Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3, 5) in the reply filed on 3/30/2026 is acknowledged.
At least, the group I and group II belong different classification and need to be searched separately.
Although there may be some overlap of the search for the inventions there is nothing to indicate that the search would be coextensive. Further the examination on the merits of apparatus claims differs from that of method claims. Therefor the extra search and/or examination burden for addressing multiple inventions poses a serious burden to the examiner which makes the restriction requirement proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Pearson (WO2003/006226).
Regarding claim 1, Pearson discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 6A-6E, a method for manufacturing a resin pipe by injecting a molten resin from one end portion toward an other end portion of a cavity extending in a mold by an injector, and then introducing a fluid or solid assist material into the cavity to discharge an extra molten resin of the molten resin from the cavity, thereby curing the molten resin in a cylindrical shape remaining in the cavity, the method comprising:
introducing the assist material from the other end portion toward the one end portion of the cavity to cause the extra molten resin discharged from the cavity to flow back into the injector; and
injecting the back-flowed molten resin from the one end portion toward the other end portion of the cavity by the injector when manufacturing a next new resin pipe (i.e., Pearson discloses as illustrated in Figs. 6A-6E, the valve member 110 is opened allowing molten plastics material to be injected from the barrel 104 into the mould cavity 108 (here, the mould cavity is considered to provide as a pipe (page 34, lines 1-16)) without packing the plastics (page 27, lines 32-35). Thereafter the gas injection step is commenced (page 27, line 37). As illustrated in Fig. 6D, after a predetermined time delay, whilst continuing to maintain gas pressure, the pressure is reduced from the moulding machine screw or piston 130 and/or the valve member 110 is opened, which enables the gas to progressively expel molten plastics material from the mould cavity 108 back into the machine cylinder or barrel 104 (for reusage later or in a new filling process), the gas forcing the piston 130 away from the mould (page 28, lines 9-16)).
Regarding claim 2, Pearson discloses that, the present invention is suitable for a wide range of thermoplastics resin materials, including glass-fibre materials which require early pressurization in order to achieve acceptable surface finishes (page 20, lines 31-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (WO2003/006226) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wolfsberger (US 11,090,847).
Regarding claims 3, 5, the base reference Pearson does not disclose that, the resin pipe is a non-straight pipe comprising a pipe passage that is bent. In the same field of endeavor, manufacturing a plastic frame, Wolfsberger discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the frame 10 having multiple bending is made by injecting thermoplastic melt into the closed shaping tool/cavity. As illustrated in Fig. 2, a fluid 22 is pressed through an injector (col. 4, lines 27-42).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Pearson to have the resin pipe made as Wolfsberger teaches that it is known to have the resin pipe having multiple bending.
It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (see MPEP2143).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744