Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 31, 2025 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed July 31, 2025 has been entered and made of record.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the handle 170 (Fig. 2C; para. 0056) and the hub 150 (Fig. 5; para. 0061) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: the first element 110 (Fig. 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: controller in claims 1, 14, 16-18, 21, 23 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10, 14-18, 20, 21 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, a “plurality of surgical instruments” is recited, followed by a recitation of “at least two surgical instruments.” These recitations are not equivalent in scope ad a plurality does not necessarily equate to at least two. In addition, “at least two working ends” is recited multiple times in claim 1 which relates to the recitation of “at least two surgical instruments” and not “a plurality of surgical instruments.”
In claims 18, 23 and 24, the phrase “and/or” renders the claims vague and ambiguous as the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined.
As claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 14-17, 20 and 21 depend from claim 1, they are likewise rejected. As claims 25-27 depend from claim 23, they are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 14-18, 20, 21 and 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiCarlo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0023002) in view of Brennan et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2010/104752).
In regard to claims 1, 6, 7, 14, 23, 24, 26 and 27, DiCarlo et al. teach a tissue ablation system 10 comprised of a plurality of ablation probes 12 where each probe 12 has an array of electrode tines 32 carried by the distal end 28 of the probe shaft 26 (surgical tool at a working end) (see Figs. 2 and 3 and para. 0047). The electrode array 32 is deployable from the distal end 22 of a cannula 18 that overlies the probe shaft 26 (see para. 0049). Accordingly, when the electrode array 32 is deployed but before it is energized, it can perform the function of displacing tissue (see Figs. 3 and 11B). DiCarlo et al. teach that tissue impedance can be measured adjacent to the probe 12 (see para. 0072). A generator 14 is configured for generating RF power and is coupled to the probes 12 via a RF cables 13 from power multiplexor 16 (adaptor) and RF cable 15 between the power multiplexor 16 and the generator 14 (see Fig. 1 and paras. 0046 and 0052) and the power multiplexor 16 can be incorporated into RF generator 14 itself (see para. 0053). The power multiplexor 16 further comprises a switch device 59 comprising a plurality of switch elements 60 having an output terminal 66 coupled to an output connector 21 corresponding to each probe 12 (see Fig. 6). The power multiplexor 16 further comprises a control circuit 70 coupled to the control terminals 68 of switch elements 60 for controlling the timing of the switch elements 60 which controls the power to the probes 12 (see para. 0063 and Fig. 6). The use of sensed physiological feedback (such as tissue impedance) to the control circuit 70 allows the control circuit 70 to change the status of the switch device 59 thereby changing the power delivered to each probe 12 (see paras. 0069-0070). DiCarlo et al. are silent as to an accelerometer. However, Brennan et al. teach a similar surgical system having an accelerometer disposed on the probe tip and determining distances between objects using the accelerometer (see para. 0027). Brennan et al. thus demonstrate that the use of an accelerometer on a probe tip to determine distances between objects (such as adjacent probes) is well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to equip the probes 12 of DiCarlo et al. with accelerometers in order to be able to measure the distances between the probe tips 12. Figure 11B of DiCarlo et al. shows that the current is delivered when the target tissue is positioned between the tip ends of the probes 12. Brennan et al. also teach the use of two probes where the probes have different structures and functions. In regard to claim 2, see para. 0051 of DiCarlo et al. In regard to claim 3, see Fig. 7 and paras. 0051 and 0074-0076 of DiCarlo et al. In regard to claim 5, see para. 0052 of DiCarlo et al. In regard to claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide more than one power multiplexor 16, 116 as it is well settled that duplication of parts is an obvious modification. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). With further respect to claim 14 and in regard to claim 15, Brennan et al. do not disclose a cutoff distance. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention that having the probes 12 of DiCarlo et al. too close to each other is counterproductive (would char or overheat the target tissue) and thus a cutoff distance, such as 5 mm, would be utilized. In regard to claims 21 and 25, see para. 0099 of DiCarlo et al. In regard to claim 16, see paras. 0069 and 0072 of DiCarlo et al. In regard to claim 17, see para. 0051 of Brennan et al. In regard to claim 18, see paras. 0090-0091 of DiCarlo et al. In regard to claim 20, see para. 0068 of DiCarlo et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant should not the following prior art references teaching systems with multiple surgical instruments: Jayme et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0274750; Coulson et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2015/0032100; Zada, U.S. Patent No. 9,433,458 and Weiner et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,033,322.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794