DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Single Buoy Moorings Inc. (WO2008/071637) hereinafter SBM.
SBM discloses a protective system for a structure enclosing a fluid, the protective system comprising: a containment material (9) as seen in Figure 2 arranged on at least one portion of an external surface of the structure, the at least one portion of the external surface of the structure corresponding to a fraction of the external surface of the structure; and at least one leak detection sensor (43) as depicted in Figure 7A arranged such that the containment material covers or encompasses the at least one leak detection sensor, wherein containment material is configured to collect at least a portion of the fluid thereby containing leakage of the fluid outside of the structure in the event of a leak in the structure in the at least one portion, and wherein the leakage of the fluid into the containment material triggers a detection of the leak by the leak detection sensor (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the containment material comprises at least one of a porous material having closed non connected cavities, a porous material having open connected cavities, or a flexible material configured to expand and form a cavity when subjected to pressure from the at least portion of fluid (page 7, lines 4 to page 8, line 31).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the containment material is a porous material that absorbs the at least portion of fluid in the event of the leak (page 7, lines 4 to page 8, line 31).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the containment material comprises at least one of a fiber-based material, a textile material, a foam, a three-dimensional printed porous material, or a porous adhesive (page 7, lines 4 to page 8, line 31).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the containment material comprises a textile material having a three-dimensional porous structure (page 7, lines 4 to page 8, line 31).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the containment material is made of a superposition of layers, each layer of the superposition of layers comprising at least one of a porous material having closed non-connected cavities, a porous material having open connected cavities, a flexible material configured to expand and form a cavity when subjected to pressure from the at least portion of fluid, a fiber based material, a textile material, a foam or a porous adhesive (page 7, lines 4 to page 8, line 31).
Regarding claim 7, wherein at least two different layers of the superposition of layers comprise the leak detection sensor as seen in Figure 7A.
Regarding claim 8, further comprising an outer hull enclosing the containment material (8) as can be seen in Figure 1.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the at least one portion of the external surface comprises a structure repair element thereon, (the covering could be considered a structural repair element).
Regarding claim 11, a method for protecting a structure enclosing a fluid, the method comprising: installing at least one leak detection sensor on at least one leak detection sensor on at least one portion of an external surface of the structure; and applying a containment material on the at least one portion of the external surface of the structure corresponding to a fraction of the external surface of the structure, such that the containment material covers or encompasses the at least one leak detection sensor, wherein the containment material is configured to collect at least a portion of the fluid thereby containing leakage of the fluid outside of the structure in the event of a leak in the structure in the at least one portion, and wherein the leakage of the fluid in the containment material triggers a detection of the leak by the leak detection sensor. The apparatus as identified in claim 1 would inherently meet this method claim.
Regarding claim 13, arranging an outer hull (8) as seen in Figure 8 enclosing the containment material as indicate din claim 8.
Regarding claims 16 and 18, wherein the structure enclosing the fluid is a pipe or a tank (page 1, lines 12-15)(uses pipe and hose interchangeably in reference).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, wherein the containment material is configured to collect the at least portion of the fluid in at least one cavity formed in the containment material (the material is in an enclosed area as seen in the Figures indicated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SBM.
SBM fails to disclose dimensions further fails to disclose wherein the protective system has a thickness in a range between 1 mm and 30 cm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the protective system within the thickness range as claimed, since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). See MPEP2144.04. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the leak system in a variety of different sized piping applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “prior to installing the at least one leak detection sensor and applying the containment material: installing a structure repair element on the at least one portion of the external surface of the structure” in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
Regarding claim 14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “applying the containment material in a non-cured state, applying a fluid under pressure in the containment material, curing the containment material” in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
Conclusion
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753