33Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to the claims have been recorded.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered and are fully addressed with the new rejections made to the amended claims. Applicants’ arguments relate to Suzuki, however the new rejections used for the amended claims are Penilla. As such the claims have overcome the 102 rejections, however a 103 rejection has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI US 2019/147679 in view of Penilla US 20200361335.
1. An information processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry 400 configured to create a digital key to operate a vehicle 10, and
set a usage rule for the digital key, Fig. 6-8 and par. 90-93, 105-108 transfer of the authentication information [digital] to third party terminal key system.
the usage rule including usage rule information that sets permitted conditions of usage of the vehicle; and Fig.6 "function restriction information"; "use restriction information"
Suzuki teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches (see the figures and par. [0093], [0108]; see also par. [0113]) but does not teach “to the vehicle ‘and’ information processing terminal”
Regarding
a transmitter configured to transmit the digital key to the vehicle and an information processing terminal that uses the digital key, and transmit the usage rule information to the vehicle and the information processing terminal.
Penella teaches
a transmitter configured to transmit the digital key to the vehicle and an information processing terminal that uses the digital key, and transmit the usage rule information to the vehicle and the information processing terminal. Fig. 30 A and 267; electronic keys transferred to a guest that requires access to the vehicle. The electronic keys 650 can be transferred to the vehicle and verified by the vehicle or cloud services or both, before access is given to the guest. 280; assigned to different devices/people with different privileges [usage rule].
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for the purpose of sharing digital car keys such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious. The combination is also considered obvious to try as stated in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
[Claim 2] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry sets the usage rule for the digital key according to a first user, the usage rule being set for a role allocated to the first user.Fig.6 2014 and 2042
[Claim 3] The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry sets the usage rule to be associated with the role allocated to the first user in accordance with a request message initiated by a second user who has been allocated an owner-like role. Fig.6 2041 owner-like role
[Claim 4] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the usage rule for the digital key represents at least one of functional permitted usage of the vehicle, temporal permitted usage of the vehicle, 2041 and/or spatial permitted usage of the vehicle.
[Claim 5] The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the functional permitted usage of the vehicle includes at least one of:
permitted usage regarding doors of the vehicle that are permitted to lock and unlock; Fig. 2 #12 Also para. 12 predetermined control may include a locking-unlocking control of locking or unlocking
permitted usage of driving functions of the vehicle;
permitted usage of an HMI (Human Machine Interface) function of the vehicle;
permitted usage regarding accessible content in the vehicle;
permitted usage of a maintenance function of the vehicle; and/or an extent to which a driving situation of the vehicle is sharable.
[Claim 6] The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the temporal permitted usage of the vehicle includes a usage-permitted period of time for the vehicle. Par.20; predetermined control may include a locking-unlocking control of locking or unlocking
[Claim 7] The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the spatial permitted usage of the vehicle includes a movable area in which the vehicle is permitted to be located. Fig.6 2041 permitted usage of all areas, 2042 does not permit in any area. 2041 and 2042 are spatial permitted per user.
[Claim 9] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to set content of the usage rule in accordance with a user-initiated request. Fig.6 2041 and 2042
[Claim 8] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the permitted usage of driving functions of the vehicle includes a maximum speed restriction of the vehicle.
Regarding Suzuki teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 The information processing apparatus according to claim 1; but does not explicitly teach the limitations of wherein the permitted usage of driving functions of the vehicle includes a maximum speed restriction of the vehicle.
However, Penilla teaches wherein the permitted usage of driving functions of the vehicle includes a maximum speed restriction of the vehicle. 14; the condition of use is one of a geographic restriction for where the vehicle is allowed to be used, or a speed restriction, or an occupancy restriction, or a time frame of use, or a time expiration of use, or combinations thereof.
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to share digital car keys using mobile devices such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
[Claim 10] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the digital key to the information processing terminal and transmit the usage rule information to the vehicle. Fig. 4
[Claim 11] The information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the usage rule information to the information processing terminal. Infor from Fig.6 is transmitted in Fig.4
[Claim 12] The information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the circuity is configured to create a key pair that includes authentication information to authenticate the digital key, and par. 90 FIG. 7 is a diagram for describing a transfer of the authentication information
the transmitter is configured to transmit the key pair to the vehicle. Fig.4 200b to 10
[Claim 13] The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is configured to set the usage rule based on a key mode identified Fig.6 2014 and 2042 in the request message Fig. 4 messages between 400 and 200a, the key mode being selected from one of a full control mode 2041, a share mode, and a non-driver mode. Markush Groupings
[Claim 14] The information processing apparatus according to claim 13, wherein, under a condition the full control mode is selected, the vehicle is operatable without restriction. Fig.6 #2041
[Claim 15] is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
Claim 21 The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the digital key is directly transmitted from the information processing apparatus to the vehicle and the information processing apparatus. Penilla 267; The electronic keys 650 can be transferred to the vehicle and verified by the vehicle or cloud services or both, before access is given to the guest. [the vehicle can only verify the key if it receives the key from a source other than the guest beforehand]
Claim 22 The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the usage rule information is directly transmitted from the information processing apparatus to the vehicle and the information processing apparatus. Pennilla 8; The privileges are defined for the unique access code, and the vehicle is configured to receive information from the server to authenticate the request by the mobile device [directly transmitted to the vehicle]. 49; receiving, at a server, a request to generate e-keys; The access code is transmitted [from the server] to the device of the recipient from the vehicle, such that the vehicle provides access for use to the device when the access code is used by the device having the device ID. The access code functions as the e-keys for the vehicle and the metadata includes privileges for use of the vehicle while using the e-keys. Also see 8-9, 44
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pehilla US 9365188 all claims 102
Wunsche US 10872252
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIHAR A KARWAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3664