DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Praddaude US 3593621 in view of applicant’s admitted prior art Viard FR 3024503 (hereafter AAPA) in further view of Lemaire US 20080256939.
Praddaude discloses:
1. (Currently Amended) A hydraulic machine comprising: a distribution cover (see annotated Fig 1 herein), a distributor 8, a displacement selection slide valve 10 mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to operate with a first displacement and a second position in which the machine is configured to operate with a second displacement different from the first displacement (see e.g. col 2, lines 27-64 wherein increased speed corresponds to increased displacement); and a direction changing valve mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction (see e.g. col 2, lines 70-75), the direction changing valve being mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation and outside the displacement selection slide valve (see col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75).
Praddaude discloses the use of a reversing valve for reversing the motor but does not specify the valve is a slide valve. However, applicant’s admitted prior art AAPA discloses the use of a slide valve for reversing the direction of the motor (see the Prior Art section of applicant’s specification).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slide valve for the reversing of the motor of Praddaude as taught by applicant’s admitted prior art AAPA to gain the benefit of using a known type of valve for changing the direction of a hydraulic motor.
Regarding the limitations “the direction changing slide valve extending: - in a wall of the distribution cover”, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Praddaude as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Additionally, Lemaire discloses that it is known to arrange slide valves (see e.g. 32, 42) in a distributor housing wall 1C of a hydraulic machine (see e.g. Fig 1). Given that it is known in the art to arrange slide valves in a distributor housing wall, use of this known technique to arrange the direction changing slide valve of Praddaude as modified above in the distributor housing wall of the hydraulic machine of Praddaude as modified above would be obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (C) and (D):
(C) Use of known technique (arranging a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire) to improve similar devices (hydraulic machine) in the same way (integrating a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire);
(D) Applying a known technique (arranging a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire) to a known device (hydraulic machine) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (the predictable result of controlling the direction of rotation of the hydraulic motor with a slide valve arranged in a known location for slide valves in hydraulic machines).
Additionally, the location of the reversing valve is a matter of simple engineering design choice. The reversing valve of Praddaude performs the same function as the now claimed structures as the location of the direction changing slide valve does not cause the direction changing slide valve to perform a different function. Thus, the selection of the orientation of the direction changing slide valve would be a simple matter of engineering design choice as applicant has not set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to rearrange the direction changing slide valve to be arranged in a distributor housing wall (wherein Lemaire discloses it is known to arrange slide valves in distributor housing walls) in the system of Praddaude as modified above as a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine as per MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. to gain the benefit of utilizing a distributor housing wall to dispose and protect the direction changing slide vale.
Praddaude as modified above discloses (all references to Praddaude unless noted otherwise):
2. (Currently Amended) The machine according to the preceding claim, wherein the displacement selection slide valve 10 extends within the distributor 8.
3. (Currently Amended) The machine according to claim 1, wherein the displacement selection slide valve 10 is coaxial with the axis of rotation (see e.g. Fig 1).
4. (Currently Amended) The machine according to claim 1, wherein the direction changing slide valve extends outside of the displacement selection slide valve 10 (see col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75 and the location of slide valves 32 and 42 in Fig 1 of Lemaire). Additionally, regarding the location of the direction changing slide valve, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve without any change
in operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Regarding claims 5-6, Praddaude does not disclose the orientation of the reversing valve and thus does not disclose the limitations of claims 5-6. However, the orientation of the reversing valve (e.g. “wherein the direction changing slide valve is mounted sliding in a direction parallel to the axis of rotation” or “wherein the direction changing slide valve is mounted sliding in a direction that is not parallel to the axis of rotation” is a matter of simple engineering design choice. The reversing valve of Praddaude performs the same function as the now claimed structures as the orientation of the direction changing slide valve does not cause the direction changing slide valve to perform a different function. Thus, the selection of the orientation of the direction changing slide valve would be a simple matter of engineering design choice as evidenced by applicant’s claiming of all possible options (i.e. parallel and non-parallel) for a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function).
Additionally, by claiming both possible options (parallel and non-parallel) applicant has met the criteria for obviousness as per MPEP 2143 I (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number (two options: parallel or non-parallel) of identified, predictable solutions (orientations of a direction changing slide valve), with a reasonable expectation of success (either option does not change the function of the direction changing slide valve and thus offers a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the reversing valve of Praddaude as modified above in a parallel or non-parallel orientation with respect to the rotation axis to gain the benefit of choosing from one of only two potions available to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
7. (Currently Amended) The machine according to claim1, which comprises a high-pressure (13 or 14 if reversed) line and a low-pressure line (14 or 13 if reversed) and is configured so that the direction changing slide valve moves under an influence of a pressure in the high-pressure line (see e.g. the prior art section of applicant’s specification including “This slide valve is controlled by the pressure difference at the terminals of the machine.”).
8. (Currently Amended) The machine according to claim 1 wherein, the second displacement being less than the first displacement (see e.g. col 2 lines 27-64 wherein decreased speed corresponds to decreased displacement and increased speed corresponds to increase displacement), the second displacement is implemented by a group of pistons (the group being all the pistons) or a group of lobes of a cam, the group forming a regular polygon centered on the axis of rotation (all the pistons form a regular polygon in the same manner as applicant’s pistons would form a regular polygon).
11. (Currently Amended) A device comprising at least one machine according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig 1 of Praddaude).
Praddaude discloses:
13. (Currently Amended) A method for controlling a hydraulic machine, wherein: - a displacement selection slide valve 10 slides between a first position wherein the machine is configured to operate with a first displacement and a second position wherein the machine is configured to operate with a second displacement different from the first displacement (see e.g. col 2, lines 27-64 wherein increased speed corresponds to increased displacement); and - a direction changing valve moving between a first position wherein the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position wherein the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction around the axis (see e.g. col 2, lines 70-75), the direction changing slide valve sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation and outside the displacement selection slide valve (see col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75).
Praddaude discloses the use of a reversing valve for reversing the motor but does not specify the valve is a slide valve. However, applicant’s admitted prior art discloses the use of a slide valve for reversing the direction of the motor (see the Prior Art section of applicant’s specification).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slide valve for the reversing of the motor of Praddaude as taught by applicant’s admitted prior art to gain the benefit of using a known type of valve for changing the direction of a hydraulic motor.
Regarding the limitations “the direction changing slide valve extending: - in a wall of the distribution cover”, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Praddaude as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Additionally, Lemaire discloses that it is known to arrange slide valves (see e.g. 32, 42) in a distributor housing wall of a hydraulic machine (see e.g. Fig 1). Given that it is known in the art to arrange slide valves in a distributor housing wall, use of this known technique to arrange the direction changing slide valve of Praddaude as modified above in the distributor housing wall of the hydraulic machine of Praddaude as modified above would be obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (C) and (D):
(C) Use of known technique (arranging a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire) to improve similar devices (hydraulic machine) in the same way (integrating a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire);
(D) Applying a known technique (arranging a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire) to a known device (hydraulic machine) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (the predictable result of controlling the direction of rotation of the hydraulic motor with a slide valve arranged in a known location for slide valves in hydraulic machines).
Additionally, the location of the reversing valve is a matter of simple engineering design choice. The reversing valve of Praddaude performs the same function as the now claimed structures as the location of the direction changing slide valve does not cause the direction changing slide valve to perform a different function. Thus, the selection of the orientation of the direction changing slide valve would be a simple matter of engineering design choice as applicant has not set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to rearrange the direction changing slide valve to be arranged in a distributor housing wall (wherein Lemaire discloses it is known to arrange slide valves in distributor housing walls) in the system of Praddaude as modified above as a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine as per MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. to gain the benefit of utilizing a distributor housing wall to dispose and protect the direction changing slide vale.
Claim(s) 1, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viard US 20170248241 in view of applicant’s admitted prior art Viard FR 3024503 (hereafter AAPA) in further view of Lemaire US 20080256939.
Viard discloses:
1. (Currently Amended) A hydraulic machine (see e.g. Fig 1) comprising: - a distribution cover 10A, - a distributor 15, - a displacement selection slide valve 50 mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to operate with a first displacement and a second position in which the machine is configured to operate with a second displacement different from the first displacement (see e.g. Figs 1 and 1A).
Viard does not disclose a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction, the direction changing slide valve being mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, the direction changing slide valve extending; - in a wall of the distribution cover and outside the displacement selection slide valve.
However, AAPA discloses the use of a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction (see the Prior Art section of applicant’s specification).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slide valve for reversing of the motor of Viard as taught by AAPA to gain the benefit of enabling changing the direction of a hydraulic motor.
Regarding the limitations “the direction changing slide valve being mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, the direction changing slide valve extending; - in a wall of the distribution cover and outside the displacement selection slide valve”, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Additionally, Lemaire discloses that is known to mount slide valves (see e.g. 32, 42) sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation (central line e.g. in Fig 1), the slides valve extending - in a wall of the distribution cover (see e.g. 32, 42) - in a wall 1C of the distribution cover (see e.g. Fig 1). Given that it is known in the art to arrange slide valves in a distributor housing wall, use of this known technique to arrange the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above in the distributor housing wall of the hydraulic machine of Viard as modified above would be obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (C) and (D):
(C) Use of known technique (arranging a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire) to improve similar devices (hydraulic machine) in the same way (integrating a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire);
(D) Applying a known technique (arranging a slide valve in a distributor housing wall as taught by Lemaire) to a known device (hydraulic machine) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (the predictable result of controlling the direction of rotation of the hydraulic motor with a slide valve arranged in a known location for slide valves in hydraulic machines).
Additionally, the location of the direction changing slide valve is a matter of simple engineering design choice. The direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above performs the same function as the now claimed structures as the location of the direction changing slide valve does not cause the direction changing slide valve to perform a different function. Thus, the selection of the location of the direction changing slide valve would be a simple matter of engineering design choice as applicant has not set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to rearrange the direction changing slide valve to be arranged in a distributor housing wall outside the displacement selection slide valve (wherein Lemaire discloses it is known to arrange slide valves in distributor housing walls) in the system of Praddaude as modified above as a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine as per MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. to gain the benefit of utilizing a distributor housing wall to dispose and protect the direction changing slide vale.
Viard as modified above discloses:
Regarding claim 9, the limitations wherein a fluid path from an external inlet of the machine to the displacement changing slide valve is shorter than a fluid path from the external inlet to the direction changing slide valve, these limitations would be met depending on the location of the direction changing slide valve relative to the external inlet wherein Lemaire discloses it is known to place slide valves opposite the external inlets (C1 or C2 in e.g. Fig 2) which meets the limitations of the claim. See also MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. which makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
10. (Previously Presented) The machine according to claim 1 wherein, the cover forming annular grooves (17 and 19 of Viard), the distributor forming grooves (17 and 19 of Viard), the grooves of the cover and the grooves of the distributor forming a volume having a barycenter (see e.g. Fig 1), the displacement selecting slide valve 50 is positioned closer to the barycenter than the direction changing slide valve (direction changing slide valve in the distributor cover wall as modified above). See also MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. which makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Claim(s) 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viard US 20170248241 in view of applicant’s admitted prior art Viard FR 3024503 (hereafter AAPA) in further view of Praddaude US 3593621.
Viard discloses:
12. (New) A subassembly for a hydraulic machine (see e.g. Fig 1) comprising: - a distributor 15 , - a displacement selection slide valve 50 mounted sliding in the distributor between a first position wherein the machine is configured to operate with a first displacement and a second position wherein the machine is configured to operate with a second displacement different from the first displacement (see e.g. Figs 1 and 1A); the cover forming annular grooves (see groove 17 and 19), the distributor forming grooves (see groove 17 and 19), the grooves of the cover and the grooves of the distributor forming a volume having a barycenter (see e.g. Fig 1 which would have a barrycenter corresponding to the axis of rotation).
Viard does not disclose - a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding in the distributor between a first position wherein the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position wherein the machine is configured to exert a torque in a different direction, the direction changing slide valve being mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, wherein the displacement selecting slide valve is positioned closer to the barycenter than the direction changing slide valve.
However, AAPA discloses the use of a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction (see the Prior Art section of applicant’s specification).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slide valve for reversing of the motor of Viard as taught by AAPA to gain the benefit of enabling changing the direction of a hydraulic motor.
Regarding the limitations “the direction changing slide valve mounted sliding in the distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation”, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Additionally, Praddaude discloses the direction changing slide valve mounted sliding in a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation (13 and 14 are in a wall of the distributor 8 and distant from the axis of rotation, see col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75).
Given that it is known in the art to arrange a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding in a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, use of this known technique to arrange the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above in a wall of the distributor of Viard as modified above would be obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (C) and (D):
(C) Use of known technique (arranging a the direction changing slide valve mounted sliding in a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation as taught by Praddaude) to improve similar devices (hydraulic machine) in the same way (integrating a slide valve in a distributor as taught by Praddaude);
(D) Applying a known technique (arranging a the direction changing slide valve mounted sliding in a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation as taught by Praddaude) to a known device (hydraulic machine) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (the predictable result of controlling the direction of rotation of the hydraulic motor with a slide valve arranged in a known location for direction changing slide valves in hydraulic machines).
Additionally, the location of the reversing valve is a matter of simple engineering design choice. The reversing valve of Viard as modified above performs the same function as the now claimed structures as the location of the direction changing slide valve does not cause the direction changing slide valve to perform a different function. Thus, the selection of the location of the direction changing slide valve would be a simple matter of engineering design choice as applicant has not set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to rearrange the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above to be arranged mounted sliding in a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation (wherein Praddaude discloses it is known to arrange direction changing slide valves mounted sliding in a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation) as a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine as per MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. to gain the benefit of utilizing a distributor wall to dispose and protect the direction changing slide valve.
With this modification, Viard as modified above would disclose wherein the displacement selecting slide valve is positioned closer to the barycenter than the direction changing slide valve (see e.g. Fig 1 of Viard where the displacement selecting slide valve is aligned with the rotation axis and col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75 of Praddaude wherein 13 and 14 are offset from the rotation axis).
Viard discloses:
14. (New) A hydraulic machine (see e.g. Fig 1) comprising: - a distribution cover 10A, - a distributor 15 , - a displacement selection slide valve 50 mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to operate with a first displacement and a second position in which the machine is configured to operate with a second displacement different from the first displacement (see e.g. Figs 1 and 1A); the cover forming annular grooves (see groove 17 and 19), the distributor forming grooves (see groove 17 and 19), the grooves of the cover and the grooves of the distributor forming a volume having a barycenter (see e.g. Fig 1 which would have a barrycenter corresponding to the axis of rotation).
Viard does not disclose a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction, the direction changing slide valve being mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, the direction changing slide valve extending in a wall of the distributor, wherein the displacement selecting slide valve is positioned closer to the barycenter than the direction changing slide valve.
However, applicant’s admitted prior art discloses the use of a direction changing slide valve mounted sliding between a first position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a first direction around an axis of rotation and a second position in which the machine is configured to exert a torque in a second direction (see the Prior Art section of applicant’s specification).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a slide valve for reversing of the motor of Viard as taught by AAPA to gain the benefit of enabling changing the direction of a hydraulic motor.
Regarding the limitations “, the direction changing slide valve being mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, and the direction changing slide valve extending in a wall of the distributor”, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above without any modification of the operation of the hydraulic machine is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Additionally, Praddaude discloses the direction changing slide valve extending in a wall of the distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, (13 and 14 are in a wall of the distributor 8, see col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75).
Given that it is known in the art to arrange a direction changing slide valve extending in a wall of a distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation, use of this known technique to arrange the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above in a wall of the distributor of Viard as modified above would be obvious as per MPEP 2143 I (C) and (D):
(C) Use of known technique (arranging a the direction changing slide valve extending in a wall of the distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation as taught by Praddaude) to improve similar devices (hydraulic machine) in the same way (integrating a slide valve in a distributor wall as taught by Praddaude);
(D) Applying a known technique (arranging a the direction changing slide valve extending in a wall of the distributor and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation as taught by Praddaude) to a known device (hydraulic machine) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (the predictable result of controlling the direction of rotation of the hydraulic motor with a slide valve arranged in a known location for direction changing slide valves in hydraulic machines).
Additionally, the location of the reversing valve is a matter of simple engineering design choice. The reversing valve of Viard as modified above performs the same function as the now claimed structures as the location of the direction changing slide valve does not cause the direction changing slide valve to perform a different function. Thus, the selection of the location of the direction changing slide valve would be a simple matter of engineering design choice as applicant has not set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to rearrange the direction changing slide valve of Viard as modified above to be arranged in a distributor wall and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation (wherein Praddaude discloses it is known to arrange direction changing slide valves in distributor walls and mounted sliding along an axis distant from the axis of rotation) as a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the hydraulic machine as per MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. to gain the benefit of utilizing a distributor wall to dispose and protect the direction changing slide vale.
With this modification, Viard as modified above would disclose wherein the displacement selecting slide valve is positioned closer to the barycenter than the direction changing slide valve (see e.g. Fig 1 of Viard where the displacement selecting slide valve is aligned with the rotation axis and col 2 line 8 and col 2 lines 70-75 of Praddaude wherein 13 and 14 are offset from the rotation axis).
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-13 were amended and claim 14 was added. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746