DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/05/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “preprocessing unit” and “calculation unit” in claims 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sontacchi et al. (US 20160353202 A9).
Regarding claim 1: Sontacchi teaches a device for reducing noise when reproducing an audio signal with a near-head audio output device, in particular headphones or a hearing aid (Fig. 5: Headphone with an earpiece 1), with
at least one sensor for detecting a sensor signal based on ambient sound and/or structure-borne sound (Fig. 5: Microphone 2 to sense outside noises);
a preprocessing unit for preprocessing the sensor signal or the sensor signals, wherein the preprocessing unit carries out filtering and/or summation for active noise suppression, active suppression of the occlusion effect and/or an ambient mode (Fig. 5: digitally simulated secondary path S reads on the claimed preprocessing unit);
a filter bank for dividing the sensor signal or the output signal of the preprocessing unit into frequency bands using a plurality of filters (Fig. 5: a first filter bank includes several analog filters H1 . . . Hn and a second filter bank includes several analog filters Ḣ1…Ḣn ; also see para [0025] and [0029]);
one or more calculation units for calculating weighting factors for the individual frequency bands, the weighting factors being calculated based on a measure of the signal of the sensor or the output signal of the preprocessing unit in the respective frequency band and a measure of the noise signal of the sensor or the output signal of the preprocessing unit in silence in this frequency band (Fig. 5: logic implementing a LMS algorithm block reads on the claimed calculation unit and para [0030]);
multipliers, by means of which the individual frequency bands are multiplied by the associated calculated weighting factors (Fig. 5: voltage-controlled amplifiers 4 applying weight factors W generated by LMS to each individual frequency band reads on the claimed multipliers; also see para [0030]);
an adder, by means of which the weighted output signals of the filter bank are summed to form an overall output signal (Fig. 5: adder 5 and para [0030]); and
an output unit for outputting a compensation signal based on the overall output signal (Fig. 5: Speaker 3 and para [0030]).
Regarding claim 2: Sontacchi teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the weighting factors are calculated based on the estimated power or standard deviation of the sensor signal or the output signal of the preprocessing unit in the respective frequency band and the estimated power or standard deviation of the noise signal of the sensor or the output signal of the preprocessing unit in silence in this frequency band (Fig. 5: LMS block generating weight factors W based on the output signal of the digitally simulated secondary path S and the error signal senses by the microphone 7 which considered as a denoised signal).
Regarding claim 9: Sontacchi teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises one or more internal microphones arranged in an earpiece for detecting a sound signal in the ear canal of a user and/or external microphones for detecting a sound signal outside the ear canal and/or acceleration sensors for detecting structure-borne sound which is transmitted to the earpiece via the ear canal, and the output unit comprises at least one loudspeaker (Fig. 5: microphone 7 to detect a sound signal in the ear canal of a user, microphone 2 to detect a sound signal outside the ear canal, and speaker 6).
Regarding claim 11: Sontacchi teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein it is integrated in a near-head audio output device, in particular a headphone or hearing aid (Fig. 5: all device components are integrated inside of earpiece 1).
Regarding claim 12: the device discussed in claim 1 above also supports this corresponding method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sontacchi et al. (US 20160353202 A9) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 10: Sontacchi teaches the device according to claim 1 but does not teach the filters of the filter bank are realized by cascaded biquadratic filters as low-pass, high-pass and/or band-pass filters.
However, it is well-known in the art that a filter bank is a set of filters that process different frequency bands of a signal, often used in multiband processing and commonly realized with cascaded biquadratic filters, each biquadratic section can be designed to have a specific frequency response (low-pass, high-pass, band-pass, peaking, etc.) and then combined to form a complete filter bank (Official Notice).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Sontacchi in view of Official Notice to have the filter bank realized by cascaded biquadratic filters as low-pass, high-pass and/or band-pass filters.
The motivation of the realization by biquadratic filters is allowing control over passband shape, stopband rejection, and peaking; stable implementation, low sensitivity to coefficient quantization. The motivation of cascading biquadratic filters is to reduce sensitivity to coefficient errors and allows independent tuning of each section.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The following is the list of prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
McCutcheon et al. (US 20220223133 A1)
Rosenkranz (EP 3565270 B1)
Thormundsson et al. (US 11030989 B2)
Christoph et al. (US 20160314778 A1)
Christoph (EP 2996111 A1)
Alves et al. (US 20120170766 A1)
Bakalos et al. (US 20110243344 A1)
Bakalos et al. (US 20100274564 A1)
Sheikhzadeh et al. (EP 1638079 A2)
/DAVID L TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695