DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 11.5.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 16,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elez et al (WO2016063094A1), hereinafter Elez in view of Mclean (US20160013744A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Elez discloses (Figs 3-4) a system, comprising:
a electric motor [Abstract discloses AC machines and motor are reversible with same structure] , comprising:
a rotor (20) including a motor shaft (20) delineating a rotational axis (rotational axis of 20);
a stator (10) concentrically (Fig 3) disposed about the rotor, the stator including a stator core (10c) and a plurality of stator slots (10s) disposed radially into an inner cylindrical stator surface (Figs 3-4) of the stator core;
a plurality of primary coils (Figs 3-4 is a generator, so coils are inherent) formed from first conductive windings (generator coils),
an insulating component (40 which is airgap) disposed between the plurality of primary coils (generator coils) and a plurality of auxiliary coils (52) and configured to be an insulation barrier between (airgap) the plurality of primary coils and a plurality of auxiliary coils;
the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) formed from second conductive windings (52 Is conductor) and coupled (magnetic coupling between rotor and stator also magnetically couples 52) to the stator; and
one or more accessory devices [Abstract discloses “ powering electronic circuitry built into rotor (20) of synchronous AC machine to diagnose, control and report the status of said AC machine”] electrically connected to the plurality of auxiliary coils,
wherein the plurality of primary coils (generator coils) generate a magnetic field based on receiving power (rotor is mechanically driven by external source as it is a generator) from an external power source (Figs 3-4 relate to a generator in Page 11, 4th para from top and generator and motor have same structure), wherein the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) harvests energy from the plurality of primary coils (20w) and provides the harvested energy to the one or more accessory devices, and wherein the harvested energy comprises an induced current or voltage (52 is a planar inductive member) caused by the generated magnetic field of the plurality of primary coils. Elez does not explicitly disclose a polyphase motor wherein the plurality of primary coils are located within the plurality of stator slots.
Mclean discloses (Fig 5) a polyphase [Para 0025] motor (generator and motor are reversible and have same structure) wherein the plurality of primary coils (34) are located within the plurality of stator slots (38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez with polyphase winding structure of stator with slots having primary windings as taught by Mclean in order to have a functional generator structure as is well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 2, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein the poly-phase electric motor further comprises: an air gap (Elez, 40) disposed between the rotor (20) and the stator (10), and wherein the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) are disposed within the air gap (Figs 3A,4) of the poly-phase electric motor.
Regarding Claim 4, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein the poly-phase electric motor further comprises: a printed circuit board (PCB) (Elez, 55, 52,51) comprising the plurality of auxiliary coils (52), wherein the PCB is coupled to a side of the air gap (40).
Regarding Claim 5, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 4. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses (Elez, Fig 7,7A) wherein the plurality of auxiliary coils comprise a number of the turns (3 and 5), and wherein an average area for each of the number of turns follows an inequality of: N*A > 0.02, where N is the number of turns and A is the average area in square meters for each of the number of turns (Using Fig 7A and Tables in Page 13, the average area for each of the number of turns = 5*.008*.147 =.0059. However Para 0082 recites chosen dimensions are merely an example and there is no special affect and other dimensions are possible. Therefore choice of N*A is a Result Effective Variable wherein the dimensions can be chosen based on the characteristics of output required. For e.g., increasing number of turns will increase voltage and vice versa. Increasing the area will also have similar effect as more lines of magnetic flux will interact and vice versa and therefore it is within the skill of the ordinarily skilled artisan to come up with optimal values based on requirements (MPEP 2144.05II(B)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with dimension choice of auxiliary winding as further taught by Elez in order to have required output characteristics from the auxiliar winding as per design choice based on experimentation.
Regarding Claim 6, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein the one or more accessory devices comprise one or more sensors and a rectifier, wherein the one or more sensors are solely powered by the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils (Elez,52) [Page 15 3rd para discloses “generated waveform is converted to be used as the DC power necessary for the electronic circuitry of the smart rotor, and simultaneously to be used as a probe for diagnostic purposes” Fig 18 cited is AC waveform and the conversion to DC is done with a rectifier].
Regarding Claim 7, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 6. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses further comprising: a controller configured to:receive sensor information from the one or more sensors; and display information associated with the sensor information (Claim 1 of Elez discloses “induced current waveforms picked from one or more inductive members (50) in order to diagnose, control and report the status of said AC machine”).
Regarding Claim 16, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein a first stator slot (Elez, 10s), of the plurality of stator slots, comprises: a first subset of primary coils (Elez, generator coils) of the plurality of primary coils; the insulating component (40 which is airgap) disposed between the plurality of primary coils and the plurality of auxiliary coils (52); and a second insulating component (51) disposed between the rotor (20) and the stator (10) and configured to be an insulation barrier between (Figs 3A,4) the rotor and the stator.
Regarding Claim 20, Elez discloses (Figs 3-4) a electric motor [Abstract discloses AC machines and motor are reversible with same structure], comprising:
a rotor (20) including a motor shaft (20) delineating a rotational axis (rotational axis of 20);
a stator (10) concentrically (Fig 3) disposed about the rotor, the stator including a stator core (10c) and a plurality of stator slots (10s) disposed radially into an inner cylindrical stator surface (Figs 3-4) of the stator core;
a plurality of primary coils (Figs 3-4 is a generator, so coils are inherent) formed from first conductive windings (generator coils),
an insulating component (40 which is airgap) disposed between the plurality of primary coils (generator coils) and a plurality of auxiliary coils (52) and configured to be an insulation barrier between (airgap) the plurality of primary coils and a plurality of auxiliary coils;
the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) formed from second conductive windings (52 Is conductor) and coupled (magnetic coupling between rotor and stator also magnetically couples 52) to the stator; and
one or more accessory devices [Abstract discloses “ powering electronic circuitry built into rotor (20) of synchronous AC machine to diagnose, control and report the status of said AC machine”] electrically connected to the plurality of auxiliary coils,
wherein the plurality of primary coils (generator coils) generate a magnetic field based on receiving power (rotor is mechanically driven by external source as it is a generator) from an external power source (Figs 3-4 relate to a generator in Page 11, 4th para from top and generator and motor have same structure), wherein the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) harvests energy from the plurality of primary coils (20w) and provides the harvested energy to the one or more accessory devices, and wherein the harvested energy comprises an induced current or voltage (52 is a planar inductive member) caused by the generated magnetic field of the plurality of primary coils. Elez does not explicitly disclose a polyphase motor wherein the plurality of primary coils are located within the plurality of stator slots.
Mclean discloses (Fig 5) a polyphase [Para 0025] motor (generator and motor are reversible and have same structure) wherein the plurality of primary coils (34) are located within the plurality of stator slots (38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez with polyphase winding structure of stator with slots having primary windings as taught by Mclean in order to have a functional generator structure as is well known in the art.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elez in view of Mclean and Propp et al (US20200041571A1), hereinafter Propp.
Regarding Claim 8, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 6. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein the poly-phase electric motor comprises wherein the external accessory device (Abstract discloses “ powering electronic circuitry built into rotor (20)) is powered solely using the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) but does not explicitly disclose further comprises: a wire terminal box, wherein the wire terminal box comprises: a plurality of first leads configured to provide poly-phase power to the plurality of primary coils; and a user-accessible power port configured to receive the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils, wherein the system further comprises: an external accessory device electrically connected to the user-accessible power port.
Propp discloses (Figs 1-2)[Para 0014] a wire terminal box (“conduit box”), wherein the wire terminal box comprises: a plurality of first leads (0014 discloses conduit box has controller 112 which is inherently connected to primary coils) discloses configured to provide poly-phase power to the plurality of primary coils (222); and a user-accessible power port [0012 discloses 112 has USB) configured to receive (Fig 2) the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils (226), wherein the system further comprises: an external accessory device (114) [0012] electrically connected to the user-accessible power port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with wire terminal box related features as taught by Propp in order to have a convenient way to make all electrical connections in a single place for maintenance reasons.
Regarding Claim 9, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein the poly-phase electric motor comprises wherein the external accessory device (Abstract discloses “ powering electronic circuitry built into rotor (20)) is powered solely using the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils (52) but does not explicitly disclose further comprises: a wire terminal box, wherein the wire terminal box comprises: a plurality of first leads configured to provide poly-phase power to the plurality of primary coils; and a user-accessible power port configured to receive the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils, wherein the system further comprises: an external accessory device electrically connected to the user-accessible power port.
Propp discloses (Figs 1-2)[Para 0014] a wire terminal box (“conduit box”), wherein the wire terminal box comprises: a plurality of first leads (0014 discloses conduit box has controller 112 which is inherently connected to primary coils) discloses configured to provide poly-phase power to the plurality of primary coils (222); and a user-accessible power port [0012 discloses 112 has USB) configured to receive (Fig 2) the harvested energy from the plurality of auxiliary coils (226), wherein the system further comprises: an external accessory device (114) [0012] electrically connected to the user-accessible power port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with wire terminal box related features as taught by Propp in order to have a convenient way to make all electrical connections in a single place for maintenance reasons.
Regarding Claim 10, Elez in view of Mclean and Propp discloses the system of claim 9. Elez in view of Mclean and Prop does not explicitly disclose wherein the user-accessible power port is a universal serial bus (USB).
Propp further discloses wherein the user-accessible power port is a universal serial bus (USB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with wire terminal box having USB port as further taught by Propp in order to have a convenient way to charge remote devices such as smart phone.
Regarding Claim 11, Elez in view of Mclean and Propp discloses the system of claim 9. Elez in view of Mclean and Prop does not explicitly disclose wherein the USB is configured to five volts (V) of direct current (DC) to the external accessory device or an internal accessory device that is within the poly-phase electric motor.
Propp further discloses [0016] wherein the USB is configured to five volts (V) of direct current (DC) to the external accessory device or an internal accessory device that is within the poly-phase electric motor [001 discloses 206 providing stable 5VDC and Fig 2 discloses 206 connected to 208.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean and Propp with wire terminal box having USB port supplying 5V as further taught by Propp in order to have a convenient way to charge remote devices such as smart phone.
Regarding Claim 12, Elez in view of Mclean and Propp discloses the system of claim 9. Elez in view of Mclean and Prop does not explicitly disclose wherein the user-accessible power port is configured to provide alternating current (AC) to the external accessory device.
Propp further discloses [0012] wherein the user-accessible power port (208) is configured to provide alternating current (AC) to the external accessory device [0012 discloses wireless hardware interface wherein communication is alternating waveform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean and Propp with AC output as further taught by Propp in order to have a convenient way to wirelessly communicate with external devices as required.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elez in view of Mclean and JPS5751072U English translation, hereinafter JP072.
Regarding Claim 13, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein a first stator slot (Elez,10s) of the plurality of stator slots, comprises: a first subset of primary coils of the plurality of primary coils (Figs 3-4 is a generator, so coils are inherent); and the insulating component (40 is an airgap) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulating component is a slot wedge that comprises the plurality of auxiliary coils.
JP072 discloses (Fig 5) wherein the insulating component (molded component) is a slot wedge (9) that comprises the plurality of auxiliary coils (10)(Even though JP072 does not explicitly disclose 10 is magnetically coupled, it will be natural to have induced magnetism as it in the magnetic flux field of the electric machine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with slot wedge having auxiliary coils as taught by JP072 in order to have a convenient way to package the auxiliary coil in the airgap.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elez in view of Mclean and Wan et al(US20130156071A1), hereinafter Wan.
Regarding Claim 14, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein a first stator slot (Elez,10s) of the plurality of stator slots, comprises: a first subset of primary coils of the plurality of primary coils (Figs 3-4 is a generator, so coils are inherent); and the insulating component (40 is an airgap) but does not explicitly disclose, wherein the insulating component is a slot liner that comprises the plurality of auxiliary coils.
Wan discloses (Fig 3) wherein the insulating component (62,64) is a slot liner (31) that comprises the plurality of auxiliary coils (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with slot liner having auxiliary coils as taught by Wan in order to have a convenient way to package the auxiliary coil at a location where temperature measurement is required.
Regarding Claim 15, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean further discloses wherein a first stator slot (Elez,10s) of the plurality of stator slots, comprises: a first subset of primary coils of the plurality of primary coils (Figs 3-4 is a generator, so coils are inherent); and the insulating component (40 is an airgap) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulating component is a printed circuit board (PCB) that comprises the plurality of auxiliary coils.
Wan discloses (Fig 3) wherein the insulating component (62,64) is a printed circuit board (PCB)(31) that comprises the plurality of auxiliary coils (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with insulating component being a PCB having auxiliary coils as taught by Wan in order to have a convenient way to package the auxiliary coil at a location where temperature measurement is required.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elez in view of Mclean and McConkey (US20190234227A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Elez in view of Mclean discloses the system of claim 1. Elez in view of Mclean does not explicitly disclose wherein the poly-phase electric motor further comprises one or more batteries and/or one or more super capacitors.
McConkey discloses (Figs 1,3) electric motor (motor and generator are reversible) further comprises one or more batteries and/or one or more super capacitors (122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean with batteries as taught by McConkey in order to have a convenient way to continuously power sensor with DC power.
Regarding Claim 18, Elez in view of Mclean and McConkey discloses the system of claim 17. Elez in view of Mclean and McKonkey does not explicitly disclose electric motor further comprises an internal compartment that houses the one or more accessory devices as well as the one or more batteries and/or the one or more super capacitors.
McConkey further discloses (Fig 1) an internal compartment (34 inside) that houses the one or more accessory devices (36) as well as the one or more batteries (122) and/or the one or more super capacitors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean and McConkey with internal compartment housing accessories and battery as further taught by McConkey in order to protect them from the outside environment.
Regarding Claim 19, Elez in view of Mclean and McConkey discloses the system of claim 17. Elez in view of Mclean and McKonkey does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of auxiliary coils are configured to charge and/or re-charge the one or more batteries and/or the one or more super capacitors.
McConkey further discloses (Fig 3) wherein the plurality of auxiliary coils (130 in Fig 3) are configured to charge and/or re-charge [0021] the one or more batteries (122) and/or the one or more super capacitors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Elez in view of Mclean and McConkey with rechargeable battery as further taught by McConkey in order to have a convenient way to continuously power sensor with DC power without replacement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites “The system of claim 2, wherein a first stator slot, of the plurality of stator slots, comprises: a first subset of primary coils of the plurality of primary coils; and the insulating component, wherein the insulating component is a slot liner and is configured to be the insulation barrier between the plurality of primary coils and the plurality of auxiliary coils within the air gap as well as be an insulation barrier between the rotor and the stator”. In Elez, there is no explicit disclosure of slot liner with above limitations. Wan discloses slot liner as shown above however it does not read on “as well as be an insulation barrier between the rotor and the stator”. Therefore claim 3 is allowable.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834