DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 recites the following limitation; “determining the calculation node for performing ranging/-sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device comprises: receiving a preferred calculation node for the ranging/-sidelink positioning sent by the first terminal device; if the preferred calculation node is the at least one terminal device, determining the at least one terminal device as the calculation node for performing ranging/-sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device;if the preferred calculation node is the LMF, determining the LMF as the calculation node for performing ranging/-sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device; or if the preferred calculation node is the at least one terminal device and the LMF, determining the at least one terminal device and the LMF as the calculation node for performing ranging/-sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device”
This is contingent/conditional limitation(s). The contingent/conditional limitations are not positively recited in the claim(s) and are thus only executed [or performed or implemented], when the condition is true/met.
[See, (MPEP 2111.04) II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.]
Similarly, claim 8 has contingent limitation, in response to the ranging/-sidelink positioning service request, determining whether the LMF has available ranging/-sidelink positioning capability information of the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device; and in response to the LMF not having the available ranging/-sidelink positioning capability information of the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device, sending the ranging/-sidelink positioning capability request message to the first terminal device.
Similarly, claims 13, 14, 15 has contingent limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 12, 19, 20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Vassilovski et al. (US 2022/0394659) (hereafter Vassilovski).
Regarding claims 1, 20 and 23, Vassilovski discloses a ranging/sidelink positioning method, wherein the method is performed by a Location Management Function (LMF) entity, and the method comprises:
sending a ranging/sidelink positioning capability request message to a first terminal device; (see, para [0148] At 1210, the network node transmits, to a first UE (e.g., any of the UEs described herein), a capability enquiry message for a sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityEnquirySidelink” or “UECapabilityEnquiry” message), the capability enquiry message including a request for an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide a location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element)
receiving a ranging/sidelink positioning capability response message fed back by the first terminal device, wherein the ranging/sidelink positioning capability response message comprises ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of at least one terminal device); (see, [0149] At 1220, the network node receives, from the first UE, a capability information message indicating one or more capabilities of the first UE to participate in the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityInformationSidelink” or “UECapabilityInformation” message), the one or more capabilities of the first UE including at least the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide the location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element). In an aspect, where the network node is a UE (e.g., a target UE), operation 1220 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 310, the one or more processors 332, memory 340, and/or sidelink component 342, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation)
and
according to the ranging/sidelink positioning capability response message, determining calculation information for performing ranging-/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and at least one second terminal device ([0170], wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information, [0172] Clause 6. The method of any of clauses 4 to 5, wherein the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure is a Boolean value ).
Vassilovski further discloses a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and execution of the computer program stored in the memory by the processor causes the LMF to perform steps and A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according to claim 1 is implemented (para [0086])
Regarding claim 2, Vassilovski further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining calculation information for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device comprises at least one of: determining a calculation mode for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device; or determining a calculation node for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device (([0187] Clause 21. The method of any of clauses 15 to 20, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information, see, para [0209])).
Regarding claim 3, Vassilovski further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the calculation node comprises one of: determining the at least one terminal device as the calculation node for the ranging/sidelink positioning ([0187] Clause 21. The method of any of clauses 15 to 20, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information, see, para [0209]); determining the LMF as the calculation node for the ranging/sidelink positioning; or determining the at least one terminal device and the LMF as the calculation node for the ranging/sidelink positioning.
Regarding claim 4, Vassilovski further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the calculation mode comprises one of:
a calculation mode in which the at least one terminal device performs the ranging/sidelink positioning ([0187] Clause 21. The method of any of clauses 15 to 20, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information, see, para [0209]));
a calculation mode in which the LMF performs the ranging/sidelink positioning; or a calculation mode in which at least one terminal device and the LMF jointly perform the ranging/side link positioning.
Regarding claim 5, Vassilovski further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the calculation node for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device comprises:
receiving a preferred calculation node for the ranging/sidelink positioning sent by the first terminal device (([0187] Clause 21. The method of any of clauses 15 to 20, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information, see, para [0209]));
if the preferred calculation node is the at least one terminal device, determining the at least one terminal device as the calculation node for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device (([0187] Clause 21. The method of any of clauses 15 to 20, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information, see, para [0209]).
if the preferred calculation node is the LMF, determining the LMF as the calculation node for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device; or
if the preferred calculation node is the at least one terminal device and the LMF, determining the at least one terminal device and the LMF as the calculation node for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device.
regarding claim 6, Vassilovski further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one terminal device comprises the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device (see, Fig. 6, the UE1 and UE2); wherein the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information comprises at least one of:
ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the first terminal device among the at least one terminal device, wherein the first terminal device is a terminal device among the at least one terminal device that has a session connection with the LMF ((see, para [0148] At 1210, the network node transmits, to a first UE (e.g., any of the UEs described herein), a capability enquiry message for a sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityEnquirySidelink” or “UECapabilityEnquiry” message), the capability enquiry message including a request for an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide a location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element)); or
ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of a second terminal device among the at least one terminal device, wherein the second terminal device is any terminal device among the at least one terminal device that performs ranging/sidelink positioning with the first terminal device.
Regarding claim 7, Vassilovski further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining calculation information for performing ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device according to the ranging/sidelink positioning capability response message, comprises:
obtaining ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the LMF (see, Fig. 7, see, step 710, capability exchange); and
according to the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the at least one terminal device and the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the LMF (see, Fig. 7, [0194] Clause 28. The UE of any of clauses 26 to 27, wherein the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure is a Boolean value, [0199], 0199] Clause 33. The UE of clause 32, wherein the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide the location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure comprises a “PositionAnchorCapabilityStatus” field in the “UECapabilityEnquirySidelink” IE, the “UECapabilityInformationSidelink” IE, or both. ),
determining the calculation information for performing the ranging/sidelink positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device ([0194] Clause 28. The UE of any of clauses 26 to 27, wherein the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure is a Boolean value).
Regarding claim 8, Vassilovaski further discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein sending the ranging/sidelink positioning capability request message to the first terminal device comprises: receiving a ranging/sidelink positioning service request sent by an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) entity (para [0148] At 1210, the network node transmits, to a first UE (e.g., any of the UEs described herein), a capability enquiry message for a sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityEnquirySidelink” or “UECapabilityEnquiry” message), the capability enquiry message including a request for an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide a location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element);
in response to the ranging/sidelink positioning service request, determining whether the LMF has available ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device (FIGS. 9A and 9B have illustrated “sl-PositionAnchorCapabilityStatus” fields and “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information elements added to existing RRC messages, as will be appreciated, these fields and information elements may instead be provided in new RRC messages); and
in response to the LMF not having the available ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device, sending the ranging/sidelink positioning capability request message to the first terminal device ([0141] At the first stage of the capability exchange procedure 1000, the UE receives a capability enquiry message 1010 (e.g., a “UECapabilityEnquiry” message) from the network entity (e.g., a base station, a location server). The capability enquiry message 1010 may include various “UECapabilityEnquiry” information elements. A “UECapabilityEnquiry-v1610-IEs” information element includes a “sl-PositionAnchorCapabilityStatus” field that points to a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element (e.g., positioning anchor capability information element 800). The “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element requests an indication 1012 of whether the UE is capable of being an anchor for a sidelink positioning procedure).
Regarding claims 11, 19 and 24, Vassilowski discloses a ranging/sidelink positioning method, wherein the method is performed by a first terminal device, and the method comprises:
receiving a ranging/sidelink positioning capability request message sent by a Location Management Function (LMF) (see, [0145] At 1110, the first UE receives, from a network node (e.g., a base station, location server, another UE), a capability enquiry message for a sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityEnquirySidelink” or “UECapabilityEnquiry” message), the capability enquiry message including at least a request for an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide a location of the first UE (i.e., serve as an anchor) for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element));
feeding back a ranging/sidelink positioning capability response message to the LMF, ( [0146] At 1120, the first UE transmits, to the network node, a capability information message indicating one or more capabilities of the first UE to participate in the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityInformationSidelink” or “UECapabilityInformation” message), the one or more capabilities of the first UE including at least the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide the location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element). In an aspect, operation 1120 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 310, the one or more processors 332, memory 340, and/or sidelink component 342, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation.
wherein the ranging/sidelink positioning capability response message comprises at least one of: a preferred calculation node for ranging/sidelink positioning; a calculation mode for the ranging/sidelink positioning; or ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of at least one of the first terminal device or at least one second terminal device (see, para [0170], The method of any of clauses 1 to 3, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information. ).
Vassilovski further discloses a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and execution of the computer program stored in the memory by the processor causes the device to perform steps and A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according to claim 11 is implemented (para [0086])
Regarding claim 12, Vassilowski further discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: according to ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the LMF in the ranging/sidelink positioning capability request message ( [0146] At 1120, the first UE transmits, to the network node, a capability information message indicating one or more capabilities of the first UE to participate in the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., a “UECapabilityInformationSidelink” or “UECapabilityInformation” message), the one or more capabilities of the first UE including at least the indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide the location of the first UE for the sidelink positioning procedure (e.g., via a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element).), determining the preferred calculation node or a calculation mode for the ranging/sidelink positioning ( [0170] Clause 4. The method of any of clauses 1 to 3, wherein the one or more capabilities of the first UE include an indication of whether the first UE has the capability to provide position calculation for the sidelink positioning procedure based on received location measurement information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassilovaski in view of Bao et al. (US 2024/0302480)(hereafter Bao).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Vassilovaski does not discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the ranging/sidelink positioning capability request message carries the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the LMF as well as an identity of the first terminal device and an identity of the at least one second terminal device.
However, in same field of endeavor, Bao teaches in para [0140], The virtual UE request may include an inquiry as to whether the UE supports position information sharing via sidelink with other UEs. The virtual UE request may include a virtual-UE-ID that may be included with reported position information to associate the position information with the virtual UE 1210. The virtual UE request may include UE-IDs (e.g., IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identity), IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity), etc.) of the virtual UE members to help the virtual UE members establish SL connections between each other. If the positioning entity is part of a UE, then the request may include (1) the inquiry as to whether the receiving UE supports position information sharing via sidelink, (2) the UE-ID of the positioning entity, (3) a virtual-UE-ID, and (4) other UE IDs (if the request is transmitted to more than one UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bao with the Vassilovsky as a whole, so as to determine the UE identity for position information, the motivation is to perform effective side link positioning using the UE identity and LMF capability information.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings further disclose the method according to claim 11, further comprising: in response to the ranging/side link positioning capability request message carrying an identity of at least one second terminal device (Bao teaches in para [0140], The virtual UE request may include an inquiry as to whether the UE supports position information sharing via side link with other UEs. The virtual UE request may include a virtual-UE-ID that may be included with reported position information to associate the position information with the virtual UE 1210. The virtual UE request may include UE-IDs (e.g., IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identity), IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity), etc.) of the virtual UE members to help the virtual UE members establish SL connections between each other. If the positioning entity is part of a UE, then the request may include (1) the inquiry as to whether the receiving UE supports position information sharing via sidelink, (2) the UE-ID of the positioning entity, (3) a virtual-UE-ID, and (4) other UE IDs (if the request is transmitted to more than one UE)), feeding ranging/sidelink positioning capability information of the at least one second terminal device back to the LMF (see, Vassilovskly, Fig. 12, receive from UE, capability information message indicating capabilities).
Regarding claim 15, Vassilowsky further discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein before feeding the ranging/side link positioning capability information of the at least one second terminal device back to the LMF, the method further comprises: in response to the first terminal device not having available ranging/side link positioning capability information of the at least one second terminal device, sending a positioning capability request message to the at least one second terminal device; and receiving ranging/side link positioning capability information sent by the at least one second terminal device. ([0141] At the first stage of the capability exchange procedure 1000, the UE receives a capability enquiry message 1010 (e.g., a “UECapabilityEnquiry” message) from the network entity (e.g., a base station, a location server). The capability enquiry message 1010 may include various “UECapabilityEnquiry” information elements. A “UECapabilityEnquiry-v1610-IEs” information element includes a “sl-PositionAnchorCapabilityStatus” field that points to a “sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element (e.g., positioning anchor capability information element 800). The “Sl-PositionAnchorCapability” information element requests an indication 1012 of whether the UE is capable of being an anchor for a side link positioning procedure).
9. Claim(s) 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassilovaski in view of Zhang et al. (US 2025/0016730) (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 10, Vassilowski does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the ranging/sidelink positioning capability information refers to calculation capability information for performing ranging/side link positioning for the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device through a direct communication PC5 interface, comprising at least one of:
a calculation of a general relative distance between the first terminal device and any one of the at least one second terminal device (see, para [508], he first UE of clause 3, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the threshold based on a distance between the first UE and the second UE, or a measurement uncertainty, or a measurement resolution, or any combination thereof);
a calculation of a general relative direction between the first terminal device and any one of the at least one second terminal device;
a calculation of a high-accuracy relative distance between the first terminal and any one of the at least one second terminal device;
a calculation of a high-accuracy relative direction between the first terminal and any one of the at least one second terminal device;
a calculation of a general relative distance between the first terminal and a plurality of the at least one second terminal device;
a calculation of a general relative direction between the first terminal and a plurality of the at least one second terminal device;
a calculation of a high-accuracy relative distance between the first terminal and a plurality of the at least one second terminal device; or
a calculation of a high-accuracy relative direction between the first terminal and a plurality of the at least one second terminal device; wherein the first terminal device is a terminal device that has a session connection with the LMF, and the second terminal device is any terminal device among the at least one terminal device that performs ranging/sidelink positioning with the first terminal device.
However, Zhang teaches [0003] With development of communication technologies, a new application scenario, namely ranging-based services and sidelink positioning, is proposed. Ranging refers to determining a distance between two or more terminals through direct device connection, and/or a direction and/or a relative location of one terminal (that is, a target terminal) with respect to another terminal (that is, a reference terminal). Sidelink positioning refers to locating the terminal using a PC5 interface. 0078] Ranging may refer to determining a distance between two or more UEs and/or a direction and/or relative positioning between one UE (that is, target UE) and another UE (a reference UE) through a PC5 interface. [0079] Sidelink positioning: UE positioning over PC5. [0080] Positioning: a function of detecting geographical location and optional speed (for example, a mobile terminal). [0081] Relative location: estimating the location of the UE relative to another network element or another UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the Vassilovsky as a whole, so as to determine the relative location between the UEs using PC5 interface, the motivation is to perform side link positioning using the distance information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barbu et al. (US 2025/0254642) discloses POSITIONING OF COLLABORATING DEVICES WITH SIDELINK.
Elshafie et al. (US 2025/0233622) discloses RECONFIGURABLE INTELLIGENT SURFACE (RIS) RESERVATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATIONS.
Sun et al. (US 2025/0203635) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR SIDELINK TRANSMISSION.
Zhao et al. (US2025/0142533) discloses A METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SELECTING RESOURCES BASED ON ASSISTANCE INFORMATION, AND STORAGE MEDIUM.
Hu et al. (US 2025/0133577) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR SIDELINK POSITIONING.
Sahin et al. (US 2025/0008537) discloses SIDELINK SIGNAL POSITIONING COORDINATION BASED ON USER DEVICE CAPABILITY
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631