DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage application of International Application No. PCT/FI2023/050237, filed on 05/02/2023, which claims priority to European Patent Application No. 22171703.6 filed on 05/05/2022. On 11/04/2024, a certified copy of this document was received by the USPTO, and thus on the office action summary sheet examiner has checked off the box “all” certified copies have been received at this time.
Preliminary Amendment Acknowledged
The 11/04/2024 preliminary amendment includes: (a) the specification including the abstract is currently amended; (b) claims 16-17 are new; and (c) claims 1-15 are currently amended. Claims 1-17 are currently pending and an office action on the merits follows.
Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) while no new matter should be entered:
(i) Claim 2 includes “the first secondary electrode is…a temperature sensor, a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge”, however each of these types of sensors is not shown in the figures.
(ii) Claims 3 and 11 include “the first secondary electrode is… a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge”, however each of these types of sensors is not shown in the figures.
Specification Objection
5. The specification is objected to because the title is not descriptive. See MPEP 606.01 – “Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed”. Correction is needed. Examiner suggests by way of example the following title: “A METHOD FOR OPERATING A LAYERED DEVICE HAVING AT LEAST TWO FUNCTIONALITIES, AND AN ARRANGEMENT COMPRISING A LAYERED DEVICE”.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 at line 5 includes “the first functionality the device comprises:” that is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “the first functionality, the device comprises:”. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 2-9, 15 and 17 that depend upon claim 1.
Claim 2 at line 5 includes “first secondary electrode” that should be changed to “the first secondary electrode” because claim 2 at line 3 already declared this limitation. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claim 3 that depends upon claim 2.
Claim 6 at line 3 includes “enabling the second functionality” that should be changed to “the enabling the second functionality” because claim 6 at lines 2-3 already declared this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 at line 3 includes “detecting the second functionality” that should be changed to “the detecting the second functionality” because claim 7 at line 2 already declared this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 at lines 18-19 includes “connecting to the first primary electrode to a second common potential” that is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to either “connecting to the first primary electrode a second common potential” or “connecting the first primary electrode to a second common potential”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 at lines 23-24 includes “and control unit” that is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “and a control unit”. Appropriate correction is required. This objection applies to claims 11-14 and 16 that depend upon claim 10.
Claim 12 at line 10 includes “connect to the first primary electrode to a second common potential” that is grammatically incorrect. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to either “connect to the first primary electrode a second common potential” or “connect the first primary electrode to a second common potential”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 at line 5 includes “the effect of the second functionality” that lacks antecedent basis. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “an effect of the second functionality”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
8. Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 at lines 8-14 include limitations that are “preferably” and “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d), especially – “Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims”. Therefore, claim is indefinite. It is recommended that applicant not include the terms “preferably” and “more preferably”, because claims must positively recite limitations. This grounds of rejection applies to claim 3 that depends upon claim 2.
Claim 3 at lines 5-7 include limitations that are “e.g.”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 3 at lines 8-10 include limitations that are “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 at lines 8-16 include limitations that are “preferably” and “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d). This grounds of rejection applies to claim 17 that depends upon claim 4.
Claim 4 at line 11 includes limitations that are “such as”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d). This grounds of rejection applies to claim 17 that depends upon claim 4.
Claim 5 at lines 4-6 includes limitations that are “preferably” and “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 at lines 11-16 include limitations that are “preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 at lines 7-21 include limitations that are “preferably” and “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 at lines 4-5 includes limitations that are “such as”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 at lines 11-13 include limitations that are “preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 at lines 7-13 includes limitations that are “preferably” and “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 at lines 8-14 include limitations that are “preferably” and “more preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 14 at lines 8-13 include limitations that are “preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 15 at lines 6-8 include limitations that are “preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 16 at lines 5-7 include limitations that are “preferably”, which does not positively recite these limitations. MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a method (FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) for operating a device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) having at least a first functionality (touch pressure sensed) (FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105) and a second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107),
the first functionality being capacitive sensing of compression (touch pressure sensed) (FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105); and
the second functionality being another, different, functionality( haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107); and for enabling the first functionality(touch pressure sensed)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105) the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises:
a first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105),
a first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105), and
compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶0105) between the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) and the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105);
the method (FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprising during a first period of time(time when touch pressure sensed)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105):
arranging a first potential difference (FIG. 9A: Tx_PWM; ¶0105 – inherently a difference exists between Tx_PWM and the potential of Rx to enable the detecting of a touch input) between the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) and the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) by:
conducting a first measurement potential(Tx_PWM)(FIG. 9A; ¶0105) to the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105), and
measuring a capacitance of the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) relative to the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) for determining a compression of the compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶0105),
the method (FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprising:
detecting that the second functionality is enabled during a second period of time, or
during second periods of time (time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location) (FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107), enabling the second functionality (haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107), wherein:
the second functionality (haptic effect generated at sensed touch location) ( FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107) is enabled by using the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0104, 0106-0107),
the second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107) comprises another functionality than capacitive measurement of a quantity (FIGs. 9B; 9C: second functionality includes: another functionality, i.e., a haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0105, 0107) such that the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9B; ¶¶0104, 0106-0107) and the first measurement potential(Tx_PWM)(FIG. 9B; ¶0106) is conducted to the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 9B; ¶0106),
during the first period of time(time when touch pressure sensed)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105), the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) is arranged between a support(110)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0038, 0093) and an object(finger)(¶¶0103 – “user’s touch”, 0104 – “finger”) causing the compression of the compressible material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0103, 0105) such that the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0103) is closer to the support(110)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0038, 0093) than the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105), and
during the second periods of time(time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107), the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) is arranged such that the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9C; ¶0107) is closer to the support(110)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0038, 0093) than the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105).
Kim does not expressly disclose arranging a first potential difference between the first primary electrode and the first secondary electrode by: connecting the first secondary electrode to a first common potential, the first measurement potential being different from the first common potential, whereby the first potential difference is a difference between the first measurement potential and the first common potential;
detecting that the second functionality is enabled during a second period of time or during a second period of time, enabling the second functionality, the first secondary electrode is connected to the first common potential.
Vaze discloses arranging a first potential difference (FIG. 4: potential difference between 406 and virtual ground; ¶0029) between the first primary electrode(422)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) and the first secondary electrode(426)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) by: connecting the first secondary electrode(426)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) to a first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029 – each secondary electrode {FIG. 2: 224} is set to virtual ground by coupling connecting Vin to Vref), the first measurement potential(406)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) being different from the first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029), whereby the first potential difference (FIG. 4: difference between 406 and virtual ground; ¶0029) is a difference between the first measurement potential(406)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) and the first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029); such that the first secondary electrode(426)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) is connected to the first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Vaze to provide a method for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that detects touch pressure more accurately by providing improved immunity from external noise (e.g., electromagnetic interference).
Peshkin discloses detecting that the second functionality is enabled during a second period of time or during a second period of time(time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125), enabling the second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125, 0129 – touch location sensing and haptic effect generation occur during the same time period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim and Vaze with Peshkin (to combine touch sensing and haptic generation during a single second period) to provide a method for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that provides improved haptic feedback by delivering one of a wide range of haptic effects at a sensed touch location (Abstract; ¶¶0125, 0129).
As to claim 5, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of any of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the device (Kim: FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises at least a second primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: TX, TX1 is a first primary electrode and TX2 is a second primary electrode; ¶¶0083, 0105; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 are driven and 20 & 24 are sensed for mutual capacitance sensing or vice versa with ghost touches removed by driving these electrodes to determine self-capacitance. Also, haptic effects are created with these electrodes at the true touch points that are separated from the ghost touches; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060, 0079), and
enabling the second functionality comprises connecting the second primary electrode to a same potential as the first primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, TX, TX1, TX2; ¶¶0058, 0083, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 are driven and 20 & 24 are sensed for mutual capacitance sensing or vice versa with ghost touches removed by driving these electrodes to determine self-capacitance. Also, haptic effects are created with these electrodes at the true touch points that are separated from the ghost touches; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060, 0079); preferably,
the second primary electrode and the first primary electrode are arranged on a first plane (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: TX, TX1 is a first primary electrode and TX2 is a second primary electrode, 122’s upper layer; ¶¶0040, 0083, 0105; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 or 20 & 24; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Peshkin’s further teachings to provide a method for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that provides improved haptic feedback by delivering one of a wide range of haptic effects at multiple sensed touch locations, e.g., two fingers touching at two locations or one larger touch location (e.g., a thumb that overlaps multiple sensing electrodes).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Peshkin is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 6, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the method (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprises, during the second period of time, enabling the second functionality (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125), wherein
enabling the second functionality comprises controlling the second functionality such that during at least a part of the first period of time the second functionality is deactivated and during the second period of time the second functionality is activated (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0041, 0058, 0104-0107 – as shown in FIG. 9A, during the first time period, the touch pressure is sensed that includes electrically connecting together Rx, Sxa and Sxb with Tx being driven with Tx_PWM which precludes performing the second functionality shown in FIGs. 9B and 9C and including floating Sxa and Sxb in FIG. 9B and driving Tx with AC in FIG. 9C; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Peshkin is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 9, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the device (Kim: FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises at least a second primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: TX, TX1 is a first primary electrode and TX2 is a second primary electrode; ¶¶0083, 0105; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 are driven and 20 & 24 are sensed for mutual capacitance sensing or vice versa with ghost touches removed by driving these electrodes to determine self-capacitance. Also, haptic effects are created with these electrodes at the true touch points that are separated from the ghost touches; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060, 0079), and the method (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprises:
connecting the first secondary electrode to a potential, such as the first common potential (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: Rx; ¶¶0088, 0105; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: 426, virtual ground by Vin=Vref; ¶¶0024, 0029),
conducting a potential that is different from the potential of the first secondary electrode to the second primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: Rx, Tx set to Tx_PWM; ¶¶0088, 0105; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: 422 set to 406 and 426 set to virtual ground by Vin=Vref; ¶¶0024, 0029), and
measuring a capacitance of the second primary electrode relative to the first secondary electrode or a second secondary electrode for determining another compression of a layer comprising the compressible material (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: 126, TX, TX1 is a first primary electrode and TX2 is a second primary electrode both of which are used to measure compression at different locations; ¶¶0083, 0105; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 and 20 & 24; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060, 0079);
preferably,
the second primary electrode and the first primary electrode are arranged on a first plane (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: TX, TX1 is a first primary electrode and TX2 is a second primary electrode, 122’s upper layer; ¶¶0040, 0083, 0105; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 or 20 & 24; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Vaze and Peshkin is for the same reasonings set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 10, Kim discloses an arrangement for operating a device (FIGs. 1, 6: 140; ¶¶0038, 0043, 0082) having at least a first functionality(FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) and a second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107),
the first functionality being capacitive sensing of compression(touch pressure sensed)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105), and
the second functionality being another, different, functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107); the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprising:
a first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105),
a first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105), and
compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶0105) between the primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) and the secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105); the arrangement (FIGs. 1, 6: 140; ¶¶0038, 0043, 0082) comprising a control unit(130, 140)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0042-0043) configured (FIG. 1: 130, 140; ¶¶0042-0043) to:
during a first period of time(time when touch pressure sensed)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0041, 0105),
arrange a first potential difference (FIG. 9A: Tx_PWM; ¶0105 – inherently a difference exists between Tx_PWM and the potential of Rx to enable the detecting of a touch input) between the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) and the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105), and
conducting a first measurement potential(Tx_PWM)(FIG. 9A; ¶0105) to the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105), and
measure a capacitance of the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) relative to the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) for determining a compression of the compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶0105), and
control unit(130, 140)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0042-0043) is configured (FIG. 1: 130, 140; ¶¶0042-0043) to:
detect that the second functionality of the device is enabled during a second period of time or enable the second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107) of the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) at second periods of time(time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107), wherein:
the second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107) is configured to be enabled by using the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0104, 0106-0107),
the second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 9B; 9C; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107) comprises another functionality than capacitive measurement of a quantity (FIGs. 9B; 9C: second functionality includes: another functionality, i.e., a haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0105, 0107) such that the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9B; ¶¶0104, 0106-0107) and the first measurement potential(Tx_PWM)(FIG. 9B; ¶0106) is conducted to the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 9B; ¶0106); the arrangement (FIGs. 1, 6: 140; ¶¶0038, 0043, 0082) comprising:
a support(110)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0038, 0093) such that that the first primary electrode(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0103) is closer to the support(110)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0038, 0093) than the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105).
Kim does not expressly disclose arrange a first potential difference between the first primary electrode and the first secondary electrode by connecting the first secondary electrode to a first common potential, the first measurement potential being different from the first common potential, whereby the first potential difference is a difference between the first measurement potential and the first common potential;
detect that the second functionality of the device is enabled during a second period of time or enable the second functionality of the device at a second period of time, such that the first secondary electrode is connected to the first common potential.
Vaze discloses arrange a first potential difference between the first primary electrode(422)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) and the first secondary electrode(426)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) by connecting the first secondary electrode(426)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) to a first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029 – each secondary electrode {FIG. 2: 224} is set to virtual ground by coupling connecting Vin to Vref), the first measurement potential(406)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) being different from the first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029), whereby the first potential difference (FIG. 4: difference between 406 and virtual ground; ¶0029) is a difference between the first measurement potential(406)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) and the first common potential(virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029); such that the first secondary electrode(426)(FIG. 4; ¶0029) is connected to the first common potential (virtual ground by Vin=Vref)(FIGs. 2, 4; ¶¶0024, 0029).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Vaze to provide an arrangement for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that detects touch pressure more accurately by providing improved immunity from external noise (e.g., electromagnetic interference).
Peshkin discloses detect that the second functionality of the device is enabled during a second period of time or enable the second functionality(haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125, 0129 – touch location sensing and haptic effect generation occur during the same time period) of the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) at a second period of time(time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location)(FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim and Vaze with Peshkin (to combine touch sensing and haptic generation during a single second period) to provide an arrangement for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that provides improved haptic feedback by delivering one of a wide range of haptic effects at a sensed touch location (Abstract; ¶¶0125, 0129).
As to claim 13, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the arrangement of any of claim 10, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the control unit is configured to control (Kim: FIG. 1: 130, 140; ¶¶0042-0043) the second functionality (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125) such that during at least a part of the first period of time the second functionality is deactivated, and during the second period of time the second functionality is activated (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0041, 0058, 0104-0107 – as shown in FIG. 9A, during the first time period, the touch pressure is sensed that includes electrically connecting together Rx, Sxa and Sxb with Tx being driven with Tx_PWM which precludes performing the second functionality shown in FIGs. 9B and 9C and including floating Sxa and Sxb in FIG. 9B and driving Tx with AC in FIG. 9C; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Peshkin is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 10.
As to claim 17, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 4, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein: the device (Kim: FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises at least a second primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: TX, TX1 is a first primary electrode and TX2 is a second primary electrode; ¶¶0083, 0105; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26 are driven and 20 & 24 are sensed for mutual capacitance sensing or vice versa with ghost touches removed by driving these electrodes to determine self-capacitance. Also, haptic effects are created with these electrodes at the true touch points that are separated from the ghost touches; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060, 0079), enabling the second functionality comprises connecting the second primary electrode to a same potential as the first primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, TX, TX1, TX2; ¶¶0058, 0083, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIG. 3B: 22 & 26, 20 & 24; ¶¶0013-0014, 0060, 0079), and the secondary capacitance of the first secondary electrode is measured relative to both the second primary electrode and the first primary electrode because of the connecting the second primary electrode to the same potential as the first primary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 9B: sensed touch location, TX, TX1 and TX2 both set to Tx_PWM thus Rx is measured with respect to Tx_PWM; ¶¶0058, 0083, 0104, 0106; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: potential difference between 406 of a second 422 and virtual ground by Vin=Vref; ¶¶0024, 0029).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Vaze and Peshkin is for the same reasonings set forth above for claim 1.
11. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”) as applied to claim 1, in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0102331 A1 to Philipp.
As to claim 15, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) is not arranged between the compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0103, 0105) and a layer(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) that is electrically at least semiconducting (FIGs. 1, 6, 9A: 130, TX; ¶¶0042, 0083, 0105);
preferably,
the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) is not arranged between the compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0103, 0105) and a layer(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) that is electrically conducting (FIGs. 1, 6, 9A: 130, TX; ¶¶0042, 0083, 0105).
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not expressly disclose a layer that is electrically at least semiconducting and opaque.
Philipp discloses a layer(X1)(FIG. 4; ¶¶0022, 0040-0041, 0049-0050) that is electrically at least semiconducting and opaque (FIG. 4: X1; ¶¶0022, 0040-0041, 0049-0050 – metal is electrically conducting and opaque).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Philipp (to modify Kim’s layer {FIGs. 6, 9A: Tx} to be made from thin metal wires) to provide a method for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that operates more reliably (i.e., by being fault tolerant ¶¶0032-0033).
As to claim 16, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the arrangement of claim 10, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein: the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) is not arranged between the compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0103, 0105) and a layer(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) that is electrically at least semiconducting (FIGs. 1, 6, 9A: 130, TX; ¶¶0042, 0083, 0105);
preferably,
the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) is not arranged between the compressible and electrically insulating material(126)(FIG. 9A; ¶¶0103, 0105) and a layer(TX)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0083, 0105) that is electrically conducting (FIGs. 1, 6, 9A: 130, TX; ¶¶0042, 0083, 0105).
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not expressly disclose and a layer that is electrically at least semiconducting and opaque.
Philipp discloses a layer(X1)(FIG. 4; ¶¶0022, 0040-0041, 0049-0050) that is electrically at least semiconducting and opaque (FIG. 4: X1; ¶¶0022, 0040-0041, 0049-0050 – metal is electrically conducting and opaque).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Philipp (to modify Kim’s layer {FIGs. 6, 9A: Tx} to be made from thin metal wires) to provide an arrangement for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that operates more reliably (i.e., by being fault tolerant ¶¶0032-0033).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
12. As to claims 2-4, 7-8, 11-12 and 14, if the indefiniteness grounds of rejection is overcome, then it would become allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
13. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Dependent claim 2 identifies the distinct features: “the first secondary electrode(Figs. 2d, 2e: 401/490) is a heater(Figs. 2d, 2e: 401/490), an antenna(Figs. 2d, 2e: 401/490), a temperature sensor, a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 2, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the device (Kim: FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises:
a primary wire (Kim: FIG. 6: RL2, Rx_G1; ¶¶0083, 0095) electrically connected to the first secondary electrode(Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A: Rx; ¶¶0088, 0105);
and wherein:
the second functionality comprises transducing, by using first secondary electrode, an electric current or voltage to a non-electric signal or a non-electric signal to an electric current or voltage (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, RX; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: haptic effect is generated at a sensed touch location includes transducing at both the first primary electrode 22 and the first secondary electrode 20 voltage or current to electrostatic force; ¶¶0016, 0026, 0060, 0088, 0116-0121, 0123-0125, 0129).
preferably,
the second functionality involves feeding an electric current to the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, RX; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: haptic effect is generated at a sensed touch location includes transducing at both the first primary electrode 22 and the first secondary electrode 20 voltage or current to electrostatic force; ¶¶0016, 0026, 0060, 0088, 0116-0121, 0123-0125, 0129) or receiving an electric current from the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, RX; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIG. 3a: 20, 22; ¶¶0126-0127).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Peshkin’s further teachings to provide a method for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that detects a touch input more accurately (i.e., measuring current provides better noise immunity to electromagnetic interference than measuring voltage).
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not teach more preferably, the first secondary electrode is a heater, an antenna, a temperature sensor, a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge.
Dependent claim 4 identifies the distinct features: “the arranging of the second potential difference comprises connecting to the first primary electrode(Fig. 3b: 301) to a second common potential(Fig. 3b: Vcom2) that equals the first common potential (Fig. 3a: Vcom1), such that a product of the first potential difference and the second potential difference is less than zero”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 4, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the method (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprising, during the second period of time, enabling the second functionality (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125), wherein enabling the second functionality (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125) comprises:
arranging a second potential difference between the first primary electrode and the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9C: TX, Rx, potential difference between AC and GND; ¶0107), the second potential difference (Kim: FIG. 9C: TX, Rx, potential difference between AC and GND; ¶0107) being different from the first potential difference (Kim: FIG. 9A: Tx_PWM; ¶0105 – inherently a difference exists between Tx_PWM and the potential of Rx to enable the detecting of a touch input; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: potential difference between 406 of 422 and virtual ground of 426; ¶¶0024, 0029) and
measuring a secondary capacitance of the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9B: Rx; ¶0104);
preferably,
the secondary capacitance (Kim: FIG. 9B: Rx; ¶0104) is indicative of at least one of: a presence of an object in a vicinity of the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9B; ¶0104), and a property of material, the property affecting a dielectric constant of the material, such as humidity.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Vaze and Peshkin is for the same reasonings set forth above for claim 1.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not teach more preferably,
the arranging of the second potential difference comprises connecting to the first primary electrode to a second common potential that equals the first common potential, preferably such that a product of the first potential difference and the second potential difference is less than zero.
Dependent claim 7 identifies the distinct features: “determining, from the capacitance measured during the first period of time(Fig. 3a: First period, t1), that the second functionality has been disabled during at least a part of the first period of time(Fig. 3a: First period, t1) and/or measuring a signal from a secondary electrode layer(Fig. 3a: 400) during the first period of time(Fig. 3a: First period, t1) and determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been disabled”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”) and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0139991 A1 to Philipp et al. (“Philipp II”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 7, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the method (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprises, detecting that the second functionality is enabled during the second period of time (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125), wherein detecting that the second functionality is enabled (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125) comprises:
measuring a signal from a primary electrode layer or from a secondary electrode layer during the second period of time (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, TX, RX; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance, 20, 22; ¶¶0012-0013, 0060, 0116-0121),
determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been enabled (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location, TX, RX; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance, 20, 22; ¶¶0012-0013, 0060, 0116-0121).
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not expressly disclose and compensating for an effect of the second functionality on the capacitance of the first primary electrode or disregarding the capacitance measured during the second period of time;
preferably, the method further comprises:
determining, from the capacitance measured during the first period of time, that the second functionality has been disabled during at least a part of the first period of time and/or
measuring a signal from a secondary electrode layer during the first period of time and determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been disabled.
Philipp II discloses measuring a signal from a primary electrode layer or from a secondary electrode layer during the period of time (FIG. 5: one of X1-X4 and one of Y1-Y4; ¶¶0043, 0052-0053, 0056, 0059, 0062), determining, from the signal, that the touch input sensing has been enabled (¶¶0043, 0052-0053, 0056, 0059), and compensating for an effect of the second functionality on the capacitance of the first primary electrode or disregarding the capacitance measured during the period of time (FIG. 5: one of X1-X4; ¶¶0062-0065).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Philipp II to provide a method for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that more accurately detects a touch input causing compression of the compressible electrically insulating material (i.e., by rejecting touch inputs containing too much noise ¶¶0059, 0065).
Kim, Vaze, Peshkin and Philipp II teaches and compensating for an effect of the second functionality on the capacitance of the first primary electrode or disregarding the capacitance measured during the second period of time (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121; Phillip II: ¶¶0062-0065).
Kim, Vaze, Peshkin and Philipp II do not teach preferably, the method further comprises:
determining, from the capacitance measured during the first period of time, that the second functionality has been disabled during at least a part of the first period of time and/or
measuring a signal from a secondary electrode layer during the first period of time and determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been disabled.
Dependent claim 8 identifies the distinct features: “the arranging a second potential difference comprises connecting to the first primary electrode(Fig. 3b: 301) to a second common potential(Fig. 3b: Vcom2) that equals the first common potential (Fig. 3a: Vcom1), such that a product of the first potential difference and the second potential difference is less than zero”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 8, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the device (Kim: FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises at least a second secondary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 6 and 9A: Sxb or another Rx; ¶¶0087-0088, 0105); and the method comprises (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) during the first period of time (Kim: FIG. 9A: time when touch pressure sensed; ¶¶0041, 0105),
connecting the second secondary electrode to the first common potential (Kim: FIGs. 6 and 9A: potential of Sxb = potential of Rx, potential of another Rx; ¶¶0087-0088, 0105; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: each 224/426 set to virtual ground by Vin=Vref; ¶¶0024, 0029), whereby the capacitance of the first primary electrode is measured relative also to the second secondary electrode (Kim: FIGs. 6, 9A, TX and Sxb or another Rx; ¶¶0083, 0088, 0105; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: 422, each 224/426 set to virtual ground by Vin=Vref; ¶¶0024, 0029);
preferably,
the second secondary electrode and the first secondary electrode are arranged on a second plane (Kim: FIGs. 6 and 9A: Sxb or another Rx, 122’s lower layer; ¶¶0087-0088, 0105);
more preferably,
the method (Kim: FIGs. 9A, 9B, 9C; ¶¶0105-0107) comprises enabling the second functionality and the enabling the second functionality (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125) comprises:
arranging a second potential difference between the first primary electrode and the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9C: TX, Rx, potential difference between AC and GND; ¶0107), the second potential difference (Kim: FIG. 9C: TX, Rx, potential difference between AC and GND; ¶0107) being different from the first potential difference (Kim: FIG. 9A: Tx_PWM; ¶0105 – inherently a difference exists between Tx_PWM and the potential of Rx to enable the detecting of a touch input; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: potential difference between 406 of 422 and virtual ground of 426; ¶¶0024, 0029) and
measuring a secondary capacitance of the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9B: Rx; ¶0104).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Vaze and Peshkin is for the same reasonings set forth above for claim 1.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not teach more preferably, the arranging a second potential difference comprises connecting to the first primary electrode to a second common potential that equals the first common potential, preferably such that a product of the first potential difference and the second potential difference is less than zero.
Dependent claim 11 identifies the distinct features: “the first secondary electrode(Figs. 2d, 2e: 401/490) is a heater(Figs. 2d, 2e: 401/490), a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”) and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0062739 A1 to Philipp et al. (“Philipp III”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 11, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the arrangement of claim 10, as applied above.
Kim further discloses wherein the device (FIGs. 1, 6; ¶¶0038, 0082) comprises a primary wire(RL2)(FIG. 6: Rx_G1; ¶¶0083, 0095) electrically connecting the first secondary electrode(Rx)(FIGs. 6, 9A; ¶¶0088, 0105) to the control unit(130, 140)(FIG. 6: PP; ¶¶0042-0043, 0088).
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not expressly disclose and a secondary wire electrically connecting the first secondary electrode to the control unit;
preferably,
the first secondary electrode is configured to transduce an electric current or voltage to a non-electric signal or a non-electric signal to an electric current or voltage;
more preferably,
the first secondary electrode is a heater, a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge.
Philipp III discloses and a secondary wire(a 2nd 32 connected to Y1)(Figs. 1B, 2; ¶¶0043-0044) electrically connecting the first secondary electrode(Y1)(Figs. 1B, 2; ¶¶0043-0044) to the control unit(8, 10)(FIGs. 1B, 22; ¶¶0043-0044).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Philipp to provide an arrangement for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that operates: (i) more reliably (i.e., by being more fault tolerant) and (ii) with a lower lag time of sensing compression.
Kim, Vaze, Peshkin and Philipp III do not teach more preferably,
the first secondary electrode is a heater, a vital signs sensor, an inductive sensor, a piezoresistive sensor, or a strain gauge.
Dependent claim 12 identifies the distinct features: “the control unit(Fig. 1a: 510) is configured to, during the second period of time, connect to the first primary electrode(Fig. 3b: 301) to a second common potential(Fig. 3b: Vcom2) that equals the first common potential(Fig. 3a: Vcom1), a product of the first potential difference and the second potential difference is less than zero”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 12, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the arrangement of claim 10, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the control unit is configured to (Kim: FIG. 1: 130, 140; ¶¶0042-0043), during the second period of time, enable the second functionality (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: time when touch location sensed and time when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: time when touch location sensed and when haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125) by:
arranging a second potential difference between the first primary electrode and the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9C: TX, Rx, potential difference between AC and GND; ¶0107), the second potential difference (Kim: FIG. 9C: TX, Rx, potential difference between AC and GND; ¶0107) being different from the first potential difference (Kim: FIG. 9A: Tx_PWM; ¶0105 – inherently a difference exists between Tx_PWM and the potential of Rx to enable the detecting of a touch input; Vaze: FIGs. 2, 4: potential difference between 406 of 422 and virtual ground of 426; ¶¶0024, 0029), and
measuring a secondary capacitance of the first secondary electrode (Kim: FIG. 9B: Rx; ¶0104).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Vaze and Peshkin is for the same reasonings set forth above for claim 10.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not teach preferably,
the control unit is configured to, during the second period of time, connect to the first primary electrode to a second common potential that equals the first common potential,
more preferably,
a product of the first potential difference and the second potential difference is less than zero.
Dependent claim 14 identifies the distinct features: “the control unit(Fig. 1a: 510) is configured to: determine, from the capacitance measured during the first period of time(Fig. 3a: First period, t1), that the second functionality has been disabled during at least a part of the first period of time(Fig. 3a: First period, t1), and/or measure a signal from a secondary electrode layer(Fig. 3a: 400) during the first period of time(Fig. 3a: First period, t1) and determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been disabled”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0062542 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0103994 A1 to Vaze, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0168572 A1 to Peshkin et al. (“Peshkin”) and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0139991 A1 to Philipp et al. (“Philipp II”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 14, Kim, Vaze and Peshkin teach the arrangement of claim 10, as applied above.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin further teach wherein the control unit is configured (Kim: FIG. 1: 130, 140; ¶¶0042-0043) to:
measure a signal indicative of the second functionality being enabled (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121, 0123-0125),
determine, from the signal, that the second functionality has been enabled (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Peshkin is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 10.
Kim, Vaze and Peshkin do not expressly disclose and
compensate for the effect of the second functionality on the capacitance of the first primary electrode or disregard the capacitance measured during the second period of time;
preferably, the control unit is configured to:
determine, from the capacitance measured during the first period of time, that the second functionality has been disabled during at least a part of the first period of time, and/or
measure a signal from a secondary electrode layer during the first period of time and determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been disabled.
Philipp II discloses wherein the control unit(118)(FIGs. 3, 5; ¶¶0043, 0055) is configured (FIGs. 3, 5: 118; ¶¶0043, 0055) to:
measure a signal indicative of touch input sensing being enabled (FIG. 5: one of X1-X4 and one of Y1-Y4; ¶¶0043, 0052-0053, 0056, 0059, 0062),
determine, from the signal, that the touch input sensing has been enabled (¶¶0043, 0052-0053, 0056, 0059) and
compensate for the effect of the second functionality on the capacitance of the first primary electrode or disregard the capacitance measured during the period of time (FIG. 5: one of X1-X4; ¶¶0062-0065).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Vaze and Peshkin with Philipp II to provide an arrangement for operating a device having at least a first functionality and a second functionality that more accurately detects a touch input causing compression of the compressible electrically insulating material (i.e., by rejecting touch inputs containing too much noise ¶¶0059, 0065).
Kim, Vaze, Peshkin and Philipp II teaches compensate for the effect of the second functionality on the capacitance of the first primary electrode or disregard the capacitance measured during the second period of time (Kim: FIGs. 9B; 9C: existence of a touch location determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance and haptic effect generated at sensed touch location; ¶¶0058, 0104, 0106-0107; Peshkin: FIGs. 3A, 13a, 13b, 14: existence of a touch location is determined by sensed measure of change in capacitance; ¶¶0060, 0116-0121; Phillip II: ¶¶0062-0065).
Kim, Vaze, Peshkin and Philipp II do not teach preferably, the control unit is configured to: determine, from the capacitance measured during the first period of time, that the second functionality has been disabled during at least a part of the first period of time, and/or measure a signal from a secondary electrode layer during the first period of time and determining, from the signal, that the second functionality has been disabled.
Other Relevant Prior Art
14. Other relevant prior art includes:
Conclusion
/KIRK W HERMANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2621