DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: Application filed on November 05,2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for Examination. Claims 1 and 10 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The specification fails to provide adequate written description for following claim limitations:1. The limitations of "preset motor parameter" lacks sufficient written description. While the specification mentions this parameter may comprise "an operation current value of the motor or a break-variable of current" (claims 2, 12), it fails to adequately describe what constitutes a "break-variable of current" or how this parameter is determined for different fastener types and working conditions. The specification does not provide examples, ranges, or specific values that would demonstrate possession of the full scope of this limitation.2. The specification fails to adequately describe how the "first preset time" and "second preset time" are determined based on "a time of releasing the fastener" as claimed. The disclosure provides no guidance on calculating these time periods for different fastener sizes, materials, or loading conditions, nor does it provide any examples or algorithms for determining appropriate time values.
Claims 1, 10, and dependent claims thereof are rejected under 112(a).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
1. Claims 1, 10, and dependent claims thereof recite "preset motor parameter" which is indefinite. It is unclear whether this parameter refers to current, voltage, torque, power, or some other measurable parameter. The specification's reference to "break-variable of current" (claims 2, 12) is not clearly defined and fails to provide objective boundaries for this limitation.
2. Claims 1, 10, and dependent claims thereof recite "first preset time" and "second preset time" which are indefinite. The claims fail to specify the duration of these time periods or how they are calculated for different operational scenarios. Without specific time values or calculation methods, one of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the scope of these limitations.
3. Claims 1, 10, and dependent claims thereof recite "slow braking signals of less than 100% duty cycle" which is indefinite. The term "slow braking" is a relative term that fails to provide objective criteria for determining what constitutes slow versus normal or fast braking. The specification's examples of "50% duty cycle" or "step duty cycle with gradual increase of 10% duty cycle" (¶[0041]) do not clarify the boundaries of what would constitute "slow braking" in all operational contexts.
4. Claims 5, 16, and dependent claims thereof recite "preset motor speed is greater than zero and less than the normal speed of the motor reversed" which is indefinite. The term "normal speed of the motor reversed" lacks objective definition and fails to specify what constitutes normal operating speed under varying load conditions, battery levels, or environmental factors.
5. Claims 8, 19, and dependent claims thereof recite "the lowest speed at which the motor can operate" which is indefinite. This term fails to define the minimum operational speed considering variables such as battery charge level, motor temperature, load conditions, and manufacturing tolerances that would affect the actual minimum operational speed.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 10, and dependent claims thereof invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
The following claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "control unit", "parameter detection unit", "speed detection unit", and "mode selection device".
These limitations use generic placeholders ("unit," "device") coupled with functional language without sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions. The specification fails to disclose corresponding structure for these units/devices, particularly for the algorithmic functions they perform. For example, the "control unit" performs complex decision-making algorithms including comparing parameters, determining timing conditions, and outputting control signals, but the specification fails to disclose the specific hardware, software, or algorithmic structure that performs these functions.
Because the specification fails to disclose corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions, and fails to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function, one of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the scope of these claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2023/0125520 A1 to Li et al. ("Li").
Regarding independent claim 1, Li discloses that a power tool comprising a housing, a motor arranged inside the housing (Fig.1, [0032] “The housing 11 forms an inner cavity, and an electric motor 111 is disposed in the inner cavity. ”), a driver unit configured to drive the motor, and a control unit electrically connected with the driver unit (Fig.2, 22 and [0033]),
wherein the control unit is electrically connected with a mode selection device (Fig. 2, 23 and [0066]), a parameter detection unit configured to detect operation parameters of the motor ([0033]: "The current detection device 25 is configured to acquire a current of the electric motor 111 in operation in real time."), and a speed detection unit configured to detect a speed of the motor ([0034]: "The speed detection device 24 is configured to detect an actual rotational speed of the electric motor 111."),
the mode selection device comprises at least one gear position of releasing a fastener, the control unit comprises a preset motor parameter, a preset motor speed, a first preset time, and a second preset time ([0040]: "The control device 23 compares the real-time rotational speed with a preset target rotational speed.", [0081]: "The control device 23 acquires the rotational speed of the electric motor through the speed detection device 24, acquires a rotational speed variation according to the rotational speed, and turns off the electric motor when the detected rotational speed variation is less than a rotational speed variation threshold.") ,
wherein the first preset time and the second preset time are set based on a time of releasing the fastener; the preset motor parameter, the preset motor speed, the first preset time, and the second preset time are configured to release the fastener ([0081]: "When the electric motor is in the start-up stage, the control device 23 acquires the rotational speed of the electric motor through the speed detection device 24, acquires a rotational speed variation according to the rotational speed, and turns off the electric motor when the detected rotational speed variation is less than a rotational speed variation threshold." ¶[0080] discusses timing considerations during locking/fastening operations.),
at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the parameter detection unit detects the operation parameters of the motor and compares the operation parameters of the motor detected by the parameter detection unit with the preset motor parameter ([0046]: "The control device 23 acquires the current of the electric motor, compares the current of the electric motor with a first current threshold."), when the operation parameters of the motor detected by the parameter detection unit are continuously less than the preset motor parameter within the first preset time ([0081]: "Turns off the electric motor when the detected rotational speed variation is less than a rotational speed variation threshold."), the control unit outputs slow braking signals of less than 100% duty cycle to the drive unit to control the motor to brake slowly and continue running up to the second preset time, after the second preset time ([0046]: "The first control signal is configured to be a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal with a first duty cycle D1. The first duty cycle D1 is configured to be a variable." [0055]: "The control device 23 turns off the electric motor when detecting that the current of the electric motor is greater than or equal to the first current threshold, the electric motor is started at the beginning of a next switching cycle."), after the second preset time, the control unit receives the speed of the motor detected by the speed detection unit and controls the motor to maintain at the preset motor speed ([0040]: "When the real-time rotational speed of the electric motor is less than or equal to the preset target rotational speed, the electric motor is set to be in a start-up stage; and when the real-time rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the preset target rotational speed, the electric motor is set to be in an operation stage.", And [0047]: "The first duty cycle D1 is adjusted through the change of the current of the electric motor, so as to ensure that the electric motor has relatively stable output.").
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses that wherein the preset motor parameter pre-stored in the control unit comprise an operation current value of the motor or a break-variable of current, the break-variable of current is a current variable quantity of the motor in a process from being installed with a load to the load being removed (¶[0046]: "The control device 23 acquires the current of the electric motor, compares the current of the electric motor with a first current threshold.").
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses that wherein the driving unit comprises an upper bridge arm and a lower bridge arm, when the driving unit receives the slow braking signals, the lower bridge arm is turned on and the upper bridge arm is turned off (Fig.2, 22).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses that wherein the slow braking signals is a fixed duty cycle less than 100% or a variable duty cycle less than 100% ([0046]: "The first control signal is configured to be a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal with a first duty cycle D1. The first duty cycle D1 is configured to be a variable.").
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses that wherein at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the control unit comprises a normal speed of the motor reversed, the preset motor speed is greater than zero and less than the normal speed of the motor reversed([0069]: "Generally, the larger a triggering stroke of the trigger switch 14, the greater the rotational speed of the electric motor. When the electric motor is in a load-free state, the trigger switch 14 is controlled so that the electric motor operates under multiple rotational speed gears.").
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses that wherein the control unit comprises a duty cycle corresponding to the preset motor speed, when the speed of the motor is lower than the preset motor speed, the control unit increases the duty cycle of signals outputted to the drive unit, to maintain the motor at the preset motor speed ([0047]: "The first duty cycle D1 is adjusted through the change of the current of the electric motor, so as to ensure that the electric motor has relatively stable output.").
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses that wherein when the speed of the motor is higher than the preset motor speed, the control unit decreases the duty cycle of the signals outputted to the drive unit, to maintain the motor at the preset motor speed. ([0053]: "In S15, the first duty cycle D1 is reduced and then step S14 is performed." And [0060]: "In S24, the electric motor is turned off until the next switching cycle.").
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses that wherein when the motor speed is zero and the motor is stopped running, the control unit restarts the motor, and outputs signals with a preset duty cycle to the drive unit, to maintain the motor at the preset motor speed ([0055]: "The electric motor is started at the beginning of a next switching cycle." And [0078]: "In S37, the electric motor is turned off.").
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses that wherein the control unit is further electrically connected with a positive-negative rotation switch, at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the control unit controls the motor to reverse after detecting signals from the positive-negative rotation switch ([0014]: "The control device is further electrically connected with a positive-negative rotation switch, at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the control device controls the motor to reverse after detecting signals from the positive-negative rotation switch.").
Regarding independent claim 10,Li et al. discloses that a control method applied to a power tool, wherein the power tool comprises a housing, a motor accommodated in the housing, a driver unit configured to drive the motor and a control unit electrically connected with the driver unit (Li et al. discloses all these components as mapped for claim 1),
the control unit is connected with a mode selection device, a parameter detection unit configured to detect operation parameters of the motor, and a speed detection unit configured to detect a speed of the motor(Li et al. discloses torque setting device (15), current detection device (25), and speed detection device (24) all connected to control device (23) ([0033]))
the mode selection device has at least one gear position of releasing a fastener"([0080])
the control unit comprises a preset motor parameter, a preset motor speed, a first preset time, and a second preset time, wherein the first preset time and the second preset time are set based on a time of releasing the fastener (preset parameters and timing based on operational conditions ([0081]))
the preset motor parameter, the preset motor speed, the first preset time, and the second preset time are configured to release the fastener(over-torque protection during locking operations ([0080]-[0081]))
the control method comprises: selecting the gear position of releasing a fastener(user selecting torque gear through torque setting device ([0066])
at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the parameter detection unit detects the operation parameters of the motor and compares the motor parameters detected by the parameter detection unit with the preset motor parameter (discloses current detection and threshold comparison ([0046]))
when the operation parameters of the motor detected by the parameter detection unit are continuously less than the preset motor parameter within the first preset time, the control unit outputs slow braking signals of less than 100% duty cycle to the drive unit to control the motor to slow brake and continue running up to the second preset time (discloses PWM control with duty cycles less than 100% and timing control ([0046], [0055], [0081]))
after the second preset time, the control unit receives the speed of the motor detected by the speed detection unit and controls the motor to maintain at the preset motor speed(discloses speed feedback control to maintain preset speeds ([0040], [0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses that wherein the upper bridge arm comprises a first switch tube, a second switch tube, and a third switch tube, the lower bridge arm comprises a fourth switch tube, a fifth switch tube, and a sixth switch tube, when the driving unit receives the slow braking signal, the first switching tube, the second switching tube, and the third switching tube are turned off, and the fourth switching tube, the fifth switching tube, and the sixth switching tube are turned on (discloses switching elements Q1-Q6 forming three-phase bridge with high-side/low-side configuration ([0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses that wherein the preset motor parameter of the motor pre-stored in the control unit comprise an operation current value of the motor or a break-variable of current, the break-variable of current is a current variable quantity of the motor in a process from being installed with a load to the load being removed ([0046], [0047))
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses that wherein the driving unit comprises an upper bridge arm and a lower bridge arm, when the driving unit receives the slow braking signals, the lower bridge arm is turned on and the upper bridge arm is turned off ( discloses high-side switches Q1, Q3, Q5 and low-side switches Q2, Q4, Q6 ([0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses that wherein the upper bridge arm comprises a first switch tube, a second switch tube, and a third switch tube, the lower bridge arm comprises a fourth switch tube, a fifth switch tube, and a sixth switch tube, when the driving unit receives the slow braking signal, the first switching tube, the second switching tube, and the third switching tube are turned off, and the fourth switching tube, the fifth switching tube, and the sixth switching tube are turned on (Q1-Q8 with control logic (¶[0037]-[0038])).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses that wherein the slow braking signals is a fixed duty cycle less than 100% or a variable duty cycle less than 100% ([0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses that wherein at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the control unit further comprises a normal speed of the motor reversed, the preset motor speed is greater than zero and less than the normal speed of the motor reversed ([0069]).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses that wherein the control unit comprises a duty cycle corresponding to the preset motor speed, when the speed of the motor is lower than the preset motor speed, the control unit increases the duty cycle of signals outputted to the drive unit, to maintain the motor at the preset motor speed ([0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses that wherein when the speed of the motor is higher than the preset motor speed, the control unit decreases the duty cycle of the signals outputted to the drive unit, to maintain the motor at the preset motor speed (([0053], -[0060])).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses that wherein when the motor speed is zero and the motor is stopped running, the control unit restarts the motor, and outputs signals with a preset duty cycle to the drive unit, to maintain the motor at the preset motor speed([0055]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses that wherein the control unit is further electrically connected with a positive-negative rotation switch, at the gear position of releasing the fastener, the control unit controls the motor to reverse after detecting signals from the positive-negative rotation switch ([0014]).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837