DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 23-37) in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 is indefinite because "the component carrier" lacks positive antecedent basis, as claim 27 is dependent on claim 24 and claim 25 recites a component carrier. Claim 28 is indefinite because of its dependency. Claim 29 is indefinite because "the heated air" lacks positive antecedent basis. Claim 30 is indefinite because of the phrase "throughflow of fluid through the container" as there are no positive steps in claim 23 directed to any processing of fluid in the container which would further require "throughflow of fluid through the container".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-32, and 34-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murillo et al. (US11084216B2).
Re claims 23-24, Murillo et al. teach a method of partially removing unreacted resin 15 (Fig. 2) adhering to components 11 produced by a lithographic generative manufacturing process (col. 1, lines 1-60) comprising: a) loading at least one container 33 with at least one component 11 (Fig. 1); arranging the container at one of a number of receiving positions (Figs. 2 and 6) of a centrifuge device 31a, that are eccentric with respect to an axis of rotation (x, fig. 2); centrifuging the at least one container by the centrifuge device, whereby the resins is detached from the component 11 (Fig. 2, element 11) and collecting the detachable resin in a collecting portion (i.e. detachable removable liner, col. 8, lines 1-20) of the container 33 ( abstract, claim 1 for example). Re claims 25-26, Murillo et al. teach a carrier platform 10 for the component 11, while the component is arranged in the container 33 (Fig. 2). Re claim 27, refer to element 32 (component carrier) is fixed to the collection vessel 33 via the rotor mount 32 (col. 6, lines 50-65). Re claim 28, refer to Fig. 2, wherein the component 11 or component carrier 10 is fixed to a side wall (i.e. 32) of the collection vessel 33 facing towards or away from the axis of rotation x of the centrifuge device. Re claims 29 and 32, refer to col. 7, lines 46-60 and Fig. 4, element 35. Re claim 30, in view of the indefiniteness, refer to Fig. 4, elements 34 and 37. Re claim 31, refer to col. 7, lines 45-55. Re claim 34, refer to col. 7, lines 45-55. Re claim 35, refer to Fig. 6. Re claims 36-37, refer to col. 8, lines 1-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murillo et al. (US11084216B2).
Re claim 33, Murillo et al. teach loading at least one component in a first container 33 (Fig. 2) and arranging at least one further component 11 in a second container (i.e. opposite side) and further teaches as previously discussed using a heater to reduce the viscosity of the resin (col. 7, lines 55-60), but fails to teach heating each container at different temperatures. Furthermore, Fig. 6 teaches using a plurality of containers. Absent of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified processing parameters, such as controlling the temperature, depending upon such factors as the type of resin being used, the 3D object being centrifuged, the speed of centrifugation and the gas being supplied during centrifugation to warm the object and reduce the viscosity of the resin.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Diez et al. teach a method of producing a component by stereolithography. Feller et al. teach a centrifugal separator. Meenakshisundaram et al. teach a method for cleaning and post-curing additively manufactured objects.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711