DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 21-33) in the reply filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Fonseca does not teach the sound dampening of a composite loss factor of at least 0.1 at 200 Hz at a temperature from 0 to 60 C. This is not found persuasive because the composition in Fonesca is a sound dampening composition and as such, would inherently have the desired composite loss factor. Claims 34-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is drawn to a “polymer emulsion” composition. The limitation “emulsion” implies that it is in an aqueous, liquid form which can be pumped into reactors as noted in the examples. However, the composite loss factor is a property of a coating on the surface of a substrate which is not the initial polymer emulsion composition. The examiner suggests amending the last line to something like – “wherein when the polymer emulsion composition is coated onto a substrate, the coating provides a composite loss factor..”
Regarding claim 22, the emulsion composition cannot have a glass transition temperature; usually only polymers have glass transition temperatures. The examiner suggests amending “emulsion composition” to read “the at least one block copolymer”.
Regarding claims 23-36, the examiner suggests amending “wherein the” to read “wherein the at least one block copolymer”; otherwise there is no subject for the molecular weights and distribution properties.
Regarding claim 25, please amend “275,00” to read “275,000”
Regarding claim 27, for consistency in antecedent basis, please amend “the copolymer” to read “the at least one block copolymer”.
Regarding claim 28, for consistency in antecedent basis, please amend “the polymer” to read “the at least one block copolymer”.
The remaining claims are rejected for being dependent upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 27-30 and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca et al (US 2012/0043493) in view of Grunwell (US 4,783,300) with evidence provided by Bruhn et al (US 2004/0087721).
Regarding claim 21, Fonseca teaches a polymer emulsion composition comprising: at least one block copolymer (page 4), a chain transfer agent ([0026]), a surfactant ([0021]). This material is made into a film (Examples). Fonesca teaches that this material is a sound deadener (Abstract), however fails to explicitly teach the recited composite loss factor.
Grunwell teaches that composite loss factor of a film increases with increasing thickness (figure 7) with composite loss factors of 0.1 and greater.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer composition of Fornseca and adjust the thickness of the film to achieve the desired composite loss factor at required frequency and temperature. As evidenced by Bruhn, the higher the composite loss factor, the greater the sound dampening and a composite loss factor is preferably 0.1 or greater ([0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 22, Fonseca teaches that the polymer has a glass transition temperature of -60 to 60 C ([0004]).
Regarding claims 27-28, Fonesca teaches that the copolymer is an acrylic copolymer ([0016]) made from the esters of acrylic acid ([0016]).
Regarding claim 29, Fonesca teaches that the chain transfer agent is present in the amount from 0 to 0.8 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the monomer ([0026]). Given that the monomers produce solids in the amount which range from 5 to 20% of the composition ([0036]), the amount of the chain transfer agent overlaps the claimed amount.
Regarding claim 30, Fonesca teaches that the chain transfer agent is a tert-dodecyl mercaptan ([0026]).
Regarding claim 32, Fonesca teaches that the surfactant can be a fatty alcohol ethoxylates ([0021]).
Regarding claim 33, Fonesca teaches that the composition further comprises a filler ([0037]).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca et al (US 2012/0043493) in view of Grunwell (US 4,783,300) and Desai et al (US 6,531,541) with evidence provided by Bruhn et al (US 2004/0087721).
The discussion regarding Fonseca, Grunwell and Bruhn in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 23, Fonseca fails to teach the number average molecular weight of the copolymer.
Desai teahes an aqueous dispersion which incorporates a polymer which has a number average molecular weight of 1,000 to 50,000 (col. 7, lines 20-30).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the polymer of Fonseca have the molecular weight as taught by Desai. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve the expected benefit of using a polymer appropriate for sound deadening applications (Desai, Abstract).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca et al (US 2012/0043493) in view of Grunwell (US 4,783,300) and Dimmer et al (US 2016/0311381) with evidence provided by Bruhn et al (US 2004/0087721).
The discussion regarding Fonseca, Grunwell and Bruhn in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 24, Fonseca fails to teach the weight-average molecular weight of the copolymer.
Dimmer teaches a polymer dispersion for producing sound deadening composition. The polymer in the dispersion has a weight average molecular weight of more than 100,000 to 300,000 ([0001]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the copolymer of Fonseca have the weight average molecular weight as taught by Dimmer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of significantly lower water absorption when used in sound deadener compositions (Dimmer, [0038]).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca et al (US 2012/0043493) in view of Grunwell (US 4,783,300) with evidence provided by Bruhn et al (US 2004/0087721) and Arfaei et al (US 4,656,115).
The discussion regarding Fonseca, Grunwell and Bruhn in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 26, it is noted that the polymer in Fonseca is made by emulsion polymerization ([0021]). As evidenced by Arfaei, a typical polydispersion for an emulsion polymerization is 2.1 (col 5, lines 35-40) which is less than the recited 10.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca et al (US 2012/0043493) in view of Grunwell (US 4,783,300) and Yasui et la (WO 2007/034933) with evidence provided by Bruhn et al (US 2004/0087721).
The discussion regarding Fonseca, Grunwell and Bruhn in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 31, Fonseca fails to teach the amount of the surfactant present in the composition.
Yasui teaches that the surfactant is present in the amount of 0.3 to 10 parts by weight per 100 parts of the monomer (page 16, lines 15-25)
Given that the monomers produce solids in the amount which range from 5 to 20% of the composition (Fonesca, [0036]), the amount of the surfactant overlaps the claimed amount.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surfactant of Fonesca be in the amount as taught by Yasui. One would have been motivated to do so in order because Fonesca directs one to do so in paragraph [0029]).
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764