DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/254886 in view of WO 2020/195675.
WO 2021/254886 discloses a damping material (11) for a vehicle floor comprising a polyurethan foam layer (7), as disclosed in paragraphs [0001] and [0123].
In reference to claim 13, the damping material is used in a vehicle. The vehicle can have an electric drive, as disclosed in paragraph [0002].
In reference to claim 14, the damping material is configured to control vibrations including low frequencies of 100-400 Hz, as disclosed in paragraphs [0002] and [0060].
In reference to claim 15, the damping material is configured to control vibrations including low frequencies of 100-400 Hz, as disclosed in paragraphs [0002] and [0060]. The damping material (11) is placed on a floor surface of a vehicle body, as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0001].
In reference to claim 17, the method can be used for the floor surface of an electric vehicle, as disclosed in paragraph [0001] and [0002]
WO 2020/195675 teaches a foam layer that has a 25% compressive hardness of 30 kPa, as disclosed in the translation:
The polyolefin-based resin foam sheet of the present invention preferably has a 25% compressive hardness specified in JIS K6767 (1999) in the range of 0.03 to 0.15 MPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the polyurethane foam layer of WO 2021/254886 with a 25% compressive hardness of 30 kPa, as taught by WO 2020/195675, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide sufficient strength and shock absorption.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of WO 2021/254886 and WO 2020/195675, as applied to claim 8, in view of JP 2013-047338.
WO 2021/254886, as modified, does not disclose the claimed material property.
JP 2013-047338 shows a characteristic diagram showing a relationship between stress and displacement in a test piece having a height of about 30 mm, for a plurality of examples of rigid polyurethane foam used in a portion in which quietness in a vehicle is desired to be increased. When the approximately straight line is drawn at a range of 0-3% in the compression strain (displacement 0 to 0.9 mm), the value of the stress at the compression strain of 3% falls within the range of 5.1 to 12 kPa, as shown in Figure 1. 3% of 170 kPa is 5.1 kPa and 3% of 400 kPa is 12 kPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the polyurethane foam layer of WO 2021/254886, as modified, with an average elastic modulus from 170 kPa to 400 kPa in a compressive strain range of 0 to 3%, as taught by JP 2013-047338, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide sufficient strength and damping.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of WO 2021/254886 and WO 2020/195675, as applied to claim 8, in view of JP 2021-194878.
WO 2021/254886, as modified, does not disclose the claimed material property.
JP 2021-194878 teaches a polyurethane foam sample of 200 mm by 200 mm. A 500 N load compresses the polyurethane foam 50%, as disclosed in paragraph [0048]. This equates to 12.5 kPa. Greater loads are disclosed, 650 to 1200 N, in paragraph [0048]. This equates to 16.25 to 30 kPa. This overlaps the claimed range of 20 to 50 kPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the polyurethane foam of WO 2021/254886, as modified, with a 50% compressive hardness from 20 kPa to 50kPa, as taught by JP 2021-194878, with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent a vehicle occupant’s foot from sinking into the flooring while providing sufficient damping.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of references, as applied to claim 10, in view of JP 2013-047338.
WO 2021/254886, as twice modified, does not disclose the claimed material property.
JP 2013-047338 shows a characteristic diagram showing a relationship between stress and displacement in a test piece having a height of about 30 mm, for a plurality of examples of rigid polyurethane foam used in a portion in which quietness in a vehicle is desired to be increased. When the approximately straight line is drawn at a range of 0-3% in the compression strain (displacement 0 to 0.9 mm), the value of the stress at the compression strain of 3% falls within the range of 5.1 to 12 kPa, as shown in Figure 1. 3% of 170 kPa is 5.1 kPa and 3% of 400 kPa is 12 kPa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the polyurethane foam layer of WO 2021/254886, as twice modified, with an average elastic modulus from 170 kPa to 400 kPa in a compressive strain range of 0 to 3%, as taught by JP 2013-047338, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide sufficient strength and damping.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of WO 2021/254886 and WO 2020/195675, as applied to claim 8, in view of JP 2021-194878.
WO 2021/254886, as modified, discloses a fiber layer, carpet (9), on the polyurethane foam layer (7).
However, WO 2021/254886, as modified, does not disclose the fiber layer is laminated to the foam layer.
JP 2021-194878 teaches laminating a fiber layer (30) to a polyurethane foam layer (20), as shown in Figures 1-3. An impregnation layer (34) that is impregnated with a raw material of the polyurethane foam layer and is cured is formed in at least a portion of the fiber layer facing the polyurethane foam layer, as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed in paragraph [0041] and [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to laminate the fiber layer to the polyurethane layer of WO 2021/254886, as modified, as taught by JP 2021-194878, with a reasonable expectation for success to secure the fiber layer to the polyurethan foam layer to prevent interference with vehicle control pedals and provide a smooth appearance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/0255755 provides additional disclosure of polyurethane material applied to a vehicle floor for damping.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 2, 2026