DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Objections
3. Claims 11 and 13-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “A computer non-transitory -readable storage medium” which should be corrected as “A computer readable storage medium”.
Claim 13 recites “A computer non-transitory -readable storage medium” which should be corrected as “A computer readable storage medium”.
Claim 14 recites “A computer non-transitory -readable storage medium” which should be corrected as “A computer readable storage medium”.
Claim 15 recites “A computer non-transitory -readable storage medium” which should be corrected as “A computer readable storage medium”.
Claim 16 recites “A computer non-transitory -readable storage medium” which should be corrected as “A computer readable storage medium”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a determination module, a division module, a processing module, a control module in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because it recites generic placeholders (modules) performing functions without reciting sufficient structure to perform the functions.
Module is a generic placeholder that does not specify any structure, and the specification does not provide any structure associated with the claimed modules. Specification further discloses that the modules can be implanted in software (Fig. 6, Par 0020, Par 0074, Par 0091). Therefore, it is not clear which structure/hardware performs the functions of the claimed modules (a determination module, a division module, a processing module, a control module).
Claim 10 depends upon claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
10. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because
Claim 9 recites a data transmission apparatus. The claimed apparatus is considered as a machine and the claimed machine (apparatus) comprises no structural parts/hardware. It is provided in MPEP 2106 that a patent eligible machine consists of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices. The claimed machine (apparatus) does not fall into patent eligible machine category because the claimed machine (apparatus) does not consist of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices.
Claim 10 depends upon claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1-5, 9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 20170332387 A1, hereinafter referred to as Zhang).
Re claim 1, Zhang teaches a data transmission method (Fig. 4A, Fig. 5), comprising:
(i) determining data to be transmitted in N frequency-domain resource blocks (L resource blocks, Fig. 3I; number of resource blocks included within the carrier bandwidth, Fig. 3A-D), wherein the N frequency-domain resource blocks (L resource blocks, number of resource blocks included within the carrier bandwidth) respectively comprise k(n) sub-carriers (each of the L resource blocks/all RBs within a carrier bandwidth (Fig. 3A-D) comprises a set of sub-carriers (i.e., 12)), n is a positive integer less than or equal to N (L set of sub-carriers corresponding to L resource blocks; number of set of sub-carriers equals to the number of RBs within the carrier bandwidth), N is an integer greater than 1 (more than one resource block, Fig. 3A-D, Fig. 3I), and k(n) is a positive integer (L set of sub-carriers corresponding to L resource blocks; number of set of sub-carriers equals to the number of RBs within the carrier bandwidth) (Fig. 3A-D, 3F-I, Par 0054-0059, Par 0064, Par 0067-0068, Par 0076-0079);
(ii) dividing the N frequency-domain resource blocks (L resource blocks, Fig. 3I; number of resource blocks included within the carrier bandwidth, Fig. 3A-D) into M groups of frequency-domain resource blocks (k sub-bands, Fig. 3D-I; L sub-bands corresponding to L numerologies, Fig. 4A) in which each group comprises L(m) frequency-domain resource blocks (each sub-band comprises a plurality of resource blocks), wherein sub-carrier spacings of the L(m) frequency-domain resource blocks in each group are equal (numerology/sub-carrier spacing within each sub-band is equal), the sub-carrier spacings of adjacent groups are unequal (numerology/sub-carrier spacing between different sub-band is different such as 15 kHz, 30 kHz), and L(m) (plurality of RBs in each sub-band), m and M are all positive integers (plurality of sub-bands) (Fig. 3D-I, Fig. 4A, Par 0064, Par 0067-0068, Par 0070, Par 0076-0079, Par 0082);
(iii) respectively processing the data to be transmitted on the L(m) frequency-domain resource blocks (L resource blocks, Fig. 3I; number of resource blocks included within the carrier bandwidth, Fig. 3A-D; resource blocks in each sub-band scheduled for k1 UEs) in each group of frequency-domain resource blocks (resource blocks in each sub-band scheduled for k1 UEs) to from L(m) groups of data sequences (P time domain samples corresponding to corresponding to each of the L/plurality of sub-bands (i.e., L group of time domain samples corresponding to L sub-bands), Par 0084-0086, Par 0089, Fig. 4A), and processing the L(m) groups of data sequences to form a group of data sequences (providing L outputs of L transmit chains 400 corresponding to L sub-bands to the combiner 404, Fig. 4A) (Par 0070, Par 0082-0087, Par 0089-0090); and
(iv) processing M groups of data sequences of the M groups of frequency-domain resource blocks to form a group of combined data sequences (combining the output from each of the L transmit chain/sub-band at the combiner 404, Fig. 4A) (Par 0082-0087), and
(v) transmitting the group of combined data sequences (transmitting the combined data) (Fig. 4A, Fig. 5, Par 0082-0087, Par 0089-0090).
Claim 9 recites a data transmission apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 11 recites a computer non-transitory -readable storage medium storing program to be executed by a processor to perform the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Zhang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a processor executing programs (Fig. 6-7, Par 0093-0095).
Claim 12 recites an electronic apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Zhang further teaches that electronic apparatus comprises a memory and a processor (Fig. 6-7, Par 0093-0095).
Re claim 2, 13, 17, Zhang teaches that the bandwidths of every L(m) frequency-domain resource blocks in each group are equal (resource block is 12 sub-carrier wide in frequency) (Fig. 3A-D, Fig. 3I, Par 0054-0055, Par 0067-0068, Par 0076-0080).
Re claims 3, 14, 18, Zhang teaches that in the L(m) frequency-domain resource blocks in each group of frequency-domain resource blocks, each frequency-domain resource block comprises the same number of sub-carriers (resource block is 12 sub-carrier wide in frequency) (Fig. 3A-D, Fig. 3I, Par 0054-0055, Par 0067-0068, Par 0076-0080).
Re claims 4, 15, 19, Zhang teaches that in the M groups of frequency-domain resource blocks (k sub-bands, Fig. 3D-I; L sub-bands corresponding to L numerologies, Fig. 4A), the bandwidths of the frequency-domain resource blocks in adjacent groups are unequal (sub-bands have different bandwidth, Fig. 3D, Fig. 3G-I) (Par 0076-0080).
Re claims 5, 16, 20, Zhang teaches that in the M groups of frequency-domain resource blocks (RBG 350-358, Fig. 3C), the bandwidths of the frequency-domain resource blocks in different groups are equal (each of the resource block groups 350-358 has same number of resource blocks, Fig. 3C) (Par 0055, Par 0059, Par 0067).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shim et al (US 20180278386 A1, hereinafter referred to as Shim).
Re claims 6, 10, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the ratio of bandwidths of the frequency-domain resource blocks in different groups meets an i power of 2, wherein i is an integer; when i=0, it indicates that the bandwidths of two frequency-domain resource blocks are equal; and when i is not equal to 0, it indicates that the bandwidths of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are unequal.
Shim teaches that the ratio of bandwidths of the frequency-domain resource blocks in different groups meets an i power of 2 (15*2n kHz), wherein i is an integer (n is an integer); when i=0, it indicates that the bandwidths of two frequency-domain resource blocks are equal (when n=0, the sub-carrier spacing is 15 kHz and the all the PRBs having 15 kHz sub-carrier spacing have same bandwidths, Fig. 1-4); and when i is not equal to 0, it indicates that the bandwidths of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are unequal (when n=1, the sub-carrier spacing will be 30 kHz, the bandwidth of the PRBs having 15 kHz sub-carrier spacing will be different than the bandwidth of the PRBs having 30 kHz sub-carrier spacing, Fig. 1-4) (Par 0007, Par 0037-0039, Par 0053, Par 0079-0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by including the step that the ratio of bandwidths of the frequency-domain resource blocks in different groups meets an i power of 2, wherein i is an integer; when i=0, it indicates that the bandwidths of two frequency-domain resource blocks are equal; and when i is not equal to 0, it indicates that the bandwidths of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are unequal, as taught by Shim for the purpose of efficiently using a frequency hopping system to reduce “interference by a multi-numerology sub-carrier”, as taught by Sim (Par 0009-0010).
Re claim 7, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that in the N frequency-domain resource blocks, the ratio of adjacent sub-carrier spacings of any two frequency-domain resource blocks meets an i power of 2, wherein when i=0, it indicates that the sub-carrier spacings of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are equal; and when i#0, it indicates that the sub-carrier spacings of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are unequal.
Shim teaches that in the N frequency-domain resource blocks, the ratio of adjacent sub-carrier spacings of any two frequency-domain resource blocks meets an i power of 2 (15*2n kHz), wherein when i=0, it indicates that the sub-carrier spacings of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are equal (when n=0, the sub-carrier spacing is 15 kHz and adjacent PRBs having 15 kHz sub-carrier spacing, Fig. 1-4); and when i≠0, it indicates that the sub-carrier spacings of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are unequal (when n=1, the sub-carrier spacing will be 30 kHz, and so, PRBs have different sub-carrier spacings 15 kHz and 30 kHz, Fig. 1-4) (Par 0007, Par 0037-0039, Par 0053, Par 0079-0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by including the step that in the N frequency-domain resource blocks, the ratio of adjacent sub-carrier spacings of any two frequency-domain resource blocks meets an i power of 2, wherein when i=0, it indicates that the sub-carrier spacings of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are equal; and when i#0, it indicates that the sub-carrier spacings of the two frequency-domain resource blocks are unequal, as taught by Shim for the purpose of efficiently using a frequency hopping system to reduce “interference by a multi-numerology sub-carrier”, as taught by Sim (Par 0009-0010).
Re claim 8, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the ratio of lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups meets an i power of 2, wherein when i=0, it indicates that the lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups are equal; and when i is not equal to 0, it indicates that lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups are unequal.
Shim teaches that the ratio of lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups meets an i power of 2 (15*2n kHz), wherein when i=0, it indicates that the lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups are equal (when n=0, the sub-carrier spacing is 15 kHz in all the sub-bands and thus, IFFT size (and therefore, the symbol duration) is same for the same sub-carrier spacing, Par 0060, Par 0077, Par 0098); and when i is not equal to 0, it indicates that lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups are unequal (when n=1, the sub-carrier spacing will be 30 kHz, and so, sub-bands having different sub-carrier spacings 15 kHz and 30 kHz would have different IFFT size (and therefore, the symbol duration), Par 0060, Par 0077, Par 0098) (Par 0007, Par 0037-0039, Par 0053, Par 0079-0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by including the step that the ratio of lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups meets an i power of 2, wherein when i=0, it indicates that the lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups are equal; and when i is not equal to 0, it indicates that lengths of the group of time-domain data sequences in different groups are unequal, as taught by Shim for the purpose of efficiently using a frequency hopping system to reduce “interference by a multi-numerology sub-carrier”, as taught by Sim (Par 0009-0010).
Conclusion
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473