DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending and have been considered on the merits herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification discloses the microorganism Bacillus thuringiensis, currently the Specification cites the microorganism as “bacillus thuringiensis”. Microorganisms should be italicized and the genus capitalized to properly read “Bacillus thuringiensis”.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See paragraph (0013). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claims 1-3, the claims contain the microorganism Bacillus thuringiensis, currently the claims cite the microorganism as “bacillus thuringiensis”. Microorganisms should be italicized and the genus capitalized to properly read “Bacillus thuringiensis”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-6 refer to “The pest control composition of one of claim 1 or any one of claim 1”. The claims are indefinite, in that the recitation of “of one of claim 1 or any one of claim 1” is unclear. It is noted that the claims were amended to correct multiple dependent claims; however, the term “of one of claim 1 or any one of claim 1 should be deleted and the claims should read, “The pest control composition of claim 1…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0761096 (IDS) supported by Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications.
Regarding claim 1, EP0761096 teaches a biopesticide composition comprising Bacillus thuringiensis, a polymer, and water (p. 2, lines 52-p. 3, lines 1-35, 47-50, p. 5, lines 28-35). The polymer is disclosed to be formed of monomers and include polyacrylic acids or ester or carboxy derivatives thereof, copolymers of styrene and maleic anhydride and derivatives thereof, and insoluble in water which is used as the carrier of the composition (p. 4, lines 36-47).
*Applicants specification teaches that “(0014) Exemplary monomers for use in the polymer include, but are not limited to, diisobutylene (log P of 4.08), butyl methacrylate (log P of 2.75), butyl acrylate (log P of 2.20), methyl methacrylate (log P of 1.28), ethyl acrylate (log P of 1.22), 2-ethylehexyl acrylate (log P of 4.09), styrene (log P of 2.89), maleic anhydride (log P of 1.62), docosyl methacrylate (log P of 11.59), and combinations thereof.”
Therefore, the copolymers of EP096 would contain from 50-70 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of from 2-6, according to claims 1, 4, 5, when the copolymers are the disclosed styrene/maleic anhydride copolymer.
Regarding claim 2, the polymer is present in the composition in an amount of 0.5 wt%-about 25 wt% (p. 4, lines 55-56, p. 5, lines 58-p. 6, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, when looking to Ex. 1, composition C, for example, containing the polymer, B. thuringiensis and water; water is present in an amount of about 89.9% wt. of the total weight of the composition (p. 7). EP096 additionally teaches that the formulations are water dispersible and diluted in water before application and that the appropriate concentrations and dilutions in each case will depend on the nature of the pathogen to be controlled and the type of vegetation to be treated and will be ready apparent to those skilled in the art (p. 6, lines 47-50).
While the prior art reference does not teach the molecular weight of the polymer, i.e. 15,000 Daltons to 30,000 Daltons, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine the molecular weight of the styrene/maleic anhydride copolymer. It is known in the art that the MW of copolymers is dependent upon their molecular architecture, i.e. amount and arrangement of each monomer, and particularly the method of making the copolymer. For support see Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications. Therefore, methods of making polymers to obtain a polymer having a desired molecular weight for a particular use, is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0250908 (IDS).
EP908 teaches a pesticidal composition comprising B. thuringiensis (p.4, lines 30-48), a polymer and water.
Regarding claim 2, 4, 5, the polymer is disclosed to be copolymers of acrylic acid and methacrylic acid (p. 3, lines 38-54, specifically lines 49-54) present in the composition in amounts ranging from 5-99 wt% of the composition (p. 2, lines 45-50). The reference teaches the polymers 50MAA/50EA, 40MAA/60BA, 60MAA/40ST, 60MAA/40BD, 20AA/80EL, 50AA/50AM, 56MMA/20MAA/20EA, 56MMA/20MAA/24EA, wherein 50MAA/50EA represents a polymer having about 50% wt of MAA and 50%wt EA, for example (p. 10, Table 3). MAA-methacrylic acid, EA=ethyl acrylate, BA=butyl acrylate, ST=styrene, BD=butadiene, AA=acrylic acid, EL=ethylene, AM=acrylamide, MMA=methyl methacrylate.
*Applicants specification teaches that “(0014) Exemplary monomers for use in the polymer include, but are not limited to, diisobutylene (log P of 4.08), butyl methacrylate (log P of 2.75), butyl acrylate (log P of 2.20), methyl methacrylate (log P of 1.28), ethyl acrylate (log P of 1.22), 2-ethylehexyl acrylate (log P of 4.09), styrene (log P of 2.89), maleic anhydride (log P of 1.62), docosyl methacrylate (log P of 11.59), and combinations thereof.”
Therefore, the copolymers of EP908 contain from 50-70 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of from 2-6, and 90 wt% or greater of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of 1 or greater, according to claims 1, 4, 5, 6, when the copolymers are the disclosed 50MAA/50EA, 40MAA/60BA, 60MAA/40ST, 60MAA/40BD, 56MMA/20MAA/20EA, 56MMA/20MAA/24EA.
While the prior art reference does not teach the molecular weight of the polymer, i.e. 15,000 Daltons to 30,000 Daltons, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine the molecular weight of the styrene/maleic anhydride copolymer. It is known in the art that the MW of copolymers is dependent upon their molecular architecture, i.e. amount and arrangement of each monomer, and particularly the method of making the copolymer. For support see Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications. Therefore, methods of making polymers to obtain a polymer having a desired molecular weight for a particular use, is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0761096 (IDS) supported by Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Ganapatibhotla et al. US20210144938, Sakanishi et al. (US20210380554), and JP4652019.
The teachings of EP096 are found above.
The reference differs from the claimed invention of claim 6, in that it does not disclose a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride or a copolymer of butyl methacrylate and methacrylic acid.
Ganapatibhotla teaches an aqueous composition comprising a polymer, agricultural water (0037) and may include an insecticide or pesticide (abstract, 0041, 0044) to be applied to plants (0001-0005, 0047, 0048). The composition and polymers used therein are effective in increasing water retention and retaining nutrients to help plants grow, germinate and remain viable (0008) and fixing particles to reduce erosion (0011). The polymers are taught to be dispersion of acrylic copolymers and include structural monomers, including methacrylic acid, acrylic acid, maleic acid, carboxylic acid monomers, methacrylate, ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, vinyl acetate, styrene, and diisobutylene (0013-0018). The copolymer includes 30-75 wt% of acrylic acid or ester monomers (0015, 0017).
*Applicants specification teaches that “(0014) Exemplary monomers for use in the polymer include, but are not limited to, diisobutylene (log P of 4.08), butyl methacrylate (log P of 2.75), butyl acrylate (log P of 2.20), methyl methacrylate (log P of 1.28), ethyl acrylate (log P of 1.22), 2-ethylehexyl acrylate (log P of 4.09), styrene (log P of 2.89), maleic anhydride (log P of 1.62), docosyl methacrylate (log P of 11.59), and combinations thereof.”
Therefore, the copolymers of US’938 contain from 50-70 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of from 2-6, and 90 wt% or greater of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of 1 or greater, according to claims 1, 4, 5, 6, when the copolymers include diisobutylene (log P of 4.08), butyl methacrylate (log P of 2.75), butyl acrylate (log P of 2.20), methyl methacrylate (log P of 1.28), ethyl acrylate (log P of 1.22), styrene (log P of 2.89), for example. The copolymer is taught to have a weight average molecular weight ranging from 10,000 Daltons to 3,000,000 Daltons (0027).
Sakanishi et al. (US20210380554) teaches a pest control composition comprising the pesticide/insecticide Bacillus thuringiensis (0161, 0250-0254), water (0418, 0419) and a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic acid and their alkali metal salts, a copolymer of acrylic acid and itaconic acid, a copolymer of methacrylic acid and itaconic and a copolymer of maleic acid and styrene (0421) for application to plants and soil.
JP4652019 teaches a pest control composition comprising an agrochemical ingredient selected from a pesticide or insecticide including natural insecticides (p. 4, 2nd and 3rd parag.), a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride (p. 1 last parag.-p. 2, 1st 3 parag., last parag., p. 3, 3rd full parag., p. 6, see c) copolymer of isobutylene parag., p. 9, Aqueous suspension section) and water (p. 7, 4th-6th parag.) which when applied to plants have sufficient spreading, enhanced water spreadability, increased amount of active ingredient and adhesion to the plant (p. 2, whole page, p. 3, 1st and 2nd full parag., last parag.). The copolymer is present in amounts of 0.01-20 wt% of the composition (p. 7, 1st full parag.). Regarding claim 3, water is added in amounts ranging from 2-99.7 wt% of the composition (p. 8, 3rd and 4th parag.).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, pest control compositions comprising B. thuringiensis, a polymer, and water were known in the prior art of record. Specifically, acrylic copolymers having structural monomers, including methacrylic acid, acrylic acid, maleic acid, carboxylic acid monomers, methacrylate, ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, vinyl acetate, styrene, and diisobutylene with maleic anhydride (having the claimed log P values) were known and used in pest control compositions to improve pesticide application/dispersion, water-spreadability, increase the active amount of pesticide and adhesion to the plant or soil to which it is applied. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known copolymer taught to be useful in pest control compositions, for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0250908 (IDS) supported by Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Ganapatibhotla et al. US20210144938, Sakanishi et al. (US20210380554), and JP4652019.
The teachings of EP908 are found above.
The reference differs from the claimed invention of claim 6, in that it does not disclose a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride or a copolymer of butyl methacrylate and methacrylic acid. The reference is silent as to the amount of water present in the composition.
Ganapatibhotla teaches an aqueous composition comprising a polymer, agricultural water (0037) and may include an insecticide or pesticide (abstract, 0041, 0044) to be applied to plants (0001-0005, 0047, 0048). The composition and polymers used therein are effective in increasing water retention and retaining nutrients to help plants grow, germinate and remain viable (0008) and fixing particles to reduce erosion (0011). The polymers are taught to be dispersion of acrylic copolymers and include structural monomers, including methacrylic acid, acrylic acid, maleic acid, carboxylic acid monomers, methacrylate, ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, vinyl acetate, styrene, and diisobutylene (0013-0018). The copolymer includes 30-75 wt% of acrylic acid or ester monomers (0015, 0017).
*Applicants specification teaches that “(0014) Exemplary monomers for use in the polymer include, but are not limited to, diisobutylene (log P of 4.08), butyl methacrylate (log P of 2.75), butyl acrylate (log P of 2.20), methyl methacrylate (log P of 1.28), ethyl acrylate (log P of 1.22), 2-ethylehexyl acrylate (log P of 4.09), styrene (log P of 2.89), maleic anhydride (log P of 1.62), docosyl methacrylate (log P of 11.59), and combinations thereof.”
Therefore, the copolymers of US’938 contain from 50-70 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of from 2-6, and 90 wt% or greater of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of 1 or greater, according to claims 1, 4, 5, 6, when the copolymers include diisobutylene (log P of 4.08), butyl methacrylate (log P of 2.75), butyl acrylate (log P of 2.20), methyl methacrylate (log P of 1.28), ethyl acrylate (log P of 1.22), styrene (log P of 2.89), for example.
The copolymer is taught to have a weight average molecular weight ranging from 10,000 Daltons to 3,000,000 Daltons (0027).
Sakanishi et al. (US20210380554) teaches a pest control composition comprising the pesticide/insecticide Bacillus thuringiensis (0161, 0250-0254), water (0418, 0419) and a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic acid and their alkali metal salts, a copolymer of acrylic acid and itaconic acid, a copolymer of methacrylic acid and itaconic and a copolymer of maleic acid and styrene (0421) for application to plants and soil.
JP4652019 teaches a pest control composition comprising an agrochemical ingredient selected from a pesticide or insecticide including natural insecticides (p. 4, 2nd and 3rd parag.), a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride (p. 1 last parag.-p. 2, 1st 3 parag., last parag., p. 3, 3rd full parag., p. 6, see c) copolymer of isobutylene parag., p. 9, Aqueous suspension section) and water (p. 7, 4th-6th parag.) which when applied to plants have sufficient spreading, enhanced water spreadability, increased amount of active ingredient and adhesion to the plant (p. 2, whole page, p. 3, 1st and 2nd full parag., last parag.). The copolymer is present in amounts of 0.01-20 wt% of the composition (p. 7, 1st full parag.). Regarding claim 3, water is added in amounts ranging from 2-99.7 wt% of the composition (p. 8, 3rd and 4th parag.).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, pest control compositions comprising B. thuringiensis, a polymer, and water were known in the prior art of record. Specifically, acrylic copolymers having structural monomers, including methacrylic acid, acrylic acid, maleic acid, carboxylic acid monomers, methacrylate, ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, vinyl acetate, styrene, and diisobutylene with maleic anhydride (having the claimed log P values) were known and used in pest control compositions to improve pesticide application/dispersion, water-spreadability, increase the active amount of pesticide and adhesion to the plant or soil to which it is applied. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known copolymer taught to be useful in pest control compositions, for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18863109 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed inventions are drawn to pest control composition comprising a polymer, wherein the polymer has a weight average molecular weight from 10,000 daltons to 30,000 daltons and contains from 20 wt% to 100 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with log P from 2.0 to 6.0; Bacillus thuringiensis; and water. The water is present in the same amounts of 60-99.89 wt% and the polymers of both compositions comprise 50-70wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P value of from 2.75-4.08. It is noted that the instant claims average molecular weight (15,000-30,000 Daltons) falls entirely within the range of the reference claims 10,000-30,000 Daltons. Reference claim 1 includes humic acid; however, the instant claims are drawn to a composition “comprising” and thus, would not exclude additional components in the composition. Thus, the instant claims are an obvious variation of the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5 of copending Application No. 18863229 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed inventions are drawn to pest control composition comprising a polymer, wherein the polymer has a weight average molecular weight from 10,000 daltons to 30,000 daltons and contains from 20 wt% to 100 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with log P from 2.0 to 6.0; and Bacillus thuringiensis. The polymers of both compositions comprise 50-70wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P value of from 2.75-4.08. It is noted that the instant claims average molecular weight (15,000-30,000 Daltons) falls entirely within the range of the reference claims 10,000-30,000 Daltons. Reference claim 1 is drawn to a spray-dried composition, while the instant claimed composition includes water; however, the dried composition is an obvious formulation variant of the instant claimed composition containing water. Thus, the inventions are obvious variations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18863122 (reference application) supported by Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed inventions are drawn to pest control composition comprising a polymer, Bacillus thuringiensis; and water. It is noted that in the instant claims require the polymer has a weight average molecular weight from 15,000 daltons to 30,000 daltons and contains from 50 wt% to 70 wt% of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with log P from 2.0 to 6.0. The polymer of the reference claims comprises methyl methacrylate, butyl acrylate, acrylic acid and vinyl toluene (which have log P values of 1.28, 2.75, 0.46, and 3.58, respectively), thus falling within the scope of monomers of the instant claims. Reference claim 1 includes humic acid; however, the instant claims are drawn to a composition “comprising” and thus, would not exclude additional components in the composition. Thus, the instant claims are an obvious variation of the reference claims. While the reference claims do not require the molecular weight of the polymer, i.e. 15,000 Daltons to 30,000 Daltons, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine the molecular weight of the emulsion polymer of the reference claims. It is known in the art that the MW of copolymers is dependent upon their molecular architecture, i.e. amount and arrangement of each monomer, and particularly the method of making the copolymer. For support see Styrene Maleic Anhydride Copolymer Granules: Comprehensive Analysis Of Synthesis, Properties, And Industrial Applications. Therefore, methods of making polymers to obtain a polymer having a desired molecular weight for a particular use, is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TIFFANY M GOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/MELENIE L GORDON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1651