DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an article having a zinc oxide coating film having a specific thickness, does not reasonably provide enablement for an article having any zinc oxide coating film having any thickness. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Case law holds that applicant’s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant’s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all compounds within the scope of claims 1-10 can be used as claimed and whether claims 1-10 meet the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988). Upon applying this test to claims 1-10, it is believed that undue experimentation would be required because:
(a) The quantity of experimentation necessary is great since claims 1-10 read on an article having any zinc oxide coating film having any thickness while the specification discloses an article having a zinc oxide coating film having a specific thickness.
(b) There is no direction or guidance presented for an article having any zinc oxide coating film having any thickness.
(c) There is an absence of working examples concerning an article having any zinc oxide coating film having any thickness.
In light of the above factors, it is seen that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the invention of claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyota et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0009813).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, and 5, Toyota et al. teaches a zinc oxide thin film on a base material (paragraph [0038]), i.e. article, having a thickness of 0.005 to 3 µm (paragraph [0103]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
In light of the present specification which discloses that film thickness controls Sdr (See paragraph [0019]), given that Toyota teaches an article comprising materials and structure including zinc oxide thin film having thickness identical to that presently claimed, the article would necessarily have a surface area increase ratio and antibacterial activity value as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, given that Toyota teaches an article comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the article would necessarily have a transmittance value as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 7, given that Toyota teaches an article comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the article would necessarily have a surface area increase ratio as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 8, given that Toyota teaches an article comprising materials and structure including zinc oxide thin film having thickness identical to that presently claimed, the article would necessarily have an antibacterial activity value and transmittance as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 9, given that Toyota teaches an article comprising materials and structure including zinc oxide thin film having thickness identical to that presently claimed, the article would necessarily have a surface area increase ratio as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 10, Toyota et al. teaches using the zinc oxide thin film as antibacterial/deodorant films (paragraph [0003]).
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787