DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, 14-15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moore (US 2021/0302917).
Regarding Claim 1, Moore discloses a distance measuring device [#100 of Fig 1; 0030] comprising: a plurality of light receiving elements [#104 of Fig 1; #302 of Fig 3; 0030] that receives light emitted from one or a plurality of light emitting elements [#106 of Fig 1; 0030] and reflected on a target; a first counter [#602 of Fig 6] that performs, at every predetermined time, state transition of a first binary code that is a binary code of n digits from a first value [#620 of Fig 6; 0051] to a second value that is 2° -1 - (the first value) [“1111” of Fig 7] and in which a value next to the second value is set as the first value [#602-#608 of Fig 6; 0051-53]; an encoder that converts the first binary code into a gray code of n digits [#604 of Fig 6; Fig 3-4; 0038; 0040-44; 0051-3]; a decoder that acquires a second binary code of n digits from the gray code based on a light reception timing of the light receiving elements [#110, #118 of Fig 1; Fig 5; 0045-46]; a second counter that counts a number of times of light reception of the plurality of light receiving elements corresponding to each of the second binary codes [#118 of Fig 1; Fig 4, 7, 8; 0051-55; 0065-66]; and a distance extraction circuit that measures a distance to the target on a basis of a discrete value acquired by the second counter [#100 of Fig 1; Fig 4, 7, 8; 0051-55; 0065-66].
Regarding Claim 14, Moore discloses a counter comprising: a first counter [#602 of Fig 6] that performs, at every predetermined time, state transition of a first binary code that is a binary code of n digits from a first value [#620 of Fig 6] to a second value that is 2n -1 - (the first value) [“1111” of Fig 7] and in which a value next to the second value is set as the first value [#602-#608 of Fig 6; 0051-53]; and an encoder that converts the first binary code into a gray code of n digits [#604 of Fig 6; Fig 3-4; 0038; 0040-44; 0051-3].
Regarding Claim 2, Moore also discloses wherein a smaller value of the first value or the second value is 0 or more and 2 2 - 1 or less [#620 of Fig 6; 0051].
Regarding Claim 3, Moore also discloses wherein in a case where the first value is larger than the second value, the first counter generates the first binary code with a value next to 2n - 1 as 0 [#602-#608, #620 of Fig 6; 0051-53].
Regarding Claim 4 and 15, Moore also discloses wherein the first counter adds one to a count value at each time of the state transition [#110, #118 of Fig 1; Fig 5; 0045-46].
Regarding Claim 5, Moore also discloses wherein in a case where the first value is larger than the second value, the first counter generates the first binary code with a value next to 0 as 2n – 1 [#602-#608, #620 of Fig 6; 0051-53].
Regarding Claim 9, Moore also discloses wherein the distance extraction circuit measures the distance to the target by a histogram having a frequency corresponding to a number of states from the first value to the second value [Fig 3-4; 0038; 0040-44; 0051-3].
Regarding Claim 10 and 17, Moore also discloses wherein the decoder obtains a second binary code by subtracting the first value from a value obtained by converting the gray code from a binary code [#602-#608, #620 of Fig 4-6; 0041-46; 0051-53].
Regarding Claim 11 and 18, Moore also discloses wherein the second counter forms a histogram with a discrete value for the second binary code obtained by converting the gray code into a binary code as a discrete value for a value obtained by subtracting the first value from the second binary code [#602-#608, #620 of Fig 4-6; 0041-46; 0051-53].
Regarding Claim 12, Moore also discloses wherein the distance extraction circuit accumulates a discrete value for the second binary code obtained by converting the gray code into a binary code as a histogram in the second counter, and subtracts a distance corresponding to the first value from a distance extracted from the histogram [#602-#608, #620 of Fig 4-6; 0041-46; 0051-53].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 2021/0302917), as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Lim (US 6,790,113).
Regarding Claim 6, Moore does not explicitly teach -but Lim does teach wherein the first counter subtracts one from the count value at each time of the state transition [Fig 1, 2; Col 1 Line 60 – Col. 2 Line 10; Col. 4 Line 40 – Col. 5 Line 30]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Moore to include counter subtraction to produce a Gray code that is balanced and that contains symmetrically reversed sequences.
Regarding Claim 7, Moore does not explicitly teach -but Lim does teach a first value acquisition circuit that acquires 2n - 1 - (the second value) as the first value on a basis of the second value having been input, wherein the first counter counts on a basis of the second value having been input and the first value having been acquired [Fig 1, 2; Col 1 Line 60 – Col. 2 Line 10; Col. 4 Line 40 – Col. 5 Line 30]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Moore to include counter subtraction to produce a Gray code that is balanced and that contains symmetrically reversed sequences.
Regarding Claim 8, Moore does not explicitly teach -but Lim does teach a second value acquisition circuit that acquires the second value on a basis of the first value having been input, wherein the first counter counts on a basis of the first value having been input and the second value having been acquired [Fig 1, 2; Col 1 Line 60 – Col. 2 Line 10; Col. 4 Line 40 – Col. 5 Line 30]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Moore to include counter subtraction to produce a Gray code that is balanced and that contains symmetrically reversed sequences.
Regarding Claim 13, Moore does not explicitly teach -but Lim does teach wherein the distance extraction circuit accumulates a discrete value for the second binary code obtained by converting the gray code into a binary code as a histogram in the second counter, and subtracts a predetermined distance from a distance extracted from the histogram [Fig 1, 2; Col 1 Line 60 – Col. 2 Line 10; Col. 4 Line 40 – Col. 5 Line 30]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Moore to include counter subtraction to produce a Gray code that is balanced and that contains symmetrically reversed sequences.
Regarding Claim 16, Moore does not explicitly teach -but Lim does teach wherein the first counter subtracts one from a count value at each time of the state transition [Fig 1, 2; Col 1 Line 60 – Col. 2 Line 10; Col. 4 Line 40 – Col. 5 Line 30]. It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Moore to include counter subtraction to produce a Gray code that is balanced and that contains symmetrically reversed sequences.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645