DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: the microbe Bacillus thuringiensis should have the first letter of its genus capitalized and the entire species name should be italicized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The cited claims are drawn to a composition comprising humic acid, Bacillus thuringiensis, and a polymer that is defined by its log P-value. Although not defined in the specification, log P is used to determine a partition coefficient in a solution of 1-octanol and water. It should be noted that the prior art suggests that this coefficient has significant limitations for determining the hydrophobicity of polymeric compounds. See Moody, et al (Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research, 44, 3749-3760, 2005), page 3749, “Introduction” section. As such, prior to analyzing the claims, per se, it seems clear from the prior art that using “log P” as an identifier for the monomers of polymers can present a serious burden upon the skilled artisan to identify an appropriate monomer for the polymer claimed in the instant invention.
As discussed above, the claims are drawn to B. thuringiensis and humic acid, which are both discussed in the applied examples as being commercially available. As such, neither of these presents for written description issues. However, classifying a polymer, in terms of specific physical properties of its monomer present with significant written description issues, since it requires the skilled artisan to test thousands of monomers to determine if they qualify to be used as polymers, wherein it is clear that the Applicant was not in possession of a reasonable number of monomers to suggest possession across the entirety of the claimed genus. For example, the instant specification provides for a very limited listing of exemplary monomers that only account for a small number of acrylates and one butylene, but there are numerous monomers that fulfill the claim limitation but do not appear to be envisioned by the instant invention.
When looking at the prior art, Arumugam, et al (WO 2021/158420 [IDS Reference]) describes a composition with the same microbe, and humic acid, but utilizes polyethylene glycol and does not explicitly teach any log P-values. However, the prior art suggests that the log P of polyethylene glycol should fit within the claimed ranges. See Yousefi, et al (Chemical and Pharmaceutical Bulletin, 58, 147-153, 2010), page 151, left column, 1st [incomplete] paragraph. This would suggest that the instant inventors never envisioned this embodiment, even though it fulfills the claim limitations; furthermore, the fact that polyethylene glycol is a ubiquitously used polymer, but was never clearly tested nor envisioned would suggest that other monomers that are widely used, and all of those that are less commonly used would require immense experimentation for the skilled artisan to generate the claimed invention. Based upon the limited applied examples, and the minimal listing of monomers that are consistent with the claimed log P-value would suggest that the Applicant was not in possession of a reasonable number of embodiments to show possession of the whole genus of monomers with a log P-value within the claimed range. Based upon what is written in the specification, it would appear that the Applicant was only reasonably in possession of acrylates and monomers with a butylene backbone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arumugam, et al (WO 2021/158420 [IDS Reference]) and evidenced by Yousefi, et al (Chemical and Pharmaceutical Bulletin, 58, 147-153, 2010). Arumugam describes a composition with the same microbe, and humic acid, but utilizes polyethylene glycol with a molecule mass of 12,000 g/mol (Daltons) and does not explicitly teach any log P-values. See page 2, lines 23-25; page 3, line 14; page 5, lines 30-34; page 7, lines 14-22. However, the prior art suggests that the log P of polyethylene glycol should fit within the claimed ranges. See Yousefi page 151, left column, 1st [incomplete] paragraph.
With respect to claim 1, Arumugam teaches the claimed invention, but is silent with respect to the log P-value of the polymer. Yousefi indicates that the polymer of Arumugam should fall within the claimed range.
With respect to claim 2, Arumugam teaches the claimed concentration of humic acid. See page 6, lines 6-15.
With respect to claim 3, Arumugam teaches the same amount of polymer. See page 5, lines 5-15.
With respect to claim 5, although Arumugam does not teach the phenolic group concentration, Arumugam teaches the same commercially available humic acid, sold by the same corporation. As such, it would be reasonable to assume that the humic acid of the prior art has the same number of phenolic groups as that claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arumugam, et al (WO 2021/158420 [IDS Reference]) Becher (PGPub 2015/0208653) and evidenced by Yousefi, et al (Chemical and Pharmaceutical Bulletin, 58, 147-153, 2010). See the discussion of Arumugam and Yousefi above. Although Arumugam teaches a polymer that is consistent with the independent claim, Arumugam does not specifically teach the claimed copolymer. However, it is clear from the cited prior art that composition comprising one or more of B. thuringiensis, and humic acid are both useful for herbicidal/pesticidal applications, and the stabilization of B. thuringiensis activity. See Arumugam, page 1, line 17 and 25-40. Arumugam explicitly notes that the combination of polyethylene glycol, humic acid, and B. thuringiensis is particularly useful for pesticide applications. See page 3, lines 10 and 11. This would suggest to the ordinary artisan that the addition of other pesticidal compounds would predictably augment the efficacy of the initial composition.
Becher provides for a composition comprising B. thuringiensis that can be used with a [polyethylene] glycol, as a means of adjusting the density of the composition for improved flowabilty. See paragraph [0059]. Becher also provides for protective colloids that improve B. thuringiensis activity. See paragraph [0041]. Based upon Becher, there would be reasoanble motivation to add the claimed polymer to the composition of Arumugam, because there is evidence to suggest that a copolymer of maleic anhydride and diisobutylene would improve the activity and survivability of the B. thuringiensis.
Conclusion
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651