DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information referred to in the information disclosure statements filed on November 5, 2024 has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chamoux (8,689,501). With respect to claim 1, Chamoux discloses a barrier structure in Figure 4 which comprises a parallelepiped body with a first side (see Figure 4) (1)(1)(1)(1)(1) which is made from a first mesh material, a second side (1)(1)(1)(1)(1) which is made from a second mesh material and which is spaced from and which is opposite the first side, an interior between the first side and the second side and a plurality of deterrent sections formed by four pairs of two panels (1) extending perpendicular the first side to the second side, wherein each deterrent section is made from a third mesh material and is positioned between the first side and the second side.
With respect to claim 2, each deterrent section extends between the first side and the second side.
With respect to claim 3, wherein each of at least some of said deterrent sections comprises a respective sheet of said third mesh material which is transverse (and in Figure 4 generally perpendicular to) the first side and the second side.
With respect to claim 4, said sheet of third mesh material is a planar sheet of third mesh material as shown in Figure 4.
With respect to claim 5, said plurality of deterrent sections are configured to form a plurality of passages which extend at least partly between the first side and the second side wherein each passage is bounded, at least partly by said third mesh material of at least one of said deterrent sections.
With respect to claim 6, each of the first mesh material, the second mesh material and the third mesh material is selected from welded wire mesh and expanded mesh.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamoux (8,689,501). With respect to claim 7-8, said plurality of deterrent sections comprises a first array (1)(1)(1)(1)(1) of a first plurality of planar sheets of the third mesh material (and parallel to the first and second sides), and a second array of a second plurality of planar sheets, comprised of four pairs of two panels (1), wherein the first array is transverse to the and is engaged with the second array. Chamoux fails to disclose the first array comprising planar sheets that are parallel and spaced apart from one another. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to replace the coplanar first array of a plurality of planar sheets with two or more parallel pluralities of planar sheets, thereby dividing the interior of the barrier structure into smaller sub-compartments. Such a duplication of the essential working parts requires only routine experimentation by a POSITA to achieve the predictable result of a more rigid and sturdy barrier structure and would create the passages as defined in Figure 8
With respect to claim 10, Figure 8 discloses a barrier which comprises a plurality of barrier structures each barrier structure comprising a parallelepiped body formed from mesh material. The figure does not show the interior third mesh pattern as shown in Figure 4. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine the body disclosed in Figure 4 in overlying horizontal rows as shown in Figure 8, based upon the location and purpose of the barrier. Again, the mere duplication of the essential parts of a system requires only routine experimentation to provide the expect result of a larger area bounded by the barrier.
With respect to claims 11-13, vertically extending supports (5) are spaced apart and located at a barrier line (i.e. along sides 1 or 2) wherein some of the barrier structures are engaged with or secured to the supports. Each support extends through a number of barrier structures (see Figure 13) and used to attached barrier structures in overlying rows.
With respect to claim 14, arranging abutting parallelepiped shapes abutting on another in a row along a barrier line and in a succession of overlying rose (see Figure 7) would have been obvious to a POSITA since the arrangement of the individual bodies requires only routine skill and again would be based upon the surrounding in which the barrier element is placed.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamoux (8,689,501) in view of Douthwaite (4,003,178). Chamoux discloses all claimed elements with the exception of a third mesh material having a succession of valley formations with intervening peak formations. Douthwait discloses open mesh metal panels for use in a fence. The panels comprise valleys and peaks. Such a configuration of mesh enables the attachment of rigid members through the peaks and valleys to stiffen the mesh. It would have been obvious to modify the third mesh material to include peaks and valley as taught by Douthwaite for the attachment of rigid elements (3) thereby further strengthening the barrier member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sasaki (4,854,767); Bishop (US 2008/0279632) and Hilfiker (US 5,647,695).
/SARAH B MCPARTLIN/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3993