DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“resistance element” in claim 1 line 6, which uses generic placeholder “element” coupled with functional language “[for] resistance” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the term “resistance” preceding the generic placeholder “element” is not a structural modifier.
The limitation “resistance element” in claim 1 has been interpreted to cover a flywheel or other mechanical resistance element, a fluid-based resistance element, a hydraulic resistance element, or a magnetic resistance element as described in para [0007] of the specification, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0214734 (Lammers).
Regarding claim 1, Lammers discloses a rowing device 1 for exercise (exercise device 1 is a rowing simulator or rowing machine - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5), the device comprising:
a lower or base portion 10,20 configured to be positioned along a ground surface, the lower or base portion configured to remain stationary during use (first elongated structural member 10 and second elongated structural member 20 can be interpreted collectively as the lower or base portion and are positioned along a ground surface via vertically arranged legs 12,12’ and horizontal beams 13,13’ - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5; see annotated FIG. 2 below);
an upper portion 81 configured to slidably move relative to the lower or base portion 10,20 during use (housing 81 is moveably attached to the two structural members 10,20 such that the housing 81 may be moved along at least a part of the length of the two structural members 10,20 - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5; see annotated FIG. 2 below);
wherein the upper portion 81 comprises a resistance element 40, a handle assembly 61 and a footrest assembly 80 (resistance element 40 is at least partly accommodated in housing 81 - para 0065; handle 61 is attached to free outer end of second drive 60, which is at least partly accommodated in housing 81 - paras 0065 and 0067; housing 81 includes a foot support or footstretcher 80 - para 0067; see annotated FIG. 2 below); and
a seat assembly 30 coupled to the lower or base portion 10,20 (FIGS. 1-5), wherein the seat assembly 30 is configured to not slidably move relative to the upper portion 81 when the upper portion is moved relative to the lower or base portion 10,20 (seat may be directly connected to the first structure member and may be in a fixed position relative to the first structural member - para 0010; see annotated FIG. 2 below).
Regarding claim 2, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the upper portion 81 is configured to slidably move relative to the lower or base portion 10,20 using a rail system (housing 81 is moveably attached to the two structural members 10,20 such that the housing 81 may be moved along at least a part of the length of the two structural members 10,20, which can be interpreted as forming a rail system - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5; guiding wheels may be part of the resistance element and may be arranged in a guiding rails of the structural member or vice versa - para 0010).
Regarding claim 3, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the upper portion 81 is configured to slidably move relative to the lower or base portion using at least one wheel or other movable member (housing 81 is moveably attached to the two structural members 10,20 such that the housing 81 may be moved along at least a part of the length of the two structural members 10,20 - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5; guiding wheels may be part of the resistance element and may be arranged in a guiding rails of the structural member or vice versa - para 0010; see annotated FIG. 5 below).
Regarding claim 5, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 3, and further discloses wherein the at least one wheel or other movable member is configured to be positioned along the upper portion 81 (housing 81 is moveably attached to the two structural members 10,20 such that the housing 81 may be moved along at least a part of the length of the two structural members 10,20 - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5; guiding wheels may be part of the resistance element and may be arranged in a guiding rails of the structural member or vice versa - para 0010; see annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 6, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 5, and further discloses wherein the at least one wheel or other movable member is configured to at least partially mate with a corresponding element or feature of the lower or base portion 10,20 (housing 81 is moveably attached to the two structural members 10,20 such that the housing 81 may be moved along at least a part of the length of the two structural members 10,20 - para 0065, FIGS. 1-5; guiding wheels may be part of the resistance element and may be arranged in a guiding rails of the structural member or vice versa - para 0010; see annotated FIG. 5 above).
Regarding claim 8, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the seat assembly 30 is directly coupled to the lower or base portion 10,20 (seat may be directly connected to the first structure member and may be in a fixed position relative to the first structural member - para 0010).
Regarding claim 9, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the seat assembly 30 is coupled to the lower or base portion 10,20 using at least one hinge, joint or other movable connection (the seat may be moveably attached to the two structural members 10,20 - para 0065; the seat may be moveably connected to the structural member, for example by means of guiding wheels or any other suitable means, which can be interpreted as the movable connection - para 0010).
Regarding claim 10, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the resistance element 40 comprises a flywheel or other mechanical resistance element (resistance element is a flywheel 40 - para 0065).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lammers in view of US 2,714,507 (Goodrich).
Regarding claim 4, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection above), but Lammers does not disclose wherein the at least one wheel or other movable member comprises at least one grooved or recessed wheel.
Goodrich teaches an analogous rowing device for exercise (Col 1:15-16, FIGS. 1-2), wherein a structure 34 is configured to slidably move relative to a lower or base portion 15 using at least one wheel 37 or other movable member, wherein the at least one wheel or other movable member comprises at least one grooved or recessed wheel 37 (grooved wheels 37 rest on the rails 15 and side plates are also connected by tie rods 38 which extend between the plates and under the rails 15 to prevent wheels 37 from accidentally becoming disengaged from said rails - Col 2:41-50, see annotated FIG. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lammers’ invention with the grooved wheels and side plates as taught by Goodrich in order to prevent wheels from accidentally becoming disengaged from the rails (Goodrich: Col 2:41-50).
Regarding claim 7, Lammers teaches the device of Claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection above), but Lammers does not disclose wherein the corresponding element or feature comprises an elongated member with a rounded or curved surface.
Goodrich teaches an analogous rowing device for exercise (Col 1:15-16, FIGS. 1-2), wherein a structure 34 is configured to slidably move relative to a lower or base portion 15 using at least one wheel 37 or other movable member, wherein the at least one wheel or other movable member 37 is configured to at least partially mate with a corresponding element or feature of the lower or base portion 15, wherein the corresponding element or feature 15 comprises an elongated member with a rounded or curved surface (grooved wheels 37 rest on the rails 15, which are cylindrical rails inherently elongated and inherently comprising a rounded or curved surface, and side plates are also connected by tie rods 38 which extend between the plates and under the rails 15 to prevent wheels 37 from accidentally becoming disengaged from said rails - Col 2:41-50, see annotated FIG. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lammers’ invention with the cylindrical rails and grooved wheels and side plates as taught by Goodrich in order to prevent wheels from accidentally becoming disengaged from the rails (Goodrich: Col 2:41-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Joshua Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784