DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Hirata does not teach aqueous dispersion pH and conductivity features. This is not found persuasive because given that the hollow particles of Hirada are the same as claimed in present claim, it is noted that the hollow particles of Hirada would inherently have the same properties as presently claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirara et al. (WO 2020/066705) (see US 2022/0033628).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-7, Hirada discloses hollow particles comprising a shell (abstract) which contains a resin (abstract) and hollow portion surrounded by the shell (0045), wherein the hollow particles have a void ratio of 50% or more (0047), wherein the shell contains a polymer as the resin and a content of a crosslinkable monomer unit is 60% by mass or more in 100% by mass of all monomer units of the polymer (abstract). Given that the hollow particles of Hirada are the same as claimed in present claim, it is noted that the hollow particles of Hirada would inherently have the same properties as presently claim.
Regarding claim 2, Hirada discloses the hollow particles of claim 1, wherein a content of divinyl naphthalene, i.e. hydrocarbon monomer, is more than 50% by mass in 100% by mass of all the monomer units of the polymer (0075-0076).
Regarding claim 3, Hirada discloses the hollow particles of claim 1, wherein Hirada does not disclose a metal, it is clear that the metal content in the hollow particles of Hirada is 0.
Regarding claim 4, Hirada discloses the hollow particles of claim 1, wherein Hirada does not disclose surfactant present on a surface of the hollow particles. Alternatively, Hirada discloses surfactant as an optional component (0120).
Regarding claim 8, Hirada discloses the hollow particles of claim 1, wherein Hirada discloses a resin composition comprising the hollow particles and thermoplastic elastomer, i.e. matrix resin, (0011).
Regarding claim 9, Hirada discloses the hollow particles of claim 8, wherein resin molded body obtained from the resin composition (abstract).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787