DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/04/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2 of claim 9, replace “the slave device” with -- the master device --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a changer configured to use a fact that there is a detection in the detector as a trigger to change a Connection Interval for Bluetooth (registered trademark) Low Energy” in claim 1 with corresponding structures be found in par [0030] and [0047]-[0049]; “the changer is configured to return a value of the Connection Interval to a value that is before the change is made” in claim 5 with corresponding structures be found in par [0029] and [0067]-[0069]; and “a determiner configured to perform a determination that there is an erroneous detection” in claim 7 with corresponding structures be found in par [0032] and [0063]-[0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 20210044680 A1).
Consider claim 1, Kang discloses communication device (read as digital pen 201 operating as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) slave 1020, with processor 320, memory 330, communication circuit 390 and trigger circuit 398, figures 3 and 15, par [0065], [0071] and [0231]) comprising:
a detector configured to detect a signal input that comes from outside (read as triggering circuit 398 using its button or sensor circuit to receive an externally originated input, generate a corresponding electric signal or data value, and supply a trigger signal; processor 320 detects the corresponding predefined event, figures 3 and 15, par [0073] and [0232]); and
a changer configured to use a fact that there is a detection in the detector as a trigger to change a Connection Interval for Bluetooth (registered trademark) Low Energy (read as processor 320 detecting the predefined event and using the detection to initiate the adaptive BLE update through communication circuit 390; the processor 320 sends the desired Connection Interval value, receives the update indication and applies the Connection Interval at the specified instant, figure 15, par [0232]-[0237]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang discloses a transmitter configured to transmit a value of the Connection Interval, the value being changed by the changer, to an external device by using a BLE communication (read as communication circuit 390 transmitting LL_CONNECTION_PARAM_REQ, which carries the desired changed Connection Interval value, from digital pen 201 to external master 1010 through BLE; processor 320 then applies the Connection Interval through the same update procedure above, figure 15, par [0235]-[0237] and [0244]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang discloses wherein the changer is configured to return a value of the Connection Interval to a value that is before the change is made, in a case where there is no detection of the signal input in the detector for a predetermined period of time (read as processor 320 monitoring the specific operation as predefined event, temporarily changing the BLE Connection Interval when that event occurs and repeating the update procedure when the operation remains unused for a preset time; the absence of the monitored event during this period (present time) corresponds to no detection of the same input under broadest reasonably interpretation; the repeated update restores the existing or initial Connection Interval, which is the value used before the temporary change, figure 15, par [0232]-[0233], [0241] and [0249]-[0250]).
Consider claim 6, Kang discloses a communication system that includes a master device and a slave device communicable to each other by using a Bluetooth (registered trademark) Low Energy communication (read as master 1010 and slave 1020 maintaining a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection and exchanging connection control messages, figure 10, par [0108] and [0171]),
the master device comprising: a first detector configured to detect a signal input that comes from outside (read as master 1010 containing input device 150, sensor module 176 and processor 120; the input device 150 receives an outside use command, the sensor module 176 generates a single or data value for an external state and processor 120 detects the resulting predefined event, figures 1 and 11, par [0044], [0048] and [0184]-[0185]); and
a first communicator configured to use a fact that there is a detection in the first detector as a trigger to transmit, to the slave device by using the BLE communication, a change instruction for a value of a Connection Interval for BLE (read as processor 120 responding to the detected predefined event by directing wireless communication module 192 to send the desired Connection Interval value to the slave 120 and then transmit LL_CONNECTION_UPDATE_IND, which instructs the slave to apply the determined BLE Connection Interval, figure 11, par [0186] and [0193]-[0194]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20210044680 A1) in view of Avery et al. (US 20210027199 A1).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang discloses wherein the detector comprises a sensor configured to detect an external environmental state (read as the trigger circuit 398 containing motion sensor that senses an external environmental stage and generates a corresponding electrical signal or data value and supplies the sensor input trigger recognized by processor 320, figures 3 and 15, par [0073] and [0232]) but does not specifically disclose detecting a vibration applied from the outside.
Nonetheless, Avery discloses accelerometer tap vibration sensing, which wireless audio device 104 containing accelerometer sensor 210, where a user’s externally applied tap produces a particular vibration that the accelerometer detects, figure 2, par [023] and [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Avery into the teachings of Kang, to configure Kang’s trigger circuit 398 using Avery’s accelerometer tap vibration sensor, in order to allow Kang’s digital pen to recognize a user tap through a non-touch motion sensor and initiate its adaptive BLE update without dedicated touch sensor hardware (see par [0013] and [0039] of Avery).
Claims 3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20210044680 A1) in view of Kotz et al. (US 20170143206 A1).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Kang discloses wherein the detector comprises a sensor configured to detect an external environmental state (read as the trigger circuit 398 containing motion sensor that senses an external environmental stage and generates a corresponding electrical signal or data value and supplies the sensor input trigger recognized by processor 320, figures 3 and 15, par [0073] and [0232]) but does not specifically disclose detecting an utterance that has occurred at the outside.
Nonetheless, Kotz discloses speech activity determination, which a microphone equipped Amulet whose processor 106 determines when the wearer is speaking from microphone data; and thus, detects occurrence of an externally originated utterance, figure 6, par [0084]-[0085].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kotz into the teachings of Kang, to configure Kang’s digital pen microphone input using Kotz’s speech activity determination, in order to allow Kang’s digital pen to recognize spoken user activity as a predefined event through its existing audio input path.
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Kang discloses wherein the first communicator is configured to transmit connection parameter request to the slave device by using the BLE communication, and receive a corresponding connection parameter response from the slave device by using the BLE communication (read as master processor 120 and wireless communication module 192 transmitting a request to BLE connected slave 1020 and receiving the slave’s corresponding response through the BLE communication link, figure 1, par [0186]-[0187], and the master device further includes a determiner configured to perform a determination of the responding slave’s identify or attribute (read as master processor 120 acting as a determiner that processes information associated with the received slave response and determines the responding slave’s identity, type or device attribute figure 11, par [0188]) but does not specifically disclose transmit a master request for slave vibration detection information and receive of the slave vibration detection information as the slave’s response; and determination that there is an erroneous detection on a basis of a result of the detection in the first detector and the vibration detection information received from the slave device.
Nonetheless, Kotz discloses Amulet 100 polling a wearable node through body area network radio 124, after which the addressed node responds with its sensor data (figure 4, par [0113]); in the accelerometer embodiment, the returned sensed motion readings corresponding to vibration detection information under broadest reasonable interpretation; processor 106 compares those remote sensed motion readings with the Amulet’s local accelerometer readings and marks the inconsistent node data as suspect when a discrepancy is detected, figure 5, par [0062]-[0063] and [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kotz into the teachings of Kang, to configure Kang’s master event processing using Kotz’s remote motion polling and local comparison, in order to reduce reliance on inconsistent motion event data by allowing Kang’s master compare its local result with the connected slave’s result before acting on the event (see par [0062] and [0069] of Kotz).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Kang, as modified by Kotz, discloses wherein the slave device includes: a second detector configured to detect a signal input that comes from the outside (read as BLE slave 1020 containing triggering circuit 398 using its button or sensor circuit to receive an externally originated input, generate a corresponding electric signal or data value, and supply a trigger signal; processor 320 detects the corresponding predefined event, figures 3 and 15, par [0073] and [0232]); and
a second communicator configured to use a fact that there is a detection in the second detector as a trigger to transmit, to the master device by using the BLE communication, a change request for the value of the Connection Interval for the BLE (read as BLE slave 1020 with processor 320 detecting the predefined event and using the detection to initiate the adaptive BLE update through communication circuit 390 and sending LL_CONNECTION_PARAM_REQ, carrying the desired BLE Connection Interval value, to the master 1010, figure 13, par [0206]-[0210] and [0216]-[0217]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Kang, as modified Kotz, discloses wherein the second communicator is configured to receive a connection parameter request message from the master device by using the BLE communication, and transmit a corresponding connection parameter response message to the master device by using the BLE communication (read as slave 1020 receiving a BLE request from master 1010 and returning the corresponding response to the master through the same BLE communication link, figure 10, par [0171] and [0175]-[0176]) but does not specifically disclose receive a vibration detection information transmission request and transmit a result of the detection in the second detector as a response to the vibration detection information transmission request to the master device as response.
Nonetheless, Kotz further discloses responsive remote sensor reporting, which a wearable node receiving poll from Amulet 100 and responding with its available sensor data; when the node uses its accelerometer, that response carriers the node’s mechanical motion result, which corresponds to the second detector’s vibration result under broadest reasonable interpretation, figure 4, par [0062] and [0113].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Kotz into the teachings of Kang, which modified by Kotz, to configure Kang’s slave response exchange using Kotz’s responsive motion sensor reporting, in order to provide Kang’s master with current remote motion information for comparison with its local sensor result and identify inconsistent event data (see par [0062] and [0079] of Kotz).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645