DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ashworth et al., Pub. No.: US2020/0295818 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ashworth discloses A coverage enhancing device (Fig. 12a item 1200; repeater 1200) comprising: at least one antenna element (par. 0106; device antenna 1210); a first antenna port associated with the at least one antenna element and configured to receive a first signal (par. 0106; The integrated device antenna 1210 can receive an UL signal from a UE.); an amplifier in communication with the first antenna port, the amplifier configured to amplify the first signal for provision of a first amplified signal (par. 0107; a power amplifier (PA) 1220.); a second antenna port in communication with the amplifier, wherein the second antenna port is configured to transmit the first amplified signal (par. 0108; the power amplifier 1220 can be configured to be coupled directly to the UL outside antenna port 1204 without filtering between the power amplifier 1220 and the UL outside antenna port.); wherein the second antenna port is a different antenna port than the first antenna port (Fig. 12a items 1202 and 1204; clearly shows two different antenna ports); wherein the first antenna port forms at least a part of a first antenna element of the at least one antenna element and the second antenna port forms at least a part of a second antenna element of the at least one antenna element (Fig. 12a items 1204 and 1230; clearly shows two antenna ports being formed separately on two different antennas.).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Ashworth further discloses wherein the first antenna port forms at least a part of a first antenna element of the at least one antenna element and the second antenna port forms at least a part of the first antenna element (par. 0103).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Ashworth further discloses wherein the first antenna port has a different polarization than the second antenna port (par. 0132; polarization diversity).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Ashworth further discloses wherein: the second antenna port is configured to receive a second signal (Fig. 12a; antenna); the amplifier is configured to amplify the second signal for provision of a second amplified signal (Fig. 12a; amplifier); and the first antenna port is configured to transmit the second amplified signal (Fig. 12a; port).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 4 and 15. Ashworth further discloses wherein the coverage enhancing device comprises at least one switch in communication with the first antenna port to the second antenna port, wherein the at least one switch is configured to provide, in a first position, a connection in a first direction from the first antenna port to the second antenna port and, in a second position, a connection in a second direction from the second antenna port to the first antenna port (par. 0130; a double-pole double-throw (DPDT) switch 1298.).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 5 and 16. Ashworth further discloses wherein the coverage enhancing device is configured to receive a switch configuration signal and, based on the switch configuration signal, to set the at least one switch in the first position or the second position (par. 0131).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 5 and 16. Ashworth further discloses wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a plurality of first direction antenna elements each having a respective switch set to the first position, and a plurality of second direction antenna elements each having a respective switch set to the second position, wherein a number of the plurality of first direction antenna elements is equal to a number of the plurality of second direction antenna elements (Fig. 12d, par. 0134).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Ashworth further discloses wherein the coverage enhancing device is configured to amplify the first signal at a loop gain of below 1 (par. 0045; gain limits).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 12. Ashworth further discloses wherein the coverage enhancing device further comprises a phase changer configured to change the phase of the first signal (par. 0146).
Regarding claim 10, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Ashworth further discloses wherein the coverage enhancing device is an active gain coverage enhancing device (par. 0072).
Regarding claim 11, Ashworth discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Ashworth further discloses wherein: the at least one antenna element comprises a chain of antenna elements comprising a beginning antenna element, an ending antenna element, and a plurality of middle antenna elements (Fig. 12g); each antenna element of the chain of antenna elements having respective first antenna ports and respective second antenna ports (Fig. 12g); and each first antenna port of the plurality of middle antenna elements is in communication, via a respective amplifier, with the second antenna port of a different antenna element of the plurality of middle antenna elements (Fig. 12g; antennas in communication with amplifiers via DPDT switch).
Regarding claim 12, Ashworth discloses A method of retransmitting a signal via a coverage enhancing device (Fig. 15; an apparatus 1500 of a repeater in flow chart), the method comprising: receiving, by a first antenna port associated with at least one antenna element, a first signal (par. 0196; The apparatus can further comprise a bi-directional server antenna port, as shown in block 1520.); amplifying, by an amplifier in communication with the first antenna port, the first signal for provision of a first amplified signal (par. 0196; The apparatus can further comprise a UL amplification and filtering path coupled between the bi-directional server antenna port and the UL donor antenna port, wherein the UL donor antenna port is configured to be coupled to an UL donor antenna, as shown in block 1550.); and transmitting, by a second antenna port in communication with the amplifier, the first amplified signal (par. 0109; The UL outside antenna 1230 can communicate the amplified and/or filtered UL signal to a base station.); wherein the second antenna port is a different antenna port than the first antenna port (Fig. 12a items 1202 and 1204; clearly shows two different antenna ports); wherein the first antenna port forms at least a part of a first antenna element of the at least one antenna element and the second antenna port forms at least a part of a second antenna element of the at least one antenna element (Fig. 12a items 1204 and 1230; clearly shows two antenna ports being formed separately on two different antennas.).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649