DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Li fails to disclose a steel substrate material, the MXene/Ag applied to a steel mesh, or the deployment of any electrode material in a strongly alkaline geopolymer electrolyte.
The examiner finds applicants arguments to be unpersuasive. Primary reference Leppanen was used to teach the steel substrate of the positive electrode as previously claimed. Furthermore, claim 1 does not require a steel mesh and thus said argument is moot. Primary reference Leppanen was used to teach a strongly alkaline geopolymer electrolyte and Li further discloses KOH as an electrolyte used with the MXene/Ag electrode. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Secondly, applicant argues there would be no reasonable expectation of success in combining Leppanen with Li as the strong alkaline environment will cause potential oxidation of the steel mesh, chemical interaction of MXene with the alkaline pore solution and adhesion of the hybrid coating through curing are not addressed by Li. Applicant further argues the motivation provided is conclusory.
The examiner finds applicants arguments to be unpersuasive. Firstly, the claim does not require a steel mesh but only claims steel. Furthermore, Leppanen discloses a steel electrode in the strong alkaline environment and thus there is no lack of reasonable expectation of success. Li discloses the MXene/Ag is applied to a metal collecting foam and further discloses KOH as an electrolyte used with the MXene/Ag electrode and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success applying the MXene/Ag electrode material to the steel collector of Leppanen place in the strongly alkaline geopolymer electrolyte to obtain electrodes that have a high specific surface area and the device has good rate performance and long-term cycling stability. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Li explicitly states the MXene/Ag electrode material has a high surface area and allows for long-term cycling stability (i.e. good capacitance retention) and thus the motivation was not conclusory.
Furthermore, applicant argues Li fails to disclose the MXene/Ag incorporated into a cementitious or geopolymer mortar.
The examiner finds applicants arguments to be unpersuasive. Li discloses MXene/Ag active electrode material which is coated on a collector. Leppanen ‘249 discloses a cementitious or geopolymer mortar with an electrode incorporated therein. The combination (see below) teaches MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrid layers coated on steel collectors which are incorporated a cementitious or geopolymer mortar (electrolyte) and thus MXene is present in the cementitious or geopolymer mortar (electrolyte).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 & 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 5,
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the mortar" in line2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 8,
Claim 8 recites “preparing MXene and Ag nanoparticle hybrid-coated steel electrodes” & “placing two steel electrodes …” which causes the claim to be indefinite. It is unclear if the “MXene and Ag nanoparticle hybrid-coated steel electrodes” are meant to be the same as the “positive steel electrode and negative steel electrode, each coated with MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrids” recited in claim 1 or different additional electrodes. Furthermore, it is unclear if the “two steel electrodes” are referring to the “MXene and Ag nanoparticle hybrid-coated steel electrodes” recited earlier in the claim or additional steel electrodes and it is father unclear are meant to be the same as the “positive steel electrode and negative steel electrode, each coated with MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrids” recited in claim 1.
In regards to claim 9,
Claim 9 recites “a mortar paste”, “a positive steel electrode”, “a negative steel electrode”, “a rectangular mold” which causes the claim to be indefinite. Claim 1 from which claim 9 indirectly depends recite “a positive steel electrode” and “a negative steel electrode”, thus it is unclear if said recitations in claim 9 are meant to be the same as those of claim 1 or different elements. Furthermore, claim 8 from which claim 9 depends recites “conductive mortar as a paste” and “a mold” which causes confusion as it is unclear if the “mortar paste” is meant to be the same as the “conductive mortar as a paste” of claim 8 and if the “a rectangular mold” is meant to be the same as the “a mold” of claim 8.
In regards to claim 10,
Claim 10 recites “cutting steel” and “as-cut steel mesh” which causes the claim to be indefinite. It is unclear if the “steel” is the same as the steel recited in claim 8 from which claim 10 depends. Furthermore, “steel mesh” lacks antecedent basis as a steel mesh has not been previously mentioned.
Based on the numerous typographical/grammatical and antecedent basis errors in the claims, applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leppanen et al. (US 2021/0119249) in view of WO2020/075718A hereafter referred to as Torita and Ag-Nanoparticle-Decorated 2D Titanium Carbide (MXene) with Superior Electrochemical Performance for Supercapacitors hereafter referred to as Li.
In regards to claim 1,
Leppanen ‘249 discloses synthetic stone with capability to store electrical energy, which comprises geopolymers, prepared by a reaction of silica- and alumina-rich materials with alkali solutions ([0043-0056]), resulting in a geopolymer-cement matrix made of geopolymeric cementitious composites as an electrolyte (103 – fig. 1; [0016]), and at least one positive steel electrode (102 – fig. 1; [0016] & [0070]) and at least a negative electrode (101 – fig. 1; [0016]) immersed in the electrolyte, hereby providing an electricity storage function. Leppanen ‘249 fails to disclose the positive steel electrode is coated with MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrids and a steel negative electrode coated with MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrids.
Torita discloses the terminals of the capacitor can be aluminum or stainless steel ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the negative terminal of Leppanen ‘249 using stainless steel as taught by Torita as such a material is a known alternative to aluminum as taught by Torita.
Li discloses MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrids used for active electrode material in an electrochemical cell (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the electrodes of Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita with MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrid layers as taught by Li to obtain electrodes that have a high specific surface area and the device has good rate performance and long-term cycling stability.
In regards to claim 2,
Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita and Li further discloses wherein the geopolymer-cement matrix of claim 1 contains as additives one or more of a selection of poly carboxylate ether, retarder, lignosulfonate, ethylene- vinyl acetate, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, pigment, carbon black and MXene in order to improve and increase the output, particularly as to current and longevity ([0036] of Leppanen ‘249).
In regards to claim 4,
Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita and Li further discloses wherein the geopolymer-cement matrix of claim 1 is provided with microscopic pores and contains a preset number of free ions, which can move directionally to generate electric current ([0043-0056] of Leppanen ‘249).
In regards to claim 5,
Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita and Li further discloses wherein MXene is also present in the mortar to increase the electrical and mechanical properties of the stone and improved the capacity and pressure resistance (abstract of Li).
In regards to claim 8,
Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita and Li further discloses comprising these steps:
A) Preparing conductive mortar as a paste ([0043-0056] of Leppanen ‘249),
B) Preparing MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrid coated steel electrodes (abstract of Li & rejection of claim 1 above – steel electrodes taught by Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita),
C) Placing two steel electrodes in the mold (fig. 4 of Leppanen ‘249),
D) Pouring the conductive paste into the mold (fig. 4 of Leppanen ‘249),
E) Curing the conductive paste for 48 hours to obtain the solid synthetic stone supercapacitor (fig. 4; [0065-0066] of Leppanen ‘249),
In regards to claim 11,
Leppanen ‘249 as modified by Torita and Li further discloses se of a synthetic stone with capability to store electrical energy according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above) for erecting buildings and thereby providing the capacity for intermediate storage of electrical energy and releasing electrical energy on demand. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham. 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 & 6-7 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the geopolymer-cement matrix contains as fly ash and cement in an alkaline activator and gravel and sand, that is 20 grams fly ash, 25 grams cement and 5 grams of gravel and sand, wherein the alkaline activator consists of potassium silicate (K2SiO3) solution with SiO2 = 7.98 grams, KOH = 9.21 grams and H20 = 15 grams, and these additives: poly carboxylate ether = 0.25 gram, retarder = 0.01 gram, lignosulfonate = 0.2 gram, ethylene-vinyl acetate = 0.2 gram, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose = 0.1 gram and pigment = 0.5 gram and carbon black = 1.44 grams and MXene = 0.08 gram (claim 3), wherein the positive and negative steel electrodes of claim 1 are each coated with MXene and Ag nanoparticles hybrids, the coating prepared from LiF = 0.8 gram, HCl = 10 mL, Ti3AlC2 = 0.5 gram, Ag NPs = 0.03 mg/mL, steel mesh, and poly(ethylene terephthalate) film (claim 6), & wherein the each of the positive and negative steel electrodes is a steel mesh electrode having dimensions of 70 mm x 60 mm x 20 mm, and the positive steel electrode and the negative steel electrode are fixed in the geopolymer-cement matrix at a distance of 8 mm from each other (claim 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847