DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reference signal generation unit” in claim 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishino (US 2019/0068902).
Regarding claim 1, Nishino discloses, in at least figures 1 and 5, an imaging element (11) comprising: a pixel (21) that outputs a pixel signal according to incident light (¶46); a reference signal generation unit (DAC 21 and 24) that generates a reference signal having an inclined waveform (ramp), the inclined waveform linearly changing with a predetermined inclination as time elapses (¶53-54); an analog-digital conversion circuit (23, 24 and 25) that includes a comparator (25), the comparator comparing the pixel signal with the reference signal, and performs analog-digital conversion on the pixel signal (¶51, 54); and a noise correction circuit (22) that corrects noise of a pixel power supply, the pixel power supply supplying power to the pixel by superimposing the noise on the reference signal (¶58), wherein the noise correction circuit includes: a first correction circuit (114) that generates a first correction signal for correcting a relatively low frequency band with respect to noise of the pixel power supply (¶98); and a second correction circuit (113/115) that generates a second correction signal, the second correction signal being different in output polarity from the first correction signal and correcting a relatively high frequency band for noise of the pixel power supply (¶96, 102, 105).
Regarding claim 3, Nishino discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nishino also teaches wherein the first correction circuit and the second correction circuit each have a function of adjusting frequency characteristics of the first correction signal and the second correction signal (¶96, 98, 102-105).
Regarding claim 4, Nishino discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nishino also teaches wherein the noise correction circuit corrects noise of a power supply that supplies power to the comparator (fig. 1; ¶57-58).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Nishino also teaches an electronic apparatus (901) (fig. 9; ¶202).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 – 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639