Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 16, the claim language recited “based on a ranging/sidelink positioning request as received” – it is unclear what a request ‘as received’ entails which makes the claim vague and indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “a ranging/sidelink positioning request.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 15-17, 19-21, 23, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying (2025/0024426).
Regarding claim 1, Ying discloses a location management function network element (LMF, Figure 1) selection method, performed by an access and mobility function network element (AMF, Figure 1), the method comprising: selecting, based on a ranging/sidelink positioning request as received, an LMF network configured to perform a ranging/sidelink positioning service (steps 422b, steps 423b, Figure 5). In particular, para 149-151 disclose the use of AMF and LMF elements in a wireless network, and para 232-235 disclose that based on a ranging/sidelink request, the AMF network element selects a particular LMF network element based on the LMF capability information as well as PC5 (sidelink) information.
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses a communications device (Figure 12/13) comprising a transceiver (1220/1320) , a memory (1330) and a processor (1210/1310) connected to the transceiver and memory, wherein the processor, through executing a computer-executable instruction of the memory (para 434-435), is configured to control sending and receiving of a wireless signal (para 443) of the transceiver and is configured to select, based on a ranging/sidelink positioning request as received, an LMF network configured to perform a ranging/sidelink positioning service (steps 422b, steps 423b, Figure 5). In particular, para 149-151 disclose the use of AMF and LMF elements in a wireless network, and para 232-235 disclose that based on a ranging/sidelink request, the AMF network element selects a particular LMF network element based on the LMF capability information as well as PC5 (sidelink) information.
Regarding claim 16, Ying discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (para 452, as well as para 461-462) storing instructions that when executed by one or more processors (1220/1320, Figures 12-13) of a device, cause the device to select, based on a ranging/sidelink positioning request as received, an LMF network configured to perform a ranging/sidelink positioning service (steps 422b, steps 423b, Figure 5). In particular, para 149-151 disclose the use of AMF and LMF elements in a wireless network, and para 232-235 disclose that based on a ranging/sidelink request, the AMF network element selects a particular LMF network element based on the LMF capability information as well as PC5 (sidelink) information.
Regarding claim 2, 17, and 23,Ying further discloses that the selecting the LMF network element comprises: determining ranging/sidelink positioning capability information based on the ranging/sidelink request (para 233, discusses sidelink positioning), wherein the capability information indicates ranging/sidelink positioning capability required by the LMF network element (para 234-235, “capability information and load information of the LMF network element) and selecting based on the capability information, the LMF network element configured to perform the ranging/sidelink positioning serve (para 235-236).
Regarding claims 4, 19, and 25, Ying further discloses wherein the sidelink/ranging positioning capability comprises triggering capability, for triggering the service between two or more user equipment (first terminal device and third terminal device, para 185-186, Figure 4 – para 216-220 describe that in a sidelink positioning request, a trigger condition information is present and also para 232-233 discuss the request includes measurement type/information type/PC5 Rat type which is also a type of trigger condition to initiate the positioning) and reporting capability used for reporting the positioning result to the AMF network element (para 240-242)
Regarding claims 5, 20, and 26, Ying discloses capability further comprises calculating capability used for calculating the ranging/sidelink positioning result (para 235, location information of the user terminals or the PC5 Rat types are sent initially, which help determine the LMF’s calculation result – also note para 237 which states the calculation request message as part of the process).
Regarding claims 6, 21, and 27, Ying discloses that the calculating capability comprises calculation of a relative distance between two UEs (para 185-186 and 199 – sidelink ranging between UEs as well as para 243 – result includes relative location information ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 18, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying in view of Ni (12004117).
Regarding claims 3, 18, and 24, Ying discloses that the selecting the LMF network element comprises: determining ranging/sidelink positioning capability information based on the ranging/sidelink request (para 233, discusses sidelink positioning), wherein the capability information indicates ranging/sidelink positioning capability required by the LMF network element (para 234-235, “capability information and load information of the LMF network element) and selecting based on the capability information, the LMF network element configured to perform the ranging/sidelink positioning serve (para 235-236). Ying does not disclose selecting a LMF is also based on ranging/sidelink related information, where it’s content used for indicating a desired result or positioning QoS information. However, Ni teaches in an analogous art, the use of positioning requests for selection of an LMF network element, in which a positioning quality of service (QoS) is used to help select a particular LMF. In particular, note Col. 13;5-Col. 14;65. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a positioning QoS in order to allow for different levels of accuracy in the selection of the LMF network element.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying and Ni (117) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ni (2022/0191764).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ying and Ni (117) teach all the particulars of the claim except for the QoS information explicitly stating a Qos Level, specified accuracy, or response time for the ranging/sidelink positioning service. However, Ni ‘764 teaches in an analogous art, the use of response time (latency requirement para 47) in determining a QoS to select a LMF network element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a QoS response time in order to reduce the amount of time to process a sidelink positioning request.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (WO 2023/117057) discloses the use of sidelink discovery signals to provide positioning information through a location server
Wu (2022/0369065) discloses sidelink positioning which is sent to a network entity to indicate the position of a UE.
Qiao (2021/0360371) discloses QoS levels for positioning.
Guo (12245139) disclose a radio network which UE capabilities are taken into account before selecting an LMF.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641