DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 11/05/2024. Claims 1-7 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 5-6 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
“Accordingly, examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph to a claim limitation if it meets the following 3-prong analysis:
“With respect to the first prong of this analysis, a claim element that does not include the term “means” or “step” triggers a rebuttable presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply. When the claim limitation does not use the term “means,” examiners should determine whether the presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6 does not apply is overcome. The presumption may be overcome if the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder (a term that is simply a substitute for the term “means”). The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: “mechanism for,” “module for,” “device for,” “unit for,” “component for,” “element for,” “member for,” “apparatus for,” “machine for,” or “system for.”Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998). This list is not exhaustive, and other generic placeholders may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph.”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“function management unit that activates … ” recited in claim 5;
“function management unit transmits an activation command… ” recited in claim 6;
Based on Applicant argument and review of the specification shows that he following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C 112 (f0 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“function management unit that activates … ” - See Publication No. US 20250310425 A1 (¶ 0030, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0044-0045, ¶ 0081-¶ 0083, ¶ 0093)
“function management unit transmits an activation command … ” See Publication No. US 20250310425 A1 (¶ 0030, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0044-0045, ¶ 0081-¶ 0083, ¶ 0093).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 3, The claim recites “wherein the signal transfer device activates one or both of the first conversation….”. It is unclear which component/structure within the signal transfer device is performing the limitation. Therefore, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. Patent No. US 5,982,514 ( Suzuki hereinafter) in view of Dallesasse et al. Publication No. US 2008/0187316 A1 ( Dallesasse hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1,
Suzuki teaches a signal transfer device (Abstract – An optical signal/electrical signal converting device ) comprising:
an optical interface unit configured to perform processing of receiving an optical signal, and converting the received optical signal into an electric signal to generate a reception signal and perform processing of converting a transmission signal from an electric signal to an optical signal, and transmitting the converted optical signal (Abstract - The converting device also includes an optical signal receiving circuit for receiving the optical transmission signal from the optical transmission line of the system and converting the received signal into an electric signal using a light-receiving element, and a demodulation circuit for demodulating the electric signal received from the optical signal receiving circuit into a pulse signal having pulses of a larger width – Col.2, lines 10-20 an optical signal transmission unit for generating and outputting an optical transmission signal by driving a light-emission element using the modulated pulse signal);
a first interface unit configured to transmit a signal of a first protocol; a second interface unit configured to receive a signal of a second protocol (Col.3, lines 5-20 - The optical-signal/electric-signal converting device comprises an electric signal input/output terminal for receiving an electric transmission signal to be input to the electric signal receiving unit and outputting an electric transmission signal transmitted by the electric signal transmission unit and an optical signal input/output terminal for receiving an optical transmission signal to be input to the optical signal receiving unit and outputting an optical transmission signal transmitted by the optical signal transmission unit);
a processor; and a storage medium having computer program instructions stored thereon, when executed by the processor (Col.9, lines 20-25), perform to:
convert the reception signal generated by the optical interface unit into the signal of the first protocol and transmit the signal from the first interface unit; and convert the signal of the second protocol received by the second interface unit into the transmission signal to be transmitted by an optical signal and output the converted transmission signal to the optical interface unit (Col.2, lines 60-67 & Col. 3,lines 1-10 - The operation control unit may convert the protocol of the electric transmission signal received by the electric signal receiving unit into the protocol for optical signal transmission, and may also convert the protocol of the signal received by the optical signal receiving unit into the protocol for electric signal transmission – Col.9, lines 20-25 - the microcomputer 40B of the optical-signal/electric-signal converting device 4' can convert the protocols between optical signals and electric signals, thereby realizing a communications system capable of establishing both optical and electrical communications using different protocols).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly teach
wherein the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable and detachable respectively,
Dallesasse teaches
wherein the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable and detachable respectively (Abstract - At least one electro-optical subassembly is provided in the housing for converting between an information- containing electrical signal and a modulated optical signal corresponding to the electrical signal, along with a modular, interchangeable communications protocol processing printed circuit board in the housing for processing the communications signal into a predetermined electrical or optical communications protocol – See Claim 42) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki to include the teachings of Dallesasse. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to provide the attachable/detachable interface units that allow the hardware to be swapped out as needed for specific service requirements.
Regarding claim 2,
Suzuki further teaches
wherein the first protocol and the second protocol are different protocols or the same protocol (Col. 5, lines 15-20 - The communications system for both optical and electrical communications can be easily realized at a low cost even when different protocols are used for the optical and electrical communications).
Regarding claim 7,
Suzuki teaches a signal transfer method (Abstract – An optical signal/electrical signal converting device ) comprising:
an optical reception step of receiving an optical signal and converting the received optical signal into an electric signal to generate a reception signal by an optical interface unit ; a first conversion step of converting the reception signal generated in the optical reception step into a signal of a first protocol by a first conversion unit; (Abstract - The converting device also includes an optical signal receiving circuit for receiving the optical transmission signal from the optical transmission line of the system and converting the received signal into an electric signal using a light-receiving element, and a demodulation circuit for demodulating the electric signal received from the optical signal receiving circuit into a pulse signal having pulses of a larger width Col.2, lines 10-20 - an optical signal transmission unit for generating and outputting an optical transmission signal by driving a light-emission element using the modulated pulse signal);
a transmission step of transmitting the signal of the first protocol converted in the first conversion step, a reception step of receiving a signal of a second protocol by a second interface (Col.3, lines 5-20 - The optical-signal/electric-signal converting device comprises an electric signal input/output terminal for receiving an electric transmission signal to be input to the electric signal receiving unit and outputting an electric transmission signal transmitted by the electric signal transmission unit and an optical signal input/output terminal for receiving an optical transmission signal to be input to the optical signal receiving unit and outputting an optical transmission signal transmitted by the optical signal transmission unit);
a second conversion step of converting the signal of the second protocol received in the reception step into a transmission signal to be transmitted by an optical signal interface by a second conversion unit; and an optical transmission step of converting the transmission signal converted in the second conversion step from an electric signal to an optical signal and transmitting the converted optical signal by the optical interface unit, wherein the first conversion step and the second conversion step are performed by a processor executing a program. (Col.2, lines 60-67 & Col. 3,lines 1-10 - The operation control unit may convert the protocol of the electric transmission signal received by the electric signal receiving unit into the protocol for optical signal transmission, and may also convert the protocol of the signal received by the optical signal receiving unit into the protocol for electric signal transmission – Col.9, lines 20-25 - the microcomputer 40B of the optical-signal/electric-signal converting device 4' can convert the protocols between optical signals and electric signals, thereby realizing a communications system capable of establishing both optical and electrical communications using different protocols.).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly teach
wherein the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable and detachable respectively,
Dallesasse teaches
wherein the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable and detachable respectively (Abstract - At least one electro-optical subassembly is provided in the housing for converting between an information- containing electrical signal and a modulated optical signal corresponding to the electrical signal, along with a modular, interchangeable communications protocol processing printed circuit board in the housing for processing the communications signal into a predetermined electrical or optical communications protocol – See Claim 42) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki to include the teachings of Dallesasse. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to provide the attachable/detachable interface units that allow the hardware to be swapped out as needed for specific service requirements.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Dallesasse further in view of Hiniker et al. Publication No. US 2013/0086195 A1 ( Hiniker hereinafter)
Regarding claim 3,
Suzuki further teaches
wherein the signal transfer device activates one or both of the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit to be activated selected on the basis of information acquired by a communication device of the optical signal (Col.2, lines 55-65 -The monitor unit may monitor a transmission line through which the electric transmission signal is transmitted and notify the operation control unit of an abnormal condition when an abnormal condition is detected in the transmission line. The operation control unit may transmit a predetermined signal to the modulation unit according to the notification from the monitor unit. The operation control unit may convert the protocol of the electric transmission signal received by the electric signal receiving unit into the protocol for optical signal transmission).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly teach activates one or both of the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit to be activated selected on the basis of information acquired by a communication device of a transmission destination or a transmission source of the signal
Hiniker teaches
activates one or both of the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit to be activated selected on the basis of information acquired by a communication device of a transmission destination or a transmission source of signal (¶0041 - Detection of the BACnet MS/TP formatted packet awaiting wireless transmission within the queue 313 causes the interface control routine 302 to activate the conversion routine 310. The conversion routine 310, in tum, evaluates and removes the header and trailer information from the data envelope portion of the packet (as well as the associated destination address) while leaving the BACnet message portion of the packet unchanged ( step 408). The interface control routine 302 of the automation interface 200b utilizes the removed data envelope information to verify that the remote network number stored in the BACnet portion of the routing table 312 corresponds to a destination BACnet ZigBee MAC address operable within a BACnet ZigBee network)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki to include the teachings of Hiniker. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to facilitate communication between wired and wireless automation device operating according to different network protocols within a building automation system (Hiniker – ¶0014).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Otsuki et al. Publication No. WO 2020/129791 A1 ( Otsuki hereinafter) further in view of Dallesasse
Regarding claim 4,
Suzuki teaches a communication system comprising
a signal transfer device and a communication device,
wherein the signal transfer device (Abstract – An optical signal/electrical signal converting device ) comprises
a first optical interface unit that performs processing of receiving a first optical signal from the communication device, and generating a first reception signal obtained by converting the received first optical signal from an optical signal to an electric signal, and performs processing of generating a second optical signal obtained by converting a first transmission signal from an electric signal to an optical signal and transmitting the generated second optical signal to the communication device, (Abstract - The converting device also includes an optical signal receiving circuit for receiving the optical transmission signal from the optical transmission line of the system and converting the received signal into an electric signal using a light-receiving element, and a demodulation circuit for demodulating the electric signal received from the optical signal receiving circuit into a pulse signal having pulses of a larger width - Col.2, lines 10-20 - an optical signal transmission unit for generating and outputting an optical transmission signal by driving a light-emission element using the modulated pulse signal;).
a first interface unit that transmits a signal of a first protocol, a second interface unit that receives a signal of a second protocol(Col.3, lines 5-20 - The optical-signal/electric-signal converting device comprises an electric signal input/output terminal for receiving an electric transmission signal to be input to the electric signal receiving unit and outputting an electric transmission signal transmitted by the electric signal transmission unit and an optical signal input/output terminal for receiving an optical transmission signal to be input to the optical signal receiving unit and outputting an optical transmission signal transmitted by the optical signal transmission unit).
a first conversion unit that converts the first reception signal generated by the first optical interface unit into the signal of the first protocol, and transmits the signal from the first interface unit, and a second conversion unit that converts the signal of the second protocol received by the second interface unit into the first transmission signal to be transmitted by an optical signal and outputs the converted first transmission signal to the first optical interface unit, the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit are realized by a processor of the signal transfer device executing a program, (Col.2, lines 60-67 & Col. 3,lines 1-10 - The operation control unit may convert the protocol of the electric transmission signal received by the electric signal receiving unit into the protocol for optical signal transmission, and may also convert the protocol of the signal received by the optical signal receiving unit into the protocol for electric signal transmission – Col.9, lines 20-25 - the microcomputer 40B of the optical-signal/electric-signal converting device 4' can convert the protocols between optical signals and electric signals, thereby realizing a communications system capable of establishing both optical and electrical communications using different protocols.), and the communication device (Fig.1, Optical device (8))
However, Suzuki does not explicitly teach that
communication device comprises a second optical interface unit that performs processing of generating the first optical signal obtained by converting a second transmission signal from an electric signal to an optical signal, and transmitting the generated first optical signal to the signal transfer device, and performs processing of receiving the second optical signal from the signal transfer device, and generating a second reception signal obtained by converting the received second optical signal from an optical signal to an electric signal, a signal generation unit that generates a signal of the first protocol, converts the generated signal of the first protocol into the second transmission signal to be transmitted by an optical signal, and outputs the converted second transmission signal to the second optical interface unit, and a reception unit that converts the second reception signal generated by the second optical interface unit into a signal of the second protocol and performs reception processing of the converted signal, and the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable to and detachable from the signal transfer device, the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit are realized by a processor of the signal transfer device executing a program, and the signal generation unit and the reception unit are realized by a processor of the communication device executing a program.
Otsuki teaches
communication device comprises a second optical interface unit that performs processing of generating the first optical signal obtained by converting a second transmission signal from an electric signal to an optical signal, and transmitting the generated first optical signal to the signal transfer device, and performs processing of receiving the second optical signal from the signal transfer device, and generating a second reception signal obtained by converting the received second optical signal from an optical signal to an electric signal (Abstract - A plurality of antenna units convert the first signals from the optical signals into electric signals and wirelessly transmit the first signals - The plurality of antenna units convert, into optical signals, the second signals wirelessly received from the respective radio station devices – Page 1 - An optical wireless communication system in which an accommodating station device and a plurality of wireless station devices wirelessly communicate- Page 6 - The DRoF EO/OE conversion unit 120a converts the signal output by the
frequency conversion unit 112 from an electrical signal to an optical signal by DRoF and outputs the signal to the optical fiber network 130.Further, the DRoF EO/OE conversion unit 120a receives the optical signal output by the antenna unit
140a from the optical fiber network 130, converts it into an electric signal by DRoF, and outputs the electric signal to the wireless transceiver 110).
a signal generation unit that generates a signal of the first protocol, converts the generated signal of the first protocol into the second transmission signal to be transmitted by an optical signal, and outputs the converted second transmission signal to the second optical interface unit (Page 1 - A signal generation unit that generates a first signal notifying the timing of the time slot assigned to each of the wireless station devices – Page 3 - he wireless transceiver including a signal generation unit that generates a first signal notifying the timing of a time slot assigned to each of the wireless station devices - Page 4 - The
baseband processing unit generates and receives a baseband signal. The baseband signal generated by the baseband processing unit is a signal transmitted to the wireless station device wireless 20. The signal transmitted to the
wireless station device wireless 20 includes a signal for time synchronization such as a C (Control)-Plane beacon for synchronization. C-Plane is a control wireless communication channel. The baseband signal received by the baseband processing unit is a signal transmitted from the wireless station device 20 - The ARoF EO/OE converter 120 converts the signal output by the frequency converter 112 from an electrical signal to an optical signal by ARoF and outputs the signal to the optical fiber network 130).
a reception unit that converts the second reception signal generated by the second optical interface unit into a signal of the second protocol and performs reception processing of the converted signa (Page 6 - The wireless station device includes a receiving unit, a control unit, and a transmitting unit. For example, the reception unit and the transmission unit are the subscriber wireless transceiver, and the control unit is the wireless MAC TDM control unit. The receiving unit receives the first signal wirelessly transmitted from the antenna unit of the accommodation station device. Page 4 – The baseband processing unit 111 generates and receives a baseband signal. The baseband signal generated by the baseband processing unit is a signal transmitted to the wireless station device wireless. The signal transmitted to the wireless station device wireless 20 includes a signal for time synchronization such as a C (Control)-Plane beacon for synchronization. C-Plane is a control wireless communication channel), and
the signal generation unit and the reception unit are realized by a processor of the communication device executing a program (Page 1 - A control unit that acquires information on the timing assigned to the own device from the first signal, and controls to transmit the second signal at the timing – Page 6 - The wireless MAC TDM control unit 113 and the wireless MAC TDM control units 23-1 to 23-N each include a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a memory, an auxiliary storage device, and the like connected by a bus, and are executed by executing a program).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki to include the teachings of Otsuki. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to process the generation of a signal addressed to the wireless station device and a process of receiving a signal from the wireless station device (Otsuki– Page 6).
Suzuki in view of Otsuki does not explicitly teach
the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable to and detachable from the signal transfer device
However, Dallesasse teaches
wherein the first interface unit and the second interface unit are attachable and detachable respectively (Abstract - At least one electro-optical subassembly is provided in the housing for converting between an information- containing electrical signal and a modulated optical signal corresponding to the electrical signal, along with a modular, interchangeable communications protocol processing printed circuit board in the housing for processing the communications signal into a predetermined electrical or optical communications protocol – See Claim 42) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki in view of Otsuki to include the teachings of Dallesasse. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to provide the attachable/detachable interface units that allow the hardware to be swapped out as needed for specific service requirements.
Claims 5,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Otsuki further in view of Dallesasse further in view Yasue et al. Publication No. 2880249 B2 (Yasue hereinafter)
Regarding claim 5,
Suzuki does not explicitly teach
wherein the communication device further comprises a function management unit that activates the first conversion unit, the second conversion unit, the signal generation unit, and the reception unit selected on the basis of inputted information among the first conversion unit, the second conversion unit, the signal generation unit, the reception unit that correspond to different protocols respectively.
However, Yasue teaches
communication device further comprises a function management unit that activates the first conversion unit, the second conversion unit, the signal generation unit, and the reception unit selected on the basis of inputted information among the first conversion unit, the second conversion unit, the signal generation unit, the reception unit that correspond to different protocols respectively (Claim 1 - Communication control program specified in the plurality of communication control programs for each of the plurality of communication processing units in accordance with an instruction from a host system. Downloading a program from the memory to the writable memory of each communication processing unit, Communication adapter characterized by connecting the communication processing unit that executes a communication control program based on a communication protocol to respond - Page 2 - a plurality of communication protocols are provided in the communication control program, and one of the communication protocols is designated from the host software to perform communication control of the multi-line - since one communication control program has a plurality of communication protocols, it is possible to easily switch communication protocols – Page 4 - The communication control program can be freely exchanged by downloading to the sub-processor unit 32 or the sub-processor unit 33 as necessary. Page 11 - since one communication control program has a plurality of communication protocols, protocol conversion can be performed quickly and easily).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki to include the teachings of Yasue. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to connect to a multi-line including a plurality of communication paths and controlling communication of the multi-line (Claim 1- Yasue).
Regarding claim 6,
Suzuki does not explicitly teach
wherein the function management unit transmits an activation command of the selected first conversion unit and second conversion unit to the signal transfer device, and the signal transfer device receives the activation command and activates the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit.
However, Yasue teaches
wherein the function management unit transmits an activation command of the selected first conversion unit and second conversion unit to the signal transfer device, and the signal transfer device receives the activation command and activates the first conversion unit and the second conversion unit (Claim 1 - Communication control program specified in the plurality of communication control programs for each of the plurality of communication processing units in accordance with an instruction from a host system. Downloading a program from the memory to the writable memory of each communication processing unit, Communication adapter characterized by connecting the communication processing unit that executes a communication control program based on a communication protocol to respond Page 2 - a plurality of communication protocols are provided in the communication control program, and one of the communication protocols is designated from the host software to perform communication control of the multi-line - since one communication control program has a plurality of communication protocols, it is possible to easily switch communication protocols – Page 4 - The communication control program can be freely exchanged by downloading to the sub-processor unit 32 or the sub-processor unit 33 as necessary. Page 10 - The program has two protocols, HDLC-BA and HDLC-UN, and selects one of them for use. The selection may be automatically made based on an instruction from the system processor unit 23 and a received frame coming from the line - Page 11 - since one communication control program has a plurality of communication protocols, protocol conversion can be performed quickly and easily).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Suzuki to include the teachings of Yasue. The motivation for doing so is to allow system to connect to a multi-line including a plurality of communication paths and controlling communication of the multi-line (Claim 1- Yasue).
Conclusion
/YOUNES NAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445
.