DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 45-53 and 63-64 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 7, 2026. Without acquiescing with the arguments provided, once the elected claims are considered to be in condition for allowance, rejoinder will be considered where possible.
Claims 54-55 and 58-62 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 61 and 62 depend on the rejected claim and, therefore, are also rejected.
Claim 60 recites the limitation "the additives" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 55-55 and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nel (WO 2023/148578) .
The applied reference has a common Inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With regards to claim 54, Nel teaches a board comprising cellulose-containing materials and a glue to connect the materials to each other (abstract) that is based on hyperbranched polyamides (page 3) that is obtained by polycondensation of amino acids of arginine, glutamine, asparagine, and lysine (pages 5-6). Nel further teaches the use of carbohydrates (page 6).
With regards to claim 55, Nel teaches the amount of hyperbranched polyamide formed as stated above to be 80 to 90% of the polyamide (page 9).
With regards to claim 58, Nel teaches the composition to include crosslinkers (page 9). Nel teaches the crosslinkers to include polyketones, polyesters, isocyanate dispersions, epoxides, glyoxal and other dialdehydes (pages 9 and 21).
With regards to claims 60 and 61, Nel teaches the addition of a potassium salt (page 20).
Claims 54-55 and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al (Composites, Part B, 227, 2021, 109403).
With regards to claim 54, Xu teaches a high bonding performance composition (title) for the wood based panel industry (abstract) (reading on cellulose based materials) that contains carboxymethyl chitosan (abstract) (reading on a carbohydrate) and polyamide-epichlorohydrin (page 1) (reading on a linear polyamide).
With regards to claim 55, Xu teaches the polyamide to be the only polyamide in the glue composition (pages 2-3).
With regards to claim 58, Xu teaches the composition to include a crosslinker (abstract) that includes 2,3-butanedione (abstract).
With regards to claim 59, Xu teaches the amount of the amine to be 2 grams in a total concentration of 17 grams (table 1) reading on a ratio of 0.1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 59 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nel (WO 2023/148578).
The disclosure of Nel is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 59, Nel does not teach the weight ratio of amines to the total amount of amines and carbohydrates.
However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the amount of the reactants in order to control the rate and amount of reaction that occurs between the two.
With regards to claim 62, Nel does not teach the amount of the potassium compound.
However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the amount of base in order to achieve the desired pH of the composition.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763