DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Joint Inventors
Priority/Benefit
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The current application is a 371 national stage of PCT/EP2023/059684, which claims an effective filing date of 04/13/2023, as well as claiming foreign priority to the foreign application EP22172009.7, which has an effective filing date of 05/06/2022. Examiner has checked and verified that the earlier filed foreign document supports the subject matter of the instant application, and as such, the earlier filed date of 05/06/2022 is granted.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 06/29/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jackowski et al., US 20220203532 A1, herein referred to as Jackowski.
Regarding claim 1, Jackowski discloses one or more functional components (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; robot may include multiple modular components, each modular component may include sensors, legs or actuators (reads on “actor device”), control interfaces, and wireless communication means; the modular components may include an electronics package 476 that can include memory and processors; all of these components may be considered functional), a main board including one or more connection interfaces and a memory (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; each modular component may include an electronics package which can include memory and processors, and would necessarily have a “main board” as both memory and processors require an IC (integrated circuit) for functionality; the electronics package may be in communication with other various components and may include multiple connection interfaces), wherein at least one of the connection interfaces is adapted to receive communication data and electrical power, and at least one of the connection interfaces is adapted to provide communication data and electrical power (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; each modular component may include an electrical connection that may transmit data and power to and from modular components), wherein the main board is adapted to: based on software and/or parameters stored in memory, perform at least one of the following functions: controlling an actor device, outputting control data via a control interface, processing data from a sensor device and/or from a control interface, and communicating via wireless communication means (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0029, 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; data stored on the memory of the electronics package of each modular component may include data related to control, and may be utilized for processing data from the sensors, legs (actor devices), wireless communication interfaces, and power sources in order to effectuate control of the components; power and data may be transmitted between modular components by utilizing the electrical connectors which can be considered the connection interface between modular components), and receive software data and/or parameters via one of the connection interfaces and to store the software data and/or parameters in the memory, and wherein the robot module is adapted to autonomously perform tasks without any further logic control (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0028, 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; control data may be transmitted to and from the modular components, and can be stored in the memory of the electronics packages 476 of each modular component; the robotic system may function autonomously; each module may perform a given task based on received controls; once the controls are received, the modules perform a given action without further control logic), but fails to explicitly disclose a robot module comprising power means and based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, providing power from the power means via the connection interfaces.
However, Jackowski, in an alternative embodiment, teaches a robot module comprising power means and based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, providing power from the power means via the connection interfaces (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110-0111; each robot module may have its own dedicated power source (specifically see 0111) for providing power to the module and others through the electrical connectors). Therefore, from the teaching of Jackowski, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Jackowski to include a robot module comprising power means and based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, provide power from the power means via the connection interface, as taught/suggested by Jackowski. The motivation to do so would be to increase the efficiency of each modular component by including an individual power source. This can allow for better power management and longer lasting operations.
Regarding claim 2, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the one or more functional components include a control interface adapted to be connected to a computer and the main board is adapted to receive software and/or parameters from the computer for storage in the memory (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0099, 0110; control systems may be in communication with external servers which can be considered a computer; information may be accessed on the external server for control purposes).
Regarding claim 3, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses the robot module further including a housing for accommodating the main board and the one or more functional components (Figs. 4-5, 8; modular components may have an external housing which holds/contains all the components).
Regarding claim 4, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the main board is adapted to determine whether received communication data are addressed to itself and when not to transmit the received communication data to another main board, which is connected to the main board via the one or more connection interfaces (Paragraph 0093; the control system may utilize authentication for each modular component attached; this authentication ensures that only allowable modular components are attached; communication for a given component is only allowed to go to and from that specific component).
Regarding claim 5, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the one or more functional components include: an actor device including at least one of a motor or gripper actuator, and a sensor device including at least one of a camera, ultrasonic range finder, or an inertial measurement unit (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043, 0059; components attached to robot may include legs and/or grippers; sensors may include a camera, ultrasonic range sensor, and IMU).
Regarding claim 6, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses the main board comprises at least two connection interfaces (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; at least one electrical connector may be present on a given modular component; an electronic package on a given modular component may connect to multiple other components which would require at least two electrical connectors; electronic package can also utilize multiple connectors for a singular connection (multiple jacks, pins, etc.)).
Regarding claim 7, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the main board is adapted to access a server to load assets into the memory, wherein each asset provides a different functionality to allow the main board to perform one of the following functions: controlling the actor device, outputting control data via the control interface, or processing data from the one or more functional components (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; the electronics package on each modular component may communicate back and forth with an external cloud server and can store data sent from the server; the data stored may include control data for controlling various parts (sensor, control device, etc.) of the modular component which can be considered an asset).
Regarding claim 8, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses multiple robot modules (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; multiple modular robotic components may be coupled together), wherein each of the multiple robot modules is connected to another one of the multiple robot modules via the respective connection interfaces (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; multiple modular robotic components may be physically and electronically coupled to each other; electronic coupling may be utilized through the electrical connectors), and wherein the multiple robot modules are mechanically coupled via links (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; multiple modular robotic components may be physically coupled to each other through threaded engagement which can be considered a link).
Regarding claim 9, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Jackowski further discloses wherein at least one of the connection interfaces of at least one of the multiple robot modules is connected to a power module (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0110; a given modular component may be connected to a power source; see obviousness rationale in claim 1 for the power source being implemented within each modular component).
Regarding claim 10, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Jackowski further discloses wherein each of the multiple robot modules has identical mounting features (Paragraph 0109; modular components may be mounted through threaded engagement).
Regarding claim 11, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein each functional component is one of a sensor device, an actor device, a control interface, power means, or wireless communication means (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; robot may include multiple modular components, each modular component may include sensors, legs or actuators (reads on “actor device”), control interfaces, and wireless communication means).
Regarding claim 13, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 6. Jackowski further discloses wherein the main board comprises at least three connection interfaces (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; multiple components may be attached to a main board; the actor device (legs), power source, control interfaces, etc. that are attached would require at least three connection interfaces).
Regarding claim 14, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 7. Jackowski further discloses wherein the main board is adapted to access a cloud based web interface (Paragraph 0099; the system and modules may access cloud storage which requires web access).
Regarding claim 15, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Jackowski further discloses wherein each of the multiple robot modules is wired to another one of the multiple robot modules via the respective connection interfaces (Paragraphs 0033-0034; robot modules may communicate through wired or wireless connections).
Regarding claim 16, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 9. Jackowski further discloses wherein the power module is a battery (Paragraph 0045; power systems of the robot and modules may include batteries).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jackowski, and in view of Okuyama et al., US 20170182665 A1, herein referred to as Okuyama.
Regarding claim 12, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 5. Jackowski further discloses wherein the sensor device includes a camera (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043, 0059; attached components may include a camera), but fails to disclose wherein the sensor device includes a monocular camera. However, Okuyama, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the sensor device includes a monocular camera (Paragraph 0118; the imaging device may be a monocular camera). Therefore, from the teaching of Okuyama, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Jackowski to include wherein the sensor device includes a monocular camera, as taught/suggested by Okuyama. The motivation to do so would be to utilize a well-known camera type for obtaining data. Furthermore, by utilizing a monocular camera, each module may be more compact and easier to transport compared to other camera types.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jackowski, and in view of Crawley, US 20190079532 A1, herein referred to as Crawley.
Regarding claim 17, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 9. Jackowski further discloses wherein the mounting features are threaded holes (Paragraph 0109; modular components may be mounted through threaded engagement) but fails to disclose wherein the mounting features are threaded holes at identical positions and/or with identical patterns. However, Crawley, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the mounting features are threaded holes at identical positions and/or with identical patterns (Fig. 17, Paragraph 0188; the threaded holes for attachment may be in a given pattern; these allow for various components to attach and can be considered to be at identical patterns for each attached component). Therefore, from the teaching of Crawley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Jackowski to include wherein the mounting features are threaded holes at identical positions and/or with identical patterns, as taught/suggested by Crawley. The motivation to do so would be to ensure sufficient mounting in an organized manner. This can lead to stronger mounting as well as ease of mounting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is arguing that the prior art fails to disclose the limitations of claim 1. Specifically, Applicant is arguing that the prior art of Jackowski fails to disclose the newly amended limitations, namely in that the robot module is ‘adapted to autonomously perform tasks without any further logic control’. Applicant specifically states that Jackowski relies on a central control system and therefore doesn’t disclose the modules autonomously performing tasks. However, if a central control system sends a control signal to a module (for example, the leg module(s) of Jackowski) to perform a given control, then that module performs that task ‘autonomously’. Additionally, if an entire system is autonomous, then each component is autonomous as well because the entire system functions without external control. In the case of Jackowski, the components execute controls while they are present in the autonomous robot and operate in an autonomous manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A BUKSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3658