DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 51-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2017/117407 (‘407)
407 teaches a method of treating Pompe in a patient in need thereof, the method including administering miglustat to the patient in combination with a recombinant human acid α-glucosidase (rhGAA), wherein the recombinant human acid a-glucosidase
Has an increased content of N-glycan units bearing one or two mannose-6-phosphate residues when compared to a content of N-glycan units bearing one or two mannose-6-phosphate residues of alglucosidase alfa. In at least one embodiment, the recombinant human acid α-glucosidase is administered intravenously at a dose of about 20 mg/kg and the miglustat is administered orally at a dose of about 260 mg.
407 also teaches a combination of miglustat and a recombinant human acid α-glucosidase for the treatment of Pompe disease in a patient in need thereof and also a kit for combination therapy of Pompe disease in a patient in need thereof, the kit including a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising miglustat, a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising a recombinant human acid α-glucosidase as defined herein, and instructions for administering the pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising miglustat and the pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising the recombinant acid α-glucosidase to a patient in need thereof.
407 teaches method of treating Pompe’s disease, compositions and kits for use thereof as is claimed and thus anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 51-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO 2017/117407 (‘407)
407 teaches a method of treating Pompe in a patient in need thereof, the method including administering miglustat to the patient in combination with a recombinant human acid α-glucosidase (rhGAA), wherein the recombinant human acid a-glucosidase
Has an increased content of N-glycan units bearing one or two mannose-6-phosphate residues when compared to a content of N-glycan units bearing one or two mannose-6-phosphate residues of alglucosidase alfa. In at least one embodiment, the recombinant human acid α-glucosidase is administered intravenously at a dose of about 20 mg/kg and the miglustat is administered orally at a dose of about 260 mg.
407 also teaches a combination of miglustat and a recombinant human acid α-glucosidase for the treatment of Pompe disease in a patient in need thereof and also a kit for combination therapy of Pompe disease in a patient in need thereof, the kit including a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising miglustat, a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising a recombinant human acid α-glucosidase as defined herein, and instructions for administering the pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising miglustat and the pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form comprising the recombinant acid α-glucosidase to a patient in need thereof.
407 teaches method of treating Pompe’s disease, compositions and kits for use thereof as is claimed but wherein each possible embodiment is not specifically recited by 407, the teachings of 407 clearly render obvious all the said embodiments as any differences from the specific disclosure would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed as obvious modifications of a method, composition and kit clearly taught and suggested by 407.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Where applicant would appear to allege criticality with regard to a very specific formulation of invention, there is not clear and convincing evidence of criticality now of record. Slight difference in results would appear to be no more than a difference of degree rather than a difference in kind. Slight variations in results are expected in microbiological/biochemical processes, etc described herein and don’ rise to the level of unobvious.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657