DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Totani (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0250908) in view of WO 2009/131226 (will be referred to as ‘226).
Totani discloses a cross cut device for use in bag making and for shearing a web twice during a pause phase of an intermittent feed cycle, the cross cut device comprising:
a cutter pair including an upper blade and a lower blade, see for example (Fig. 1; via blades 3 & 4);
a feed device for intermittently feeding a web in a longitudinal direction of the web (Fig. 1; via feeding rollers 6 & 7; and paragraph 0019; “The plastic film means is fed intermittently… cut progressively and widthwise thereof whenever being fed intermittently”);
a vertical movement device for vertically reciprocating the upper blade with respect to the lower blade to shear the web, see for example (Figs 3 & 8; vertical movement device for blades 3 & 4); and
a processor configured to control the feed device, the vertical movement device, see for example (Figs. 1, 3, 8, 9, & 10; via controlling means 14, 31, and 44),
wherein the processor is configured to control movements during the reciprocation of the upper blade for the second shearing, start to move the cutter pair from the second position to the first position subsequent to the upper blade reaching a lowermost height and prior to the upper blade exceeding a shear height (via “control device is connected to driving mechanism”, and
wherein the processor is configured to control the feed device to start to feed the web subsequent to the cutter pair starting to move from the second position to the first position, see for example (paragraph 0019; “The plastic film means is fed intermittently… cut progressively and widthwise thereof whenever being fed intermittently”).
Totani does not disclose a horizontal movement device for horizontally moving the cutter between two different positions. However, ‘226 discloses similar cross cut mechanism moving in both vertical and horizontal directions between two different cutting positions, see for example (Figs. 2, 4, and 5; via directions “X” & “Z” shows the horizontal and vertical movements of blade 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Totani’s cutting mechanism by a horizontal moving mechanism, as suggested by ‘226, in order to gain more flexibility and adjustability of the cutting mechanism.
Regarding claim 2: Totani discloses that the processor is configured to control the feed device to, during the reciprocation of the upper blade for the second shearing, start to feed the web prior to the upper blade exceeding the shear height and pass the web through a space between the upper blade and the lower blade subsequent to the upper blade exceeding the shear height, see for example (Figs. 1, 3, 8, 9, & 10; via controlling means 14, 31, and 44 and paragraph 0019; “The plastic film means is fed intermittently… cut progressively and widthwise thereof whenever being fed intermittently”).
Regarding claim 3: Totani discloses that the processor is configured to control the feed device to, during the reciprocation of the upper blade for the second shearing, start to feed the web subsequent to the upper blade exceeding the shear height and prior to the upper blade reaching an uppermost height, see for example (Figs. 1, 3, 8, 9, & 10; via means 14, 31, and 44 controlling the different movements and positions of shearing blades 3 & 4 while web 2 is being conveyed; and paragraph 0019; “The plastic film means is fed intermittently… cut progressively and widthwise thereof whenever being fed intermittently”).
Regarding claim 4: Totani discloses a bag making apparatus for successively making bags from at least one web, comprising the cross cut device, see for example (Fig. 1; via “apparatus for successively making plastic bags”).
Conclusion
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731