DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 11/05/2024. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant summits the Preliminary Amendment filed on 11/05/2024.
Claim - 35 USC § 101
5. Claim 12 recites “a computer product comprising a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instruction” is deemed in compliance with the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101, and is eligible claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2021/0314852), hereinafter “Park“, in view of Song et al (US 2021/0039639), hereinafter “Song“.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches an in-vehicle device to be installed in a vehicle (fig. 1 shows a Vehicle System includes a Vehicle Controller), the in-vehicle device comprising:
a communication unit configured to receive (fig. 1 shows Communication Device 110), from a management device (fig. 1 shows a Server 20 in which reads on a management device), setting information related to a role of the in-vehicle device in an in-vehicle network (pars [0167-0168]); and
Park does not explicitly teach setting unit configured to perform operation setting for the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role based on the setting information received by the communication unit.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches setting unit configured to perform operation setting for the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role based on the setting information received by the communication unit (pars [0071] [0085], and [0138-0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park to Song, in order to provide controls overall operations of the vehicle system and functionally and transfer data to the elements of the vehicle system (as suggested by Song in paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park and Song teach the in-vehicle device according to claim 1, Park does not clearly teach wherein, based on the setting information, the setting unit sets a communication operation of the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role in communication in the in-vehicle network.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, based on the setting information, the setting unit sets a communication operation of the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role in communication in the in-vehicle network (pars [0071] [0085], and [0138-0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park to Song, in order to provide controls overall operations of the vehicle system and functionally and transfer data to the elements of the vehicle system (as suggested by Song in paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park and Song teach the in-vehicle device according to claim 2, Park does not clearly teach wherein, based on the setting information, the setting unit switches whether the in-vehicle device is to perform communication as a commander or as a responder in the in-vehicle network.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, based on the setting information, the setting unit switches whether the in-vehicle device is to perform communication as a commander (pars [0071] [0085], and [0138-0140]) or as a responder in the in-vehicle network
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park to Song, in order to provide controls overall operations of the vehicle system and functionally and transfer data to the elements of the vehicle system (as suggested by Song in paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park and Song teach the in-vehicle device according to claim 2, Park does not clearly teach wherein, based on the setting information, the setting unit switches whether the in-vehicle device is to perform communication as an access point or as a station in the in-vehicle network.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, based on the setting information, the setting unit switches whether the in-vehicle device is to perform communication as an access point (pars [0071] [0085], and [0138-0140]) or as a station in the in-vehicle network
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park to Song, in order to provide controls overall operations of the vehicle system and functionally and transfer data to the elements of the vehicle system (as suggested by Song in paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches an information processing method in an in-vehicle device to be installed in a vehicle (fig. 1 shows a Vehicle System includes a Vehicle Controller), comprising the steps of:
receiving, from a management device fig. 1 shows Communication Device 110), setting information related to a role of the in-vehicle device in an in-vehicle network (pars [0167-0168]); and
Park does not explicitly teach performing operation setting for the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role based on the received setting information.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches performing operation setting for the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role based on the received setting information (pars [0071] [0085], and [0138-0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park to Song, in order to provide controls overall operations of the vehicle system and functionally and transfer data to the elements of the vehicle system (as suggested by Song in paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches a computer program product for use in an in-vehicle device to be installed in a vehicle (fig. 1 shows a Vehicle System includes a Vehicle Controller), the computer program product comprising a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one programmable processor (fig. 1), causes at least one programmable processor to cause a computer to function as:
a communication unit configured to receive fig. 1 shows Communication Device 110), from a management device (fig. 1 shows a Server 20 in which reads on a management device), setting information related to a role of the in-vehicle device in an in-vehicle network (pars [0167-0168]); and
Park does not explicitly teach a setting unit configured to perform operation setting for the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role based on the setting information received by the communication unit.
Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a setting unit configured to perform operation setting for the in-vehicle device corresponding to the role based on the setting information received by the communication unit (pars [0071] [0085], and [0138-0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park to Song, in order to provide controls overall operations of the vehicle system and functionally and transfer data to the elements of the vehicle system (as suggested by Song in paragraph [0085]).
9. Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2021/0314852), hereinafter “Park“, in view of Song et al (US 2021/0039639), hereinafter “Song“, further in view of Shah et al (US 2023/0052297), hereinafter “Shah”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park and Song teach the in-vehicle device according to claim 2, Park and Song do not clearly teach wherein the setting information indicates a communication standard for the in-vehicle network and the role in the communication standard, the in-vehicle device is equipped with a plurality of software modules, and when setting the communication operation, the setting unit selects, from among the plurality of software modules, a software module corresponding to the communication standard and the role in the communication standard indicated by the setting information, and enables the selected software module.
Shah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the setting information indicates a communication standard for the in-vehicle network and the role in the communication standard (pars [0016] [0027]), the in-vehicle device is equipped with a plurality of software modules (pars [0016] [0027]), and when setting the communication operation, the setting unit selects (pars [0016] [0027], and [0064]), from among the plurality of software modules (pars [0016] [0027], and [0064]), a software module corresponding to the communication standard and the role in the communication standard indicated by the setting information, and enables the selected software module (pars [0016] [0027], and [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park, Song to Shah, in order to provide the various optimal features such as software that can download or upgrade in the vehicle based on the user convenience (as suggested by Shah in paragraphs [0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park and Song teach in-vehicle device according to claim 5, Park and Song do not clearly teach wherein the setting unit uses correspondence information indicating a correspondence between the setting information and the software modules to select, from among the plurality of software modules, the software module corresponding to the communication standard and the role in the communication standard indicated by the setting information.
Shah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the setting unit uses correspondence information indicating a correspondence between the setting information and the software modules to select (pars [0016] [0027], and [0064]), from among the plurality of software modules (pars [0016] [0027], and [0064]), the software module corresponding to the communication standard and the role in the communication standard indicated by the setting information (pars [0016] [0027], and [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park, Song to Shah, in order to provide the various optimal features such as software that can download or upgrade in the vehicle based on the user convenience (as suggested by Shah in paragraphs [0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park and Song teach in-vehicle device according to claim 1, Park and Song do not clearly teach wherein the communication unit receives the setting information for at least one of each vehicle model and each vehicle year.
Shah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communication unit receives the setting information for at least one of each vehicle model and each vehicle year (pars [0016] [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park, Song to Shah, in order to provide the various optimal features such as software that can download or upgrade in the vehicle based on the user convenience (as suggested by Shah in paragraphs [0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Park and Song teach in-vehicle device according to claim 1, Park and Song do not clearly teach wherein the setting information indicates the role of the in-vehicle device and a data type of vehicle information related to the vehicle to be transmitted to the management device.
Shah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the setting information indicates the role of the in-vehicle device and a data type of vehicle information related to the vehicle to be transmitted to the management device (pars [0016] [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park, Song to Shah, in order to provide the various optimal features such as software that can download or upgrade in the vehicle based on the user convenience (as suggested by Shah in paragraphs [0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Park and Song teach in-vehicle device according to claim 1, Park and Song do not clearly teach wherein the communication unit receives the setting information for at least one of each vehicle model and each vehicle year, and the setting information indicates the role of the in-vehicle device and a data type of vehicle information related to the vehicle to be transmitted to the management device.
Shah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communication unit receives the setting information for at least one of each vehicle model and each vehicle year, and the setting information indicates the role of the in-vehicle device and a data type of vehicle information related to the vehicle to be transmitted to the management device (pars [0016] [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park, Song to Shah, in order to provide the various optimal features such as software that can download or upgrade in the vehicle based on the user convenience (as suggested by Shah in paragraphs [0001-0002]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Park and Song teach in-vehicle device according to claim 1, Park and Song do not clearly teach wherein the setting unit uses the setting information in setting performed so that vehicle information regarding the vehicle is transmitted from the vehicle to the management device.
Shah, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the setting unit uses the setting information in setting performed so that vehicle information regarding the vehicle is transmitted from the vehicle to the management device (pars [0016] [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Park, Song to Shah, in order to provide the various optimal features such as software that can download or upgrade in the vehicle based on the user convenience (as suggested by Shah in paragraphs [0001-0002]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641