Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2026 and was filed after the mailing date of the 11/04/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 133-135, 138, 140, 143-145, 148, and 150 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kung et al. (US 2022/0030480 A1) (“Kung”).
Regarding claim 133, An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: at least one memory (Kung, Fig. 3, Ref. 310); and at least one processor (Kung, Fig. 3, Ref. 306 ) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: receive, from a serving cell, a cell switching medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) comprising a cell switching command,
Kung [0437]; In step 1410, the UE receives, from the first cell, a second signaling indicative of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell, wherein the second signaling comprises (and/or is) a PDCCH signaling (e.g., a signaling transmitted via a second PDCCH) and/or a MAC CE.
Kung [0363] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the first cell may be a serving cell.
wherein the cell switching command comprises a cell identifier (ID), a beam indication, and a timing advance (TA) command;
Kung [0251] The first information and the second information may be transmitted in different signalings (e.g., the first information may be transmitted via a first signaling and/or the second information may be transmitted via a second signaling).
Kung [0333]; In another example, the second information may indicate an identity of a cell.
Kung [0279] Resource information (indicated by the first information and/or the second information) may be indicative of one or more resources for the UE. Alternatively, and/or additionally, the one or more resources may comprise and/or indicate one or more reference signals and/or one or more beams associated with one or more uplink resources.
Kung [0280] The resource information may comprise timing alignment (TA) information (e.g., uplink TA information) associated with the second cell. For example, the resource information may indicate Timing Advanced information for uplink transmission to the second cell and/or a value (e.g., a TA value and/or a Timing Advanced value) for uplink transmission to the second cell (e.g., the TA information may comprise the Timing Advanced information).
and in response to the cell switching command, determine a candidate cell for communication.
Kung, Fig. 10 [0353]; At 1018, the UE 1002 may perform a mobility procedure on the Target Cell 1004 in response to receiving the signaling. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE 1002 transmits a mobility completion message to the Target Cell 1004.
Kung, Fig. 10 [0354] At 1020, the UE may receive an acknowledgement (e.g., a positive acknowledgement) from the Target Cell 1004. The UE 1002 may consider the mobility procedure to be completed in response to receiving the acknowledgement (e.g., the positive acknowledgement) from the Target Cell 1004. In some examples, the acknowledgement may indicate reception (e.g., successful reception) of the mobility completion message by the Target Cell 1004. The UE 1002 may consider the Target Cell 1004 to be a SpCell in response to (and/or upon and/or after) receiving the acknowledgement from the Target Cell 1004. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE 1002 may consider the Target Cell 1004 to be a SpCell in response to (and/or upon and/or after) completion of the mobility procedure (at 1020, for example).
Regarding claim 134, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the cell switching command comprises an indicator to indicate whether a serving cell indicated by a serving cell identifier (ID) field of the cell switching MAC-CE is selected as the candidate cell or remains as the serving cell.
Kung, Fig. 7 [0172] The TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a fixed size of 16 bits with following fields: Kung [0173] Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies.
Kung [0333]; In another example, the second information may indicate an identity of a cell. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE may not perform a handover procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover procedure) and/or a mobility procedure on the identified cell if the identified cell is a serving cell (e.g., if the identified cell is an activated serving cell). The UE may perform a handover procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover procedure) and/or a mobility procedure on the identified cell in response to receiving the second information if the identified cell is a serving cell (e.g., if the identified cell is a deactivated serving cell).
Regarding claim 135, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the cell switching command comprises a physical cell identifier (PCI) or serving cell ID.
Kung, Fig. 7 [0172] The TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a fixed size of 16 bits with following fields: [0173] Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies.
Regarding claim 138, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the serving cell is a first special cell (SpCell) and the candidate cell is a second SpCell.
Kung [0363] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the first cell may be a serving cell.
Kung [0111] 1> when a Timing Advance Command is received in a Random Access Response message for a Serving Cell belonging to a TAG or in a MSGB for an SpCell (First SPcell):
Kung [0386] In one embodiment, the mobility procedure comprises the UE considering the second cell to be a SpCell (e.g., a SpCell of the UE, such as a PCell of the UE or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) of the UE).
Regarding claim 140, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the cell switching MAC-CE further comprises a measured and signaled TA command for a configured serving cell not activated for data or control, and wherein the configured serving cell is the candidate cell or an additional candidate cell.
Kung [0279] Resource information (indicated by the first information and/or the second information) may be indicative of one or more resources for the UE.
Kung [0280] The resource information may comprise timing alignment (TA) information (e.g., uplink TA information) associated with the second cell (measured and signaled). For example, the resource information may indicate Timing Advanced information for uplink transmission to the second cell and/or a value (e.g., a TA value and/or a Timing Advanced value) for uplink transmission to the second cell (e.g., the TA information may comprise the Timing Advanced information).
Kung [0247]; The UE may consider the second cell to be a Special Cell (SpCell), or a target cell (and/or a target SpCell) of the UE based on the second information (and/or in response to receiving the second information).
Kung [0369] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the second cell may be a serving cell. Alternatively and/or additionally, the second cell may be a deactivated cell or an activated cell.
Kung [0247]; The UE may consider the second cell to be a Special Cell (SpCell), or a target cell (and/or a target SpCell) of the UE based on the second information (and/or in response to receiving the second information).
Regarding claim 143, A method of wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
Receiving , from a serving cell, a cell switching medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) comprising a cell switching command,
Kung [0437]; In step 1410, the UE receives, from the first cell, a second signaling indicative of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell, wherein the second signaling comprises (and/or is) a PDCCH signaling (e.g., a signaling transmitted via a second PDCCH) and/or a MAC CE.
Kung [0363] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the first cell may be a serving cell.
wherein the cell switching command comprises a cell identifier (ID), a beam indication, and a timing advance (TA) command;
Kung [0251] The first information and the second information may be transmitted in different signalings (e.g., the first information may be transmitted via a first signaling and/or the second information may be transmitted via a second signaling).
Kung [0333]; In another example, the second information may indicate an identity of a cell.
Kung [0279] Resource information (indicated by the first information and/or the second information) may be indicative of one or more resources for the UE. Alternatively and/or additionally, the one or more resources may comprise and/or indicate one or more reference signals and/or one or more beams associated with one or more uplink resources.
Kung [0280] The resource information may comprise timing alignment (TA) information (e.g., uplink TA information) associated with the second cell. For example, the resource information may indicate Timing Advanced information for uplink transmission to the second cell and/or a value (e.g., a TA value and/or a Timing Advanced value) for uplink transmission to the second cell (e.g., the TA information may comprise the Timing Advanced information).
and in response to the cell switching command, determining a candidate cell for communication.
Kung, Fig. 10 [0353]; At 1018, the UE 1002 may perform a mobility procedure on the Target Cell 1004 in response to receiving the signaling. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE 1002 transmits a mobility completion message to the Target Cell 1004.
Kung, Fig. 10 [0354] At 1020, the UE may receive an acknowledgement (e.g., a positive acknowledgement) from the Target Cell 1004. The UE 1002 may consider the mobility procedure to be completed in response to receiving the acknowledgement (e.g., the positive acknowledgement) from the Target Cell 1004. In some examples, the acknowledgement may indicate reception (e.g., successful reception) of the mobility completion message by the Target Cell 1004. The UE 1002 may consider the Target Cell 1004 to be a SpCell in response to (and/or upon and/or after) receiving the acknowledgement from the Target Cell 1004. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE 1002 may consider the Target Cell 1004 to be a SpCell in response to (and/or upon and/or after) completion of the mobility procedure (at 1020, for example).
Regarding claim 144, The method of claim 143, wherein the cell switching command comprises an indicator to indicate whether a serving cell indicated by a serving cell identifier (ID) field of the cell switching MAC-CE is selected as the candidate cell or remains as the serving cell.
Kung, Fig. 7 [0172] The TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a fixed size of 16 bits with following fields: Kung [0173] Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies.
Kung [0333]; In another example, the second information may indicate an identity of a cell. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE may not perform a handover procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover procedure) and/or a mobility procedure on the identified cell if the identified cell is a serving cell (e.g., if the identified cell is an activated serving cell). The UE may perform a handover procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover procedure) and/or a mobility procedure on the identified cell in response to receiving the second information if the identified cell is a serving cell (e.g., if the identified cell is a deactivated serving cell).
Regarding claim 145, The method of claim 143, wherein the cell switching command comprises a physical cell identifier (PCI) or serving cell ID.
Kung, Fig. 7 [0172] The TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID as specified in Table 6.2.1-1. It has a fixed size of 16 bits with following fields: [0173] Serving Cell ID: This field indicates the identity of the Serving Cell for which the MAC CE applies.
Regarding claim 148, The method of claim 143, wherein the serving cell is a first special cell (SpCell) and the candidate cell is a second SpCell.
Kung [0363] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the first cell may be a serving cell.
Kung [0111] 1> when a Timing Advance Command is received in a Random Access Response message for a Serving Cell belonging to a TAG or in a MSGB for an SpCell (First SPcell):
Kung [0386] In one embodiment, the mobility procedure comprises the UE considering the second cell to be a SpCell (e.g., a SpCell of the UE, such as a PCell of the UE or a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) of the UE).
Regarding claim 150, The method of claim 143, wherein the cell switching MAC-CE further comprises a measured and signaled TA command for a configured serving cell not activated for data or control, and wherein the configured serving cell is the candidate cell or an additional candidate cell.
Kung [0279] Resource information (indicated by the first information and/or the second information) may be indicative of one or more resources for the UE.
Kung [0280] The resource information may comprise timing alignment (TA) information (e.g., uplink TA information) associated with the second cell (measured and signaled). For example, the resource information may indicate Timing Advanced information for uplink transmission to the second cell and/or a value (e.g., a TA value and/or a Timing Advanced value) for uplink transmission to the second cell (e.g., the TA information may comprise the Timing Advanced information).
Kung [0247]; The UE may consider the second cell to be a Special Cell (SpCell), or a target cell (and/or a target SpCell) of the UE based on the second information (and/or in response to receiving the second information).
Kung [0369] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the second cell may be a serving cell. Alternatively and/or additionally, the second cell may be a deactivated cell or an activated cell.
Kung [0247]; The UE may consider the second cell to be a Special Cell (SpCell), or a target cell (and/or a target SpCell) of the UE based on the second information (and/or in response to receiving the second information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 136, 146 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Khan Beigi et al. (US 2023/0403058 A1)(“Khan”).
Regarding claim 136, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) status when starting to communicate with the candidate cell
Kung [0346] The UE 902 may activate and/or deactivate one or more TCI states and/or one or more reference signals associated with the Target Cell 904 in response to receiving the signaling (transmitted at 918).
Kung [0343] At 914, the UE 902 performs cell measurement and/or beam measurement associated with the Target Cell 904 and performs measurement reporting and/or beam reporting to the Source Cell 906.
Kung does not teach TCI status comprises an indication that an active TCI of the serving cell is implicitly deactivated.
Khan teaches TCI status comprises an indication that an active TCI of the serving cell is implicitly deactivated.
Khan [0177]; In some solutions, the WTRU may implicitly determine an activation/deactivation state for a TCI state based on whether at least one parent TCI state is configured or indicated as TCI state for PDCCH for at least one serving cell identity or coreset identity. The WTRU may receive such an indication by a MAC CE or a logical equivalent. The indication may be a TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH transmissions or MAC CEs.
In view of Khan, Kung is modified such that the TCI status comprises an indication that an active TCI of the serving cell is implicitly deactivated.
Kung and Khan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above to indicate the active TCI of the serving cell is
deactivated to efficiently transmit signaling when the number of TCI states are very large (Khan [0175]).
Regarding claim 146, The method of claim 143, wherein a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) status when starting to communicate with the candidate cell
Kung [0346] The UE 902 may activate and/or deactivate one or more TCI states and/or one or more reference signals associated with the Target Cell 904 in response to receiving the signaling (transmitted at 918).
Kung [0343] At 914, the UE 902 performs cell measurement and/or beam measurement associated with the Target Cell 904 and performs measurement reporting and/or beam reporting to the Source Cell 906.
Kung does not teach TCI status comprises an indication that an active TCI of the serving cell is implicitly deactivated.
Khan teaches TCI status comprises an indication that an active TCI of the serving cell is implicitly deactivated.
Khan [0177]; In some solutions, the WTRU may implicitly determine an activation/deactivation state for a TCI state based on whether at least one parent TCI state is configured or indicated as TCI state for PDCCH for at least one serving cell identity or coreset identity. The WTRU may receive such an indication by a MAC CE or a logical equivalent. The indication may be a TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH transmissions or MAC CEs.
In view of Khan, Kung is modified such that the TCI status comprises an indication that an active TCI of the serving cell is implicitly deactivated.
Kung and Khan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above to indicate the active TCI of the serving cell is
deactivated to efficiently transmit signaling when the number of TCI states are very large (Khan [0175]).
Claims 137, 147 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Park et al. (US 20220322245 A1)(“Park”).
Regarding claim 137, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the candidate cell is signaled via the cell switching MAC-CE,
Kung [0339]; At 818, the UE 802 may perform a mobility procedure on the Target Cell 804 in response to receiving the signaling. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE 802 transmits a mobility completion message to the Target Cell 804. The mobility completion message may comprise a C-RNTI MAC CE. The C-RNTI may be provided and/or indicated by the Source Cell 806 (e.g., the C-RNTI may be provided and/or indicated by the Source Cell 806 via the RRC message transmission at 808 and/or the signaling transmission at 816).
The Source Cell 806 may determine, based on one or more measurement reports (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-3 measurement report and/or a measurement report associated with beam quality of the Target Cell 804) transmitted by the UE 802, whether or not to initiate a mobility procedure for the UE 802 to switch connection to the Target Cell 804. At 816, the Source Cell 806 may trigger and/or initiate a procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 (L1) and/or Layer-2 (L2) handover (HO) procedure and/or a mobility procedure) via transmitting a signaling to the UE 802. For example, the signaling may indicate (and/or instruct) initiation of the procedure. The signaling may be transmitted via PDCCH and/or the signaling may be a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may be a MAC CE.
end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
and wherein an application time for the candidate cell.
Kung, Fig. 9 [0433] In one embodiment, the UE starts (and/or restarts) a timer in response to receiving the second signaling, wherein the UE considers the mobility procedure to be failed upon (and/or in response to) expiration of the timer (e.g., timer expiry). For example, the mobility procedure may be considered to be a failed mobility procedure if (and/or when) the timer expires. (time between step 918 and 922 is the application time for the targe cell).
Kung does not teach wherein time is a set time from an end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
Park teaches wherein time is a set time from an end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
Park [0594] In one embodiment of Method 3, before the first symbol for transmitting the uplink signal starts since a MAC CE application delay time (for example, until the first starting slot after 3 ms passes) passes from the end of the last symbol for transmitting the PUCCH/PUSCH including HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH including MAC CE signaling.
In view of Park, Kung is modified such that the application time is a set time from an end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
Kung and Park are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above to define the application time of the target cell that
will result in improvement of the communication system (Xi [0005]).
Regarding claim 147, The method of claim 143, wherein the candidate cell is signaled via the cell switching MAC-CE,
Kung [0339]; At 818, the UE 802 may perform a mobility procedure on the Target Cell 804 in response to receiving the signaling. Alternatively and/or additionally, the UE 802 transmits a mobility completion message to the Target Cell 804. The mobility completion message may comprise a C-RNTI MAC CE. The C-RNTI may be provided and/or indicated by the Source Cell 806 (e.g., the C-RNTI may be provided and/or indicated by the Source Cell 806 via the RRC message transmission at 808 and/or the signaling transmission at 816).
The Source Cell 806 may determine, based on one or more measurement reports (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-3 measurement report and/or a measurement report associated with beam quality of the Target Cell 804) transmitted by the UE 802, whether or not to initiate a mobility procedure for the UE 802 to switch connection to the Target Cell 804. At 816, the Source Cell 806 may trigger and/or initiate a procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 (L1) and/or Layer-2 (L2) handover (HO) procedure and/or a mobility procedure) via transmitting a signaling to the UE 802. For example, the signaling may indicate (and/or instruct) initiation of the procedure. The signaling may be transmitted via PDCCH and/or the signaling may be a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may be a MAC CE.
end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
and wherein an application time for the candidate cell.
Kung, Fig. 9 [0433] In one embodiment, the UE starts (and/or restarts) a timer in response to receiving the second signaling, wherein the UE considers the mobility procedure to be failed upon (and/or in response to) expiration of the timer (e.g., timer expiry). For example, the mobility procedure may be considered to be a failed mobility procedure if (and/or when) the timer expires. (time between step 918 and 922 is the application time for the targe cell).
Kung does not teach wherein time is a set time from an end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
Park teaches wherein time is a set time from an end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
Park [0594] In one embodiment of Method 3, before the first symbol for transmitting the uplink signal starts since a MAC CE application delay time (for example, until the first starting slot after 3 ms passes) passes from the end of the last symbol for transmitting the PUCCH/PUSCH including HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH including MAC CE signaling.
In view of Park, Kung is modified such that the application time is a set time from an end of an uplink slot carrying an acknowledgement (ACK) for the MAC-CE.
Kung and Park are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above to define the application time of the target cell that
will result in improvement of the communication system (Xi [0005]).
Claims 139, 149 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Xi et al. (US 20200288479 A) (“Xi”).
Regarding claim 139, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the at least one processor is configured to :receive an additional MAC-CE;
Xi [0141]; When the WTRU is reconfigured by the network to another CORESET for receiving a dedicated PDCCH and activated by a MAC-CE message or signal with a TCI state if the configured CORESET has K>1 configured TCI states, the WTRU may then monitor the new configured CORESET based on the activated TCI state.
And based on the additional MAC-CE, activating an aperiodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS), an aperiodic or semi- persistent CSI-RS in a CSI-RS resource set with repetition on, or an aperiodic or semi-persistent CSI-RS for a beam or CSI report.
Xi [0163] To facilitate the configuration and indication of WTRU monitoring of NR-PDCCH with one or more beams or one or more QCL references for multiple CORESETs, a MAC-CE may be utilized to activate or deactivate one or more semi-persistent CSI-RS resources inside a resource set.
In view of Xi, Kung is modified such the UE receives an additional MAC-CE.
Kung and Xi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above for the UE to receive additional MAC-CE to activate
the aperiodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) provide a longer
monitoring periodicity for WTRU and improved performance (Xi [0162]).
Regarding claim 149, The method of claim 143, wherein: receiving an additional MAC-CE;
Xi [0141]; When the WTRU is reconfigured by the network to another CORESET for receiving a dedicated PDCCH and activated by a MAC-CE message or signal with a TCI state if the configured CORESET has K>1 configured TCI states, the WTRU may then monitor the new configured CORESET based on the activated TCI state.
And based on the additional MAC-CE, activating an aperiodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS), an aperiodic or semi- persistent CSI-RS in a CSI-RS resource set with repetition on, or an aperiodic or semi-persistent CSI-RS for a beam or CSI report.
Xi [0163] To facilitate the configuration and indication of WTRU monitoring of NR-PDCCH with one or more beams or one or more QCL references for multiple CORESETs, a MAC-CE may be utilized to activate or deactivate one or more semi-persistent CSI-RS resources inside a resource set.
In view of Xi, Kung is modified such the UE receives an additional MAC-CE.
Kung and Xi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above for the UE to receive additional MAC-CE to activate
the aperiodic or semi-persistent channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) provide a longer
monitoring periodicity for WTRU and improved performance (Xi [0162]).
Claims 141, 151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Rune et al. (US 20200187274 A1)(“Rune”).
Regarding claim 141, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the apparatus is pre-configured or pre-indicated via radio resource control (RRC) signaling of a configured serving cell not activated for data or control, and wherein the configured serving cell is the candidate cell or an additional candidate cell.
Kung [0245] In NR, a UE may perform a handover (HO) procedure to switch from one cell to another cell. The UE may perform the handover procedure in response to a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling transmitted by a network. The RRC signaling may comprise cell information of a target cell.
[0369] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the second cell may be a serving cell. Alternatively and/or additionally, the second cell may be a deactivated cell or an activated cell.
Kung does not teach radio resource control (RRC) signaling with one or more beams for different channels or reference signals.
Rune teaches radio resource control (RRC) signaling with one or more beams for different channels or reference signals.
Rune [0121] When beam sweeping is used in conjunction with handover (or any mobility procedure), the wireless device has an active control signaling connection (typically an RRC connection) to its serving access node (or via its serving access node to a controlling entity that is separate from the serving access node). Before a beam sweep in conjunction with handover, the wireless device can be configured via RRC for the beam sweep (e.g. in terms of which reference signals to listen for in the beams, what and how to report the result).
In view of Rune, Kung is modified such that the radio resource control (RRC) signaling with one or more beams for different channels or reference signals.
Kung and Rune are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above to include one or more beams for different reference signals in the RRC for the UE to decide which reference signal and the beams it listen to (Rune [0121]).
Regarding claim 151, The method of claim 143, , wherein the apparatus is pre-configured or pre-indicated via radio resource control (RRC) signaling of a configured serving cell not activated for data or control, and wherein the configured serving cell is the candidate cell or an additional candidate cell.
Kung [0245] In NR, a UE may perform a handover (HO) procedure to switch from one cell to another cell. The UE may perform the handover procedure in response to a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling transmitted by a network. The RRC signaling may comprise cell information of a target cell.
[0369] With respect to one or more embodiments herein, the second cell may be a serving cell. Alternatively and/or additionally, the second cell may be a deactivated cell or an activated cell.
Kung does not teach radio resource control (RRC) signaling with one or more beams for different channels or reference signals.
Rune teaches radio resource control (RRC) signaling with one or more beams for different channels or reference signals.
Rune [0121] When beam sweeping is used in conjunction with handover (or any mobility procedure), the wireless device has an active control signaling connection (typically an RRC connection) to its serving access node (or via its serving access node to a controlling entity that is separate from the serving access node). Before a beam sweep in conjunction with handover, the wireless device can be configured via RRC for the beam sweep (e.g. in terms of which reference signals to listen for in the beams, what and how to report the result).
In view of Rune, Kung is modified such that the radio resource control (RRC) signaling with one or more beams for different channels or reference signals.
Kung and Rune are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above to include one or more beams for different reference signals in the RRC for the UE to decide which reference signal and the beams it listen to (Rune [0121]).
Claims 142, 152 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Gao et al. (US 20230180093 A1)(“Gao”).
Regarding claim 142, The apparatus of claim 133, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) activation MAC-CE,
Kung [0260] Alternatively and/or additionally, the second information may be (and/or may be transmitted in) a signaling indicative of an activation of one or more TCI states (e.g., the signaling may comprise a TCI and/or Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) activation MAC Control Element (CE)) for one or more channels
wherein the TCI activation MAC-CE activates a TCI state configured for a candidate cell not selected for use to
Kung [0345]; For example, the signaling may indicate (and/or instruct) initiation of the procedure. The signaling may be transmitted via PDCCH and/or the signaling may be a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may be a MAC CE. The signaling may comprise TCI state activation and/or deactivation information (e.g., uplink and/or downlink TCI state activation and/or deactivation information) of the Target Cell 904.
Kung [0247]; The UE may consider the second cell to be a Special Cell (SpCell), or a target cell (and/or a target SpCell) of the UE based on the second information (and/or in response to receiving the second information).
Kung [0369] Alternatively and/or additionally, the second cell may be a deactivated cell or an activated cell.
Reducing latency after the apparatus starts to communicate with the candidate cell.
Kung [0245] In NR, a UE may perform a handover (HO) procedure to switch from one cell to another cell. The UE may perform the handover procedure in response to a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling transmitted by a network. The RRC signaling may comprise cell information of a target cell. The network determines to initiate the handover procedure based on one or more measurement reports of the UE. Switching between cells may take place more frequently when a UE is operating and/or performing communication in a frequency range, such as FR2 (e.g., 24.25 GHz to 52.6 GHz). Based on work item description (WID) of further enhancements of MIMO in RP-193133 New WID, inter-cell mobility considering Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 solution may reduce latency of the handover procedures.
Kung does not teach reduce tracking reference signal (TRS) tracking latency.
Gao teaches reduce tracking reference signal (TRS) tracking latency.
Gao [0129] In view of this, an embodiment of this application provides a communication method, to reduce a delay of TRS measurement performed by a terminal device in an initial phase after cell handover is completed or in an initial phase of joint transmission, and improve communication quality.
In view of Gao, Kung is modified such the UE reduces tracking reference signal (TRS) tracking latency.
Kung and Gao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above for the UE to reduce TRS latency to improve the communication quality (Gao [0129]).
Regarding claim 152, The method of claim 143, further comprising: receiving a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) activation MAC-CE,
Kung [0260] Alternatively and/or additionally, the second information may be (and/or may be transmitted in) a signaling indicative of an activation of one or more TCI states (e.g., the signaling may comprise a TCI and/or Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) activation MAC Control Element (CE)) for one or more channels
wherein the TCI activation MAC-CE activates a TCI state configured for a candidate cell not selected for use to
Kung [0345]; For example, the signaling may indicate (and/or instruct) initiation of the procedure. The signaling may be transmitted via PDCCH and/or the signaling may be a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may be a MAC CE. The signaling may comprise TCI state activation and/or deactivation information (e.g., uplink and/or downlink TCI state activation and/or deactivation information) of the Target Cell 904.
Kung [0247]; The UE may consider the second cell to be a Special Cell (SpCell), or a target cell (and/or a target SpCell) of the UE based on the second information (and/or in response to receiving the second information).
Kung [0369] Alternatively and/or additionally, the second cell may be a deactivated cell or an activated cell.
Reducing latency after the apparatus starts to communicate with the candidate cell.
Kung [0245] In NR, a UE may perform a handover (HO) procedure to switch from one cell to another cell. The UE may perform the handover procedure in response to a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling transmitted by a network. The RRC signaling may comprise cell information of a target cell. The network determines to initiate the handover procedure based on one or more measurement reports of the UE. Switching between cells may take place more frequently when a UE is operating and/or performing communication in a frequency range, such as FR2 (e.g., 24.25 GHz to 52.6 GHz). Based on work item description (WID) of further enhancements of MIMO in RP-193133 New WID, inter-cell mobility considering Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 solution may reduce latency of the handover procedures.
Kung does not teach reduce tracking reference signal (TRS) tracking latency.
Gao teaches reduce tracking reference signal (TRS) tracking latency.
Gao [0129] In view of this, an embodiment of this application provides a communication method, to reduce a delay of TRS measurement performed by a terminal device in an initial phase after cell handover is completed or in an initial phase of joint transmission, and improve communication quality.
In view of Gao, Kung is modified such the UE reduces tracking reference signal (TRS) tracking latency.
Kung and Gao are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, a system of handover.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Kung in a manner described above for the UE to reduce TRS latency to improve the communication quality (Gao [0129]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478