DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed on 7/28/2026.
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1, 9-10 and 21 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 8 was/were cancelled; Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 is/are independent claims. Claims 1-7 and 9-21 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 8/3/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9-11, 13, 15, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al (CN-113744338-A) in view of Zheng et al (CN-107341804-B).
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches An effect video generation method, comprising:
determining that a current video frame to be processed comprises point cloud data to be processed (page 6; “obtain the point cloud data of the current frame”);
obtaining one or more historically estimated planes, wherein the one or more historically estimated planes are constructed based on historical point cloud data comprised in a plurality of video frames before the current video frame (page 10: “judging whether the plane of the current frame (obtained in S42) and the history output plane are in the same plane; for example, judging whether the normal vector of two planes is similar (similar normal vector is not necessarily the same plane, also may be parallel plane), whether the two are overlapped; and judging whether it is the same plane or not by the distance between them. when judging that the two are the same plane, combining the plane and the history output plane, and taking the combined plane as the current output plane. when judging the two are not the same plane, the plane as the current output plane”; page 11: “Next, when performing the plane detection of the next frame, the current output plane is used as the historical output plane of the history frame. That is, the historical output plane mentioned in the present application comprises all detection planes detected from the historical frame of the depth video”);
determining distance information between the point cloud data in the current video frame and the one or more historically estimated planes (page 10; “(2) whether the distance from the plane central point of the plane to the historical output plane is less than the second threshold value;… S432: if yes, combining the plane with the history output plane, taking the combined plane as the current output plane, otherwise, taking the plane as the current output plane.”);
in a case that the distance information and a data volume of the point cloud data to be processed satisfy a plane estimation condition, performing plane estimation on the point cloud data to be processed
displaying, based on the target estimated plane, a target effect corresponding to the current video frame to obtain a target effect video frame (page 5, line 55: “Along with the rapid development of AR technology, the application scene of AR technology is more and more abundant. In the AR scene, because it is necessary to place the virtual object on the space plane, so as to interact with the user, so it needs to obtain the space plane information”),
but fails to teach
performing plane estimation on the point cloud data to be processed based on a random sample consensus algorithm to generate a target estimated plane.
However, in the same field of endeavor Zheng teaches
in a case that the distance information and a data volume of the point cloud data to be processed satisfy a plane estimation condition, performing plane estimation on the point cloud data to be processed based on a random sample consensus algorithm to generate a target estimated plane (page 8, line 26 to page 9, line 53; “(RANSAC) algorithm to perform plane detection,”; “S23: calculating the distance from all data points in the sub-data set to the first fitting plane; setting the data point with the distance less than the first fitting plane to the first set threshold as the inner point; Specifically, after obtaining the plane equation of the first fitting plane by S22, it can calculate all data points of the subdata set to the distance from the first fitting plane, taking a point Pj (Xj, Yj, Zj) in the sub-data set as an example, Pj to the first fitting plane distance is: then setting the data point with the distance from the first fitting plane less than the first set threshold value as the inner point; setting the data point with the distance greater than or equal to the first set threshold value with the first fitting plane as the free point; the free point will be processed in the subsequent process; in this step, it is not processed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Zheng in Wei to have in a case that the distance information and a data volume of the point cloud data to be processed satisfy a plane estimation condition, performing plane estimation on the point cloud data to be processed based on a random sample consensus algorithm to generate a target estimated plane for utilizing RANSAC algorithm optimizing fitting plane according to inner points yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wei and Zheng teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Wei teaches wherein determining the distance information between the point cloud data to be processed and the at least one historically estimated plane comprises: determining the distance information between the point cloud data to be processed and the at least one historically estimated plane based on coordinate information of the point cloud data to be processed and plane information of the at least one historically estimated plane (page 10; “(2) whether the distance from the plane central point of the plane to the historical output plane is less than the second threshold value;… S432: if yes, combining the plane with the history output plane, taking the combined plane as the current output plane, otherwise, taking the plane as the current output plane.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wei and Zhen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Wei teaches
further comprising: in a case that the distance information is less than a preset distance threshold in the plane estimation condition, determining a target historically estimated plane corresponding to the point cloud data to be processed, and fusing the point cloud data to be processed to the target historically estimated plane (page 10; “(2) whether the distance from the plane central point of the plane to the historical output plane is less than the second threshold value;… S432: if yes, combining the plane with the history output plane, taking the combined plane as the current output plane, otherwise, taking the plane as the current output plane.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wei and Zhen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Wei teaches further comprising:
in a case that it is detected again that the video frame to be processed comprises new point cloud data to be processed, adding the target estimated plane into the at least one historically estimated plane, and determining distance information between the point cloud data to be processed and the at least one historically estimated plane (page 10: “judging whether the plane of the current frame (obtained in S42) and the history output plane are in the same plane; for example, judging whether the normal vector of two planes is similar (similar normal vector is not necessarily the same plane, also may be parallel plane), whether the two are overlapped; and judging whether it is the same plane or not by the distance between them. when judging that the two are the same plane, combining the plane and the history output plane, and taking the combined plane as the current output plane. when judging the two are not the same plane, the plane as the current output plane”; page 11: “Next, when performing the plane detection of the next frame, the current output plane is used as the historical output plane of the history frame. That is, the historical output plane mentioned in the present application comprises all detection planes detected from the historical frame of the depth video”).
Regarding claim 9, Wei teaches An electronic device (page 5, line 56; AR device), comprising:
one or more processors (page 5, line 56; of the AR device); and
a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement a method (page 5, line 56; of the AR device) comprising: (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor (page 5, line 56; of the AR device), are configured to: (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Regarding claims 11, 13 and 15, claims 11, 13 and 15 reciting features corresponding to claims 2, 4 and 6 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Regarding claims 17, 19 and 20, claims 17, 19 and 20 reciting features corresponding to claims 2, 4 and 6 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al (CN-113744338-A) in views of Zheng et al (CN-107341804-B) as applied to claim 1, 9 or 10 above, and further in view of Poelman et al (US 20150125071 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wei and Zhen teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Zheng teaches
wherein in a case that the distance information and the data volume of the point cloud data to be processed satisfy the plane estimation condition, performing plane estimation on the point cloud data to be processed based on the random sample consensus algorithm to generate the target estimated plane comprises:
in a case that the distance information is greater than a preset distance threshold in the plane estimation condition, accumulating the data volume of the point cloud data to be processed to obtain a current data volume (page 8, line 26 to page 9, line 53; “RANSAC) algorithm to perform plane detection,”; “S23: calculating the distance from all data points in the sub-data set to the first fitting plane; setting the data point with the distance less than the first fitting plane to the first set threshold as the inner point; Specifically, after obtaining the plane equation of the first fitting plane by S22, it can calculate all data points of the subdata set to the distance from the first fitting plane, taking a point Pj (Xj, Yj, Zj) in the sub-data set as an example, Pj to the first fitting plane distance is: then setting the data point with the distance from the first fitting plane less than the first set threshold value as the inner point; setting the data point with the distance greater than or equal to the first set threshold value with the first fitting plane as the free point; the free point will be processed in the subsequent process; in this step, it is not processed.”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Zheng in Chen to have wherein in a case that the distance information and the data volume of the point cloud data to be processed satisfy the plane estimation condition, performing plane estimation on the point cloud data to be processed based on the random sample consensus algorithm to generate the target estimated plane comprises: in a case that the distance information is greater than a preset distance threshold in the plane estimation condition, accumulating the data volume of the point cloud data to be processed to obtain a current data volume; performing, based on the random sample consensus algorithm, plane estimation processing on each piece of currently stored point cloud data to be processed, to generate the target estimated plane for utilizing RANSAC algorithm optimizing fitting plane according to inner point yielding a predicted result.
Moreover, in the same field of endeavor Poelman teaches
in a case that the current data volume reaches a data volume threshold in the plane estimation condition, performing, based on the random sample consensus algorithm, plane estimation processing on each piece of currently stored point cloud data to be processed, to generate the target estimated plane (paras. 0043-0044; “a minimum number of points may be required in order to perform plane fitting (e.g., one or two points may not comply with the minimum threshold number of points while ten points may be sufficient). Similarly, too many points may be overly burdensome to perform the plane fitting (e.g., consumes a disproportionate amount of processing and/or time)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Poelman in the combination to have in a case that the current data volume reaches a data volume threshold in the plane estimation condition, performing, based on the random sample consensus algorithm, plane estimation processing on each piece of currently stored point cloud data to be processed, to generate the target estimated plane for ensuring sufficient number of points being available for plane detection so that plane detection performance can be optimized yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wei, Zheng and Poelman teaches everything as claimed in claim 3. In addition, Poelman teaches further comprising: in a case that the current data volume does not reach the data volume threshold, accumulating the current data volume, and storing the point cloud data to be processed, so as to perform, in a case that the current data volume reaches the data volume threshold, plane estimation processing on the stored point cloud data to be processed to obtain the target estimated plane (paras. 0043-0044; “a minimum number of points may be required in order to perform plane fitting (e.g., one or two points may not comply with the minimum threshold number of points while ten points may be sufficient). Similarly, too many points may be overly burdensome to perform the plane fitting (e.g., consumes a disproportionate amount of processing and/or time)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Poelman in the combination to have further comprising: in a case that the current data volume does not reach the data volume threshold, accumulating the current data volume, and storing the point cloud data to be processed, so as to perform, in a case that the current data volume reaches the data volume threshold, plane estimation processing on the stored point cloud data to be processed to obtain the target estimated plane for ensuring sufficient number of points being available for plane detection so that plane detection performance can be optimized when needed yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, claims 12 and 14 reciting features corresponding to claims 3 and 5 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 reciting features corresponding to claim 3 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Claim(s) 7, 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al (CN-113744338-A) in view of Zheng et al (CN-107341804-B) as applied to claim 1, 9 or 10 above and further in view of Wei et al (US 20200250852 A1; hereinafter “Wei’892”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wei and Zheng teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
further comprising: in a case that it is detected that the target effect is to be added to the current video frame to be processed, determining a target display position of the target effect based on touch point position information on a display interface and the at least one historically estimated plane; and displaying the target effect at the target display position to obtain a target effect video frame corresponding to the current video frame to be processed.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wei’892 teaches
further comprising: in a case that it is detected that the target effect is to be added to the current video frame to be processed, determining a target display position of the target effect based on touch point position information on a display interface and the at least one historically estimated plane; and displaying the target effect at the target display position to obtain a target effect video frame corresponding to the current video frame to be processed (para. 0024: “the user can simply touch the viewfinder to place fun, three-dimensional virtual objects on static or moving surfaces (e.g. horizontal surfaces such as tables, floors, sidewalks, hands, etc.), allowing the user to seamlessly interact with a dynamic real-world environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Wei in Chen to have further comprising: in a case that it is detected that the target effect is to be added to the current video frame to be processed, determining a target display position of the target effect based on touch point position information on a display interface and the at least one historically estimated plane; and displaying the target effect at the target display position to obtain a target effect video frame corresponding to the current video frame to be processed for allowing the user to seamlessly interact with a dynamic real-world environment yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 reciting features corresponding to claim 7 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 reciting features corresponding to claim 7 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637