DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-27 and 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Giuseppe et al. (US 2014117988).
Re claim 20, Giuseppe et al. teaches (figure 5D, 22+):
a sensor clement (see e.g. figure 5D, figures 1A-1D and paragraph 0105) for testing a planar data carrier having a spin-resonance feature, comprising
a magnetic core 12 having an air gap (see figure 5D) into which the planar data carrier can be inserted for testing purposes ( e.g. above part 1 in figure 5D; see also paragraph 0105),
a polarization device (34) for generating a static magnetic flux in the air gap (32), and
a resonator device 6 (paragraph 0087) for exciting the spin-resonance feature of the data carrier to be tested in the air gap,
wherein the resonator device 6 contains a plurality of stripline resonators (see FIG. 11-12, 22) which are designed and configured to operate independently of one another at the same excitation frequency ( see paragraph 0187, the same excitation frequency is implicit), and
the polarization device 12 generates a homogeneous magnetic flux in the air gap, so that the static magnetic flux for each pair of stripline resonators of the resonator device has substantially the same field strength at the position of a first stripline resonator as at the position of a second stripline resonator (implicit; see figure 5D).
Re claim 21, Giuseppe et al. teaches that the stripline resonators are interpreted to operate at the same excitation frequency.
Re claims 22-23, FIG. 22 shows different sources and a 1d stripline resonator array.
Re claim 24, the striplines are interpreted to cover the width of the data carrier (FIG. 1A+ )in order to process the sample.
Re claim 25, FIG. 22 teaches such limitations.
Re claim 26-27, FIG. 5D shows parallel pole surfaces .
Re claim 30, FIG. 5D teaches such limitations.
Re claim 31, paragraph [0151]+ teaches 5-10mm.
Re claim 32, paragraph [0105]+ teaches such limitations.
Re claim 33, paragraph [0116]+ teaches such limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-29 and 34-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giuseppe et al., as discussed above, in view of Jerome et al. (US 5149946).
Re claims 28-29, though silent to specifically teaching a time varying modulation field in the air gap, such limitations are generally known in the art.
Nonetheless, Jerome et al. teaches such limitations at FIG.3+2 with field Hm that varies over time in the air gap with resonator 120/130.
Prior to the effective filing date it would have been obvious to combine the teachings for a single frequency resonator modulated field for controlled field output.
Re claim 34-35, though Giuseppe et al. is silent to the transport device, Jerome et al. teaches such limitations at col 5, lines 57- col 6, line 4, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to combine the teachings for automated transport for convenience and consistency as known in the art.
Re claim 36, the teachings of Giuseppe et al. have been discussed above but are silent to the flat transport device and modulation device.
Jerome et al. teaches a magnetic core with an air gap delimited by two pole case of the magnetic core with a polarization device (111/112) for creating magnetic flux in the air gap as they are fed from low frequency generator 112 in either fixed (only one EPR substance to be detected) or adjustable in frequency (when several SPR substances are to be detected. Resonance unit 120 excites the spin resonance feature of a data carrier to be tested in the gap such as paper of value containing spectral responsive substances when subjected to electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR)/ electron spin resonance (EST) via a source 130. Jerome et al. teaches in col 11, lines 38-44 that a banknote is inserted into the gap (FIG. 2 and col 8, lines 6-13) with the polarization device (FIG. 2) generating the flux H0 and a modulation device 112 that generates magnetic modulation field Hm and the resonator device (FIG. 2, 120/13) excites the features of the carrier to be tested.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to control the magnetic flux generation.
Re claims 37-38, the testing is interpreted as occurring by excitation as discussed above, and a transport path has been discussed above re claims 34+ wherein single or multitrack scanning occurs via striplines.
Conclusion
/DANIEL I WALSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876