DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed on November 04, 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 04, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were filed on November 04, 2024. These drawings are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0291606 A1, reference provided as part of the Information Disclosure Statement “IDS”).
In re claim 14, Lee discloses an electrolysis plant, comprising:
an electrolyzer (load);
a circuit arrangement (200) having an input for connection to an external DC source (120) and an output connected to said electrolyzer;
said circuit arrangement including a transformer (transformer of 220) having a primary side and a secondary side, an inverter (210) connected on said primary side and a rectifier (230) connected on said secondary side, and enabling a direct current to be supplied to said electrolyzer (load).
In re claim 15, Lee discloses wherein said rectifier (210) is at least one of a controllable rectifier or a three-phase rectifier (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 16, Lee discloses wherein said rectifier is a B6 bridge rectifier (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 17, Lee discloses wherein said circuit arrangement is configured for an AC frequency thereof to be set to a predetermined value (Para. 0041-0044).
In re claim 18, Lee discloses wherein said circuit arrangement is designed for an AC frequency that is greater than a grid frequency in a range of 50-60 Hz (Para. 0041-0044).
In re claim 19, Lee discloses wherein said circuit arrangement is designed for an AC frequency of 500 Hz to 50 kHz (Para. 0041-0044).
In re claim 20, Lee discloses wherein said circuit arrangement is designed for an AC frequency of 10 kHz to 30 kHz (Para. 0041-0044).
In re claim 21, Lee discloses wherein said transformer has a transformation ratio of less than 10 (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 22, Lee discloses wherein the transformation ratio of said transformer lies between 1.5 and 7.5 (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 23, Lee discloses wherein said transformer has a primary-side neutral point that is not grounded (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 24, Lee discloses wherein said transformer has a secondary-side neutral point that is not grounded (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 25, Lee discloses wherein said transformer has a secondary-side neutral point that is not grounded (Para. 0060-0064).
In re claim 26, Lee discloses a plant network (Fig. 1), comprising:
an electrolysis plant according to claim 14 (see rejection as explained above); and
a renewable energy plant (130) having an output for providing a direct current, said renewable energy plant having an output forming the DC source connected to the input of the circuit arrangement of said electrolysis plant (Para. 0041-0044).
In re claim 27, Lee discloses wherein said renewable energy plant comprises a wind energy plant (Para. 0042).
In re claim 28, Lee discloses wherein said wind energy plant includes a rectifier with an output connected to said input of the circuit arrangement of said electrolysis plant (Para. 0041-0044).
In re claim 29, Lee discloses wherein said renewable energy plant comprises a photovoltaic plant (Para. 0042).
In re claim 30, Lee discloses wherein said photovoltaic plant includes a DC chopper with an output connected to said input of the circuit arrangement of said electrolysis plant (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/RAFAEL O DE LEON DOMENECH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838