DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2024, was filed before the
mailing of a First Office Action on the Merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37
CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The current application is a 371 national stage of PCT/EP2023/059684, which claims an effective filing date of 04/13/2023, as well as claiming foreign priority to the foreign application EP22172009.7, which has an effective filing date of 05/06/2022. Examiner has checked and verified that the earlier filed foreign document supports the subject matter of the instant application, and as such, the earlier filed date of 05/06/2022 is granted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites an open Markush grouping of “A robot module comprising a sensor device and/or an actor device and/or a control interface and/or power means and/or wireless communication means …” (see MPEP 2173.05(h) for proper Markush grouping terminology, ‘comprising’ is open ended). Because the Markush grouping is open ended, it is unclear what the invention actually covers.
Furthermore, claim 1 recites the limitation of A “a sensor device and/or an actor device and/or a control interface and/or power means and/or wireless communication means” and further recites the limitation of B “… based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, control the actor device and/or output control data via the control interface and/or process data from the sensor device and/or from the control interface, and/or provide power form the power means via the connection interface and/or communicate via the wireless communication means”. However, the claim effectively recites combinations between limitations A and B that are not possible.
For example, if limitation A is interpreted to cover everything except power means, then all the other modules and their functionalities described in limitation B are impossible as a sensor device, an actor device, a control interface, and wireless communication means, as recited, cannot function without power (as understood by one skilled in the art and in view of the specification). As such, the claim is even more indefinite because it is not clear what is actually being claimed as components listed in the alternative (power means) are required for the other alternative components and their functionality.
Even further, claim 1 recites the limitation of “wherein at least one connection interface is adapted to receive communication data and electrical power, and at least one connection interface is adapted to provide communication data and electrical power”. Again, as seen above, the power means is required for power to be transmitted, including through that of the connection interface.
Examiner suggests re-writing the claims to properly recite the Markush groupings in a closed format, as well as properly indicating what the invention includes, since it is apparent that the power means are required for numerous claimed components and their functions.
Claims 2-10 ultimately depend from claim 1 and contain the same indefinite subject matter as recited in claim 1. As such, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite.
***For examination purposes (and compact prosecution), and because of the significant 112(b) issues with claim 1, examiner is interpreting the claims such that the “power means” is included, and not as an alternative. Examiner is utilizing this interpretation since one skilled in the art would realize that the claimed invention under BRI would have to include the power means in some aspect since the specification clearly states that power for the other devices (and their functions) is required.
Additionally, claims 5-10 are rejected because each claim utilizes the phrase “preferably” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2173.05(d)). Examiner suggests either removing the limitations after the phrase “preferably” or including them in new dependent claims. For examination purposes, any limitation that includes the phrase “preferably” is being interpreted such that the alternatives following this phrase are simply optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jackowski et al., US 20220203532 A1, herein referred to as Jackowski.
Regarding claim 1, Jackowski discloses a sensor device and/or an actor device and/or a control interface and/or wireless communication means (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; robot may include multiple modular components, each modular component may include sensors, legs or actuators (reads on “actor device”), control interfaces, and wireless communication means; the modular components may include an electronics package 476 that can include memory and processors), a main board including at least one connection interface and a memory (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; each modular component may include an electronics package which can include memory and processors, and would necessarily have a “main board” as both memory and processors require an IC (integrated circuit) for functionality), wherein at least one connection interface is adapted to receive communication data and electrical power, and at least one connection interface is adapted to provide communication data and electrical power (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; each modular component may include an electrical connection that may transmit data and power to and from modular components), wherein the main board is adapted to: based on software and/or parameters stored in memory, control the actor device and/or output control data via the control interface and/or process data from the sensor device and/or from the control interface, and/or communicate via the wireless communication means (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; data stored on the memory of the electronics package of each modular component may include data related to control, and may be utilized for processing data from the sensors, legs (actor devices), wireless communication interfaces, and power sources in order to effectuate control of the components, power and data may be transmitted between modular components by utilizing the electrical connectors which can be considered the connection interface between modular components), and receive software data and/or parameters via the connection interface and to store the software data and/or parameters in the memory (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110; control data may be transmitted to and from the modular components, and can be stored in the memory of the electronics packages 476 of each modular component), but fails to explicitly disclose a robot module comprising power means and based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, provide power from the power means via the connection interface.
However, Jackowski, in an alternative embodiment, teaches a robot module comprising power means and based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, provide power from the power means via the connection interface (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110-0111; each robot module may have its own dedicated power source (specifically see 0111) for providing power to the module and others through the electrical connectors). Therefore, from the teaching of Jackowski, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified, with a reasonable expectation for success, the robotic system of Jackowski to include a robot module comprising power means and based on software and/or parameters stored in the memory, provide power from the power means via the connection interface, as taught/suggested by Jackowski. The motivation to do so would be to increase the efficiency of each modular component by including an individual power source. This can allow for better power management and longer lasting operations.
Regarding claim 2, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the control interface is adapted to be connected to a computer and the main board is adapted to receive software and/or parameters from the computer for storage in the memory (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0099, 0110-0111; control systems may be in communication with external servers which can be considered a computer; information may be accessed on the external server for control purposes).
Regarding claim 3, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses the robot module further including a housing for accommodating the main board and the sensor device and/or actor device and/or control interface (Figs. 4-5, 8; modular components may have an external housing which holds/contains all the components).
Regarding claim 4, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the main board is adapted to determine whether received communication data are addressed to itself and when not to transmit the received communication data to another main board, which is connected to the main board via the connection interface (Paragraph 0093; the control system may utilize authentication for each modular component attached; this authentication ensures that only allowable modular components are attached; communication for a given component is only allowed to go to and from that specific component).
Regarding claim 5, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the actor device includes a motor and/or gripper actuator, and/or the sensor device includes a camera, preferably a monocular camera, and/or ultrasonic range finder and/or inertial measurement unit (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043, 0059; components attached to robot may include legs and/or grippers; sensors may include a camera, ultrasonic range sensor, and IMU).
Regarding claim 6, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses the main board comprises at least two connection interfaces, preferably at least three connection interfaces (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110-0111; at least one electrical connector may be present on a given modular component; an electronic package on a given modular component may connect to multiple other components which would require at least two electrical connectors; electronic package can also utilize multiple connectors for a singular connection (multiple jacks, pins, etc.)).
Regarding claim 7, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses wherein the main board is adapted to access a server, preferably a cloud-based web interface, to load assets into the memory, wherein each asset provides a different functionality to allow the main board to control the actor device and/or output control data via the control interface and/or process data from the sensor device and/or from the control interface (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0110-0111; the electronics package on each modular component may communicate back and forth with an external cloud server and can store data sent from the server; the data stored may include control data for controlling various parts (sensor, control device, etc.) of the modular component).
Regarding claim 8, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Jackowski further discloses multiple robot modules (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; multiple modular robotic components may be coupled together), wherein each of the multiple robot modules is connected, preferably wired, to another one of the multiple robot modules via the respective connection interfaces (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; multiple modular robotic components may be physically and electronically coupled to each other; electronic coupling may be utilized through the electrical connectors), and wherein the multiple robot modules are mechanically coupled via links (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; multiple modular robotic components may be physically coupled to each other through threaded engagement which can be considered a link).
Regarding claim 9, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Jackowski further discloses wherein at least one connection interface of at least one of the multiple robot modules is connected to a power module (Figs. 4-5, 8, Paragraphs 0045, 0049, 0065, 0073-0077, 0091-0094, 0109-0111; a given modular component may be connected to a power source; see obviousness rationale in claim 1 for the power source being implemented within each modular component).
Regarding claim 10, Jackowski renders obvious all the limitations of claim 8. Jackowski further discloses wherein each of the multiple robot modules has identical mounting features preferably thread holes at identical positions and/or with identical patterns (Paragraph 0109; modular components may be mounted through threaded engagement).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190079532 A1 by Crawley is relevant to the current application because it teaches a pattern of threaded screw holes for attaching various components, which is an optional limitation of claim 10
US 20170182665 A1 by Okuyama et al., is relevant to the current application because it teaches utilizing a monocular camera, which an optional limitation of claim 5
/CHRISTOPHER A BUKSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3658