DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 16 recites in the preamble “a program that causes a mobile body device to perform….”; therefore claim 24 is non-statutory because it is directed towards software, per se, lacking storage on a medium, which enables any underlying functionality to occur. It is not clear whether instructions are in executable form and therefore there is no practical application. Appropriate correction is required by the applicant.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “verification unit that verifies…; attitude calculation unit..; movement control unit…” in claims 1, 10 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al., US Pg. Pub. No. (2025/0172687) referred to hereinafter as Li.
As per claim 1, Li teaches a mobile body control device comprising: a keyframe database that associates, and registers, a feature of a keyframe selected from images of a movement space shot by a camera and a position and attitude of the keyframe in a coordinate system defining the movement space (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18); an image feature verification unit that verifies a feature of an image captured by a camera of a mobile body against the feature of the keyframe registered in the keyframe database (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18, obtaining image and matching to obtain optimal position is considered verification); a mobile body position and attitude calculation unit that calculates a position and attitude of the mobile body based on the position and attitude of the keyframe in the coordinate system defining the movement space, registered in the keyframe database in association with a keyframe for which the verification is successful (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 33, 34, 74, storage unit ~database); and a movement control unit that controls movement of the mobile body based on the position and attitude calculated by the mobile body position and attitude calculation unit (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 60-61,67, 79, figs. 5-6, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 2, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, wherein the coordinate system defining the movement space is a CAD coordinate system defining a three-dimensional CG model of the movement space (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 3, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, wherein the keyframe database is a database that registers, in relation to each keyframe, a position and attitude of the keyframe in a CAD coordinate system defining a three-dimensional CG model of the movement space (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 4, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, wherein the keyframe database is a database that registers, in relation to each keyframe, a coordinate transformation matrix for transformation from a keyframe coordinate system defining the position and attitude of the keyframe into a CAD coordinate system defining a three-dimensional CG model of the movement space (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 5, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, wherein the keyframe database is a database that registers, in relation to each keyframe, information related to a marker or a marker substitution object included as an object in the keyframe (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 6, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 5, wherein the marker substitution object is an object that fixed in the movement space (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 7, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 5, wherein the keyframe database is a database that registers, as the information related to the marker or the marker substitution object, a position and attitude of the marker or the marker substitution object in a keyframe coordinate system defining the position and attitude of the keyframe (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 8, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 5, wherein the marker or the marker substitution object is a marker or a marker substitution object that registered in an object database, and the object database is a database that registers, for each marker or each marker substitution object, a position and attitude in a CAD coordinate system defining a three-dimensional CG model of the movement space (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 9, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, wherein the keyframe database is a database that registers, in relation to each keyframe, a position and attitude of the keyframe in a SLAM coordinate system calculated when generating the keyframe database (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 10, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, comprising: a SLAM coordinate system position and attitude calculation unit that performs self position and attitude calculation processing through SLAM processing using an image captured by the camera of the mobile body (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18); and a CAD coordinate system position calculation unit that obtains a position and attitude of the keyframe in a CAD coordinate system defining the movement space, registered in the keyframe database in association with the keyframe for which the verification is successful (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 11, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 10, wherein when at least one of a SLAM coordinate system position and attitude calculated by the SLAM coordinate system position and attitude calculation unit or a CAD coordinate system position and attitude calculated by the CAD coordinate system position and attitude calculation unit is taken as an input (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18), and the CAD coordinate system position and attitude calculated by the CAD coordinate system position and attitude calculation unit is input, the mobile body position and attitude calculation unit calculates the CAD coordinate system position and attitude input as the position and attitude of the mobile body (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 12, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, comprising: a mobile body path difference calculation unit that calculates a difference between the position of the mobile body calculated by the mobile body position and attitude calculation unit and a predefined movement path, wherein the movement control unit controls movement of the mobile body to reduce the difference calculated by the mobile body path difference calculation unit (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 13, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 12, wherein the mobile body path difference calculation unit calculates the difference between the position of the mobile body calculated by the mobile body position and attitude calculation unit and the predefined movement path while referring to movement path registration data in which the predefined movement path is registered (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claim 14, Li teaches a mobile body control device according to claim 1, wherein the mobile body is a drone, and the movement control unit controls flight of the drone (see at least Abstract, Para 2, 6, 26, 34, 67, 79, claim 11, 18).
As per claims 15-16, the limitations of claims 15-16 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-14, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669