DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 11/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/04/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 contains the limitation “wherein the intermediate layer further comprises a reflective index of at least 1.4” which is unclear. What is a reflective index and how is it measured? Is the claim intended to require a refractive index of at least 1.4? For the purpose of this Office Action, claim 2 will be treated as if it reads “wherein the intermediate layer comprises a material having a refractive index of at least 1.4”. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claims 3 and 4 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor et al. (US 2020/0357945, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Taylor discloses a thermophotovoltaic device (Figure 1 and abstract) comprising:
an emitter (heat source 104) for emitting photons towards a receiver (converter 110) ([35] and [39]);
an intermediate layer (fiber refractory waveguide 106) comprising a thermal insulating material (sapphire fibers) with a low thermal conductivity of at most 1.4 W/m-K ([36]), the intermediate layer (106) positioned between the emitter (104) and the receiver (110) (Figure 1 and [33]); and
the receiver (converter 110) comprising a photovoltaic cell (TPV device) configured to convert at least a portion of the photons into electric energy ([25]-[26] and [39]).
Regarding claim 2, Taylor discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Taylor additionally discloses that the intermediate layer further comprises a material having a refractive index of at least 1.4 ([38], layer 108 can be interpreted as part of the intermediate layer and has a refractive index of 5.7 or 1.45).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Holzner et al. (US 2015/0207008) as evidenced by Plissonnier et al. (US 2011/0083711).
Regarding claim 1, Holzner discloses a thermophotovoltaic device in Figures 8A-8B comprising:
an emitter (spectral shaper 3 reads on an “emitter”, [44]) for emitting photons (electromagnetic radiation, [16]-[18]) towards a receiver (photovoltaic cell 7) ([58]-[59]);
an intermediate layer (heat conduction barrier layer 4 can be aerogel, [59]) comprising a thermal insulating material with a low thermal conductivity of at most 1.4 W/m-K (aerogel has a thermal conductivity of less than 0.2 W/m-K, as evidenced by Plissonnier, [28]),
the intermediate layer (4) positioned between the emitter (3) and the receiver (7) (Figures 8A-8B); and
the receiver (photovoltaic cell 7) comprising a photovoltaic cell configured to convert at least a portion of the photons into electric energy ([58]-[59] and [18]).
Regarding claim 7, Holzner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Holzner additionally discloses that an emitter interface between the intermediate layer and the emitter comprises a surface with a nanometer-scale roughness ([44], nanostructured filter layer reads on emitter interface comprising a surface with nanometer-scale roughness).
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aixala et al. (EP 334032A1, see English machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Aixala discloses a thermophotovoltaic device (Figure 5 and [1]) comprising:
an emitter (pads 10 emit infrared flux, [61]-[65] and [82]-[84]) for emitting photons towards a receiver (III-V thermophotovoltaic cell layer 1, [61] and [87]);
an intermediate layer (substrate 12) comprising a thermal insulating material (glass, [85]) with a low thermal conductivity of at most 1.4 W/m-K (glass necessarily has the claimed thermal conductivity, see discussion below regarding material properties),
the intermediate layer (substrate 12) positioned between the emitter (10) and the receiver (1) (Figure 5); and
the receiver (1) comprising a photovoltaic cell configured to convert at least a portion of the photons into electric energy ([61] and [87]).
The intermediate layer (12) of Aixala is made of glass ([85]) which is the same material as the intermediate layer claimed (claim 4) and disclosed in the instant specification ([19]-[20]), thus it will necessarily display the claimed properties of “a thermal insulating material with a low thermal conductivity of at most 1.4 W/m-K”.
As discussed in MPEP 2112.01, “When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Additionally, if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present”.
Regarding claim 2, Aixala discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Aixala additionally discloses that the intermediate layer further comprises a material having a refractive index of at least 1.4 (glass has a refractive index of 1.5).
Regarding claim 3, Aixala discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Aixala additionally discloses that the intermediate layer (12) comprises a substantially infrared and visible spectrum-transparent material (glass, [85], [44] and Figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Aixala discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Aixala additionally discloses that the intermediate layer (12) comprises glass ([85]).
Regarding claim 7, Aixala discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Aixala additionally discloses an emitter interface between the intermediate layer (intermediate layer can be interpreted as including layers 2 and 12) and the emitter (10) comprises a surface with a nanometer-scale roughness (The surface of the emitter facing toward the intermediate layer has a nanometer scale pattern, Figure 1, [61], [81]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aixala et al. (EP 334032A1, see English machine translation provided), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Greiff et al. (US 2010/0319749).
Regarding claim 5, Aixala discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Aixala does not disclose that a receiver interface between the intermediate layer and the receiver comprises optical epoxy.
Greiff discloses a thermophotovoltaic device in Figure 2 comprising an emitter (1), a receiver (PV cell 2) and an intermediate layer (window layer 3) between the emitter (1) and the receiver (2) ([20]), wherein a receiver interface (adhesive layer 4) between the intermediate layer (3) and the receiver (2) comprises optical epoxy ([23]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an optical epoxy between the intermediate layer and the receiver of Aixala, as taught by Greiff, in order to form a secure bond between the receiver and the intermediate layer without voids, cracking or delamination (Grieff, [22]-[23]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aixala et al. (EP 334032A1, see English machine translation provided), as applied to claim 1 above, Jeong et al. (US 2011/0244692).
Regarding claim 6, Aixala discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Aixala does not disclose that a receiver interface between the intermediate layer and the receiver comprises a first nano-pattern fabricated on a surface of the receiver and a second interconnecting nano-pattern on a surface of the intermediate layer.
Jeong discloses that nanopatterning surfaces in a photovoltaic cell can increase the light absorption in the device ([117]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a first nano-pattern fabricated on a surface of the receiver and a second interconnecting nano-pattern on a surface of the intermediate layer to the receiver interface between the receiver and the intermediate layer of Aixala, as taught by Jeong, because providing nano-texture to the interface layers can reduce the reflectivity and increase absorption in the device (Jeong, [89]-[92] and [117]).
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728