DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 13 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 (line 6): “a feed point” should read “the feed point”.
Claim 13 (line 3): “to control to perform” should read either “to control” or “to perform”.
Claim 16 (line 6): “a feed point” should read “the feed point”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-5 and 17 are objected to due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an antenna assembly mounted on a vehicle”. It is not clear whether the Applicant intended to claim the vehicle including the antenna assembly mounted thereon, or an antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle. The scope of the claim is not clear and therefore claim 1 is indefinite. Claim 1 is interpreted by the Examiner as “an antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “an antenna according to the conductive pattern may be configured to operate in a low band, a mid-band, a high band, and an ultra-high band”, which renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear whether the claimed antenna is being positively recited, or whether only the possibility of the antenna being able to operate in the low band, mid band, high band and ultra-high band is being claimed. For examination purposes, “may be configured to operate” is interpreted as “is configured to operate”.
Claim 14 recites “an antenna assembly mounted on a vehicle”. It is not clear whether the Applicant intended to claim the vehicle including the antenna assembly mounted thereon, or an antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle. The scope of the claim is not clear and therefore claim 1 is indefinite.
Claim 1 (line 13) recites the limitation "both end portions of the one side surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 (line 18) recites the limitation "both end portions of the one side surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5, 7-13 and 15-20 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platt (US 9899733) in view of IDS document Sautter et al. (US 2019/312342; “Sautter” or “S”).
Claim 1: Platt discloses (fig. 3 & annotated fig. 4 below) “An antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle (col. 2, lines 29- "The blade antenna 10 can be mounted on the outer surface of a vehicle"), the antenna assembly comprising:
an inner cover made of a dielectric material (circuit board 52; the Examiner interprets “inner cover” as any structure supporting a conductive pattern) and having a front surface (upper surface of 52 on which conductive pattern is formed), and one side surface (annotated Fig. 4, SS1. The PCB 52 has side surfaces) and another side surface (annotated fig. 4, SS2) each extending from the front surface (upper surface of 52);
a conductive pattern (col. 2, lines 61- "conductive patterns on one side of the circuit board 52"; 60, 80, 100, 132) disposed to extend from a feed point (connector end 76) on the front surface (upper surface) of the inner cover (52) to the one side surface (SS1) of the inner cover,
the conductive pattern (60, 80, 100, 132) being configured to have a tapering shape from the one side surface (SS1) toward the feed point (76) on the front surface (upper surface of 52) to transmit or receive a wireless signal;
one point in the conductive pattern to allow the conductive pattern to be connected to ground at the one point (col. 4, lines 31- "The open sleeve 132 is typically electrically grounded in a fully assembled blade antenna 10 via connectors 136 and 138"),
an outer cover (fig. 3, base housing 30) coupled to the inner cover (52) (col. 2, lines 39-41 “a blade antenna main board 50 is attached to the base housing via mechanical fasteners 34”. Col. 2, lines 50-51 “The antenna main board 50 comprises a circuit board 52”);
wherein the conductive pattern (60, 80, 100, 132) extends from both end portions (annotated fig. 4, P1 & P2) of the one side surface (SS1) to the front surface (upper surface of 52) to define a first end point (annotated fig. 4, EP1) and a second end point (annotated fig. 4, EP2),
and the first end point (EP1) of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point (76) (the Examiner interprets an end point curved toward the feed point as any point or end portion of the conductive pattern that faces the feed point) and the second end point (EP2) of the conductive pattern (60, 80, 100, 132) is disposed to be curved toward the feed point (76) so that the conductive pattern transmits or receives a wideband wireless signal (Col. 1, lines 21- "Blade antennas can be designed and constructed for receiving and radiating at multiple bands or over a very wide band")”.
Platt does not explicitly disclose a metal frame disposed to be in contact with one point to allow the conductive pattern to be connected to ground; and a slot region disposed between the conductive pattern and the metal frame.
Sautter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle (¶7). The antenna assembly (see fig. 5 below) includes an outer cover (lower housing part 202), a conductive pattern (antenna element 4) and a metal frame (upper housing part 201; ¶43, “The use of such an electrically conductive material for the upper housing part 201 also has the advantage that, in particular, the above-mentioned GPS patch or also a patch antenna for other satellite services and the like forms a metallic base, particularly a ground surface, for the antenna element 4.”). The metal frame is disposed to be in contact with one point in the conductive pattern (4) to allow the conductive pattern to be grounded (¶43). As the conductive pattern (4) and the metal frame (201) are two separate components, there exists a slot region (the Examiner interprets slot region as a gap between two components) disposed therebetween.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Platt, to include a metal frame disposed to be in contact with one point to allow the conductive pattern to be connected to ground; and a slot region disposed between the conductive pattern and the metal frame, as taught by Sautter. Doing so provides a system ground for the inner cover (PCB) to allow for proper operation of the antenna and signal integrity.
Claim 2: the modified Platt teaches the antenna assembly of claim 1.
Platt discloses “wherein the conductive pattern (60, 80, 100, 132) comprises:
a first conductive pattern (60) configured to have a tapering shape from the one side surface (SS1) of the inner cover (52) toward the feed point (76) on the front surface of the inner cover;
a second conductive pattern (100, 108) extending from a first end portion (P1) of the one side surface (SS1) to the front surface (upper surface) to define the first end point (EP1); and
a third conductive pattern (80, 86) extending from a second end portion (P2) of the one side surface (SS1) to the front surface (upper surface) to define the second end point (EP2), wherein the first end point (EP1) of the second conductive pattern (100, 108) is disposed to be curved toward the feed point (76) (see Examiner’s interpretation above), and the second end point (EP2) of the third conductive pattern (80, 86) is disposed to be curved toward the feed point (76) (see Examiner’s interpretation above)”.
Claim 6: the modified Platt teaches the antenna assembly of claim 2.
Platt does not explicitly disclose “wherein an antenna according to the conductive pattern may be configured to operate in a low band (LB), a mid-band (MB), a high band (HB), and an ultra-high band (UHB) for fourth generation (4G) wireless communication and fifth generation (5G) wireless communication, and the antenna is configured to:
radiate a wireless signal at a first frequency in the low band (LB), as a current is supplied through the first conductive pattern and the third conductive pattern, radiate a wireless signal at a second frequency in the low band (LB), as a current is supplied through the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern”.
However, Platt does disclose (col. 1, lines 21-23) “Blade antennas can also be designed and constructed for receiving and radiating at multiple bands or over a very wide band”. Also, Platt discloses (col. 4, lines 17-26) “Elements 60, 80 and 100 may be connected by a stripline”, so that a current supplied through the first conductive pattern (60) will also be applied to the second conductive pattern (100, 108) and the third conductive pattern (80) via the stripline.
Examiner’s note: Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the Office, that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus only require the ability to so perform. In this case, the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Platt does not explicitly disclose “the third conductive pattern (80, 86) has a larger area than an area of the second conductive pattern (100, 108)”. However, the second and third conductive patterns shown in fig. 4 have different shapes, and Platt states (col. 1, lines 27-) “Blade antennas are typically constructed by providing metal traces on one or both sides of an insulated board, such as an FR-4 circuit board or a fiber glass circuit board. These traces are of dimensions to provide resonance in the particular targeted frequency bands of the antenna”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Platt in view of S, such that an antenna according to the conductive pattern may be configured to operate in a low band (LB), a mid-band (MB), ahigh band (HB), and an ultra-high band (UHB) for fourth generation (4G) wireless communication and fifth generation (5G) wireless communication, and the antenna is configured to: radiate a wireless signal at a first frequency in the low band (LB), as a current is supplied through the first conductive pattern and the third conductive pattern,
radiate a wireless signal at a second frequency in the low band (LB), as a current is supplied through the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern, and the third conductive pattern has a larger area than an area of the second conductive pattern. The motivation to do so allows for the antenna assembly to be used in a desired frequency range.
Claim 7: the modified Platt teaches the antenna assembly of claim 6.
Platt discloses “wherein the antenna is configured to (see Examiner’s note above): radiate a wireless signal as a current is supplied through boundary regions on both sides of the tapering shape of the first conductive pattern (60), and radiate a wireless signal as a current is supplied through an inner region of the tapering shape of the first conductive pattern (60) (Platt discloses feeding a signal to the tapered portion of first conductive pattern 60 via connector end 76 [col. 3, lines 50-56], and since the feed point supplying current shown in fig. 4 of Platt is identical to the claimed feed point, the claimed operation of supplying a current through boundary regions and an inner region is taught by Platt. See MPEP 2112.01(l), which states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”).
Platt does not explicitly disclose “a wireless signal in the mid band (MB) and the high band (HB), and a wireless signal in the ultra-high band (UHB)”. However, Platt states (col. 1, lines 27-) “Blade antennas are typically constructed by providing metal traces on one or both sides of an insulated board, such as an FR-4 circuit board or a fiber glass circuit board. These traces are of dimensions to provide resonance in the particular targeted frequency bands of the antenna”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Platt in view of S, to radiate a wireless signal in the mid band (MB) and the high band (HB), and a wireless signal in the ultra-high band (UHB). The motivation to do so allows for the antenna assembly to be used in a desired frequency range.
Claim 8: The modified Platt teaches the antenna assembly of claim 1.
Platt discloses “further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (base connector board 40) connected, at the feed point (76), to the conductive pattern (60, 80, 100, 132) disposed on the front surface of the inner cover (52), wherein the PCB has a feed pattern disposed thereon to be connected to the feed point of the conductive pattern (col. 2, lines 46-, “The base connector board 40 serves the purpose of feeding signals between the blade antenna main board 50 and downstream/upstream electronics via the main board connector 42”)”.
Platt does not disclose “the PCB is disposed between the metal frame and the outer cover”.
S teaches (fig. 5) a PCB (circuit board 10) disposed between the metal frame (upper housing part 201) and the outer cover (lower housing part 202).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Platt in view of S, wherein the PCB is disposed between the metal frame and the outer cover, as taught by S. The motivation is to provide a surface for supporting other electronic components (11, 12) such as electronic components for feeding high-frequency signals to an antenna (¶58 of S).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platt (US 9899733) in view of IDS document Sautter et al. (US 2019/312342; “Sautter” or “S”), and further in view of Hamabe (US 2021/0336340).
Claim 11: the modified Platt teaches the antenna assembly of claim 8.
Platt discloses “the antenna assembly performs wireless communication between the vehicle and another vehicle or wireless entity outside the vehicle (col. 1, ¶2)”.
Platt does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna assembly is disposed inside a rear seat monitor module disposed in a rear seat of a vehicle, and performs wireless communication within the vehicle”.
Hamabe teaches wherein the antenna assembly is disposed inside a rear seat monitor module disposed in a rear seat of a vehicle, and performs wireless communication within the vehicle (¶17, “In a first exemplary embodiment, an antenna device in the 2.4 GHz band (e.g., 2400 to 2500 MHz), such as an antenna device for Bluetooth (registered trademark), an antenna device for Wi-Fi (registered trademark), or an antenna device for various electronic devices, will be described below as an example. However, the antenna device can be similarly used in other frequency bands. For example, the antenna device is disposed in a housing of a seat monitor attached to a back face of a backrest of a passenger seat disposed in an aircraft. The antenna device radiates a radio wave in the 2.4 GHz band, for example, from a front face (e.g., a monitor screen) of the seat monitor toward a front direction of a rear seat. The electronic device in which the antenna device is disposed is not limited to the seat monitor described above.”)”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna assembly of Platt in view of S, wherein the antenna assembly is disposed inside a rear seat monitor module disposed in a rear seat of a vehicle, and performs wireless communication within the vehicle, as taught by Hamabe. The motivation to do so is to provide Bluetooth communication capabilities within a standalone unit in a vehicle, improving the customer experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-10 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to address the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 14-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The pertinent prior art, as a whole, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention(s) as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 3, Platt (US 9,899,733) discloses (annotated fig. 4) an inner cover (circuit board 52; the Examiner interprets “inner cover” as any structure supporting a conductive pattern) that is inclined (col. 2, lines 50-52, “the antenna main board 50 comprises a circuit board 52 that is slanted in shape to fit within the slanted profile of the extended housing 20”), the first conductive pattern (60) comprises:
a first sub-pattern (SP1) disposed on the front surface of the inner cover (52) to have a tapering shape (the end portion of SP1 tapers) and having a feed point (76) at an end portion;
a second sub-pattern (SP2) disposed on the inner cover to have a tapering shape (an end portion of SP2 tapers);
and a third sub-pattern (SP3) disposed on the one side surface of the inner cover to have a first width (W1) and a first length,
a distance between points connecting from the second sub-pattern (SP2) to the third sub-pattern (SP3) is configured as a second width (W2) smaller than the first width (W1), and a distance between points connecting from the first sub-pattern (SP1) to the second sub-pattern (SP2) is configured to as a third width (W3) smaller than the second width (W2).
However, Platt does not teach, or suggest, the inclined region is disposed to be inclined between the front surface (main surface) and the one side surface (SS1); and the second sub-pattern (SP2) disposed on the inclined region of the inner cover (52).
Claims 4-5 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, Platt does not teach, or suggest, a ground contact portion disposed between the PCB and the metal frame so that the conductive pattern disposed on the one side surface of the inner cover is in contact with the metal frame; and a display module fixed to the metal frame and configured to display screen information, wherein the metal frame is a display frame configured to support the display module.
Claim 10 is allowable due to its dependency on claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Platt does not teach, or suggest, wherein the antenna assembly comprises a first antenna and a second antenna arranged on a left side and a right side of the rear seat monitor module, respectively, and a third antenna and a fourth antenna arranged on an upper left side and an upper right side of the rear seat monitor module, respectively, and the first antenna is positioned in a further left region compared to the third antenna, and the second antenna is positioned in a further right region compared to the fourth antenna.
Claim 13 is allowable due to its dependency on claim 12.
Regarding independent claim 14, Guterman et al. (US 2012/0068893; “Guterman”) has some of the features of the antenna assembly as claimed in claim 14. For example, Guterman discloses “An antenna assembly, the antenna assembly comprising:
a display module (¶6, Electronic devices such as portable computers may have components such as displays and processors that are mounted within housings);
an inner cover (carrier 92) made of a dielectric material (abstract, “The antenna resonating elements and parasitic elements may be mounted on a common dielectric carrier”; ¶79, “Plastic substrate 92 of FIG. 16, which may sometimes be referred to as a carrier, may be formed from a rigid or flexible polymer.”) and having a front surface (fig. 16, surface 94), and one side surface and another side surface each extending from the front surface (94);
a conductive pattern (¶72, tapered conductive structure TP) disposed to extend from a feed point (fig. 11 below, antenna feed terminal 66) on the front surface (94) of the inner cover,
the conductive pattern (TP) being configured to have a tapering shape toward the feed point (66) on the front surface to transmit or receive a wireless signal (¶73, The antenna structures of FIG. 11 may include a resonating element conductor with a tapered structure TP);
a metal frame (¶47, housing 12 may be formed from metal) disposed to surround a rear surface and side surfaces of the display module (fig. 1. ¶48, conductive housing sidewalls);
a front cover (display 14) comprising a front surface (front of display), an inner side surface (internal surface opposite front of display), and an outer side surface (any side of display 14), disposed to support the display module through the inner side surface (display module located in lid 12A and therefore supported by display 14); and
a slot region (¶62, “Opening 56 may sometimes be referred to as a slot”) disposed between the conductive pattern (TP) and the metal frame (12)”.
Guterman does not teach, or suggest, the antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle, the conductive pattern disposed to extend from the feed point on the front surface of the inner cover to the one side surface of the inner cover; the conductive pattern being configured to have a tapering shape from the one side surface toward the feed point; the front cover and configured such that the metal frame and the conductive pattern are disposed in a space between the inner side surface and the outer side surface; an outer cover coupled to the inner cover; and wherein the conductive pattern extends from both end portions of the one side surface to the front surface to define a first end point and a second end point, and the first end point of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point and the second end point of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point so that the conductive pattern transmits or receives a wideband wireless signal.
Chen et al. (US 2006/0164305; “Chen”) has some of the features of the antenna assembly as claimed in claim 14. For example, Chen discloses (figs. 1A-1C, fig. 4) “An antenna assembly, the antenna assembly comprising: a display module (not shown);
an inner cover made of a dielectric material (¶22, FIG. 1A is a schematic perspective view of a low-profile UWB antenna (10) comprising a first radiating element (11) (or “primary radiating element”), a second radiating element (12) (or “secondary radiating element”) and a planar substrate (13) (e.g., PCB (printed circuit board))”) and having a front surface, and one side surface and another side surface each extending from the front surface (¶22, “The antenna elements (11) and (12) can be formed/patterned on one side of a thin flexible substrate or PCB material that can be bent along a desired line to a desired angle to form the antenna (10)”);
a conductive pattern (first radiating element 11) disposed to extend from a feed point (¶27, “The first radiating element (11) is fed by a probe (inner conductor) extended from a 50Ω coaxial line (14)”) on the front surface of the inner cover (13) to the one side surface (upper edge of 13) of the inner cover, the conductive pattern (11) being configured to have a tapering shape from the one side surface toward the feed point (14) on the front surface to transmit or receive a wireless signal (see fig. 1A below);
a metal frame (rear display cover) disposed to surround a rear surface and side surfaces of the display module (see fig. 4. ¶32, “The exemplary antenna (10) of depicted in FIGS. 1A-1C can be embedded within a display unit of a laptop computer. In general, a laptop display unit comprises a display cover, a display panel, and a frame that securely supports the display panel to the cover. The display cover may be formed of a metal, composite or plastic material”);
a front cover (display panel) comprising a front surface, an inner side surface (inside surface of display panel), and an outer side surface (any side surface of display panel), disposed to support the display module through the inner side surface; and
a slot region disposed between the conductive pattern (11) and the metal frame (¶33, “To integrate the exemplary antenna (10) in a laptop display, the horizontal element (12 b) in FIG. 1A can be inserted into the small gap between the back surface of the display panel and the inner surface of the display cover”)”.
Chen does not teach, or suggest, the antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle, the front cover configured such that the metal frame and the conductive pattern are disposed in a space between the inner side surface and the outer side surface; an outer cover coupled to the inner cover; and wherein the conductive pattern extends from both end portions of the one side surface to the front surface to define a first end point and a second end point, and the first end point of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point and the second end point of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point so that the conductive pattern transmits or receives a wideband wireless signal.
Shin et al. (US 2019/0312334; “Shin”) includes some of the features of the antenna assembly as claimed in claim 14. Shin discloses (fig. 6 below & figs. 3-5) “an antenna assembly comprising:
a display module (display module 251b, not shown);
an inner cover made of a dielectric (¶170; “The antenna 210 includes a flexible circuit board 212”) and having a front surface (surface on which antenna patterns 211 are formed), and one side surface and another side surface each extending from the front surface (flexible circuit board 212 has side surfaces);
a conductive pattern (antenna patterns 211) on the front surface of the inner cover (212) to transmit or receive a wireless signal;
a metal frame metal rim 206) to surround side surfaces of the display module (251b);
a front cover (cover glass 251a) comprising a front surface (252), an inner side surface (inner surface of glass opposite front surface 252), and an outer side surface (bent portion 253), disposed to support the display module (251b) through the inner side surface (see fig. 3);
an outer cover (rear cover 203) coupled to the inner cover (212); and
a slot region (gap) disposed between the conductive pattern (211) and the metal frame (206) (see fig. 3)”.
Shin does not teach, or suggest, the antenna assembly for mounting on a vehicle; the conductive pattern disposed to extend from a feed point on the front surface of the inner cover to the one side surface of the inner cover, the conductive pattern being configured to have a tapering shape from the one side surface toward the feed point on the front surface; the metal frame to surround a rear surface of the display module; the front cover configured such that the metal frame and the conductive pattern are disposed in a space between the inner side surface and the outer side surface; wherein the conductive pattern extends from both end portions of the one side surface to the front surface to define a first end point and a second end point, and the first end point of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point and the second end point of the conductive pattern is disposed to be curved toward the feed point so that the conductive pattern transmits or receives a wideband wireless signal.
Claims 15-20 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845