DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because figures 6-8 include blank boxes without specifying what those are. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “or in response to reaching a second maximum number of preamble transmission of the first TRP, determine that the second RA procedure is-failed; or in response to reaching a third maximum number of preamble transmission of the second TRP, determine that the third RA procedure is-failed.” However, there is no antecedent for “the second RA procedure” or “the third RA procedure” in claim 14 or the parent claims of claim 14. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim are not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim).
For claim 1, Tsai teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ([Para. 0041], FIG. 1 shows a multiple access wireless communication system according to one embodiment of the invention. [Para. 0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing the UEs 116 and 122 in FIG. 1), comprising: at least one memory ([Para. 0055], The communication device 300 may include a memory 310); and at least one processor coupled with at the at least one memory ([Para. 0055], The communication device 300 may include a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300) and configured to cause the UE to: access a serving cell with a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with a first timing advance (TA) ([Para. 0229], There are two UE (RRC) states: connected state (or called active state) and non-connected state. [Para. 0230], UE initially accesses one TRP of the cell and then other TRPs could be added to serve the UE. [Para. 0242] The UE establishes connection to BS via connection establishment procedure. During the procedure, the UE needs to perform random access procedure. [Para. 0271], It is assumed that uplink timing advance is necessary in a NR cell. If the NR cell is composed of multiple TRPs, different uplink timing advance values may be required for uplink transmissions of a UE to different TRPs, different TRPs may have different sizes of network coverage. Operations of multiple uplink timing advance values in a cell need to be considered), receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message related to a second TRP associated with a second TA from a network ([Para. 0271], If the NR cell is composed of multiple TRPs, different uplink timing advance values may be required for uplink transmissions of a UE to different TRPs. Operations of multiple uplink timing advance values in a cell need to be considered. [Para. 0272], It is assumed that UE needs to maintain different timing advance values for different TRPs of the same NR cell and each of maintained timing advances is associated with an identifier, e.g., TA index. [Para. 0279], Another alternative is that the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may be used to add at least one (serving) TRP to serve the UE [Examiner’s Note: Adding TRP indicates the added TRP is the second TRP]. The signaling may be a RRC message [Examiner’s Note: The signaling to the UE being RRC message indicates that the signaling is from the network and can be RRC reconfiguration message]. FIG. 18 illustrates an example of TA index indicated by RRC signaling before RA procedure. [Para. 0230], UE initially accesses one TRP of the cell and then other TRPs could be added to serve the UE [Examiner’s Note: Multiple TRPs are added based on the performance described in paragraph 0279]), wherein the second TA is different from the first TA ([Para. 0271], If the NR cell is composed of multiple TRPs, different uplink timing advance values may be required for uplink transmissions of a UE to different TRPs. Operations of multiple uplink timing advance values in a cell need to be considered. [Para. 0272], It is assumed that UE needs to maintain different timing advance values for different TRPs of the same NR cell and each of maintained timing advances is associated with an identifier, e.g., TA index); and perform a first random access (RA) procedure to the second TRP after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message ([Para. 0279], Another alternative is that the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may be used to add at least one (serving) TRP to serve the UE. The signaling may indicate a dedicated preamble. The signaling may be a RRC message. FIG. 18 illustrates an example of TA index indicated by RRC signaling (before RA procedure). [Para. 0230], UE initially accesses one TRP of the cell and then other TRPs could be added to serve the UE [Examiner’s Note: Multiple TRPs are added based on the performance described in paragraph 0279]).
Although teaching RRC signaling to configure for TRPs, Tsai does not explicitly disclose receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message related to a second TRP associated with a second TA from a network, and perform a first random access (RA) procedure to the second TRP after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message.
Kim is directed to providing cell configuration parameters. More specifically, Kim teaches receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message related to a second TRP associated with a second TA from a network ([Para. 0254], A UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., handover command) from a source base station. The UE may perform a random access procedure toward the target base station. Based on successful completion of the random access procedure, the UE may send an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target base station to complete handover procedure (e.g., reconfiguration with sync) [Examiner’s Note: Acquiring uplink timing for synchronization indicates the second base station associated with the second TA]. [Para. 0305], A UE-RRC layer may receive an RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE) from a base station. The reconfiguration with sync completion may include handover completion or PSCell addition for cell group addition [Examiner’s Note: The base station in paragraph 0305 from which the UE receives RRC reconfiguration corresponds to the source base station in paragraph 0254 from which the UE receives RRC reconfiguration message]. [Para. 0178], A network and the UE may initiate a random access procedure. The UE may initiate the random access procedure to acquire uplink timing (e.g., when uplink synchronization status is non-synchronized). A network may initiate a random access procedure for a handover and/or for establishing time alignment for an SCell addition [Examiner’s Note: The RA procedure is performed for the target base station in handover or PSCell addition in paragraph 0305 to acquire uplink timing. The network initiates RA procedure by RRC reconfiguration message to cause the UE to perform RA procedure] [Para. 0188], The Msg 2 1312 received by the UE may include an RAR. The Msg 2 1312 may include a time-alignment command that may be used by the UE to adjust the UE's transmission timing [Examiner’s Note: Adjusting uplink timing with TA command indicates the TA of the target base station]), and perform a first random access (RA) procedure to the second TRP after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message ([Para. 0254], A UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., handover command) from a source base station. The UE may perform a random access procedure toward the target base station. Based on successful completion of the random access procedure, the UE may send an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target base station to complete handover procedure(e.g., reconfiguration with sync). [Para. 0305], The reconfiguration with sync completion may include handover completion or PSCell addition for cell group addition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, so that the UE receives RRC reconfiguration message to perform random access procedure to the second base station or the second cell associated with uplink timing, as taught by Kim. The modification would have reduced signals and latency to recovery MCG of the PCell (Kim [Para. 0326]).
For claim 2, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 1. The references further teach wherein the first RA procedure is performed upon a reception of the RRC reconfiguration message (Kim [Para. 0254, 0305], A UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., handover command) from a source base station. The UE may perform a random access procedure toward the target base station. Based on successful completion of the random access procedure, the UE may send an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target base station to complete handover procedure(e.g., reconfiguration with sync).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, so that the UE performs RA procedure upon reception of RRC reconfiguration, as taught by Kim. The modification would have reduced signals and latency to recovery MCG of the PCell (Kim [Para. 0326]).
For claim 5, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 2. The references further teach wherein, in response to the first RA procedure failing, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit failure information related to the first RA procedure (Kim [Para. 0299], A UE may fail in a RACH procedure. The UE may send a report comprising the RACH failure information (e.g., a RACH report) to a base station).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, so that the UE transmits report comprising RA failure information, as taught by Kim. The modification would have reduced signals and latency to recovery MCG of the PCell (Kim [Para. 0326]).
For claim 6, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 2. The references further teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit a RRC reconfiguration complete message to the network after successfully completing the first RA procedure or after failure of the first RA procedure (Kim [Para. 0305], Based on the random access procedure being successfully completed, the UE may send an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the base station).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, so that the UE transmits reconfiguration complete to the base station after RA procedure is successfully completed, as taught by Kim. The modification would have reduced signals and latency to recovery MCG of the PCell (Kim [Para. 0326]).
For claim 14, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 6. The references further teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: in response to reaching a first maximum number of preamble transmission of the second TRP, determine that the first RA procedure is failed (Kim [Para. 0254], A UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., handover command) from a source base station. The UE may perform a random access procedure toward the target base station. Kim [Para. 0187], The UE may perform a preamble retransmission if no response is received following a preamble transmission. The UE may count a number of preamble transmissions and/or retransmissions (PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER). The UE may determine that a random access procedure completed unsuccessfully if the number of preamble transmissions exceeds a threshold configured by the one or more RACH parameters (e.g., preambleTransMax)); or in response to reaching a second maximum number of preamble transmission of the first TRP, determine that the second RA procedure is-failed; or in response to reaching a third maximum number of preamble transmission of the second TRP, determine that the third RA procedure is failed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, so that the UE determines that the RA procedure completed unsuccessfully if the number of preamble transmission reached a maximum number, as taught by Kim. The modification would have reduced signals and latency to recovery MCG of the PCell (Kim [Para. 0326]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (ETSI TS 138 331 V15.14.0 (2021-09), hereinafter TS38.331).
For claim 3, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 1. Although teaching RRC reconfiguration complete message includes reconfigurationwithsync (Kim [Para. 0254], the UE may send an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target base station to complete handover procedure (e.g., reconfiguration with sync)), the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes an indication for indicating whether the UE performs the first RA procedure upon a reception of the RRC reconfiguration message.
TS38.331 teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes an indication for indicating whether the UE performs the first RA procedure upon a reception of the RRC reconfiguration message ([Page 48], 2> if the RRCReconfiguration message was received via E-UTRA SRB1: 3> if reconfigurationWithSync was included in spCellConfig of an SCG: 4> initiate the Random Access procedure on the SpCell [Examiner’s Note: reconfigurationWithSync is the indication and initiating RA procedure is the steps 3> and 4> after receiving step 2> of receiving reconfiguration indicates that reconfigurationWithSync indicates the UE to perform RA procedure upon reception of reconfiguration]. [Page 146], RRCReconfiguration ::= SEQUENCE {criticalExtensions CHOICE {rrcReconfiguration RRCReconfiguration-IEs}}. RRCReconfiguration-IEs ::= SEQUENCE {secondaryCellGroup OCTET STRING (CONTAINING CellGroupConfig)}. RRCReconfiguration-v1530-IEs ::= SEQUENCE { masterCellGroup OCTET STRING (CONTAINING CellGroupConfig)}. [Page 203], CellGroupConfig ::= SEQUENCE {spCellConfig SpCellConfig} [Examiner’s Note: spCellConfig including reconfigurationWithSync is included in RRCReconfiguration message. Kim also teaches that reconfigurationWithSync is included in RRCReconfiguration message ([Para. 305], A UE-RRC layer may receive an RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE) or mobility control information from a base station. Based on the RRC reconfiguration message, the UE may perform a random access procedure to a base station indicated in the reconfiguration sync IE or mobility control information in the RRC reconfiguration message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Kim, so that the reconfigurationWithSync is included in reconfiguration to indicate to the UE to perform RA procedure upon reception of reconfiguration, as taught by TS38.331. The modification would have implemented the Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN (TS38.331 [Page 16 Scope]).
For claim 4, Tsai, Kim and TS38.331 teach the UE of Claim 3. The references further teach in response to the indication indicating the UE to perform the first RA procedure upon the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message, the first RA procedure is performed upon the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message (TS38.331 [Page 48], 2> if the RRCReconfiguration message was received via E-UTRA SRB1: 3> if reconfigurationWithSync was included in spCellConfig of an SCG: 4> initiate the Random Access procedure on the SpCell); or in response to the indication indicating the UE to not perform the first RA procedure upon the reception of the RRC reconfiguration message, the first RA procedure is performed upon a downlink (DL) data arrival or upon an uplink (UL) data arrival.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Kim, so that the reconfigurationWithSync is included in reconfiguration to indicate to the UE to perform RA procedure upon reception of reconfiguration, as taught by TS38.331. The modification would have implemented the Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN (TS38.331 [Page 16 Scope]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Yamada (US20150215826A1, hereinafter Yamada).
For claim 7, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 6. Although teaching the UE transmitting reconfiguration complete after RA procedure for the RA procedure to be considered successful by the base station (Kim [Para. 0305], the UE may send an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the base station. The UE and the base station may consider sending/receiving the RRC reconfiguration complete message successfully as reconfiguration with sync completion), the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC reconfiguration complete message includes at least one of: an indication of whether the first RA procedure is successfully completed; or information related to the first RA procedure.
Yamada is directed to providing systems and methods for dual-connectivity operation. More specifically, Yamada teaches wherein the RRC reconfiguration complete message includes at least one of: an indication of whether the first RA procedure is successfully completed ( [Para. 0102], the UE 102 may generate an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message that includes information related to a result of a random access procedure to a second eNB (e.g., the SeNB) 160. The UE 102 may perform a random access procedure with the SeNB 160 as part of the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure. If the random access procedure is successful, then the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message may include information related to the random access success on the SCG 157. If the random access procedure is not successfully completed after a time period, then the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message may include information related to the random access failure on the SCG 157. The UE 102 may transmit the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to a first eNB (e.g., MeNB) 160), or information related to the first RA procedure ([Para. 0102], the UE 102 may generate an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message that includes information related to a result of a random access procedure to a second eNB (e.g., the SeNB) 160).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Kim, so that reconfiguration complete includes indication of whether RA procedure is successfully completed, as taught by Yamada. The modification would have enhanced the efficient use of radio resources in dual-connectivity operation (Yamada [Para. 0039]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim) and Yamada (US20150215826A1, hereinafter Yamada), and further in view of Park et al. (US20240365212A1, hereinafter Park).
For claim 8, Tsai, Kim and Yamada teach the UE of Claim 7. Although teaching the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message including information related to the random access success or failure, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the information includes at least one of: one or more preamble sequences for one or more attempts during the first RA procedure; or one or more time-frequency domain resources for the one or more attempts.
Park is directed to providing network slice group information. More specifically, Park teaches wherein the information includes at least one of: one or more preamble sequences for one or more attempts during the first RA procedure ([Para. 0286], an RA report for RA procedures of a wireless device (UE) comprises cell-based information comprising an identifier of a cell where an RA procedure was performed. A base station (RAN) receiving an RA report comprising cell-based information of RA procedures may consider that RA parameters are not proper when a wireless device performed the RA procedures based on RA parameters after accessing the cell. [Para. 0282], The message from the second base station to the base station may comprise a handover request message. [0288], The wireless device may transmit, to the second base station, an RA report of the RA procedure. [Example contents of the RA report between Para. 306 and 307], a field that indicates RA scenario for which the RA report entry is triggered. The indicator reconfigurationWithSync is used if the UE executes a reconfiguration with Sync. [Examiner’s Note: RA report may be triggered by RRC reconfiguration]. [Para. 0302], the RA report may comprise a field indicating the failure of the RA procedure via the cell; a field indicating the success of the RA procedure via the cell. [Para. 0304], the RA report may comprise preamble indexes of the one or more RA preambles used in the RA procedure for the at least one first network slices. [Para. 0306], a field indicating a number of attempts (e.g., number of preamble transmissions) [Examiner’s Note: Based on the teaching of Yamada that the RRC reconfiguration complete includes the information of success or failure of the RA procedure, it is obvious to combine the RRC reconfiguration complete in Yamada and the preambles for one or more attempts during the first RA procedure in the RA report in Park such that the RRC reconfiguration complete message includes the preambles for one or more attempts during the first RA procedure]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, Kim and Yamada, so that RRC reconfiguration complete message includes the preambles for one or more attempts during the first RA procedure, as taught by Park for the RA report. The modification would have increased proper RA configuration and random access reliability of wireless devices (Park [Para. 0287]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Jang et al. (US20220078771A1, hereinafter Jang).
For claim 9, Tsai and Kim teach the UE of Claim 1. Although teaching multiple TRPs with different TAs, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a first configuration regarding a first time alignment timer (TAT) for the first TA from the network; and receive a second configuration regarding a second TAT for the second TA from the network.
Jang is directed to providing method and apparatus of operating multiple time alignment timers in mobile communication system supporting carrier aggregation. More specifically, Jang teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a first configuration regarding a first time alignment timer (TAT) for the first TA from the network ([Para. 0054], In an exemplary case that one Primary Cell (PCell) (or first cell) and three Secondary Cells (SCells) A, B and C (or second cells) are aggregated, if the PCell and the SCell A have similar uplink timings, they may be categorized into group 1 while the SCell B and SCell C are categorized into group 2. The eNB transmits the TA information to the group 1 in the TAC MAC CE or RAR to command uplink timing adjustment such that the UE adjusts uplink timings of both the PCell and SCell A based on the information carried in the timing advance command (TAC) MAC CE. Upon receipt of the TA information, the UE starts a TAT for the group 1. [Para. 0058], The eNB configures carrier aggregation with the UE, PTAG TAT for a plurality of carriers, information on the SCells to be aggregated, and TAT value per TAG through RRC layer message 603 so as to configure the PTAG TAT on the plural carriers and set one or more STAG TATs to different values at step 615.. [Para. 0092], Referring to FIG. 7, the UE receives an RRC message carrying the carrier configuration for aggregation, TAG configuration, and TAT values of the respective TAGs from the eNB at step 703 [Examiner’s Note: PTAG TAT is the first TAT for the TA of group 1. PTAG TAT is received via RRCConnectionReconfiguration at step 615]), and receive a second configuration regarding a second TAT for the second TA from the network ([Para. 0055], The TAT of the group including no PCell is referred to as STAG TAT. [Para. 0058], The eNB configures carrier aggregation with the UE, PTAG TAT for a plurality of carriers, information on the SCells to be aggregated, and TAT value per TAG through RRC layer message 603 so as to configure the PTAG TAT on the plural carriers and set one or more STAG TATs to different values at step 615. [Para. 0059], The TATs of the respective TAG may be set to the same value or different values. The RRC layer message may be the RRC CONNECTION RECONFIGURATION (RRCConnectionReconfiguration) message. [Para. 0092], Referring to FIG. 7, the UE receives an RRC message carrying the carrier configuration for aggregation, TAG configuration, and TAT values of the respective TAGs from the eNB at step 703 [Examiner’s Note: STAG TAT is the second TAT for the TA for group 2].).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Kim, so that the UE receives TATs from the base station for the cells with different TAs, as taught by Jang. The modification would have operated multiple time alignment timers in a Long Term Evolution (LTE) system using multiple carriers (Jang [Para. 0002]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim) and Jang et al. (US20220078771A1, hereinafter Jang), and further in view of Koskinen et al. (US20110222411A1, hereinafter Koskinen).
For claim 10, Tsai, Kim and Jang teach the UE of Claim 9. The references further teach wherein, in response to both an expiry of the first TAT and an expiry of the second TAT and in response to a downlink (DL) data arrival, the at least one processor is further configured to receive downlink control information (DCI) including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order from the network (Jang [Para. 0055], The TAT of the group including the PCell such as group 1 is referred to as PCell timing advance group (PTAG) TAT. The TAT of the group including no PCell is referred to as STAG TAT. Jang [Para. 0073], not depicted in the drawing, the PUCCH/SRS release indication is delivered to the RRC layer when all of the TATs including the STAG TAT (TAT #2) have expired. Jang [Para. 0074], Afterward, the eNB performs random access process triggered by the PDCCH order (see steps 623, 625, and 627) at step 641 and restarts the TAT #2 at step 643).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Kim, so that RA random access is triggered by PDCCH order in response to expiry of all TATs, as taught by Jang. The modification would have operated multiple time alignment timers in a Long Term Evolution (LTE) system using multiple carriers (Jang [Para. 0002]).
Although teaching receiving PDCCH order in response to expiry of all TATs, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein, in response to both an expiry of the first TAT and an expiry of the second TAT and in response to a downlink (DL) data arrival, the at least one processor is further configured to receive downlink control information (DCI) including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order from the network.
Koskinen is directed to providing reduction of unnecessary downlink control channel reception and decoding. More specifically, Koskinen teaches wherein, in response to both an expiry of the first TAT and an expiry of the second TAT and in response to a downlink (DL) data arrival, the at least one processor is further configured to receive downlink control information (DCI) including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order from the network ([Para. 0058], the eNodeB may allocate an UL transmission to the UE there may be DL data arrival when the TA timer of the UE has expired. [Para. 0060], In the former case, the DL data arrival PDCCH may be sent to allocate a dedicated preamble for RACH for the UE. This may occur when the UE's TA timer has expired and DL data has arrived at the eNode B. In this case it may not be critical to wait for a few milliseconds to send the DL data arrival PDCCH. [Para. 0130], it may be the case that DL data arrival preparation may be sent to the UE 210 up to four TTIs prior to the end of the MBSFN subframe. As such, the UE 210 receives a dedicated preamble via the PDCCH for DL data arrival. This occurs when the UE 210 TA timer (TAT) is expired and DL data arrives at eNB 220. In this case format 1A with modifications is sent to the UE 210. The DL data arrival format 1A may be postponed to a non-MBSFN subframe. [Examiner’s Note: According to Jang, the UE receives PDCCH order after both TATs expired in the case of two TATs. It is obvious to adapt Koskinen so that the UE receives PDCCH order after both TATs expired in the case of two TATs]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, Kim and Jang, so that the UE receives PDCCH order in response to the TAT expiry and DL data arrival, as taught by Koskinen. The modification would have aided in reducing UE 210 power consumption by not requiring the UE 210 to receive and decode unnecessary control channel transmissions (Koskinen [Para. 0134]).
For claim 11, Tsai, Kim, Jang and Koskinen teach the UE of Claim 10. The references further teach wherein the PDCCH order includes a dedicated preamble (Tsai [Para. 0279], Another alternative is that the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may be used to trigger the RA procedure, e.g., PDCCH order. The signaling may be used to add at least one (serving) TRP to serve the UE. The signaling may indicate a dedicated preamble), and wherein the dedicated preamble is used for both the first TRP and the second TRP or is used for only one TRP within the first TRP and the second TRP (Tsai [Para. 0279], Another alternative is that the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may be used to trigger the RA procedure, e.g., PDCCH order. The signaling may be used to add at least one (serving) TRP to serve the UE. The signaling may indicate a dedicated preamble [Examiner’s Note: The dedicated preamble is used for only the added TRP]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim) and Jang et al. (US20220078771A1, hereinafter Jang), Koskinen et al. (US20110222411A1, hereinafter Koskinen), and further in view of Guo et al. (US20240224210A1, hereinafter Guo).
For claim 12, Tsai, Kim, Jang and Koskinen teach the UE of Claim 11. The references further teach wherein, in response to the DCI including at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or a physical random access channel (PRACH) mask index, the dedicated preamble is used for the only one TRP (Tsai [Para. 0279], Another alternative is that the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may be used to trigger the RA procedure, e.g., PDCCH order. The signaling may be or may not be used to add at least one (serving) TRP or (serving) beam, e.g., TRP or beam to serve the UE. The signaling may indicate a dedicated preamble [Examiner’s Note: the dedicated preamble is for the added TRP]).
Although teaching receiving PDCCH order including dedicated preamble for a TRP, Tsai, Kim, Jang and Koskinen do not explicitly disclose wherein, in response to the DCI including at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or a physical random access channel (PRACH) mask index, the dedicated preamble is used for the only one TRP.
Guo is directed to providing uplink timing alignment for multiple transmission points. More specifically, Guo teaches wherein, in response to the DCI including at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index or a physical random access channel (PRACH) mask index, the dedicated preamble is used for the only one TRP ([Para. 0043], the UE determines preamble(s) to transmit based on the PDCCH (e.g., DCI signaling). The base station can configure one or more preamble groups. Each preamble group can be indexed or named explicitly to correspond to each TRP. The UE can select a preamble from the preamble group that corresponds to the TRP for random access. For example, preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2. For random access using TRP-1, the UE can select a preamble from preamble group with index 0. [Example’s Note: A preamble in a preamble group for a TRP is dedicated preamble for the TRP]. [Para. 0089], a codepoint in SS/PBCH index field in the DCI format for PDCCH order can be associated with TRP-Id, and UE determines a preamble to transmit to a TRP based on Random Access Preamble index and SS/PBCH index field).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, Kim, Jang and Koskinen, so that the DCI including PDCCH order for RA procedure includes SSB index and the dedicated preamble for one TRP is used in response to receiving the PDCCH order, as taught by Guo. The modification would have maintained uplink time alignment for multiple TRPs (Guo [Para. 0028]).
For claim 13, Tsai, Kim, Jang, Koskinen and Guo teach the UE of Claim 12. The references further teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine whether the first TRP or the second TRP is associated with the at least one of the SSB index or the PRACH mask index (Guo [Para. 0041], the UE accesses one TRP (e.g., TRP-1) in the initial access and accesses another TRP (e.g., TRP-2) after the initial access succeeds. Guo [Para. 0079], The UE determines uplink signal transmission timing to each TRP based on a TAC included in MAC RAR associated with respective preambles. When UE accesses one of the TRPs successfully and receives a DCI format for PDCCH order to initiate random access procedure to another TRP, UE stops the current random access procedure and re-initiate random access procedure according to DCI format for PDCCH order. Guo [Para. 0089], a codepoint in SS/PBCH index field in the DCI format for PDCCH order can be associated with TRP-Id, and UE determines a preamble to transmit to a TRP based on Random Access Preamble index and SS/PBCH index field), and in response to determining that the first TRP is associated with the at least one of the SSB index or the PRACH mask index, perform a second RA procedure to the first TRP using the dedicated preamble; or in response to determining that the second TRP is associated with the at least one of the SSB index or the PRACH mask index, perform a third RA procedure to the second TRP using the dedicated preamble (Guo [Para. 0043], the UE determines preamble(s) to transmit based on the PDCCH (e.g., DCI signaling). The base station can configure one or more preamble groups. Each preamble group can be indexed or named explicitly to correspond to each TRP. The UE can select a preamble from the preamble group that corresponds to the TRP for random access. For example, preamble group with index 0 is used for TRP-1 and preamble group with index 1 is used for TRP-2. For random access using TRP-1, the UE can select a preamble from preamble group with index 0. Guo [Para. 0079], The UE determines uplink signal transmission timing to each TRP based on a TAC included in MAC RAR associated with respective preambles. When UE accesses one of the TRPs successfully and receives a DCI format for PDCCH order to initiate random access procedure to another TRP, UE stops the current random access procedure and re-initiate random access procedure according to DCI format for PDCCH order. Guo [Para. 0089], a codepoint in SS/PBCH index field in the DCI format for PDCCH order can be associated with TRP-Id, and UE determines a preamble to transmit to a TRP based on Random Access Preamble index and SS/PBCH index field. [Examiner’s Note: Jang teaches performing a third RA procedure to the second TRP]. Jang [Para. 0060], In a case where the SCells do not belong to the PTAG (the SCells belonging to an STAG), if the uplink synchronization is not acquired (or TAT is not running), the eNB transmits a command (i.e., PDCCH order) to request the UE to transmit a random access preamble through a certain cell at step 623 [Examiner’s Note: The cell for SCell corresponds to the second TRP]. Jang [Para. 0061], Upon receipt of the PDCCH order, the PHY layer 607 of the UE instructs the MAC layer 605 to start random access at step 624 [Examiner’s Note: UE starts the first RA procedure]. the eNB determines the transmission timing adjustment amount according to the arrival timing of the preamble and then transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) carrying the TA information to the UE at step 627. Jang [Para. 0062], Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE starts the TAT of the corresponding STAG, i.e., TAT #2 in FIG. 6 at step 629. Jang [Para. 0063], Afterward, the STAG TAT (i.e., TAT #2) expires at a certain time at step 631. Jang [Para. 0073], the PUCCH/SRS release indication is delivered to the RRC layer when all of the TATs including the STAG TAT (TAT #2) have expired. Jang [Para. 0074], Afterward, the eNB performs random access process triggered by the PDCCH order (see steps 623, 625, and 627) at step 641 and restarts the TAT #2 at step 643 [Examiner’s Note: The RA procedure that is performed again corresponds to the third RA procedure and the cell for SCell corresponds to the second TRP]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, Kim, Jang and Koskinen, so that the UE determines TRP associated with SSB index included in PDCCH order, as taught by Guo. The modification would have maintained uplink time alignment for multiple TRPs (Guo [Para. 0028]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US20230239823A1, hereinafter Liu) in view of Kim et al. (US20230127125A1, hereinafter Kim).
For claim 15, Liu teaches a network node for wireless communication ([Para. 0375], FIG. 14 illustrates a block diagram of an embodiment processing system 1400 for performing methods described herein. [Para. 0376], the processing system 1400 is in a network-side device in a wireless telecommunications network, such as a base station), comprising: at least one memory ([Para. 0375] and [FIG. 14], the processing system 1400 includes a memory 1406); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network node to ([Para. 0375], FIG. 14 illustrates a block diagram of an embodiment processing system 1400 for performing methods described herein. The processing system 1400 includes a processor 1404, a memory 1406): transmit a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message related to a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with a first timing advance (TA) to a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 0069] and [FIG. 3], A TRP0 312 is co-located with the base station or cell 310. A TRP1 314 is located in the coverage area of the serving cell 310 and configured to cooperate with the TRP0 312 to serve UEs in the serving cell 310. [Para. 0078], the UE 302 is configured with timing advance group (TAG) 1 or resource group (RG) 1 for communication with the TRP0 312. The UE 302 is configured with TAG 2 or RG2 for communication with the TRP1 314. [Para. 0079], The UE 302 may receive scheduling information scheduling uplink transmission of the UE with a TRP according to a RG associated with the TRP. The UE 302 may receive first configuration information of the carrier of the serving cell 310 via a RRC configuration signaling. The first configuration information may include/indicate an association between a first group of uplink signals and channels to be transmitted on the carrier by the UE in the serving cell 310 and the RG1, and the RG1 is associated with a first TA value. That is, the first configuration information of the carrier indicates that transmission of the first group of uplink signals and channels by the UE is according to the first TA value of the RG1. The first configuration information may be transmitted by the TRP0 312 to the UE 302), transmit a second RRC reconfiguration message related to a second TRP associated with a second TA to the UE ([Para. 0079], The UE 302 may receive scheduling information scheduling uplink transmission of the UE with a TRP according to a RG associated with the TRP. The UE 302 may receive first configuration information of the carrier of the serving cell 310 via a RRC configuration signaling. The first configuration information may include the RG1, and the RG1 is associated with a first TA value. The first configuration information may be transmitted by the TRP0 312 to the UE 302. The UE 302 may also receive second configuration information of the carrier, which includes an association between a second group of uplink signals and channels to be transmitted on the carrier by the UE and the uplink RG2, and the RG2 is associated with a second TA value. The second configuration information may be transmitted by the TRP1 314 to the UE 302), wherein the second TA is different from the first TA ([Para. 0079], The first configuration information may include/indicate the RG1, and the RG1 is associated with a first TA value. The UE 302 may also receive second configuration information of the carrier, which includes/indicates an association between a second group of uplink signals and channels to be transmitted on the carrier by the UE and the uplink RG2, and the RG2 is associated with a second TA value).
Although teaching the base station transmitting two RRC reconfiguration messages to the UE for two TRPs with different TA values, Liu does not explicitly disclose receive a measurement report of the first TRP from the UE.
Kim is directed to providing cell configuration parameters. More specifically, Kim teaches receive a measurement report of the first TRP from the UE ([Para. 0109], The UE may measure the signal levels (e.g., reference signal levels) from a serving cell and neighboring cells and report these measurements to the base station currently serving the UE. The UE's serving base station may request a handover to a cell of one of the neighboring base stations based on the reported measurements. [Examiner’s Note: The serving cell corresponds to the first TRP]. [Para. 0305], A UE-RRC layer may receive an RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE) or mobility control information from a base station. Based on the RRC reconfiguration message, the UE may perform a random access procedure to a base station indicated in the reconfiguration sync IE or mobility control information in the RRC reconfiguration message. The reconfiguration with sync completion may include at least one of handover completion or PSCell addition for cell group addition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu, so that the base station receives measurement report of the base station and completes PSCell addition based on the RRC reconfiguration message received from the base station, as taught by Kim. The modification would have reduced signals and latency to recovery MCG of the PCell (Kim [Para. 0326]).
Claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Guo et al. (US20240224210A1, hereinafter Guo) and Kim et al. (US20230120096A1, hereinafter Kim096).
For claim 16, Tsai teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ([Para. 0041], FIG. 1 shows a multiple access wireless communication system according to one embodiment of the invention. [Para. 0055], As shown in FIG. 3, the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing the UEs 116 and 122 in FIG. 1), comprising: at least one memory ([Para. 0055], The communication device 300 may include a memory 310); and at least one processor coupled with at the at least one memory ([Para. 0055], The communication device 300 may include a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300) and configured to cause the UE to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with a target cell from a network ([Para. 0272], It is assumed that UE needs to maintain different timing advance values for different TRPs of the same NR cell and each of maintained timing advances is associated with an identifier, e.g., TA index. [Para. 0279], the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may indicate a dedicated preamble. The signaling may be a RRC message. FIG. 18 illustrates an example of TA index indicated by RRC signaling before RA procedure), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration related to one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) of the target cell ([Para. 0271], If the NR cell is composed of multiple TRPs, different uplink timing advance values may be required for uplink transmissions of a UE to different TRPs. [Para. 0279], Another alternative is that the associated TA index could be provided to the UE via a signaling before RA procedure. The signaling may indicate a dedicated preamble. The signaling may be a RRC message. FIG. 18 illustrates an example of TA index indicated by RRC signaling before RA procedure [Examiner’s Note: The TA index for TRP and preamble for RA procedure are the configuration]), and wherein two or more TRPs within the one or more TRPs have a different timing advance (TA) in response to the configuration being related to the two or more TRPs ([Para. 0271], If the NR cell is composed of multiple TRPs, different uplink timing advance values may be required for uplink transmissions of a UE to different TRPs. Operations of multiple uplink timing advance values in a cell need to be considered. [Para. 0230], UE initially accesses one TRP of the cell and then other TRPs could be added to serve the UE. [Para. 0272], It is assumed that UE needs to maintain different timing advance values for different TRPs of the same NR cell and each of maintained timing advances is associated with an identifier, e.g., TA index.).
Although teaching the target cell of multiple TRPs and signaling including configuration comprising preamble for RA procedure, Tsai does not explicitly disclose and configured to cause the UE to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with a target cell from a network, and wherein two or more TRPs within the one or more TRPs have a different timing advance (TA) in response to the configuration being related to the two or more TRPs, and perform a first random access (RA) procedure and start a mobility timer.
Guo is directed to providing uplink timing alignment for multiple transmission points. More specifically, Guo teaches and wherein two or more TRPs within the one or more TRPs have a different timing advance (TA) in response to the configuration being related to the two or more TRPs ([Para. 0045], the UE determines a preamble to use for each TRP based on the preamble index only. The preambles for multiple TRPs can be indexed jointly. For example, the base station configured N preambles, e.g., in an RRC signaling. Among the N preambles, X preambles are associated with a first TRP and the remaining (N−X) preambles are associated with a second, different TRP. The UE determines the association between a TRP and a preamble according to the configuration information in the RRC signaling).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, so that the RRC signaling includes configuration related to the two TRPs, and the two TRPs have different TAs, as taught by Guo. The modification would have maintained uplink time alignment for multiple TRPs (Guo [Para. 0028]).
Although teaching the UE receiving RRC reconfiguration message related to the target cell of two TRPs, Tsai and Guo do not explicitly disclose and configured to cause the UE to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with a target cell from a network, and perform a first random access (RA) procedure and start a mobility timer.
Kim096 is directed to providing radio resource control messaging. More specifically, Kim096 teaches and configured to cause the UE to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with a target cell from a network ([Para. 0363], the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may receive mobility command (e.g., handover command) from a base station. Based on receiving the mobility command, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may start mobility timer (e.g., T304) and perform synchronization with the first cell. Based on the synchronization, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may perform random access procedure. Based on the cell (re)selection, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may determine to change a serving cell to the first cell. Based on the mobility request [ack] message, the base station may send the mobility command to the UE. The mobility command may comprise the RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE); and/or the mobility control information), and perform a first random access (RA) procedure and start a mobility timer ([Para. 0363], Based on receiving the mobility command, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may start mobility timer (e.g., T304) and perform synchronization with the first cell. Based on the synchronization, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may perform random access procedure. The mobility command may comprise the RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE); and/or the mobility control information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Guo, so that the UE performs RA procedure and starts mobility timer based on RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Kim096. The modification would have reduced delay and signaling overhead in establishment and resumption of new connection (Kim096 [Para. 0346]).
For claim 17, Tsai, Guo and Kim096 teach the UE of Claim 16. The references further teach wherein the target cell is a primary cell of a master cell group (PCell) (Kim096 [Para. 0363], the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may receive mobility command (e.g., handover command) from a base station. Based on the cell (re)selection, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may determine to change a serving cell to the first cell. Based on the mobility request [ack] message, the base station may send the mobility command to the UE. The mobility command may comprise the RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE); and/or the mobility control information. Kim096 [Para. 0133], The PCell may be the serving cell that the UE initially connects to at handover) or a primary cell of a second cell group (PSCell) (Kim096 [Para. 0271], Based on receiving the measurement report, the second base station may determine to configure SCells and/or secondary cell groups (e.g., SCG or PSCells). Based on the determining, the second base station may send a second RRC reconfiguration message comprising SCells configuration parameters and/or MR-DC related configuration parameters. Based receiving the second RRC reconfiguration message, the UE may transmit and receive data via the SCells and/or SCGs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Guo, so that target cell is PCell or PSCell, as taught by Kim096. The modification would have reduced delay and signaling overhead in establishment and resumption of new connection (Kim096 [Para. 0346]).
For claim 20, Tsai, Guo and Kim096 teach the UE of Claim 16. The references further teach wherein in response to the configuration being related to the two or more TRPs, the RRC reconfiguration message includes information regarding each TRP within the two or more TRPs (Guo [Para. 0045], the UE determines a preamble to use for each TRP based on the preamble index only. The preambles for multiple TRPs can be indexed jointly. For example, the base station configured N preambles, e.g., in an RRC signaling. Among the N preambles, X preambles are associated with a first TRP and the remaining (N−X) preambles are associated with a second, different TRP. The UE determines the association between a TRP and a preamble according to the configuration information in the RRC signaling. Guo [Para. 0067], In this example, the UE accesses one TRP in initial access procedure by determining and transmitting a first preamble according to the RRC signaling. The UE then accesses another TRP by determining and transmitting a second preamble according to RRC signaling. Guo [Para. 0068], The UE is configured the same serving cell for two or more TRPs (e.g., TRP-1, TRP-2). Guo [Para. 0070], The UE determines the preamble to transmit for random access based on preamble groups configured by base station. Each preamble group can be indexed, explicitly named, or predetermined for each TRP. For example, the first X preambles among the candidate preambles are for TRP-1 and the remaining preambles are for TRP-2. Here, X includes at least one half of the total number of candidate preambles).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Kim096, so that the RRC signaling includes preambles for each of two TRPs, as taught by Guo. The modification would have maintained uplink time alignment for multiple TRPs (Guo [Para. 0028]).
Although teaching RRC signaling including preambles for each of the two or more TRPs, Tsai and Guo do not explicitly disclose wherein in response to the configuration being related to the two or more TRPs, the RRC reconfiguration message includes information regarding each TRP within the two or more TRPs.
Kim096 is directed to providing radio resource control messaging. More specifically, Kim096 teaches wherein in response to the configuration being related to the two or more TRPs, the RRC reconfiguration message includes information regarding each TRP within the two or more TRPs (Kim 096 [Para. 0363], the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may receive mobility command (e.g., handover command) from a base station. Based on receiving the mobility command, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may perform synchronization with the first cell. Based on the synchronization, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may perform random access procedure. Based on the cell (re)selection, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may determine to change a serving cell to the first cell. The mobility command may comprise the RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE); and/or the mobility control information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai and Guo, so that the UE receives RRC reconfiguration to change to the target cell, as taught by Kim096. The modification would have reduced delay and signaling overhead in establishment and resumption of new connection (Kim096 [Para. 0346]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US20180124724A1, hereinafter Tsai) in view of Guo et al. (US20240224210A1, hereinafter Guo) and Kim et al. (US20230120096A1, hereinafter Kim096), and further in view of Kung et al. (US20230362853A1, hereinafter Kung).
For claim 18, Tsai, Guo and Kim096 teach the UE of Claim 16. Although teaching configuration related to two TRPs in the target cell, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein in response to allowing only one TRP to be configured to the target cell, the configuration is related to the one TRP, and the first RA procedure is related to the one TRP.
Kung is directed to providing method and apparatus for time alignment regarding multi-TRP in a wireless communication system. More specifically, Kung teaches wherein in response to allowing only one TRP to be configured to the target cell, the configuration is related to the one TRP ([Para. 0404], The Cell could be a candidate Cell or target Cell for performing mobility procedure. [Para. 0416], the first information could indicate the UE to operate in single TRP (sTRP) operation of the Cell. For example, the first and/or the second information could indicate the UE to perform DL reception/UL transmission with the first TRP (and does not perform communication with other TRPs) in response to the mobility procedure. [Para. 0436], the network could indicate the UE to reuse TA information of a TRP of the previous Cell on the target Cell. The UE could operate in single-TRP operation on the target Cell. The network could indicate (e.g., via the first information) the UE to operate in single TRP operation on the target Cell after completion or initiation of the mobility procedure adding the target Cell. Single TRP Target Cell: Indicate Which TA Information to Reuse. [Para. 0483], The first information could be a RRC message (e.g., a RRCReconfiguration message)), and the first RA procedure is related to the one TRP ([Para. 0455], If or when TA information of a TRP of the target Cell is not reused from the source Cell (or is not provided by network), the UE could initiate a random access procedure to the TRP (to obtain the TA) [Examiner’s Note: The TRP is the TRP in the target cell with which the UE is to operate single TRP operation]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, Guo and Kim096, so that the in response to operate a single TRP in the target cell, the UE receives RRC reconfiguration related to the TRP and perform RA procedure for the TRP, as taught by Kung. The modification would have provided solution for the UE to determine which TA to apply for the switched serving when the UE performs a mobility procedure to switch a serving cell with single TRP operation (Kung [Para. 0402]).
For claim 19, Tsai, Guo, Kim096 and Kung teach the UE of Claim 18. The references further teach wherein the first RA procedure is associated with at least one of: a PCell change procedure (Kim096 [Para. 0363], the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may receive mobility command (e.g., handover command) from a base station. Based on receiving the mobility command, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may start mobility timer (e.g., T304) and perform synchronization with the first cell. Based on the synchronization, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may perform random access procedure. Based on the cell (re)selection, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may determine to change a serving cell to the first cell. Based on the mobility request [ack] message, the base station may send the mobility command to the UE. The mobility command may comprise the RRC reconfiguration message with reconfiguration sync information element (IE); and/or the mobility control information. Kim096 [Para. 0133], The PCell may be the serving cell that the UE initially connects to at handover); a PSCell addition procedure; a PSCell change procedure; a conditional PCell handover (CHO) procedure; a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure; or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) procedure.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tsai, Guo and Kung, so that the RA procedure is associated with PCell change, as taught by Kim096. The modification would have reduced delay and signaling overhead in establishment and resumption of new connection (Kim096 [Para. 0346]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417