DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to 11/4/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected.
Claims 8-9 are objected to.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/2025 and 4/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 20250056383 A1, hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a user equipment (UE) (Chen Fig. 2) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (Chen Fig. 10); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Chen Fig. 10) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information for sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) in an unlicensed spectrum (Chen [0099] the network (e.g., the network entities 105) may configure the UE 115 with a sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 for sidelink communications over an unlicensed radio frequency band) including at least one of:
a first configuration associated with an S-SSB structure including at least one of:
a first structure configuration in a time domain, a second structure configuration in a frequency domain, or a configuration for physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) (Chen [0099] In some examples, the UE 115 may transmit S-SSBs (e.g., to another UE 115) during the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 and according to a pattern (e.g., an S-SSB pattern). In some examples, the S-SSB pattern may provide for multiple (e.g., more than one) channel access procedure attempt (e.g., LBT attempt) per beam (e.g., associated with a candidate S-SSB) within a same sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320; [0101] one or more gap symbols may occur between candidate S-SSB position 330. For example, the internal gap symbols may be occupied by (e.g., filled with) PSBCH rate matching or repetitions; [0102] the UE 115 may determine a location of a first symbol for transmitting an S-SSB (e.g., a candidate S-SSB) in the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 based on a subcarrier spacing configured for the UE 115); or
a second configuration associated with an S-SSB period including one or more S-SSB occasions (Chen [0099] the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 may include time periods for transmitting candidate S-SSBs (e.g., one or more candidate S-SSB positions 330); Fig. 3);
select at least one S-SSB occasion based on the configuration information (Chen [0099] the UE 115 may transmit S-SSBs (e.g., to another UE 115) during the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 and according to a pattern); and
transmit an S-SSB on the at least one S-SSB occasion in response to a listen before talk (LBT) procedure associated with the at least one S-SSB occasion being successful (Chen [0099] the UE 115 may transmit S-SSBs (e.g., to another UE 115) during the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 and according to a pattern (e.g., an S-SSB pattern). In some examples, the S-SSB pattern may provide for multiple (e.g., more than one) channel access procedure attempt (e.g., LBT attempt) per beam (e.g., associated with a candidate S-SSB) within a same sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320; Fig. 3; [0043] if the channel access procedure is successful, the UE may transmit sidelink synchronization signals, such as sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S-SSBs), to establish a sidelink connection with another communication device).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the configuration information is based on a granularity of at least one of:
per channel bandwidth, per carrier, per bandwidth part, per frequency range, or per subcarrier spacing (SCS) (Chen at least [0091] for a given value of K, the number of starting positions for transmitting S-SSBs within an S-SSB burst may be based on the frequency range over which the S-SSBs are to be transmitted, the number of slots for transmitting S-SSBs (e.g., the number (Y) of candidate S-SSB positions), the subcarrier spacing configured for the UE 215-a, or any combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the configuration information is received via at least one of:
a master information block (MIB) message, a system information block (SIB) message, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Chen at least [0094] In some examples, the network (e.g., one or more network entities 205) may configure the UE 215-a with a sidelink discovery burst transmission window for sidelink communications over an unlicensed or shared radio frequency band. For example, the UE 215-a may receive a message 220 indicating a configuration of a sidelink discovery burst transmission window from the network entity 205 … For example, the duration (e.g., temporal length) of the sidelink discovery burst transmission window may be indicated to (e.g., configured for) the UE 215-a by the network (e.g., one or more network entities 205), such as through RRC signaling. That is, in some examples, the message 220 may be an RRC message).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first structure configuration in the time domain includes at least one of:
a number of symbol(s) as a gap for performing an LBT procedure in an S-SSB slot, or location(s) of the symbol(s) in the S-SSB slot (Chen [0099] In some examples, the UE 115 may transmit S-SSBs (e.g., to another UE 115) during the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 and according to a pattern (e.g., an S-SSB pattern). In some examples, the S-SSB pattern may provide for multiple (e.g., more than one) channel access procedure attempt (e.g., LBT attempt) per beam (e.g., associated with a candidate S-SSB) within a same sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320; [0101] one or more gap symbols may occur between candidate S-SSB position 330. For example, the internal gap symbols may be occupied by (e.g., filled with) PSBCH rate matching or repetitions; [0102] the UE 115 may determine a location of a first symbol for transmitting an S-SSB (e.g., a candidate S-SSB) in the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 based on a subcarrier spacing configured for the UE 115).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second configuration includes at least one of:
a length of the S-SSB period; a number of S-SSB window(s) within the S-SSB period; a number of S-SSB occasion(s) within each S-SSB window; an offset from a starting slot of the S-SSB period to a starting slot of a first S-SSB window of the S-SSB window(s) within the S-SSB period; an interval between starting slots of two adjacent S-SSB windows; an indicator indicating whether each S-SSB window is a type 1 window, a type 2 window, or a type 3 window; or an LBT procedure type (Chen [0099] the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 may include time periods for transmitting candidate S-SSBs (e.g., one or more candidate S-SSB positions 330); Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses the UE of claim 11 and further discloses wherein each S-SSB window includes only one S-SSB occasion (Chen [0099] the sidelink discovery burst transmission window 320 may include time periods for transmitting candidate S-SSBs (e.g., one or more candidate S-SSB positions 330); Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen discloses the UE of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the number of the S-SSB occasion(s) within each S-SSB window is determined based on at least one of:
a channel access procedure associated with an S-SSB; a configuration of beam-based sidelink transmission; or a frequency band associated with the S-SSB (Chen at least [0085] the discovery burst transmission window may include a number of slots for transmitting SSBs (e.g., a number (Y) of candidate SSB positions). In some examples, the number (e.g., a maximum number or an otherwise suitable number) of candidate SSB positions within the discovery burst transmission window may be selected based on a subcarrier spacing configured for one or more of the UE 215; [0090] the UE 215-a may be configured to use multiple contiguous S-SSB slots (e.g., an S-SSB burst) in each S-SSB instance for performing the S-SSB beam sweep procedure. In some examples, the number of S-SSB slots in the S-SSB burst may be based on a subcarrier spacing configured for the UE 215-a. For example, for a subcarrier spacing of 30 kHz, four S-SSB slots may be included within a single S-SSB burst, which may enable the UE 215-a to sweep up to four beams).
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Claim 14 recites similar features as in claim 1 for an apparatus from the perspective of a base station.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Claim 15 recites similar features as in claim 1 for a method.
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 1-3 and 11. Claims 16-18 and 20 recite similar features as in claims 1-3 and 11, respectively, for a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims above, in view of Xue et al. US 20230354311 A1, hereinafter Xue.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second structure configuration in the frequency domain includes at least one of:
a number of S-SSB repetition(s) in a frequency band; location(s) of the S-SSB repetition(s) in the frequency band; a number of resource block(s)(RB(s)) unoccupied by the S-SSB repetition(s) in the frequency band; or location(s) of the RB(s) in the frequency band.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xue more specifically discloses wherein the second structure configuration in the frequency domain includes at least one of:
a number of S-SSB repetition(s) in a frequency band; location(s) of the S-SSB repetition(s) in the frequency band; a number of resource block(s)(RB(s)) unoccupied by the S-SSB repetition(s) in the frequency band; or location(s) of the RB(s) in the frequency band (Xue at least [0044] A BS may configure a sidelink resource pool over the 20 MHz band for sidelink communications. A sidelink resource pool is typically partitioned into multiple frequency subchannels or frequency subbands (e.g., about 5 MHz each) and a sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource (e.g., a subchannel) from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication. To satisfy an OCB of about 70%, a sidelink resource pool may utilize a frequency-interlaced structure. For instance, a frequency-interlaced-based sidelink resource pools may include a plurality of frequency interlaces over the 20 MHz band, where each frequency interlace may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) distributed over the 20 MHz band. For example, the plurality of RBs of a frequency interlace may be spaced apart from each other by one or more other RBs in the 20 MHz unlicensed band. A sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of frequency interlaces from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xue in order to satisfy an OCB of the unlicensed band.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second structure configuration in the frequency domain includes at least one of:
an interlace pattern in a frequency band; index(es) of available interlace(s) in the frequency band; a number of interlace(s) for one S-SSB; or an indicator indicating whether frequency domain multiplexing (FDM) is enabled.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xue more specifically discloses wherein the second structure configuration in the frequency domain includes at least one of:
an interlace pattern in a frequency band; index(es) of available interlace(s) in the frequency band; a number of interlace(s) for one S-SSB; or an indicator indicating whether frequency domain multiplexing (FDM) is enabled (Xue at least [0044] A BS may configure a sidelink resource pool over the 20 MHz band for sidelink communications … For instance, a frequency-interlaced-based sidelink resource pools may include a plurality of frequency interlaces over the 20 MHz band, where each frequency interlace may include a plurality of resource blocks (RBs) distributed over the 20 MHz band. For example, the plurality of RBs of a frequency interlace may be spaced apart from each other by one or more other RBs in the 20 MHz unlicensed band. A sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of frequency interlaces from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication; [0047] the multiplex configuration includes a configuration for multiplexing the S-SSB transmission with a frequency interlaced waveform sidelink transmission to meet the OCB requirement. For instance, the sidelink transmission may include a PSCCH transmission and a PSSCH transmission multiplexed in frequency or time within a frequency interlace with RBs spaced apart in the sidelink BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xue in order to satisfy an OCB of the unlicensed band.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Xue discloses the UE of claim 6. In the obvious combination, Xue more specifically discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
select interlace(s) for transmitting the S-SSB from the available interlace(s) based at least in part on the second structure configuration in the frequency domain (Xue [0044] A sidelink UE may select a sidelink resource in the form of frequency interlaces from the sidelink resource pool for sidelink communication); and
map the S-SSB to be transmitted to resource block (RB) sets of the selected interlace(s) (Xue at least [0044] S-SSBs are transmitted in a set of contiguous RBs, for example, in about eleven contiguous RBs; [0046-0049] discloses different configurations for multiplexing the S-SSB transmissions; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Xue in order to satisfy an OCB of the unlicensed band.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 5. Claim 19 recites similar features as in claim 5 for a processor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Liu et al. US 20230337155 A1, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses the UE of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the configuration for PSBCH indicates that a PSBCH includes at least one of:
a first indicator indicating whether an S-SSB including the PSBCH is within a channel occupancy time (COT); a second indicator indicating whether a next S-SSB is within a current COT; a parameter associated with quasi-colocation (QCL) relation; or a third indicator indicating whether a beam is used for transmission of S-SSB repeatedly within an S-SSB window or not.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu more specifically discloses wherein the configuration for PSBCH indicates that a PSBCH includes at least one of:
a first indicator indicating whether an S-SSB including the PSBCH is within a channel occupancy time (COT); a second indicator indicating whether a next S-SSB is within a current COT; a parameter associated with quasi-colocation (QCL) relation; or a third indicator indicating whether a beam is used for transmission of S-SSB repeatedly within an S-SSB window or not (Liu at least [0079] the first sidelink UE may receive the configuration from a network unit (e.g., the BS 105, the CU 1210, the DU 1230, the RU 1240, and/or the network unit 1000) via downlink control information (DCI), a radio resource control (RRC) communication, or other suitable communication; [0084] In some aspects, the first sidelink UE may transmit the configuration comprising the QCL index associated with the S-SSB 305 burst as a codepoint via a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH). For example, the first sidelink UE may transmit the configuration comprising the QCL index as a codepoint via a PSBCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) scrambling sequence. The codepoint be a binary number (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, or more bits) representing the QCL index. Additionally or alternatively, the first sidelink UE may transmit the configuration comprising the QCL index as a codepoint via a PSBCH payload).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Liu in support of multi-user communication by sharing available system resources.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. US 20230247528 A1
Liu et al. US 20230300761 A1
Niu et al. US 20250286686 A1
He et al. US 20240405953 A1
Chen et al. US 20250193904 A1
Sun et al. US 20250184053 A1
/Y.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465