DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figs 1-7 lack clear description of the elements in each figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,2 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1,2 recites “a transceiver 131” the numbering should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 24,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 24,25 recite “A computer program product on a computer readable medium,” applicant’s disclosure defines “a computer readable medium” in paragraph [0157] as “ the computer readable medium 1000 may be any suitable computer readable medium, such as a hard disk, solid state memory, flash memory, etc., and may be non-recordable or recordable.” The applicant’s disclosure does not exclude “a computer readable medium” being a transitory medium such as signal. Therefore, claims 24,25 are non-statutory subject matter, since a signal is non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12, 16,20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “ A network access device, the network access device comprising a transceiver for wireless communication with the wireless communication device according to a wireless communication protocol and comprising at least one relay device according to claim 1” it is not clear as to what the claim sought to cover. Claim 11 seems to be presented as an independent claim of “ A network access device,” however, it is also seems to be dependent on claim 1. It is not clear whether claim 11 incorporates all the language of independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is ambiguous.
Claim 12 recites “A Configurator arranged to cooperate with the relay device as defined in claim 1 according to a configuration protocol,” it is not clear as to what the claim sought to cover. Claim 12 seems to be presented as an independent claim of “ A Configurator,” however, it is also seems to be dependent on claim 1. It is not clear whether claim 12 incorporates all the language of independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is ambiguous.
Claim 16 recites “A method for use in a relay device of claim 1,” It is not clear whether claim 16 incorporates all the language of independent claim 1. Therefore, claim 16 is ambiguous.
Claim 20 recites “A method for use in a Configurator device according to claim 12, the Configurator being arranged to cooperate with a relay device according to claim 1-9” It is not clear whether claim 20 incorporates all the language of claim 12, claims 1-9. Therefore, claim 20 is ambiguous.
Claim 21 recites “A method for use in a Configurator device according to claim 12, the Configurator being arranged to cooperate with a relay device according to claims 1-9” It is not clear whether claim 20 incorporates all the language of claim 12, claims 1-9. Therefore, claim 21 is ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCann to (US20170257819)
Regarding claims 1,16,24 McCann teaches A relay device, the relay device being arranged to cooperate with a Configurator (fig.9, “910” “906”) according to a configuration protocol that enables configuring at least one wireless communication device to associate with a wireless network,( [0036] To support provisioning of the headless device 102 in the network 104, a connection (referred to as a tether) can be established between the headless device 102 and the mediator device 112) the configuration protocol using a configuration connection, the relay device being arranged to communicate with the at least one wireless communication device, via a transceiver 131, according to a wireless communication protocol,([0037] types of connections: a Bluetooth connection, a WLAN connection, a Wi-Fi direct connection, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection, an Ethernet connection, a ZigBee connection (ZigBee is a protocol provided by the ZigBee Alliance), a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) or Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) connection (provided by the Third Generation Partnership Project or 3GPP), a Peer-to-Peer (P2P) WLAN connection, and so forth. In examples where the connection between the headless device 102 and the mediator device 112 is a WLAN connection, the headless device 102 is configured to be able to perform concurrent operation in the tether basic service set (BSS) and communication with the provisioning server 1) the relay device comprising a processor arranged to enable communication between the Configurator and the wireless communication device via the transceiver,(fig.9) and to provide to the Configurator, via the configuration connection an indication of a configuration of the transceiver([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908),
Regarding claims 2, McCann teaches A relay device, the relay device being arranged to cooperate with a Configurator (fig.9, “910” “906”) according to a configuration protocol that enables configuring at least one wireless communication device to associate with a wireless network,( [0036] To support provisioning of the headless device 102 in the network 104, a connection (referred to as a tether) can be established between the headless device 102 and the mediator device 112) the configuration protocol using a configuration connection, the relay device being arranged to communicate with the at least one wireless communication device, via a transceiver 131, according to a wireless communication protocol,([0037] types of connections: a Bluetooth connection, a WLAN connection, a Wi-Fi direct connection, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection, an Ethernet connection, a ZigBee connection (ZigBee is a protocol provided by the ZigBee Alliance), a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) or Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) connection (provided by the Third Generation Partnership Project or 3GPP), a Peer-to-Peer (P2P) WLAN connection, and so forth. In examples where the connection between the headless device 102 and the mediator device 112 is a WLAN connection, the headless device 102 is configured to be able to perform concurrent operation in the tether basic service set (BSS) and communication with the provisioning server 1) the relay device comprising a processor arranged to enable communication between the Configurator and the wireless communication device via the transceiver, ([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908), and to receive from the Configurator, via the configuration connection an indication of a configuration to be used by the relay device for operating the wireless communication protocol between the relay device and the at least one wireless communication device([0100] After successful bootstrapping with the DPP configurator 906, the mediator device 902 can then forward the bootstrapping information to the enrollee device 908 so that the enrollee device 908 can initiate DPP provisioning with the DPP configurator 906).
Regarding claim 11, McCann teaches A network access device,(fig.9 , “910”) the network access device comprising a transceiver for wireless communication with the wireless communication device according to a wireless communication protocol and comprising at least one relay device according to claim 1([0061] , FIG. 3, information included in the ANQP response(s) sent by the network AP 302 to the headless device 102 can be encapsulated in a frame according to a new frame format, where the frame encapsulating the information is sent by the headless device 102 to the mediator device 112. A “new” frame format can refer to a frame format that is not currently defined by current versions of standards).
Regarding claims 3, 17 McCann teaches wherein the processor is arranged to convert messages between a first format of the configuration protocol and a second format of the configuration protocol([0061] discloses encapsulated in a frame according to a new frame format, where the frame encapsulating the information is sent by the headless device 102 to the mediator device 112. A “new” frame format can refer to a frame format that is not currently defined by current versions of standards).
Regarding claim 4, McCann teaches The relay device of claim 3 wherein the second format uses the wireless communication protocol([0062] This frame according to the new frame format can be an Internet Protocol (IP) packet or an Ethernet frame. In some examples, the frame can be secured by the wireless link, such as with Wi-Fi Protected Access 2 (WPA2) Personal using Wi-Fi Direct).
Regarding claim 10, McCann teaches The relay device of claim 2 arranged to transmit the indication([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15,20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann to (US20170257819) in view of Patil to (US 20120117377 A1)
Regarding claim 12, McCann teaches a Configurator arranged to cooperate with the relay device, (fig.9, “910” “906”) according to a configuration protocol that enables the Configurator to configure at least one wireless communication device to associate with a wireless network, (fig.9, “910” “906”) the Configurator comprising a communication unit arranged to communicate according to a network communication protocol; ([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908) and a processor system arranged to establish, via the communication unit, a configuration connection according to the wired and/or wireless network communication protocol to the relay device, ,([0037] types of connections: a Bluetooth connection, a WLAN connection, a Wi-Fi direct connection, a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection, an Ethernet connection, a ZigBee connection (ZigBee is a protocol provided by the ZigBee Alliance), a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) or Evolved Universal Mobile Telecommunications System Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) connection (provided by the Third Generation Partnership Project or 3GPP), a Peer-to-Peer (P2P) WLAN connection, and so forth. In examples where the connection between the headless device 102 and the mediator device 112 is a WLAN connection, the headless device 102 is configured to be able to perform concurrent operation in the tether basic service set (BSS) and communication with the provisioning server 1) an indication of a configuration of the transceiver and sending a command via the configuration connection, to the relay device, the command comprising a parameter value for the transceiver of the network access device, ([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908) and to communicate with the at least one wireless communication device via the transceiver, and to receive, from the at least one wireless communication device acting as an Enrollee device, ([0100] After successful bootstrapping with the DPP configurator 906, the mediator device 902 can then forward the bootstrapping information to the enrollee device 908 so that the enrollee device 908 can initiate DPP provisioning with the DPP configurator 906) the Enrollee device having an Enrollee transceiver arranged for wireless communication using the wireless communication protocol of the relay device, the information comprising an indication of a parameter value of the Enrollee transceiver([0100] After successful bootstrapping with the DPP configurator 906, the mediator device 902 can then forward the bootstrapping information to the enrollee device 908 so that the enrollee device 908 can initiate DPP provisioning with the DPP configurator 906)
McCann does not explicitly teach the Configurator being arranged, while cooperating with the relay device, to perform at least one selected from the group of receiving from the relay device
However, Patil teaches the Configurator being arranged, while cooperating with the relay device, to perform at least one selected from the group of receiving from the relay device([0062] discloses the security gateway as in block 606, the selecting and identifying at block 602 are done at least by the security gateway comparing a security protocol capability of the mobile node against security capabilities of the plurality of home agents, and enabling the establishment of the security association at block 604 is done by the security gateway by sending to the mobile node over the secure connection the bootstrapping parameters, an identity of the selected/assigned home agent, and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol, and by sending to the selected/assigned home agent an identity of the mobile node and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include the Configurator being arranged, while cooperating with the relay device, to perform at least one selected from the group of receiving from the relay device, as suggested by Patil. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication failure.
Regarding claim 13, McCann and Patil teaches arranged to receive the information comprising the indication via an out-of-band channel(Patil [0055] out-of-band signaling ).
Regarding claim 14, McCann and Patil teaches arranged to select a relay device from a plurality of relay devices, the selection being based on a correspondence between the indication the of a configuration of the Enrollee transceiver and indication of a configuration of the transceiver(Patil [0062] discloses the security gateway as in block 606, the selecting and identifying at block 602 are done at least by the security gateway comparing a security protocol capability of the mobile node against security capabilities of the plurality of home agents, and enabling the establishment of the security association at block 604 is done by the security gateway by sending to the mobile node over the secure connection the bootstrapping parameters, an identity of the selected/assigned home agent, and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol, and by sending to the selected/assigned home agent an identity of the mobile node and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol).
Regarding claim 15, McCann teaches the Configurator being arranged to engage, while cooperating with the relay device via the configuration connection, in configuration of a wireless communication device to enable association of the wireless communication device with the wireless network([0100] After successful bootstrapping with the DPP configurator 906, the mediator device 902 can then forward the bootstrapping information to the enrollee device 908 so that the enrollee device 908 can initiate DPP provisioning with the DPP configurator 906).
Regarding claim 20, McCann teaches A method for use in a Configurator device , a wireless communication device, (fig.9, “910” “906”) the wireless communication device having a wireless device transceiver arranged to communicate using a wireless communication protocol with the relay device(fig.9, “910” “906”), the method comprising obtaining a first indication of a parameter of the wireless device transceiver; ([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908) and sending a command to the relay device to cause the network access device to adapt a parameter of the transceiver according to a value provided by the Configurator, ([0100] After successful bootstrapping with the DPP configurator 906, the mediator device 902 can then forward the bootstrapping information to the enrollee device 908 so that the enrollee device 908 can initiate DPP provisioning with the DPP configurator 906)
McCann does not explicitly teach performing at least one selected from the group of receiving a second indication from the relay device, the indication comprising an indication of a parameter of the transceiver
However, Patil teaches performing at least one selected from the group of receiving a second indication from the relay device, the indication comprising an indication of a parameter of the transceiver([0062] discloses the security gateway as in block 606, the selecting and identifying at block 602 are done at least by the security gateway comparing a security protocol capability of the mobile node against security capabilities of the plurality of home agents, and enabling the establishment of the security association at block 604 is done by the security gateway by sending to the mobile node over the secure connection the bootstrapping parameters, an identity of the selected/assigned home agent, and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol, and by sending to the selected/assigned home agent an identity of the mobile node and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include performing at least one selected from the group of receiving a second indication from the relay device, the indication comprising an indication of a parameter of the transceiver, as suggested by Patil. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication failure.
Regarding claim 21, McCann teaches A method for use in a Configurator device , the wireless communication device (fig.9, “910” “906”) having a wireless device transceiver arranged to communicate using a wireless communication protocol with the relay device([0100] After successful bootstrapping with the DPP configurator 906, the mediator device 902 can then forward the bootstrapping information to the enrollee device 908 so that the enrollee device 908 can initiate DPP provisioning with the DPP configurator 906), the method comprising receiving a first indications from a plurality of the relay devices, the indication comprising an indication of a parameter of the transceiver([0099] The mediator device 902 may contact the DPP configurator 906 on behalf of the enrollee device 908 for the purpose of provisioning. The communications can either be direct over a wireless medium or through the AP 910. The mediator device 902 initiates a DPP bootstrapping procedure with the DPP configurator 902, and may provide enrollee information (e.g. the enrollee device's identity) to signal that the mediator device 902 is initiating provisioning on behalf of the enrollee device 908)
McCann does not explicitly teach obtaining a second indication, via an out-of-band channel, of a parameter of the wireless device transceiver, and selecting a relay device according to a correspondence between the first and second indications to be used for configuration of the wireless network device
However, Patil teaches obtaining a second indication, via an out-of-band channel,([0055] out-of-band signaling ) of a parameter of the wireless device transceiver, and selecting a relay device according to a correspondence between the first and second indications to be used for configuration of the wireless network device([0062] discloses the security gateway as in block 606, the selecting and identifying at block 602 are done at least by the security gateway comparing a security protocol capability of the mobile node against security capabilities of the plurality of home agents, and enabling the establishment of the security association at block 604 is done by the security gateway by sending to the mobile node over the secure connection the bootstrapping parameters, an identity of the selected/assigned home agent, and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol, and by sending to the selected/assigned home agent an identity of the mobile node and an indication of the identified at least one security protocol)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include obtaining a second indication, via an out-of-band channel, of a parameter of the wireless device transceiver, and selecting a relay device according to a correspondence between the first and second indications to be used for configuration of the wireless network device, as suggested by Patil. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication failure.
Regarding claim 22, McCann and Patil teaches wherein the second indication is received via an out-of-band channel(Patil [0055] out-of-band signaling ).
Claim(s) 5,9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann to (US20170257819) in view of ZHANG to ( US 2021/400502 A1)
Regarding claim 5, McCann does not explicitly teach wherein the indication of a configuration comprises an indication of at least one parameter value, the at least one parameter being at least one from the set of radio channel and a frequency, the parameter value corresponding to a setting of the transceiver
However, Zhang teaches wherein the indication of a configuration comprises an indication of at least one parameter value, the at least one parameter being at least one from the set of radio channel and a frequency, the parameter value corresponding to a setting of the transceiver([0028], the enrollee 130 sends the band support of the enrollee 130 to the configurator 110. The configurator 110 uses the band support of the enrollee 130 to determine candidate Wi-Fi networks for provisioning the enrollee device 130)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include wherein the indication of a configuration comprises an indication of at least one parameter value, the at least one parameter being at least one from the set of radio channel and a frequency, the parameter value corresponding to a setting of the transceiver, as suggested by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication failure.
Regarding claim 9, McCann and Zhang teaches wherein the indication contains at least one selected from the set of a configuration protocol to be used, a radio channel to be used, a frequency to be used, a discovery protocol, discovery signals to be used, an identifier to be used as an address(Zhang [0028] , the enrollee 130 sends the band support of the enrollee 130 to the configurator 110. The configurator 110 uses the band support of the enrollee 130 to determine candidate Wi-Fi networks for provisioning the enrollee device 130).
Claim(s) 6,8,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann to (US20170257819) in view of Jin to (WO 2015105985 A1)
Regarding claims 6, 19 McCann does not explicitly teach wherein the indication is received using the Control and Provisioning of Wireless Access Points (CAPWAP) protocol
However, Jin teaches wherein the indication is received using the Control and Provisioning of Wireless Access Points (CAPWAP) protocol([0071] Control And Provisioning of Wireless Access Points (CAPWAP) is a protocol that enables a centralized control in wireless networks. CAPWAP is technology agnostic and may use specific bindings for each considered access standard)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include wherein the indication is received using the Control and Provisioning of Wireless Access Points (CAPWAP) protocol, as suggested by Jin. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Regarding claim 8, McCann and Jin teaches wherein the first format of the configuration protocol is the Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) over TCP/IP(Jin, [0045] Discloses devices that use common communication protocols, such as the transmission control protocol (TCP), user datagram protocol (UDP) and the internet protocol (IP) in the TCP/IP internet protocol suite).
Claim(s) 7,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann to (US20170257819) in view of Cherian to (US 20130182795 A1)
Regarding claims 7,18 McCann does not explicitly teach wherein the indication is provided using an mDNS advertisement.
However, Cherian teaches wherein the indication is provided using an mDNS advertisement ([0015] discloses The advertisement message may comprise an indication that the advertisement message includes a multicast domain name system (mDNS) message, the indication configured to trigger devices to cache data of the advertisement message. The advertisement message may comprise a protocol identifier field configured to indicate a protocol used for discovery and a domain name field configured to indicate the generated service name of the processor. The advertisement message may comprise at least one of an action frame and an information element, the at least one of the action frame and the information element may comprise a protocol identifier field configured to indicate a protocol used for discovery, a service type field configured to indicate a type of service provided by the processor)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include wherein the indication is provided using an mDNS advertisement, as suggested by Cherian. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCann to (US20170257819) in view of Patil to (US 20120117377 A1) further in view of Jin to (WO 2015105985 A1)
Regarding claim 23 McCann does not explicitly teach wherein the first format of the configuration protocol is the Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) over TCP/IP
Jin teaches wherein the first format of the configuration protocol is the Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) over TCP/IP (Jin, [0045] Discloses devices that use common communication protocols, such as the transmission control protocol (TCP), user datagram protocol (UDP) and the internet protocol (IP) in the TCP/IP internet protocol suite).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of McCann include wherein the first format of the configuration protocol is the Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) over TCP/IP, as suggested by Jin. This modification would benefit the system as a design choice.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461