid tightness while continuing the coolant path(translation [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the connection of the Schweinert/Tokyo Shibaura conductor such that the hollow connecting member is axially inserted on its one side into the first end section of the first winding element and on its other side into the second end section of the second winding element, as taught by Nagano, in order to obtain a reliable, liquid-tight, electrically connected joint in which the coolant path continues through the connection without flow-restricting steps(Nagano, translation [0002])(KSR, 550 U.S. at 416).
Regarding claim 11/10, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura and Nagano teaches the conductor of claim 10.
Schweinert further teaches the conductor is composed of a plurality of first and second winding elements that are connected to each other via a plurality of hollow connecting members, wherein the conductor forms a continuous cooling channel([0016]: the winding comprises several winding pieces electrically connected to one another to form a coil; [0029], FIG. 2: the free end portions of the winding pieces are hydraulically connected to one another via several tubular connection elements 6 in order to obtain a closed coolant circuit).
The combination does not explicitly teach the continuous cooling channel being provided with an inlet and an outlet.
Tokyo Shibaura teaches a liquid-cooled winding whose hollow conductors are provided with supply and drain connections through which the cooling liquid is supplied to and discharged from the winding(translation [0002]: supply/drain boxes 3, 4, 5 for supplying the cooling liquid to the hollow conductor and discharging it therefrom; FIGS. 3-4).
One would be motivated to provide the coolant circuit with an inlet and an outlet in order to supply and discharge the cooling liquid circulated through the winding(Tokyo Shibaura, translation [0002]).
Regarding claim 12/1, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura teaches the conductor of claim 1.
Schweinert further teaches winding pieces alternatively formed as straight rods, each having a central portion and two round end portions(FIG. 3, [0010], [0030]: rod-shaped winding piece 1 having central portion 4 and two round end portions 5), i.e., a straight intermediate element, teaches that the round end portions of the winding pieces are joined via the tubular connection elements([0008], [0017]), and teaches the winding being composed of several winding pieces connected to one another to form a coil([0016]), i.e., the intermediate element being joined onward to a second winding element.
The combination does not explicitly teach the first winding element is connected via the hollow connecting member with a straight intermediate element, with one side of the hollow connecting member axially inserted into an end section of the first winding element and the other side of the hollow connecting member axially inserted into the straight intermediate element, and wherein the straight intermediate element is connected via a second hollow connecting member with a second winding element.
However, Nagano teaches a hollow connecting member axially inserted on one side into the end section of a first hollow conductor and on the other side into the end section of a second hollow conductor(FIGS. 1, 3: tubular inner ring 4 received in the counterbores 5 formed in the end faces of both abutting conduction bands 1), the joint providing electrical connection and excellent liquid tightness while continuing the coolant path(translation [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect a winding piece of Schweinert via a hollow connecting member to a rod-shaped winding piece and onward via a second hollow connecting member to a further winding piece, with each connecting member axially inserted into the end sections of the joined pieces as taught by Nagano, because Schweinert teaches the winding pieces as interchangeable pieces having identical round end portions joined by the same connection elements([0008]-[0011], [0017]) — the round design allowing attachment in any alignment for easily automated assembly(Schweinert, [0029]) — and because the Nagano insertion arrangement yields reliable, liquid-tight, electrically connected joints in which the coolant path continues without flow-restricting steps(Nagano, translation [0002])(KSR, 550 U.S. at 416).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWEINERT(US2021/0091619 A1) in view of TOKYO SHIBAURA(JP S55-25756 U) and further in view of BORCHARDT(DE102020114683A1, citing the attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 13/1, Schweinert in view of Tokyo Shibaura teaches the conductor of claim 1.
Schweinert further teaches the conductor mounted in an electric machine([0016]: electrical machine having an electrical winding which comprises several of the winding pieces; FIG. 2),
with the electric machine comprising a stator(FIG. 2: stator 8),
wherein the stator comprises stator core with a plurality of longitudinal slots distributed over the circumference(FIG. 2: grooves 7 extending axially/longitudinally and distributed about the stator 8; [0025]),
with a plurality of conductors being arranged in each one of the longitudinal slots of the stator core([0012]: several winding pieces together occupying the same groove substantially without clearance)
for generating an electromagnetic field([0016]: electrical winding for generating an electromagnetic field),
wherein at least two of the plurality of conductors are configured with a hollow conductor and a hollow connecting member(FIG. 2, [0017], [0027]: each winding piece formed as a hollow conductor, the end portions of adjacent winding pieces being provided with tubular connection elements 6; the connection elements being electrically conductive in the combination with Tokyo Shibaura, translation [0002]).
Neither Schweinert nor Tokyo Shibaura explicitly teaches the electric machine comprising a rotor; Schweinert refers to the machine as an electromotor without describing its rotating part([0001] of Schweinert).
However, Borchardt teaches an electric machine having a winding of hollow winding conductors arranged in slots and cooled by coolant flowing therethrough, the machine comprising active parts in the form of a stationary stator and a rotor mounted movably, for example rotatably, relative to the stator(translation [0002], [0007]).
Borchardt is analogous art, being directed to the same field of electric machines with coolant-conducting hollow-conductor windings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electromotor of Schweinert, as modified by Tokyo Shibaura, with a rotor mounted movably relative to the stator, as taught by Borchardt, in order to form an operative rotary electric machine, such as a traction machine for an electrically powered vehicle, in which the magnetic flux generated by the stator winding drives the rotor(Borchardt, translation [0002], [0007])(KSR, 550 U.S. at 416).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) but is not rejected over the prior art of record. Claim 9 would be allowable if amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2: Schweinert teaches the connection elements attached onto the round end portions and secured, for example, by soldering ([0008], [0017]); Tokyo Shibaura teaches connections completed by heat welding/brazing (translation [0002]); and Nagano teaches joints completed by brazing or electron beam welding with a fitted inner ring (translation [0002]). None of the references teaches or fairly suggests that “the hollow connecting member is connected to the first end section of the winding element with an interference fit.”
Regarding claim 7: none of the references of record specifies any relationship between an axial length of the hollow connecting member and the length of the first straight portion of the winding element, and the prior art of record therefore does not teach or suggest that “an axial length of the hollow connecting member is at least 0.1 times the length of the first straight portion of the winding element.”
Regarding claim 9: no reference of record addresses the relative thermal expansion coefficients of the materials of the connecting member and the winding element, and the prior art of record therefore does not teach or suggest that “the materials of the hollow connecting member and the winding element are selected such that a difference between the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the hollow connecting member and the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the winding element is smaller than 10-%.”
Regarding claim 14: the winding pieces of Schweinert are hollow conductors ([0027]), and neither Tokyo Shibaura nor Nagano nor Borchardt (all-hollow one-piece wave winding) teaches, in combination with the hollow conductor arrangement of claim 13, that “the stator comprises at least four conductor lines in each slot, wherein at least two of the plurality of conductor lines are configured to be solid conductors.”
Regarding claim 15: Schweinert locates the connection elements at the winding head, axially beyond the stator (FIG. 2), and Tokyo Shibaura and Nagano likewise locate their connections at the winding ends; none of the references teaches or suggests that “the hollow connecting members of the plurality of conductors are arranged in a center plane arranged between a first end face and an opposite second end face of the stator core.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Naderer (US 2022/0021261 A1) teaches an electric machine having winding pieces in the form of hollow conductors which are hydraulically connected via an annular hydraulic connection part and seals, wherein the end portions of the winding pieces are electrically insulated from the hydraulic connection part and the electrical connection is made separately via soldered contact rings ([0073], [0087]).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834