DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a triggering heat-sensitive device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a triggering heat-sensitive device” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the limitation recites the generic placeholder “device” and does not recite any further structure, but it does not recite a function. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim 1 further recites the limitations "the triggering unit" in line 3, “the power wire” in line 7, and “the contacts” in line 7. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 1 is further rejected as being indefinite because it is unclear what recited elements comprise the “triggering unit”. As currently written, it appears that just the “heat-chemical igniter” comprises the triggering unit, and the heat-chemical igniter comprises a “heat-sensitive element” and “an electric igniter” and “at least one thermal fuse”. The construction of claim 1 should be reviewed to ensure this is accurate, and the formatting and punctuation revised as necessary to ensure the claimed structure is consistent with that described in the Specification and Drawings.
Finally, regarding claim 1, the limitation of “an electric igniter” in line 8 renders the claim indefinite because an “electric igniter” was already positively recited in line 4. As a result, it is unclear if line 8 requires a second “electric igniter”, or if it is referring to the “electric igniter” that was already recited. For the purposes of examination, the latter interpretation will be assumed; this appears to be consistent with the Specification and Drawings.
Claims 2-5 are rejected for depending from indefinite claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “an autonomous fire-extinguishing device” in lines 2-3 renders the claim indefinite because an “autonomous fire-extinguishing device” was already positively recited in line 1 of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. As a result, it is unclear if claim 2 requires a second “autonomous fire-extinguishing device”, or if it is referring to the “autonomous fire-extinguishing device” that was already recited. For the purposes of examination, the latter interpretation will be assumed; this appears to be consistent with the Specification and Drawings.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation of “a heat sensitive device” in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because a “heat sensitive device” was already positively recited in line 8 of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends. As a result, it is unclear if claim 3 requires a second “heat sensitive device”, or if it is referring to the “heat sensitive device” that was already recited. For the purposes of examination, the latter interpretation will be assumed; this appears to be consistent with the Specification and Drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pak et al. (EP 0569025).
Regarding claim 1, Pak teaches an autonomous fire-extinguishing device (AFED) with an aerosol-forming or gas-forming composition placed inside (p. 7, par. 7), comprising a housing (1) and an aerosol-forming or gas-forming composition module (6), characterized by the triggering unit which is made in the form of a heat-chemical igniter (interpreted to be element 8 and the “coarse-grained smoke powder initiator”, see p. 8, ln. 9-10), comprising a heat-sensitive element (“coarse-grained smoke powder initiator”, see p. 8, ln. 9-10) and an electric igniter (8) of the aerosol-forming or gas-forming composition which is made with the possibility of triggering by an external signal, and also additionally comprising at least one thermal fuse (33) installed in the power wire (p. 13, ln. 34-36), and one of the contacts of the said thermal fuse is connected to a triggering heat-sensitive device (p. 13, ln. 33-34 – “directly connected to the solid charge), which is connected to an electric igniter (fig. 13 – thermal fuse 33 and electric igniter are both connected to the AFED, 2) of aerosol-forming or a gas-forming composition.
Regarding claim 2, Pak teaches an autonomous fire-extinguishing device according to claim 1, characterized by an additional triggering sensor (multiple triggering sensors 28 can be used, see fig. 13) that generates a signal about the operation of an autonomous fire-extinguishing device installed inside the housing (p. 13, ln. 17-23), with terminals extending beyond the housing (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Pak teaches an autonomous fire-extinguishing device according to claim 1, characterized by additional holes (5) in the housing (figs. 1, 2) for the exit of an aerosol-forming or gas-forming composition, and also contains holes for triggering a heat-sensitive device (fig. 1 – the holes in the housing for the wires for igniter 8).
Regarding claim 4, Pak teaches an autonomous fire-extinguishing device according to claim 1, characterized by a low-temperature solid fuel aerosol-forming or gas-forming composition (p. 7, ln. 33-34).
Regarding claim 5, Pak teaches an autonomous fire-extinguishing device according to claim 1, characterized by lower triggering temperature of the heat-sensitive element in comparison with the triggering temperature of the heat-chemical igniter (p. 8, ln. 8-11 – the igniter 8 requires 10-40 V DC, but the “smoke powder initiator” requires only 3-12 V DC).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koelewijn et al. (US 8,496,067), Guo et al. (US 2012/0186838), and Johnson et al. (US 2012/0212312) all teach devices having elements of the claimed invention.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752