DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 30, 2026, in response to the previous Office Action (1/13/2026) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1 – 8 are currently pending.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the following objections/rejections in the last Office Action:
Objection to Specification
Interpretation under 112(f)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 30, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Nishino does not describe “"the noise correction circuit includes: a first correction circuit configured to generate a first correction signal, wherein the first correction signal is superimposed on the reference signal to correct a first frequency band with respect to the noise of the pixel power supply ... a second correction circuit configured to generate a second correction signal, wherein the second correction signal is superimposed on the reference signal to correct a second frequency band for the noise of the pixel power supply," as recited in amended independent claim 1. (see Remarks, p. 9). Specifically, Nishino (1) does not generate separate or distinct correction signals; and (2) does not generate a first correction signal to adjust a gain of the DC component in the low-frequency region of the noise correction signal; and does not generate a second correction signal to adjust a leading or lagging phase in a high-frequency region.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument (1) that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., separate and distinct correction signals) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims only require generation of a first correction signal and a second correction signal, both of which are superimposed on the reference signal. Nishino reads on these limitations as currently written.
In response to applicant's argument (2) that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., adjust gain in low-frequency region and adjust a leading or lagging phase in a high-frequency region) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims only require generation of a first correction signal to correct a first frequency band and a second correction signa to correct a second frequency band, both of which are superimposed on the reference signal. Nishino reads on these limitations as currently written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishino (US 2019/0068902).
Regarding claim 1, Nishino discloses, in at least figures 1 and 5, an imaging element (11) comprising: a pixel (21) configured to output a pixel signal based on incident light (¶46); a digital-analog conversion circuit (DAC 21 and 24) configured to generate a reference signal having an inclined waveform (ramp), wherein the inclined waveform linearly changes with a specific inclination as time elapses (¶53-54); an analog-digital conversion circuit (23, 24 and 25) that includes a comparator (25), wherein the comparator is configured to compare the pixel signal with the reference signal, and the analog-digital conversion circuit is configured to execute analog-digital conversion on the pixel signal (¶51, 54); and a noise correction circuit (22) configured to correct noise of a pixel power supply, the pixel power supply supplies power to the pixel by superimposition of the noise on the reference signal (¶58), the noise correction circuit includes: a first correction circuit (114) configured to generate a first correction signal, wherein the first correction signal is superimposed on the reference signal to correct a first frequency band with respect to the noise of the pixel power supply (¶98); and a second correction circuit (113/115) configured to generate a second correction signal, wherein the second correction signal is different in output polarity from the first correction signal, and the second correction signal is superimposed on the reference signal to correct a second frequency band for the noise of the pixel power supply (¶96, 102, 105).
Regarding claim 3, Nishino discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nishino also teaches wherein each of the first correction circuit and the second correction circuit has a function to adjust frequency characteristics of the first correction signal and the second correction signal (¶96, 98, 102-105).
Regarding claim 4, Nishino discloses the limitations of claim 1. Nishino also teaches wherein the noise correction circuit is further configured to correct noise of a power supply that supplies power to the comparator (fig. 1; ¶57-58).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Nishino also teaches an electronic apparatus (901) (fig. 9; ¶202).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 – 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639